Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Kenda Domestique Tubular Road Tire

KendaDomestique Tubular Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(12 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(2)
(6)
(3)
(0)
(1)
(17%)
(50%)
(25%)
(0%)
(8%)
Excellent tire for the price
by Hill Country Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin Texas
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

As tubular tires go, these are extremely easy to mount and are reasonably (if not perfectly) round. I mounted them with tape, was completely easy, I didn't need to stretch them, they went on easily right out of the box. On my wheels mounted, despite being stated as 22mm, they measure about 24.5 mm in width. They weigh about 290 grams. I haven't put many miles on them yet so I can't comment on the wear/durability but for the price, if you get a cut you can chuck them. The ride is certainly good and they are stable in the wet. No matter what, I suggest that you use Orange Seal from the get go (a 4oz bottle of tire sealant for two tires). That has worked well for me in many tubular tires for me (even with extreme cuts). Much better that Stan's, Cafe Latex, Slime, Vittoria Pit Stop etc. In summary, the more expensive tires may be a tick better (but very little) and if run over a glass shard and trash them you wont be crying over the loss )

Reviewed 4/8/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worst tires ever encountered in 55 years of riding tubulars
by Publius
Cycling Enthusiast
The Big Apple

I've been riding tubulars for 55 years and these are the absolute worst tires I have ever encountered. I gave them one star because I couldn't give them minus five stars. They actually puncture when they encounter grains of sand. Not only won't they hold air, but they won't even hold sealant. Tiny punctures get bigger and bigger until they turn into tears. Don't buy them. Don't accept them as gifts. Don't ride near anyone riding on them. I have one new one I haven't used. I wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy.

Reviewed 6/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Ride
by Jelcomm
Cycling Enthusiast
ColoradoArizona

Bought these as a lower-cost option for tubulars. Was a little concerned when opening the package as they are basically a slick. My first thought was they are for track. However, I did mount them and was pleasantly surprised at the ride quality and grip. Running 90. Psi up front and 100 psi in back and very pleasant and responsive. Definitely a good option for your everyday tubular need. Shipped right on schedule.

Reviewed 7/13/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great potential, but uneven casing means bumpy ride
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA

Maybe I got couple of duds, but despite the great reviews by others, the two that I got have uneven casing resulting in bumpy ride. The tires have a really supple casing that I was initially excited about. The tread compound is nice, providing great traction and tracking. And the base tape is very robust. I am not exactly a newbie at mounting tubulars, but it was my first time using a mounting tape. Came out bumpy. So, I thought I did something wrong in the mounting process. I pulled off the tape and used tire glue to mount the tires the way I've done many, many times. Same result. I will pull these off and keep them as spares and replace them with something like Conti Giros.

Conclusion these tires are OK at the price of $XX ea. that I paid. Difficult to recommend at the new high price of $79 I see on b-t-d.com.

Reviewed 4/15/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Hidden gem in the tubular tire world!!
by kevhogaz
Competitive Racer
Phoenix, Arizona
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought these tires, after searching for an affordable tubular to train on. I figured for the money, I couldn't go wrong. I was absolutely right!!

They hold up pretty good, I've got 370 miles on them, and they're barely worn. I weigh 215, and run 120 psi. in these tires. I tried going higher, but the ride quality diminished at or above 130 psi. They are fairly cut resistant, and I've only had one puncture, so far, that sealed up immediately with Orange Seal installed before I rode 'em. In the tires defense, I did ride thru a pile of sand, and I'm sure there were numerous sharps in there, that punctured the tire.

The ride is exceptionally nice, for a $30.00 tubular!! I've got no complaints with the quality of the tire, in any way!

So, if you need a good, low dollar tire, to train on, these are it! Put 2 oz. of Orange Seal in each tire, and ride 'em down to the cords!!

Reviewed 1/31/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for the price
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Indiana
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I installed these with Tufo tape and after doing all the rim cleaning prep work, ie... cleaning old glue off with Goo Gone and a green scotch brite pad, then cleaning with acetone. The tires have held up well all summer and I've gone over some glass with no problems. The price is right.

Reviewed 10/23/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very nice tubular at a reasonable price
by D''Race Mon
Cycling Enthusiast
Wenatchee, WA
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

These tubular tires were easy to mount and centered up nicely when a small amount of air was applied. The performance is excellent especially given the price. They roll smoothly, and cornering is confidence inspiring an overall nice tire

Reviewed 4/10/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
seems to be working ok so far, but not many miles yet
by Anonymous
maryland
1 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

tubular tire

Reviewed 5/22/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
As far as cheap tubies go, these are the choice.
by emerlist davjack
Competitive Racer
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

As someone who is rather new to tubulars, I am impressed with these tires, they grip well, and seem to be wearing well so far (almost 1k miles of training and racing crits and RRs). I did get one puncture during a rainy race, though I think that piece of wet glass would have punctured most tires... On the up side, they are rather easy to repair!

Reviewed 8/27/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good first time tubular tire but not that great
by GR Racer
Competitive Racer
West Michigan
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I bought a set as my first tubulars. They were not easy to align for some reason. It might have been the shape of the rim channel though, but they wanted to flop to one side or the other. They seem like a great set to practice installing, but there's nothing special about how they feel to ride. If you're looking for the hyped ride quality of a tubular you probably have to get a more expensive tire. Note however that they work fine. I've raced on them several times with no complaints. Mounted with Tufo Tape. They got cut up a little on a couple of rough crits, but were easy to repair with super glue.

Reviewed 6/27/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Price is definitely right, but durability not what I expected.
by DrSing
Cycling Enthusiast
Birmingham, AL
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Price is definitely right, but durability not what I expected or hoped for. I bought cuz this is my first time to glue tubulars myself and didn't want to screw up $$ tires. That went fine with tape and tires beautiful on bike, but I've had two flats (fr and rear) in last 200mi that I've had to save with tire sealant. Overall, I'd say okay for training, but may want something a little more durable when it counts, even if more $$.

Reviewed 5/28/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very well made tubular at this price point.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Martin, TN
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.

These are without a doubt the best sub-$40 tubulars I have come across.

All that I have purchased are extremely well-made, and install straight and

true with absolutely no out-of-roundness noticed. Nice and grippy for a slick,

reminds me of the supercomp HD clinchers that I rode for a while in the mid 90's.

I use them for training, but they would probably race quite well.

Reviewed 5/30/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.