X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Giro Winter Merino Wool Sock

GiroWinter Merino Wool Sock(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(28 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(17)
(10)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(61%)
(36%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)
Love the wool
by Alain L.
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Giro makes pretty dang nice stuff, some of my favorite socks and gloves are Giro. That said, I'm not a huge fan of the ribbed 80s "athletic" sock look. But these are hidden under boots so it doesn't much matter, bottom and toe padding is good, though never enough, still have to wear wind block toe covers over my winter boots (Fizik X5) in order to keep warm. If you're feet generally stay pretty warm in your winter boots, even in the 30-40s, then these will likely work for you.

Reviewed 12/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great socks, warm breathable wool, good fit
by MRX2
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area, CA

Good warmth without being overly thick. Size medium fit my US 9.5 feet well.

Reviewed 6/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Warm & Breathable
by Anonymous
phoenix

Nicely made wool that holds up to washing (never in dryer) keeps my feet warm in 38-50 F no problem. I sweat a lot and the wool wicks the moisture effectively. I would appreciate a taller version but with the tights no big deal. The bulk was just right and did not cause any shoe fit problems.

Reviewed 3/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Warm & Breathable
by Anonymous
phoenix

Nicely made wool that holds up to washing (never in dryer) keeps my feet warm in 38-50 F no problem. I sweat a lot and the wool wicks the moisture effectively. I would appreciate a taller version but with the tights no big deal. The bulk was just right and did not cause any shoe fit problems.

Reviewed 3/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great socks
by Anonymous
East Bay CA

Keep the feet comfortable in 50 degree weather without booties. Nice to wear when not biking too

Reviewed 3/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Warm high quality sock.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Marin

Excellent cold weather sock, super comfortable and high quality

Reviewed 3/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Okay, but no Woolie Boolie
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I wanted to try out an alternative to the DeFeet Woolie Boolie 2 and thought these would be at the same level. The Woolie Boolies pip them in comfort and warmth, nice quality and appearance though..

Reviewed 12/4/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well made.
by Steve F.
Saugus

Maybe not quite as warm as woolie boolies but not nearly as thick either. They are plenty warm considering the thickness of the material and very comfortable.

Reviewed 1/28/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Socks
by bashker
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm Desert, CA

I bought three pairs of these socks on sale and I really like them. They are warm for those early morning rides in the high forties and low fifties, and comfortable when the temps begin to rise during longer rides. Since buying these socks I rarely wear any others I own.

Reviewed 12/15/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
1 Wet Weather Sock!
by Road4Track
Competitive Racer
Seattle
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is pretty much the only sock I wear from November to April. I was simply amazed at how much warmer and more comfortable my feet were after wearing these. I now own 4 pairs. Sure they're a little pricey, but when you're 40 miles from home and your feet have little to complain about the price seems quite fair.

Reviewed 3/7/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these socks! warm
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer

These socks are slightly thicker than a normal sock, making them so comfy and warm

Reviewed 12/22/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good for cool weather rides
by BarryM
Cycling Enthusiast
CA

If it is cold and wet outside they are not enough, but for cool fall and spring rides they wokr well. Comfortable and good visability.

Reviewed 3/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable and warm
by Flash
california coast

These have become my favorite socks

Reviewed 2/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
SOCK-IT-TO-ME Socks
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia

Great color and warm! Cosey feet love these socks!

Reviewed 3/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Probably best for 40 degrees
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas

I like this sock but I wore it for a ride in 34 degree weather and my toes were a little cold. I must admit I have cold extremities to begin with and I did not wear shoe covers.

Reviewed 12/2/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is a very good ,medium weight , warm wool sock , that will still fit in your shoe.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
northern Michigan

Cool to cold rides. I like wool a lot better than man made materials for my feet.

Reviewed 11/11/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fitting and feeling socks!
by Peti-Pop
Cycling Enthusiast
Carmel NY

I have tried so many different socks and these are my favorites cool weather socks and everyday off the bike socks. They are extremely good fitting on my feet, which are on the more voluminous side. I suffer often from cold feet when others don't and I would deem these warm enough to about 40 deg., maybe using a thin shoe cover at that. However, because they are merino wool, I can even use them when riding at 75 degrees and they never smell, or get real sweaty. The beauty of natural fiber!

They don't last quite as long as other socks from Assos that cost much more, but make up with style and a good height over the ankles, without looking like grandpa's calf highs. The thickness is just right, so they don't bunch up in your shoes.

The grey is a good color and I think the red Giro tag just adds a little style. To me, these are so good, I wear them constantly, on and off the bike.

Highly recommended only loosing one star for less than perfect longevity. This may even be unfair, considering the material, but they are my favorites by far. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 8/15/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great socks covering wide temperature range.
by Peti-pop
Cycling Enthusiast
armel NY

These socks are perfect from cold to warm weather due to the merino wool. The feet never seem hot and cold only when it gets below freezing. I wear them from 32 to 70 deg. They are not bulky, so you can wear them in your normal shoes. Nice not to have to buy bigger shoes to accommodate colder temperatures. After a number of washes, they get a little fuzzy and don't last forever, but they never smell and are incredibly comfortable. I like them so much, I use them off the bike just as much.

The dark grey goes with almost any clothes and the red Giro logo looks stylish in my opinion.

Highly recommended!

Reviewed 6/27/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great mid-length sock for cooler days.
by JamesD
Cycling Enthusiast
SoCal

I was looking for a merino wool sock that would work on cooler days (40-50degF) and fill the gap between my shoes and my leg warmers. These socks are perfect. Despite my shoes being very well ventilated, I don't need shoe covers until the temps are going to stay under 45deg.

Reviewed 3/21/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wool socks are the only way to go in cooler temps
by jimsunn
Competitive Racer
Ontario, Canada

I ride a size 43 cycling shoe and purchased this sock in XL which is perfect.

Reviewed 3/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page