X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Garmin Varia RVR315 Rearview Radar

GarminVaria RVR315 Rearview Radar(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(13 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(13)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(100%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
This is a game changer!
by The Caped Crusader
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA

I decided to purchase a Garmin Varia RVR315 based on the positive feedback on several forums and product reviews. This is a game changer for me. I showed a friend how it works and he purchased one the next day. It certainly gives you more awareness of traffic coming up from behind you. I have some moderate hearing loss and sometimes don't hear cars coming up on me. This helps with that problem. I'm purchasing one for my wife's e-bike. I chose the RVR315 instead of the RTL515 as I don't think the RTL515's light is bright and noticeable enough. I purchased a Dinotte Quad Red tail light to use instead as it's much more noticeable and brighter. The Quad Red adds a fair amount more to the total cost but I consider it cheap insurance. Now if Garmin would make the Varia with a camera similar to the Cycliq Fly 6 with more reliability than the Fly 6, I'd buy it in a heart beat.

Reviewed 5/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very helpful
by Jack
florida

I ride on the streets with very little traffic but the cars still exceed the speed limit, this warns me when they are approaching , allows me to enjoy the ride and not worry about cars getting to me before I hear them

Reviewed 5/27/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Garmin varia rear view radar
by Ugaparker

This is a great tool to help a rider know if cars are approaching from behind you.

Reviewed 6/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great added safety feature -- 100% accurate so far
by T. Wiz
Cycling Enthusiast
Silicon Valley, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I start my Radar when I start my Garmin Edge 830. It provides advance warning of an approaching car from behind. although no substitute for checking for cars, it provides peace of mind knowing when a car is coming. So far (approximately 1000 miles of use) it has been accurate 100%. Battery lasts for about 6 hours -- and Garmin Edge 830 alerts you to a low battery so always know when to charge. The mount is the standard Garmin mount (same as the Garmin Edge 830) -- easy on and off, but secure when on.

Reviewed 3/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Didn't know what I was missing
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA

I waffled on purchasing this for quite some time. All the reviews said how this was a game changer once they purchased it and wish they had purchased it sooner. Same for me. There's significantly better awareness of cars coming from behind, especially the "quiet" ones. I use this in conjunction with a Dinotte Quad Red tail light instead of the Garmin RTL515 as I believe the Dinotte Quad Red is much brighter and much more noticeable. Just my opinion though.

Reviewed 4/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Necessary item for all road riders
by Nick
Cycling Enthusiast
Langhorne PA

This is a must have item for all road riders. Gives ample warning of cars approaching from the rear - beats constantly checking a mirror. Never be surprised by a passing car again!

Reviewed 5/27/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works Great, 100% accurate
by Newrunner01
Cycling Enthusiast
Columbus OH

I have now ridden 3000 miles in 2021. I always have the Garmin radar on. Has been accurate with vehicles 100% of

the time. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 5/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Money Well Spent
by TexasNightRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Great State of Texas, Houston area

Pros: Lightweight. Has worked flawlessly paired with my Wahoo Elemnt. Mount seems to be very secure. Especially useful on rural roads.

Cons: No safety tether but an aftermarket tether can be purchased/attached to the back of the unit. In heavy traffic you will receive constant warnings.

Would I purchase again? Absolutely. I now wonder how I've ridden so long without it even though I use a helmet mounted mirror. Several times the radar detected an approaching vehicle before I noticed it with my mirror.

Reviewed 1/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I like it a lot but wish the audible beep for approaching vehicles was louder. It's a real life saver!
by Mike
Indianapolis, IN

Often, I do solo ride rural roads with little traffic and the Varia does give a reliable visual warning on my Garmin 1030.

Reviewed 5/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Must Have!
by BPChicago
Competitive Racer
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Just picked one of these up a couple of weeks ago. Used points to knock the price down. But this is a must have item for any cyclist. Whether climbing or descending, you have awareness of cars coming behind you. It has been 100% accurate so far...the only downside i've noticed has been when two cars are too close together (tailgating), the device doesn't always catch it. But considering how much we spend on bikes and equipment, this is the most important safety add-on i've come across. Been riding in Colorado and i feel so much safer. highly recommend.

Reviewed 8/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Flawless performance. Great product!
by FlashBazbo
Cycling Enthusiast
Middle Tennessee
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

The RVR315 offers excellent situational awareness. It sees cars you can't see in a mirror - the one approaching from out of the sun or the second, third, fourth, etc. cars in line behind you. It tells you how many cars, how far back, and how fast they are approaching. It announces their presence once they approach within 150 yards. This radar helps you be more aware. And being more aware, you can be both more safe and more courteous to drivers. I won't ride without this pod. Never ever a false all clear. Occasionally, it will give you a false alert - either a BIG cyclist coming up behind you or a road sign oscillating in the wind. But false alerts aren't a big deal.

I previously used the Varia 510 radartaillight but, when riding alone, I always wanted a much brighter taillight than the Varia offers. (I have a Dinotte Quad Red that I use when I'm alone.) When this radar pod became available, I bought it the first day. Now, I get the benefits of Garmin's radar and the brightness of my Dinotte taillight at the same time. Best of both worlds.

Reviewed 5/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best safety addition yet
by Ed
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is amazingly useful, it is so handy to know what is behind you and how fast it is approaching. One of the best bike accessory I've ever purchased.

Reviewed 9/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It works GREAT
by David H
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO

I use it on my seat post. It's great to not have to look over my shoulder, for cars, or listen for them. It's great on country roads!

Reviewed 1/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.