X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
AVOID SHIPPING DELAYS & SHORTAGES THIS HOLIDAY SEASON - SHOP NOW!
Kask Protone Helmet

KaskProtone Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(73 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(67)
(5)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(92%)
(7%)
(0%)
(1%)
(0%)
Cycling Enthusiast
by Joe
Illinios
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The Kask Protone is my favorite helmet not only for its looks but for the great comfortable fit that I get. The leather strap is comfortable and stays in place. I've cash tested two of these helmets and have walked away with no head injuries. Great helmets.

Reviewed 11/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Expensive but very nice
by John A
Cycling Enthusiast
Northridge, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I like it overall. The combination padding and ventilation made this a very comfortable helmet. In the heat of the San Fernando Vally summer, the Protone is noticeably cooler that my previous Oakley Aro5. The sizing is little on the small side. My head measures 57cm and the medium just fits with very little room to spare. Which is fine because the most that I wear on my head is a thin head sweat cap. Also the padding will likely compress down over time. The straps are the best I've experienced on any helmet which shows Kask's attention to detail. The helmet seems to have a lower profile and doesn't bulge out like the Oakley and Giro's. I used my accumulated points which reduced the price by about 40%. As much as I like it, I don't think I would have paid the full retail price of $xxx.

Reviewed 9/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light. Protective and Smooth
by paisleigharies
Competitive Racer
Charlottesville, VA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I bought my first Kask helmet (a Mojito) three years ago at an end of cycling season sale from a shop in Colorado's Rockies. Having finally abandoned my leather helmet for fuller helmer protection in the early 1980's, I have owned scores of plastic-based helmets since then. But I would rate the Kask Mojito to be the most easily adjustable, comfortable, light weight helmet I had ever owned....until I purchased the Kask Protone. It is nothing short of amazing that the Protone is actually lighter than the Mojito, offers the same easily adjustable features and comfort, and provides even greater protection of the noggin than does the Mojito. Yes, this is a lot to pay for a helmet. But when I consider what an hour in an ER with a brain injury might cost, this is a minimal investment. That's why I also bought a Protone for my infrequently riding spouse. I want her to have the same level of protection as I have.

Reviewed 3/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent helmet
by Don

Comfortable, light weight and nice leather strap . Using it for long rides training for IMAZ with no hot spots or other issues.

Reviewed 10/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet
by Bob
Long Island, NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Lightweight, very adjustable, great airflow on hot summer rides. So comfortable that I forget that I have a helmet on sometimes. I have owned a bunch of helmets but none more comfortable than the Protone.

Reviewed 8/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome helmet
by Anonymous
Tampa Florida

This helmet fits perfectly not like the general sized helmets. Great ventilation and lightweight - very happy!

Reviewed 8/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable helmet that looks good!
by Phil W
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Indiana
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The Kask Protone is my favorite helmet not only for its looks but for the great comfortable fit that I get. It's lightweight and doesn't ride down on my sunglasses like some other helmets. I also like the assortment of colors available. Thankfully, I haven't tested its crash-worthiness but if the pro teams trust it, I will too. The only drawback is that it's priced higher than many other helmets.

Reviewed 7/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice fit and decent ventilation for an aero helmet
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
Encinitas
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The padding and leather chin strap make for a comfortable fit that's better than my previous Giro. Ventilation is decent for an aero helmet but I still get more sweat dripping into my eyes/glasses than I did with my Giro. All in all a good helmet

Reviewed 7/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
An absolute treat
by Adamm
Cycling Enthusiast
Carson City, NV
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I already have a big head and my vanity will not allow me to slap a double-wide MIPS helmet on top of that. So after returning a top-o-the-line Giro that was as wide as my shoulders, I went looking for the lowest profile helmet I could find and Kask was the answer. Not only does is look great but you barely notice it. I just did a century last Saturday and I didn't think about my helmet once, even though everything else hurts. If it's not an issue over 100 miles it will never be an issue.

Reviewed 10/12/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Put to the test!
by N6CK
Santa Cruz CA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I had a hard crash on the Unbound Gravel (DK) 200 on June 5. Shredded my kit, and put some measurable dents and scrapes on my Kask Protone helmet. Hit back up on the bike and carried on for another 100 or so miles. Not even a hint of a headache following the crash. My left shoulder was another story. Great helmet, great protection, easy to recommend for road and gravel rides! Stay active, be well, from this 70 year old cyclist.

Reviewed 6/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Helmet I've had
by Denise
Orlando

Aero, light, breathable and fits well. I love it so much I'm waiting for the matte white to be in stock to get it also.

Reviewed 9/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect for me
by Anonymous
Portland
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I first bought a giro aether and returned it after trying it on a couple times. It felt like it sat over my head and the spherical mips felt too loose, like it would slide right out of the way with a crash. Could move the thing around with my hands easily, felt gimmicky. Parts felt cheap too. Got the protone and it is a solid, perfect fit. It sits around my head and is snug yet comfortable. I have a somewhat �longer/skinny� head. Strap and parts are much more robust and I like the leather chin deal. MIPS would be nice, but it feels great. Put in a good amount of miles, but no real tests.

Reviewed 8/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Helmet !!!
by edwyntorres
Puerto Rico

A comfortable very light, great looking helmet!!! Recommended!!!

Reviewed 8/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Do you want to feel really good about spending money?
by MatM
Cycling Enthusiast
Gambrills, MD
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have the Kask Mojito from a few years back. A really good helmet. It has a two way fit. The Protone has the Octofit. Its pretty slick how you can really dial in your fit. I bought a medium and and Im the upper end of the medium. I didnt need to adjust the chin strap. Im a big fan of how the buckle is offset and not in the middle of your chin. I gave it a few cranks on the back. Very nice fit. I cant say if this helmet is noisy as of yet, its gust in here today. Ive been more focused on staying upright. But my initial indications say its probably no noisier than any other aero helmet Ive used.

Reviewed 5/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Protone
by Van M
pennsylvania
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My favorite fitting helmet, looks better than most in my opinion as well.

Reviewed 7/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
JUST AS I EXPECTED FROM KASK AND THE INCREDIBLE SPEED OF THE DELIVERY TO HAWAII
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have tried every helmet at every bicycle shop here on the island of Oahu. None of them fit the way i wanted. Had experience with KASK and decided to stick with what i know works.

Reviewed 10/23/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Fit & Appearance
by John
Daily Commuter
New York, NY
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have a large head and have owned a lot of helmets over the years, mainly Bell and Giro. This is the best-fitting helmet I've owned (I got the 59-62). I put it on and forget it's there. The strap connection points are adjustable so they position around your ears well, and the under-chin strap is comfortable. The buckle's in an odd place, right against the corner of my jaw, but I don't notice it while riding-mainly an aesthetic issue. The helmet nicely snugs around the crown and back of my head, and it's contoured well so it doesn't look too much like a mushroom atop my big head.

I may be imagining it, but the helmet also feels very aero from all angles. I ride in a lot of cross- and head-wind, and the wind doesn't seem to catch my head like it did with my Bell Sweep. I haven't ridden in hot weather yet so I can't speak to cooling or sweat management.

Reviewed 5/30/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
What youd expect from a high end helmet
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
SF Bay Area
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

It is a helmet and, not having crashed (knock wood), I cant comment on its protective charateristics. It is well ventilated, so much so that I sweat less in it than my Kask Vertigo or Giro, so that is a big plus. The chin retention strap is easy to adjust and comfortably holds the helmet firmly in place. The size adjustability knob also functions smoothly, dials in head diameter perfectly, and is easy to adjust, even on the fly. The only small complaint is the foreaft adjustment harness which was a bit bothersome at first - but once I got used to it I hardly noticed any chafing on the back of my neck. All in all, it is an expensive helmet, but its adjustability allows for pretty much a perfect fit. Funny thing though is that while its head volume is as advertised, the shell is smaller than the Kask Vertigo, so it appears, outwardly, to be smaller than it actually is. In its price point, I would recommend it.

Reviewed 5/24/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit, comfortable and looks good
by VanBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, BC
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

The Protone fits well, is comfortable and the slimmer profile makes it more attractive than many bulbous helmets on the market. The quality of finish is excellent and the level of comfort is high. A helmet is definitely worth spending extra money on if you find it comfortable, you like the looks and it provides some level of protection. As one who struggles with sweat in the eyes, the Protone offers little help. That said, I have yet to find a helmets solves that problem. Hats and headbands are my only solution. As usual, Bike Tire direct service was excellent.

Reviewed 5/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great low profile helmet... no mushroom head!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I was looking for a nice low profile helmet and this was the ticket. It's not cheap but you can tell the build quality as soon as you take it out of the box. I got the matte black and might get a white one too for those days where you need to be more visible. The leather strap thing under the chin is a nice touch for added comfort.

Reviewed 9/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page