Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Giro Aether MIPS Helmet

GiroAether MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(8 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(75%)
(13%)
(0%)
(13%)
(0%)
Exceptional Helmet
by MasterGunny
Cycling Enthusiast
Marfa, TX

Put it though the paces last week with a 36-miler and today with a 100K (cold, wet miserable ride)....perfect fit and extremely light, great ventilation coupled with solid aerodynamics. My ONLY compliant, this is the only high end helmet (yes, at this price point...it is high end) out of too many to count in the past 3-years that DID NOT come with replacement sweat pads.....Come on Giro...

Reviewed 10/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet.
by griley
Cycling Enthusiast
Crescent City, CA

It is difficult to review the most essential function of a helmet, protection in a crash. So, I will need to defer to the testing completed by Giro, and talk about the feel. This helmet fit beautifully out of the box. It is light and snug and very comfortable. I also look for a helmet with a lot of air flow and this helmet meets my needs. I would highly recommend this helmet to anyone with a little extra cash to splurge.

Reviewed 11/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
can you put a price on preventing head injuries?
by menace
Cycling Enthusiast
virginia

i look for the best value, but i won't skimp on my helmets. mips is a must. if you have ever had a concussion, you will do what is necessary to avoid it ever again. giros typically fit the best, so with their next gen mips protection, i opted to make the jump. pricey, but i'm worth it. not a liner, but a shell within a helmet. that's right, a helmet within a helmet. the aether is less clunky than my poc mips, a plus,i had to monkey with the straps for a better fit, but hey, that's the case with most helmets. the aether mips is not for everybody, but for the cautious ones out there, it's a no brainer (no pun intended).

Reviewed 11/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome Technology- For me Extremely Uncomfortably
by Anonymous
Michigan
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

The technology in this helmet is incredible. It is also extremely uncomfortable. The problem for me is it is cut about half an inch longer than other helmets. It pushes hard on the stems and bridge of my sunglasses and pushes them down on my nose. Because of the longer skirt it also digs into the back of my neck when I am looking up from riding on the drops. No adjustments cure this ... in my case. I would love to have this state of the art protection, but I am not willing to ride without my Oakleys and I cant tolerate the discomfort.

Reviewed 9/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet!
by SDCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great helmet, fantastic fit. I wore a Synthe MIPS, and the Aether fits about the same, I was a little worried when I read the review concerning the bad fit. I think maybe the person who had the fit problem, may have had a size issue - like too large. I really think this new MIPS technology is a large improvement over the first MIPS. Have worn Giro helmets for years and they continue to improve their helmets. Hopefully I will not have to test the Aether helmet, but a Giro helmet saved my life 13 years ago, would not have survived my head injury without it.

Reviewed 9/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
excellent Ventilation, nice fit, the concept is good.
by otimothyboy
Competitive Racer
Berkeley, CA

I use this helmet on my road bike training. I got the color that changes color, so it matches my Tarmac. I really like the concept in terms of hopefully not crashing, but just in case this makes sense. It fits well but I'm always in between sizes, so a small is just a bit to tight, and the medium, just a wee bit loose, but it cinches down ok. Overall I'm happy with it, and would probably buy it again.

Reviewed 11/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Winter Liner
by SDCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA

Something I forgot in my review, do not retire that Ionos winter liner. I used it in my Synthe helmet and plan to use it in the Aether - it fits!

Reviewed 9/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Helmet in function and style
by Roland
Competitive Racer
South Florida
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

unlike a previous comment. The helmet fits great and it allows me to wear my Oakleys without pushing down on my nose and it is very comfortable in a super tuck position. By the way it looks great.

Reviewed 9/14/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.