CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Giro Aries Spherical MIPS Road Helmet

GiroAries Spherical MIPS Road Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(17 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(15)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(88%)
(6%)
(0%)
(6%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Great Helmet! Roc Loc 5 LED has limitations.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Greenville, NC

Helmet bought to replace a Giro Aether MIPS that has seen lots of service. Fit is consistent with previous Giro MIPS/Spherical helmets, size small for 5'1" female.

Helmet is very light and well-ventilated. Very comfortable on all length rides; don't even notice it is there. Have already had some days in the low 80s in Eastern NC with high humidity, and airflow has been excellent.

Also purchased the RocLoc 5 LED light. Light installs easily and is surprisingly quite visible from the rear and sides when standing. Have long hair which fits well through the back of the helmet, and when on the bike and stretched out even a small bit, the hair all but covers up the light. Have tried securing the ponytail more tightly, but it still largely obstructs the light. The concept is great and probably works well for riders who are more upright and/or with shorter hair, but may not be effectively visible otherwise.

Reviewed 4/3/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Marc

Great except...
by Marc

Purchased this helmet as an alternative to the POCs I've been wearing the last few years. The looks are great, it is light, and the venting is wonderful. But in my opinion there is a serious flaw that you all need to be aware of if you're, um, a bit larger.

The MIPS straps in the back hang very low compared to other helmets and the plastic is very thin with rough edges. If you just try on the helmet you don't notice this. But if you, like me, are a bit thicker but still ride with a fairly aggressive position, those thin straps will dig into your neck right below the base of your skull even when the helmet isn't strapped in with any pressure. You turn your head and these things become little plastic knives. In my case, after my first ride, it was simply hot spots and what felt like a scrape. Yesterday, after trying to stretch these and sand them (they are so thin you really can't do the latter) a 90 minute ride with climbing, where my head position was really stretched to look up the hill, it was so bad that I ended up with scabs on the back on my neck from these things. Talking to Giro didn't help and they had no adjustment suggestions. So into the trash this goes. If you are a bit in the larger side where you might have a bit more skin back there, avoid this helmet. Which sucks to say because it is otherwise super comfortable just trying it on and looks great.

Reviewed 3/28/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BillV

Awesome helmet!
by BillV
Cycling Enthusiast
85755

This is the most comfortable helmet I have ever worn. It is light and fits very well. The venting doesn't seem any better than other helmets I have worn, but it just fits right and was very comfortable all day long on the bike. I didn't have to mess with the straps or the position of the helmet at all. I was surprised that at this price point it doesn't come with a travel sack, though. That's my only complaint.

Reviewed 4/4/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

The one to get
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got this helmet because a I needed a new one and looking at the recent safety rating it ranked at the top. After a recent crash my helmet looked fine but then later I saw the foam was cracked inside!

The MIPS system conforms nicely to your head and it quite comfortable - more so than my old conventional Rudy. I still blunder around trying to get the buckle engaged but hopefully that will be sorted with practice. It doe looks quite bulbous on the head. For looks the Kask Aero would be my choice but "safety first"!

Reviewed 10/27/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great design with nice sleek profile
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Maryland

Yes, this isn't an inexpensive helmet and you can get some great helmets for around a hundred dollars but if you want one of the best this might be for you. As they say, don't skimp on contact points. Helmets, shorts, shoes, and gloves that aren't completely comfortable aren't worth it no matter the value. This helmet just fits me well. No hotspots and secures so well with the dial on the back that you feel like you don't even need to buckle the strap. What I also really like is the ball-and-socket MIPS system. It really is next-level as it works without having the plastic slides inside the helmet which makes other helmets feel hot and can feel weird with a shaved head. Despite the ball-and-socket design, this helmet has a very low overall profile. In other words... you don't look like a mushroom head. I also sweat a lot in the brow pad design is better than most at wicking the sweat to the sides.

Reviewed 10/17/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ernesto Rider

Excellent Protection with Style
by Ernesto Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
San Juan, Puerto Rico

GIRO ARIES SPHERICAL MIPS ROAD HELMET is an excellent choice for riders of any level of skills. It is comfortable, excellent ventilation and the retention strap are very easy to adjust and manage. It is a top choice for any cycling style and particularly efficient when hot weather conditions. This is a highly recommended cycling tool.

Reviewed 1/23/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Light and comfortable
by Anonymous
SF Bay Area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Been ridding with the helmet for two months so far. Really light weight and feels very secure. Also very comfortable. The sunglasses garage alarm holds glasses very well but it is difficult to do one handed while riding.

Reviewed 1/14/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TGirouard

The Giro Aries Spherical MIPS Road Helmet is an impressive option that offers a perfect fit, excellent ventilation, and top-rated safety features for cyclists who prioritize comfort and safety.
by TGirouard
Competitive Racer
Las Vegas, NV
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I recently purchased the Giro Aries Spherical MIPS Road Helmet and I must say, I am thoroughly impressed with it. The adjustable Roc Loc 5 Air system provides a perfect fit that is comfortable and secure, without feeling too tight or uncomfortable. Additionally, the helmet's numerous vents and internal channels offer great ventilation, keeping my head cool and comfortable even during long rides in hot weather.

What really sold me on this helmet, though, is its top-rated safety features. As someone who values safety on the road, I was impressed with the Spherical technology and MIPS liner that provide extra protection against rotational forces, reducing the risk of head injury. This gives me peace of mind knowing that my head is well-protected while cycling.

While the Giro Aries Spherical MIPS Road Helmet is a bit pricier compared to other options on the market, I believe that the investment is well worth it for the level of comfort and safety it provides. Overall, I would highly recommend this helmet to anyone looking for a top-notch option that prioritizes both comfort and safety.

Reviewed 5/1/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Comfortable and stylish
by Anonymous
Ridgefield, CT

This helmet is very comfortable and has a nice shape and color to it. And Giro is top quality when it comes to safety.

Reviewed 2/2/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by biketed

Light, snug and airy
by biketed
Cycling Enthusiast
Banner Elk, NC

I use it for all my rides here in the North Carolina mountains. I don't have real hot temps, but it is warm and this has been perfect.

Reviewed 9/11/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by bobbyg

Great Helmet
by bobbyg
SW FLA

Light weight, great safety rating, & well ventilated..

Pricey but IMO it's money well spent.

Reviewed 11/23/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

It's OK.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

It's always good to know your helmet provides best protection. In that context, it is fine, just a few nits. Bottom sides are lower than replaced earlier generation Giro helmet - sunglasses touch and rattle on some bumps. Helmet's integrated front sweat band stops airflow on forehead, and is noticeably hotter there.

Reviewed 5/22/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Habanero

Nice Fit
by Habanero
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO

I really like how the Giro Roc Loc 5 LED Rear Helmet Light fits on the back of this helmet. it's a little pricey, but you pay for quality.

Reviewed 11/6/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mikey

Great Helmet comfortable, & protects your Head
by Mikey
Cycling Enthusiast
Richmond VA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

After my recent crash resulting in a TBI, I needed a new, safer helmet, This GIRO was one of the highest rated on the Virginia Tech helmet testing site.

Reviewed 10/31/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Drbob20

Giro came through again.....
by Drbob20
Cycling Enthusiast
Metro Detroit
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Coming from an Aether, this is a bit "sleeker", doesn't appear as large. The look is similar, but better (if that makes sense), the comfort is great, breathable and great looking and of course safe. What more can you ask for in a lid? Highly recommended.

Reviewed 5/1/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TiCanDo

Can't feel it or See it
by TiCanDo
Denver
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Super light though almost exactly the same as their other two Spherical's Kind of like riding with a black hole on your head absorbs all light and heat. You can pretend to be the Headless Bikeman

Reviewed 3/30/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Very comfortable, light as a feather
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Jersey Shore

Really nice looking, and comfortable helmet. Very light and easy to adjust.

Hopefully I will never find out just how well it protects me in a fall.

Reviewed 3/17/2023
Thank you for your feedback.