Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Giro Roc Loc 5 Retention System

GiroRoc Loc 5 Retention System(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(33 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(20)
(6)
(2)
(2)
(3)
(61%)
(18%)
(6%)
(6%)
(9%)
Save a Hundred Dollars
by Chuck
Cycling Enthusiast
Key West Fl

This allowed me to make my helmet good as new instead of having to buy a new helmet.

Reviewed 11/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Too hard to install
by BigE
Cycling Enthusiast
Bradenton, FL
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is the exact part that comes with the Giro helmet. I give it only three stars because it was impossible to install like original. The sides have round tabs that snap into the helmet easily, but the back has a rectangular tab that twist horizontally into a plastic insert on the helmet. Since the plastic insert was in the helmet I could not twist the retention system into it, and I am almost certain that during manufacturing this plastic insert was put into the retention system first and then on the helmet.

However, you can still use this Replacement Roc Loc 5 retention system by cutting the rectangular tab off and gluing the retention system to the plastic insert. This is what I did, and it works just fine.

Reviewed 1/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super fit
by Anonymous
Houston

Ordering stuff like these small parts when they are not at hand to compare is troubling at times.

I did order this piece and it DID fit PERFECTLY.

Thanks

Reviewed 7/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Cheap and easy way to extend the life of the helmet
by Dennis
Competitive Racer
Grand Junction, CO

I love the Giro helmet, but the tiny little plastic pieces in the retention system broke in the duffel bag. I tried gluing them, taping them, yelling at them, all the usual fixes, but nothing lasted for more than one ride. Then I found this. At $20 shipped, it was a little bit bigger portion of the total price of a new helmet than I wanted to spend, but this one still has a few years of life in it, and the fit is perfect. So I ordered it, swapped it out in 2 minutes, and now I have a fully functional helmet again. Now I'm just being more careful with transporting the helmet. Seriously, why is this made with such small pieces as the main link holding the helmet on your head??

Reviewed 7/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Saved me from having to buy a new helmet
by mcgrawm
Arkadelphia
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

A little tricky to install but totally possible. You must connect the middle piece (at the back of the head before connecting the side pieces. To connect that back piece you must turn it 90 degrees and really press hard to get the tiny plastic rectangle through the slot. You then turn it back to normal and the rest is very intuitive and easy.

Reviewed 7/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great, but don't install it on a cold day
by AbqSteve
Cycling Enthusiast
Albuquerque NM

The other reviewers are correct, turn the tab to 90 degrees, slip it into the slot then rotate it into place.

But I COULD NOT get this to work. It was a cold day, and the plastic was too rigid to move into place.

The next day I dipped the part into very hot water, bent the groove a little open, and popped it in with no trouble at all.

Works great, helmet like new.

Reviewed 5/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Replacement works perfect easy install
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX

MY original system had multiple broken points and was beyond usable. This replacement system went on easily and I have a fully usable helmet again. Definitely better than buying a new helmet! Timely Shipping and Customer service at BikeWorks 1

Reviewed 3/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
OEM replacement saves me having to purchase a new helmet
by MBC in ABQ
Cycling Enthusiast
Albuquerque, NM

My favorite helmet is a Giro which uses the Roc Lok 5 retention system. The fit, adjustability and comfort of this helmet was just right, so when the (rather flimsy) retention system side strap broke, I was happy to find its exact replacement. As for fit and function, I give the retention system a five star rating, but because its plastic or nylon parts are not exactly robust, and for how difficult to install, I'll take off one star. The helmet has lasted with almost daily use since June 2014, so 2 12 years of use before the retention strap failed is pretty good, but not great. All plastic andor nylon is subject to UV decay, so the expense of replacement is not a big deal.

Installation is a bit tricky. Before you remove the old system, memorize how it fits, or better yet take a picture with your phone so you won't be frustrated how it goes back together (especially the end of the center strap). The side straps snap into place easily, but the center Y shaped strap takes some fiddling to get it to snap into the receiver which is part of the helmet. I had some small electronic chain-nose pliers which were essential in this process. I spend quite a while trying unsuccessfully to get the pieces to snap together using only my fingers. If you do use some sort of tool, be careful not to force and break anything, as there are two very small tabs that must mesh to secure the center strap. Giro could have made this part of the replacement easier, but it's probably a necessity to make sure this piece doesn't come unsnapped in a crash that necessitates the fit being so tight. Overall it's like getting a new helmet.

Reviewed 1/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Giro Roc Loc 5 Retention System Replacement saves the cost of a new helmet!
by Terry
Cycling Enthusiast
Salinas, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

For $15, I was able to repair an otherwise perfectly good $200 helmet. Good value in my opinion.

Reviewed 2/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect
by Mark Chronister
Arlington, TX

Exact hard to find OEM part that I needed to rescue my otherwise good helmet. Fit perfectly.

Reviewed 12/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
perfect...
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

I didn't know this was replaceable... I was happy to find an inexpensive replacement part when my 3-year old retention device on my perfectly good helmet was broken.

Reviewed 11/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good product. Easy install.
by Anonymous
Portland, OR

I'm glad a local shop had the product in their online store and had it delivered the next day to their brick and mortar store. Product was easy to install. Took pictures of old one to make sure I installed the same way.

Reviewed 8/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fit EXACTLY as it should
by rpeastman
Cycling Enthusiast
Lake Arrowhead, CA

The old version broke. The replacement fit exactly as it should have - slipped directly into the existing sockets after removing the old broken s Roc-Loc pieces. Worked as it was designed. Actually, a fair price as well.

Richard Eastman

Reviewed 8/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does not fit an Air Attack
by DaveP
Cycling Enthusiast
Kona, HI

I took them at their word that it fit newer helmets. It doesn't fit the Air Attack - back it goes. The review is based upon that.

Reviewed 6/12/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Saved me from having to buy a new helmet
by mcgrawm
Arkadelphia

A little tricky to install but totally possible. You must connect the middle piece (at the back of the head before connecting the side pieces. To connect that back piece you must turn it 90 degrees and really press hard to get the tiny plastic rectangle through the slot. You then turn it back to normal and the rest is very intuitive and easy.

Reviewed 7/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Need replacement after 2 years
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Freiburg, Germany

The grey 'case' of the lock broke apart after 2 years of usage aprox. twice a week. For more durability this part should be from fiber plastics or something like this. On the other hand the retention system is very easy to adjust with one hand and comfortable. Looks like no shop offers the spare part in Europe so I came here. My helmet is still in very good condition beside the broken lock and this service will ensure an again satisfied GIRO customer. )

Reviewed 3/21/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Impossible to install
by gleasonll
Ridgecrest, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

There are no installation directions for this item, and it is next to impossible to install. The product is fine, if you can get it back into the helmet.

Reviewed 1/26/2015
TriSports.com Comments
We're sorry to hear about your installation troubles. Feel free to give us a call if you ever have questions or concerns about products you purchase from us. We're happy to help. Anna WBW
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect replacement for Giro Atmos
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter

Plastic part snapped on the helmet and I looked to see if I could get the replacement part instead of shelling out $100 for a new helmet.

Made sure it was the same locking system (there are multiple types for Giro helmets so make sure) and removed and installed with little to no drama.

The hardest part was snapping the top part back into the helmet. I had to twist and push the tab in. Everything else was just carefully routing the straps through.

Reviewed 4/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Terrible
by Johnsen
Competitive Racer
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bad design. Broke 2 wheels in first month and 2 since trying to be careful. LBS says you're supposed to adjust it once and never touch it again. Uh huh. That might work for a pinhead, but not normal people who sometimes wear a hat underneath.

Reviewed 7/10/2014
TriSports.com Comments

Hi,

I'm sorry you've been having such bad luck with these. Please don't hesitate to get in touch with us at [email protected] so we can help you out with a replacement.

Thanks,
Stacia

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worked great!
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer

I only used it once, crashed, cracked my helmet but the retainer held the helmet in place.

Reviewed 2/6/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page