X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Giro Roc Loc 5 Retention System

GiroRoc Loc 5 Retention System(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(48 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(33)
(8)
(2)
(2)
(3)
(69%)
(17%)
(4%)
(4%)
(6%)
Perfect fit, quick delivery
by Anonymous
Utah

This was the the correct replacement part for an old broken one and now I can use my helmet again! Cheaper than buying a new one. Pretty tricky to get on, so I recommend watching a how to video.

Reviewed 10/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works ok
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Evans, Colorado

One side of this where it snaps into the helmet didnt fit to well and it keeps coming out of the retainer in the helmet. Other than that it works like it should

Reviewed 11/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing
by Caingray
idaho

Fit beautifully and saved me from having to buy another $250 helmet- they even got rid of the tiny spring that broke on the original that came in my helmet- ratchets better than ever as well as increased comfort!!! Definitely buy!!

Reviewed 9/28/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
original one cracked...this is the replacement
by cheah
Casual Cyclist
long island ny

At first I thought it difficult to install considering the first one cracked and I thought this piece too fragile to really man handle. Mine cracked on the thinnest part of the lateral side of the piece. There's a few online reviews of people complaining this is hard to install as well. Not the case however. You have to, with your thumb, push the male piece out far enough so it will fit back in the female end. It won't break, the plastic is flexible enough. The whole piece though, unlike the original, moves up and down far more easier and freely once the replacement is attached. I actually didn't know it did that......but it most certainly does now. Not a bad thing however. All of this will make sense should you try what I'm saying.

Reviewed 1/25/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Replacement Retention System
by Raymond
Walton Hills

The Giro Roc Loc 5 Retention System was fairly easy to install after I looked up directions on YouTube. There are no instructions that come with the replacements.

Reviewed 10/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect Fit
by Anonymous
Oregon

So I replaced the retention system in my

Giro helmet with this product. It fit perfectly and was fairly easy to install. Unfortunately, I crashed the helmet a few weeks later. Glad I had the new retention system.

Reviewed 8/21/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Too hard to install
by BigE
Cycling Enthusiast
Bradenton, FL
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This is the exact part that comes with the Giro helmet. I give it only three stars because it was impossible to install like original. The sides have round tabs that snap into the helmet easily, but the back has a rectangular tab that twist horizontally into a plastic insert on the helmet. Since the plastic insert was in the helmet I could not twist the retention system into it, and I am almost certain that during manufacturing this plastic insert was put into the retention system first and then on the helmet.

However, you can still use this Replacement Roc Loc 5 retention system by cutting the rectangular tab off and gluing the retention system to the plastic insert. This is what I did, and it works just fine.

Reviewed 1/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to replace, fit just as original
by Anonymous

Wasnt even sure this part was able to be replaced and was glad to find it available. It was a little tricky to align the pieces and replace out this part, but overall only took A few moments. Havent had an issue since.

Reviewed 7/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gear extender!
by Mike
Boston

This system is not the most durable. When mine broke I thought I needed to buy a new helmet. I was so pleasantly surprised that this replacement is available. My helmet is like new again!

Reviewed 6/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome Replacement Saved Helmet
by Christov10
Cycling Enthusiast
Stepford, Tennessee
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I overcame my fear screwing up the repair after watching a couple of YouTube videos on replacing the Roc Loc 5 retention system on my Giro Foray bargain helmet. I've had it for a couple of years - the helmet - and a piece of the original retention system broke loose near where the part that connects to the helmet's rear intersects with the part that holds the adjustment wheel and also connects forward left and right. Getting the strap back through the retention system is what freaked me out the most, but I managed it in two tries by exercising patience and with the certainty that I couldn't mess up the helmet worse than it was when the original part broke. I'm very pleased with the result as I like the Foray helmet better than my old Catlike Compact'O.

Reviewed 6/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Giro Roc Loc 5 replacement retention system
by SlimPickens
74011
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This product is a perfect replacement part for rehabilitating my helmet. Im back in business.

Reviewed 4/4/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect replacement for my broken system.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Milwaukee, WI

Easily clipped in and I was back in business.

Reviewed 7/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Effective Repair of a Really Good Helmet
by Christov10
Cycling Enthusiast
Stepford, Tennessee
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

As others have noted, this Roc Loc 5 retention system replacement part repaired what had been, up until a plastic tab broke out of the original system near the adjustment wheel, my favorite bike helmet ever. Installation, again as others have noted, would have been problematic without one or two helpful YouTube videos. Well worth the price.

Reviewed 8/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
OEM replacement saves me having to purchase a new helmet
by MBC in ABQ
Cycling Enthusiast
Albuquerque, NM

My favorite helmet is a Giro which uses the Roc Lok 5 retention system. The fit, adjustability and comfort of this helmet was just right, so when the (rather flimsy) retention system side strap broke, I was happy to find its exact replacement. As for fit and function, I give the retention system a five star rating, but because its plastic or nylon parts are not exactly robust, and for how difficult to install, I'll take off one star. The helmet has lasted with almost daily use since June 2014, so 2 12 years of use before the retention strap failed is pretty good, but not great. All plastic andor nylon is subject to UV decay, so the expense of replacement is not a big deal.

Installation is a bit tricky. Before you remove the old system, memorize how it fits, or better yet take a picture with your phone so you won't be frustrated how it goes back together (especially the end of the center strap). The side straps snap into place easily, but the center Y shaped strap takes some fiddling to get it to snap into the receiver which is part of the helmet. I had some small electronic chain-nose pliers which were essential in this process. I spend quite a while trying unsuccessfully to get the pieces to snap together using only my fingers. If you do use some sort of tool, be careful not to force and break anything, as there are two very small tabs that must mesh to secure the center strap. Giro could have made this part of the replacement easier, but it's probably a necessity to make sure this piece doesn't come unsnapped in a crash that necessitates the fit being so tight. Overall it's like getting a new helmet.

Reviewed 1/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good As New!!
by Ron M.
Cycling Enthusiast
Niagara Falls, Ontario

Helmet was in excellent condition until 'click'...the retention system snapped after many years of great service. this replacement arrived fast and was easy to install (see online video) Thanks!!

Reviewed 4/29/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Helped save a perfectly good helmet
by JBIthaca
Cycling Enthusiast
Ithaca, NY
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Took a little while to figure out how to install the replacement system. No directions. Found a video which showed how to do it. Would help if Giro included a description or video on their site on how to replace.

Reviewed 2/28/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy installation. Cheap fix for a not too-old helmet. Better than buying a new helmet.
by YYCrider
Daily Commuter
Calgary, AB, Canada

It snaps in easily, however it took a few attempts to get the rear anchor in (rotate 90 deg). After that it is just a matter of re weaving the straps through the new Roc Loc.

Reviewed 1/24/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Save a Hundred Dollars
by Chuck
Cycling Enthusiast
Key West Fl

This allowed me to make my helmet good as new instead of having to buy a new helmet.

Reviewed 11/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does not fit an Air Attack
by DaveP
Cycling Enthusiast
Kona, HI
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I took them at their word that it fit newer helmets. It doesn't fit the Air Attack - back it goes. The review is based upon that.

Reviewed 6/12/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Need replacement after 2 years
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Freiburg, Germany

The grey 'case' of the lock broke apart after 2 years of usage aprox. twice a week. For more durability this part should be from fiber plastics or something like this. On the other hand the retention system is very easy to adjust with one hand and comfortable. Looks like no shop offers the spare part in Europe so I came here. My helmet is still in very good condition beside the broken lock and this service will ensure an again satisfied GIRO customer. )

Reviewed 3/21/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page