X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Kask Protone Helmet

KaskProtone Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(59 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(54)
(4)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(92%)
(7%)
(0%)
(2%)
(0%)
Kask Protone
by Pops
61704

Great helmet. I love the fit on these helmets. I've wrecked on two occasions, but the helmet did there job to protect my head.

Reviewed 1/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
An absolute treat
by Adamm
Cycling Enthusiast
Carson City, NV
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I already have a big head and my vanity will not allow me to slap a double-wide MIPS helmet on top of that. So after returning a top-o-the-line Giro that was as wide as my shoulders, I went looking for the lowest profile helmet I could find and Kask was the answer. Not only does is look great but you barely notice it. I just did a century last Saturday and I didn't think about my helmet once, even though everything else hurts. If it's not an issue over 100 miles it will never be an issue.

Reviewed 10/12/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect for me
by Anonymous
Portland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I first bought a giro aether and returned it after trying it on a couple times. It felt like it sat over my head and the spherical mips felt too loose, like it would slide right out of the way with a crash. Could move the thing around with my hands easily, felt gimmicky. Parts felt cheap too. Got the protone and it is a solid, perfect fit. It sits around my head and is snug yet comfortable. I have a somewhat �longer/skinny� head. Strap and parts are much more robust and I like the leather chin deal. MIPS would be nice, but it feels great. Put in a good amount of miles, but no real tests.

Reviewed 8/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Do you want to feel really good about spending money?
by MatM
Cycling Enthusiast
Gambrills, MD
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have the Kask Mojito from a few years back. A really good helmet. It has a two way fit. The Protone has the Octofit. Its pretty slick how you can really dial in your fit. I bought a medium and and Im the upper end of the medium. I didnt need to adjust the chin strap. Im a big fan of how the buckle is offset and not in the middle of your chin. I gave it a few cranks on the back. Very nice fit. I cant say if this helmet is noisy as of yet, its gust in here today. Ive been more focused on staying upright. But my initial indications say its probably no noisier than any other aero helmet Ive used.

Reviewed 5/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great low profile helmet... no mushroom head!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA

I was looking for a nice low profile helmet and this was the ticket. It's not cheap but you can tell the build quality as soon as you take it out of the box. I got the matte black and might get a white one too for those days where you need to be more visible. The leather strap thing under the chin is a nice touch for added comfort.

Reviewed 9/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
JUST AS I EXPECTED FROM KASK AND THE INCREDIBLE SPEED OF THE DELIVERY TO HAWAII
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Honolulu, Hawaii

I have tried every helmet at every bicycle shop here on the island of Oahu. None of them fit the way i wanted. Had experience with KASK and decided to stick with what i know works.

Reviewed 10/23/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Fit & Appearance
by John
Daily Commuter
New York, NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have a large head and have owned a lot of helmets over the years, mainly Bell and Giro. This is the best-fitting helmet I've owned (I got the 59-62). I put it on and forget it's there. The strap connection points are adjustable so they position around your ears well, and the under-chin strap is comfortable. The buckle's in an odd place, right against the corner of my jaw, but I don't notice it while riding-mainly an aesthetic issue. The helmet nicely snugs around the crown and back of my head, and it's contoured well so it doesn't look too much like a mushroom atop my big head.

I may be imagining it, but the helmet also feels very aero from all angles. I ride in a lot of cross- and head-wind, and the wind doesn't seem to catch my head like it did with my Bell Sweep. I haven't ridden in hot weather yet so I can't speak to cooling or sweat management.

Reviewed 5/30/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
What youd expect from a high end helmet
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
SF Bay Area

It is a helmet and, not having crashed (knock wood), I cant comment on its protective charateristics. It is well ventilated, so much so that I sweat less in it than my Kask Vertigo or Giro, so that is a big plus. The chin retention strap is easy to adjust and comfortably holds the helmet firmly in place. The size adjustability knob also functions smoothly, dials in head diameter perfectly, and is easy to adjust, even on the fly. The only small complaint is the foreaft adjustment harness which was a bit bothersome at first - but once I got used to it I hardly noticed any chafing on the back of my neck. All in all, it is an expensive helmet, but its adjustability allows for pretty much a perfect fit. Funny thing though is that while its head volume is as advertised, the shell is smaller than the Kask Vertigo, so it appears, outwardly, to be smaller than it actually is. In its price point, I would recommend it.

Reviewed 5/24/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit, comfortable and looks good
by VanBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, BC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The Protone fits well, is comfortable and the slimmer profile makes it more attractive than many bulbous helmets on the market. The quality of finish is excellent and the level of comfort is high. A helmet is definitely worth spending extra money on if you find it comfortable, you like the looks and it provides some level of protection. As one who struggles with sweat in the eyes, the Protone offers little help. That said, I have yet to find a helmets solves that problem. Hats and headbands are my only solution. As usual, Bike Tire direct service was excellent.

Reviewed 5/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best helmet, EVER
by AndyS
Competitive Racer
Fountain Hills, Arizona
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Most comfortable helmet I have ever worn. Great price too. Kask Protone is now my Go TO helmet.

Reviewed 4/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Helmet
by Z5_Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Bought a Medium on sale and my 58 head fit perfectly. Adjustments are more advanced than other helmets on the market. Great chin strap. Bonus, I do not look like a mushroom.

Reviewed 11/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent helmet, well made, well vented, be careful on the sizing!
by Rick @OCRR
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Overall I like the KASK helmet, reasonable weight, very well vented, but be careful on the sizing. I am a very medium sized guy but the medium helmet was almost too small on me. I had to max out the sizing adjustment ring to get an acceptable fit. Straps are well located, attachment buckle is on the side where it does not touch your head, so that is a very nice feature.

Reviewed 1/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So Cool!
by coyvicsvicoy
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I like this Matte Black finish of the Protone! It is literally and figuratively so COOL. Because it is Matte Black, you can pair it with any color jersey and you will still look like you have a matching kit. The vents are really well designed that it cools my head during a hot Southern California mountain climb! Also the design is so Aero that it gives you that advantage, now I can also enjoy the minimal gains that this terrific product provides and I love it....I have TWO of these already and planning on getting a 3rd one!!!! That's how much I like the Protone helmet from KASK.

Reviewed 2/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Cool and sleek
by Chenz
Chicago IL

A great looking helmet! Definitely can feel the cooling effects of all the vents. Easily adjustable. Definitely recommend it

Reviewed 9/26/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My Best Helmet
by Ken B
Cycling Enthusiast
DFW Texas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Out of my 6 top brand helmets this is my favorite. Great fit, better straps than other helmets, plenty of air flow in the Texas heat.

Reviewed 8/30/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Ventilation and Fit!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Monica, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have an enormous skull and this is a great fit, which is a rare treat. Cool and quiet. Love!

Reviewed 7/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome helmet
by Arcee
CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Fits great, looks great and lots of ventilation, love the Matte black color.

Reviewed 7/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super light and aero
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The Protone is a great helmet for long rides. Recently used it while riding a century a few weeks ago in 80 degree weather. I have a black helmet and I never felt over heated because it's well ventilated. It's also super light and fairly aero.

Reviewed 5/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best helmet I've used to date - comfort, speed and looks - this has it all.
by WestchesterBiker
Competitive Racer
Westchester, NY
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Still in the early stages of using my new Kask Protone. Initially drawn to it by positive reviews from ride buddies. Compared to my previous helmets I can tell and feel that this is made with a view to cutting the air efficiently. It is comfortable with good venting and a high quality retention system, which on a ride lasting several hours on what could be a hot day, is critical. My previous helmet looked like a mushroom on my head - this does not. Plenty of flexibility in the retention to accommodate cold weather skull cap or liner. Sunglasses fit without problems. My only issue is that it feels a bit too snug on my forehead which I expect is more a function of my head shape rather than being any sort of design flaw.

Reviewed 2/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great aero helmet
by Turre
Competitive Racer
Baja, Mexico.
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This helmet is light and good looking. Kask makes quality, light and fancy cycling helmets.

Reviewed 1/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page