CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Hammerhead Karoo 2 GPS Computer

HammerheadKaroo 2 GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(22 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(13)
(5)
(2)
(1)
(1)
(59%)
(23%)
(9%)
(5%)
(5%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Jenk

I want to like this computer !
by Jenk
Cycling Enthusiast
Greenville

I have been riding for years and never really felt the need for a GPS computer with apps like MMR and cell phones, so this is my first GPS computer. I'm getting older and bought this unit for the larger screen and the price over a Garmin 1030/1040, thinking the battery life would not typically be a problem. I only have two 2-hr rides on it and the battery needed charging. Admittedly, that did include set-up and learning the unit, so maybe could have got another 2-3 hours out of it making for 7 hours. Aside from that, the unit is very much like a car GPS unit: maps are great, on screen directions are clear, rerouting is quick and continuous as you ignore the instructions. Screen configuration is flexible and nice, workouts seem to be basic and nothing like Garmin or Wahoo. It will accept a SIMS card but not sure if that is really a feature since you need an account, but without it , 3rd party tracking is not available - maybe a software update could link this feature through a cell phone instead. It does give text and call notifications if you carry your cell phone. I have no sensors so can' t speak to those. Although I'm still learning the unit, I really like it except for the battery life. I do some touring and can see where daily charging could be problematic. I am debating whether to return it because of that and get a Garmin Explorer 2 for touring or hang on to it for local rides. The verdict is still out.???? If battery lasted 15-20 hrs, it would be a great computer !

Reviewed 2/17/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TWT

Love the user interface...great maps and intuitive
by TWT
Cycling Enthusiast
Knoxville
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Product is great. I love the ease of uploading routes and the data I receive on a ride. My only regret is that I need a wifi connection to upload my completed ride to Strava. Other than that, this is a fantastic computer and comparable to much more expensive models.

Reviewed 9/21/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mike H

Poor battery life out of the box
by Mike H
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I just lost my Garmin 1030 and needed a replacement. Since the Garmin customer service over there isn't the best I decided to jump ship to the Karoo 2.

It works, UI is intuitive and looks better than the 1030. Where i just couldn't compromise is the battery life. I'd lose 40% in a 2 hour ride. In a year who knows how short it would have been. I ended up returning it and buying a 1030 plus.

Its worth every penny if you can deal with the short battery life.

Reviewed 8/24/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by EB

Good so far
by EB
Cycling Enthusiast
Berkshires, Mass
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've only been using it to collect data on local rides so far, so can't really say much about how it works for navigation on bike tours yet - doing a tour in October so can update. But it was pretty easy to set up and start using. Much more intuitive compared to my 10-yr old Garmin 800, but that's not saying much. The menus and controls are still a little cryptic, but overall pretty good. Uses a Garmin mount, secure and you have a lot of options for different mounting products. I have Google Fi, they'll send you a sim card for free, it's not a separate account, so there's zero down side. On the other hand, I'm not sure it has ever connected to cellular, there are compatibility issues for different carriers in different areas, so it's kind of hit or miss. Good screen size and brightness, visible in full sun. Easy to use touch screen, just a little funky activating some of the options on screen, it also has hard buttons that can help if you remember what they do (they're not marked by function, just 4 unmarked buttons on the sides).

Reviewed 8/14/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Outstanding
by Anonymous
Portland, OR

This replaces a very old Garmin 500 that was becoming hard to read as I get older. This has an extremely bright and sharp display with excellent maps and an excellent user interface

Reviewed 2/15/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by joe biker

Hammerhead Karoo 2 GPS Computer
by joe biker
Competitive Racer
Hayward, WIS

Works great easy to use, Great color screen and touch screen is nice, Karoo is east to set up and easy to down load routes from Ride with GPS, strava and from Hammerhead Dashboard and others. The climb feature works great. Great deal as it was on sale

Reviewed 2/15/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MrCalf

The screen
by MrCalf
Palo Alto

The really nice screen, sale price

No training metric, so I still record with my garmin watch and broadcast heart rate. Yet to do a century ride with it, longest ride is 50k with almost 80%

Reviewed 2/8/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SoCalEnthu

All my ride info at a glance plus roue tracking
by SoCalEnthu
Cycling Enthusiast
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have one big regret with the Karoo 2 - why didn't I buy this sooner? This is such an awesome tool - I can get all of my key ride stats in a single glance - speed, max speed, average speed, direction, distance, distance to go (if following a route), elevation and speed. And the route following capability is awesome - I can see the route on the map and it gives me the distance to next turn and then a 500 foot countdown as I approach. The battery life is very good (far above their stated number of hours) - staying just above 80% after a 2+ hour ride. Syncing to all of the usual apps is seamless - Suuno, Strava, ride with GPS, and more.

Highly recommended and don't procrastinate, as I did, to buy this superb computer!

Reviewed 2/23/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

The best GPS I've used
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
East Coast
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

I was a longtime Garmin user and had all of the typical frustrations that came along with it. I've been using the K2 for over a year now and can confidently say I'll NEVER go back to Garmin. The touch screen works and having physical buttons is a bonus for those cold days when wearing thick gloves. The turn-by-turn directions are vastly superior to Garmin. Hammerhead updates the K2 every two weeks, so they are constantly squashing bugs and adding new features.

If I had one complaint it would be the mount. Mine came with a Garmin adapter and now I'm able to use it on all my bikes that have Garmin mounts. The Garmin mount is actually better, IMHO.

Reviewed 7/14/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Willy A

Intuitive system
by Willy A
Rockville MD

New to GPS/maping computers and have not had a chance to use only a few times , too dang cold and wet, but enjoying the information

But I still can�t climb

Reviewed 1/25/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Deluxe bike computer with a couple quirks
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Positives:

- High-resolution color touchscreen looks great

- Navigation is the best out there and works without a smartphone connection

- Support for all your favorite sensors including Varia radar

- Integrates well with various ecosystems

- Online dashboard lets you create routes and workouts

- Regular software updates add features and fix bugs

No so great:

- The screen is kind of reflective, so even at full brightness it can be hard to read in direct sunlight

- Small software quirks like occasionally losing the GPS signal or Bluetooth connection to a sensor

- Audio alerts can be hard to hear outdoors

- Battery life is decent, not outstanding

Reviewed 6/2/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Erick J.

Big improvement over prior computer
by Erick J.
Colorado Springs
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I had stopped using my prior GPS computer owing to confusing menus and having to click multiple times to reach the desired info (that is, if I could remember the way to reach the right menu). The Karoo 2 has reset my thinking that a bike computer CAN provide useful data in an intuitive interface. Favorite feature: the hill climb feature is brilliant, and you don�t even need to do anything for it to display. It's like magic!

Reviewed 8/21/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JP

Issues with elevation
by JP
Cycling Enthusiast
Vermont, USA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

There is a known issue with how the device records elevation. Total gain for a recorded ride can be out in left field. During a recent ride, recorded elevation gain was more that double that of the person I was riding with.

This may be the result of a hardware issue that cannot be fixed with a firmware update. Do your homework before buying.

Reviewed 8/25/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Boomer

Nice big screen
by Boomer
Cycling Enthusiast
Katy

I�m slowly starting to use all of the features that are available on this computer. The screen is nice and works well with my lights. There are a ton of features available and it�s at a attractive price point. I have always used Garmin but they have gotten very expensive. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed 8/7/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by corecharge

Once you've used Hammerhead you won't go back to Garmin
by corecharge
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX
14 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

I was a Garmin user for seven years. I've had the Hammerhead for almost 6 months and it is far superior. If you load routes to follow the Hammerhead is far easier to load and more importantly if you get off course it will help you get back on course and not just tell you that you are off course. The touchscreen is far more responsive. If you need support you can actually get a timely response and there is an active online community. Hammerhead is proactive in responding to its user base to add features and functionality. They frequently provide updates.

Reviewed 3/4/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Marty

Great product. The I phone of the bike club mputers
by Marty
philly area
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Large , clear screen with easy to follow directions. Hill feature great for knowing grade and we�re you are on a climb Easy to set up . Contacted tech service one occasion for help. They got right back with me

Reviewed 5/25/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Not compatible with Shimano Di2
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 12 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased this in the spring last year.... and there was zero information in the promo material that advised the risk of not being compatible with Shimano. So I was shocked when I discovered this after I bought my new bike a month ago and discovered there was no syncing available. I contacted Hammerhead and their response was.... "too bad so sad". Stay away from this product.

Reviewed 5/3/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Carl NKC

Excellent device, many lovable features
by Carl NKC
Competitive Racer
Lancaster, CA, USA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Excellent device, many lovable features.

I am still learning the features...the instructions really suck.

Reviewed 11/24/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by David P

Easy to use, great graphics
by David P
Greenville S C.

Never had a gps bike computor. Really nice to down load ride with gps rts. and have turn by turn instructions. No more looking for the painted arrow on road. So far so good.

Reviewed 11/25/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by J EVANS

One of the best bike GPS computers available
by J EVANS
FLA

Bought this to replace a Suunto watch for recording rides. Very well made and with enough features without going overboard. Holds charge pretty well but cold weather does lessen battery capacity. No problems locking onto GPS and downloads reliably to several 3rd party programs. Mapping is very well detailed although limited in zoom in and out but I can live with it.

Reviewed 12/19/2022
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page