Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Giro Roc Loc 5 Retention System

GiroRoc Loc 5 Retention System(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(37 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(24)
(6)
(2)
(2)
(3)
(65%)
(16%)
(5%)
(5%)
(8%)
Previous Page
Terrible
by Johnsen
Competitive Racer
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Bad design. Broke 2 wheels in first month and 2 since trying to be careful. LBS says you're supposed to adjust it once and never touch it again. Uh huh. That might work for a pinhead, but not normal people who sometimes wear a hat underneath.

Reviewed 7/10/2014
TriSports.com Comments

Hi,

I'm sorry you've been having such bad luck with these. Please don't hesitate to get in touch with us at [email protected] so we can help you out with a replacement.

Thanks,
Stacia

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Saved me from having to buy a new helmet
by mcgrawm
Arkadelphia

A little tricky to install but totally possible. You must connect the middle piece (at the back of the head before connecting the side pieces. To connect that back piece you must turn it 90 degrees and really press hard to get the tiny plastic rectangle through the slot. You then turn it back to normal and the rest is very intuitive and easy.

Reviewed 7/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worked great!
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer

I only used it once, crashed, cracked my helmet but the retainer held the helmet in place.

Reviewed 2/6/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect replacement for Giro Atmos
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter

Plastic part snapped on the helmet and I looked to see if I could get the replacement part instead of shelling out $100 for a new helmet.

Made sure it was the same locking system (there are multiple types for Giro helmets so make sure) and removed and installed with little to no drama.

The hardest part was snapping the top part back into the helmet. I had to twist and push the tab in. Everything else was just carefully routing the straps through.

Reviewed 4/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect fix, it saved me over $100.00 to fix my helmet instead of replacing it
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced my broken lock system. You offer the least expensive and most timely service for my biking need. No negatives to speak off

Reviewed 11/4/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good snug fit.
by TJD
Cycling Enthusiast
Redding Ca.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced old Roc Loc system with the new one quick and easy. Fit is very snug with easy adjustment.

Reviewed 5/5/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Helmet Savior!
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Chicago
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Fantastic way to save me from shelling out on a new helmet. Easy Install, feels great, and inexepensive!

Reviewed 11/21/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Cheaper to replace than buying a new helment
by JR Bandy
Competitive Racer
Fort Walton Beach, FL
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The design of the Giro Roc Loc 5 Retention System is poor. It does not take much for the back area to break apart and require replacement. Very poor design especially since it comes installed on $250 plus dollar helments. I would think Giro could get this right and design a retention system with more durability.

Reviewed 8/29/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I hope it doesnt brake soon, looks very fragile
by Carlos A
Competitive Racer
Nogales AZ
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I was surprised when I looked at it, and see how fragile it looks

Reviewed 8/23/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fits my Giro Phase!!!
by Anonymous

I hated the rocloc that came with my phase, fortunately this one fits the phase, with a bit of effort, but my helmet is much easier to adjust now!

Reviewed 8/12/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worked well and saved me the cost of a new helmet
by JM
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis MN

Take photos prior to removing the old one to remember the strap configuration

Reviewed 7/26/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect fit
by MoCo
Cycling Enthusiast
Vanuatu
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

If your Roc Loc breaks like mine did - use cable ties until you get one of these. Snaps right in. Installation requires undoing the chin strap from one side so that you can thread it through the Roc Loc.

Reviewed 3/4/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Fit
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Charlotte, NC
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Item fit perfectly on my Giro Xar MTB helmet.

Reviewed 8/30/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Roc Loc 5 Fragile and Defective in Design
by mwride2
Cycling Enthusiast
California
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I am replacing the Roc Loc 5 retention system for the second time in two years. It is a manufacturer's defect and should be replaced free of charge with something better.

Reviewed 7/13/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good but fragile
by Anonymous
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

Nice systems, but I've replaced it three times in the last two years after breaking the adjustment wheel.

Reviewed 6/20/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Direct factory replacement
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami Beach

This came and was identical to the one that came with my helmet. Took a little work to get the height adjustment tab to go where it was supposed to. Price was so good that I bought 2.

Reviewed 4/9/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Designed as a replacement
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Davidsonville , MD
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Unfortunately, I purchased this with the intention of upgrading the Loc 4 with this on a Atmos helmet. They are not designed to upgrade the retention system, only replace an existing Loc 5 restraint. Otherwise, the product is as advertised.

Reviewed 1/19/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.