X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
KMC Missing Link (2 Pairs/Card)

KMCMissing Link (2 Pairs/Card)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(13 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(92%)
(8%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Easy to Use for First Timer
by Anonymous
SF

Had a shimano Ultegra chain rivet (the install pin) go out on my gravel bike. I installed one of these and it was easy. Needed the chain tool to get the River out. But, Did not need a tool to snap the missing link in place; my hands were enough. Saved me from replacing the whole chain. If you have shaky hands this might be hard.

Also installed an 11 speed version on my road bike and no issues so far. Hardest part of ordering is to make sure to count the speeds correctly. Have been installing with waxed chains but do not wax the link and it seems fine.

I carry extras in my saddlebag for roadside repairs.

Reviewed 3/3/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
KMC links
by Jon Tate
Nashville

So, if you're into hot waxing your chain now, like I am, then you're gonna need some extra links. The manufacturer does not recommend reusing links after they have been removed. I'd guess that makes pretty good sense. A broken chain under power can be a real bummer and cause a crash. I don't want that. These are pretty easy to install and I have never had one fail. I'd say they do their job well and do not cost too much.

Reviewed 6/24/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Makes maintenance easier
by OR_Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Try to do my own maintenance, which can be a pain at times, but this thing makes it a lot easier when dealing with chains. Still need a chain breaker to get the right length, but then installingremoving is a breeze.

When I was initially building up my new bike, I mainly just transferred a lot of the components from my old frame to the new one, and was figuring I could use the KMC chain it had as well. I ended up getting some used components from my cousin - which were still an upgrade for me - including a barely-used Ultegra chain. Though I'm sure neither brand recommends it, I decided to use the Missing Link on the Ultegra chain, and it works great! Have put nearly 1,000 miles on it and no issues.

As a bonus, the openings on the MIssing Link make it a nice visual reference for lubing your chain, to know that you've hit every link!

Reviewed 12/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great part for my uses.
by Steven
Cycling Enthusiast
Rural,MN
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This link is necessary for removing my chain for cleaning & lubricating. I just unhook the ling & wash my chain in the parts washer. Hanging the chain on a hook allows me to spray lube on it. Slip it back on the gears & hook the link back together.

Reviewed 6/28/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very useful
by Gshb
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Have been using this on a KMC X10 chain and no issues for over 4000 miles of road, gravel, trainer, and countless washes. Really fast to put on and like that its reusable.

Reviewed 1/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Finally a master link for Shimano chains.
by Hammer
Competitive Racer
Lehigh Valley Pa

I used the missing link on my shimano chain after disassembling my drive chain to clean it. Easy to use.

Reviewed 11/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A little trickier to align perfectly than Sram powerlink
by trox001
Cycling Enthusiast
Jacksonville

Not as easy to align as a Sram powerlink.

Reviewed 10/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reusable
by Ed
Wisconsin

Can't go wrong with these. Just make sure it's a 10 speed chain you're using them on.

Reviewed 10/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sure makes servicing a chain simple.
by colnitz
Cycling Enthusiast
St Petersburg FL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My go to spare link. Keep one in the bike bag too.

Reviewed 9/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Missing Link is the best
by MW
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami FL

I recently started waxing my chain so the Missing Link is a must have. My only concern was its ability to stay together. After multiple re-uses the link has been rock solid and I haven't had any problems.

Reviewed 8/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Makes chain maintenance a breeze
by IslandRider
Competitive Racer
Maui Hawaii
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Inexpensive and reusable, I install these on all my chains so that I can break them and reattach them for cleaning and other drive train maintenance. Years ago, I also purchased the Park tool that makes removing the link a one-second process, although you could also make a small needle nose plier work as a removal tool. No tools needed to reattach. Simple and practical, these make removing and re-installation of drive chains an easy-peasy process. If you care about having a ridiculously clean drivetrain, you need these on all your chains.

Reviewed 6/14/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
An easy-to-use tool kit necessity
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
PDX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

A broken chain link on the trail is rare, but it happens from time to time. One of these in your kit is a perfect companion to your multi-tool - - you can fix your chain without having to compromise its length. And it's a LOT easier than trying to drive a rivet back into a link!

Reviewed 5/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to fix chain,
by jftjim
Cycling Enthusiast
AZ desert
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

need a breaker before installing. Don't leave home without a breaker and this link. NO TOOLS fast get back on the trail fix.

Reviewed 11/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.