CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Garmin HRM-Dual Heart Rate Monitor

GarminHRM-Dual Heart Rate Monitor (Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(140 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(100)
(23)
(8)
(6)
(3)
(71%)
(16%)
(6%)
(4%)
(2%)
Previous Page

User submitted reviews

Review by JP

Good but Could be Better
by JP
Daily Commuter
NYC & Suburbs
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've had two of these. They work well with my Garmin Edge and are reasonably responsive to changes in heart rate. The strap needs to be run under water before you put it on, and I rinse/soak the strap (with the monitor unclipped) after every ride (3-5 rides/week).

Why have I had two? They seem to need to be replaced every couple of years. After several months you'll see accuracy drop/disappear, which is usually fixed by replacing the battery. But after a couple of battery changes, the monitor craps out totally and battery replacement doesn't fix it. As an annual cost it's not a big deal, but it's odd that this item has such a short lifespan. By comparison, my speed and cadence sensors have never needed to be replaced.

And the comments about battery replacement are spot on. '70's-era tiny-screw technology. Use the right screwdriver, put on your patience face, and soldier through. Seems like Garmin could come up with a more human-friendly design.

Reviewed 2/18/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by RazelG

I get my beats
by RazelG
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Works as advertised, though I find if I don't adequately moisten the contact patches the unit can skip a beat now and then. It pairs with my Garmin head unit and my smart trainer without issue now that I know it needs enough spit.

Reviewed 1/20/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by babikebabe

heart rate monitor works well
by babikebabe
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Bought this to replace the same model that was a few years old but had become erratic in terms of picking up my heart rate. New one works fine. The only issue with this version (Garmin has a newer one that is more expensive) is that the thread for inserting a screw driver on the 4 little screws that have to be removed to change the battery will wear out really easily. and the little screws are easy to lose.

Reviewed 1/9/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Miles S. Proud

Checks all the boxes seamlessly
by Miles S. Proud
Oregon

Simple set up and connection. Have worn it for about twenty rides with no issues. The ability to disconnect the transmitter and wash the strap in the washing machine is an appreciated feature as well.

Reviewed 1/11/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Spaghetti and Meatballs

Much better than I had anticipated
by Spaghetti and Meatballs
Cycling Enthusiast
SLC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I�m a woman, 5�4� and 116# with no experience using a HRM. My son-in-law uses this one all the time and loves it. I wasn�t sure how I would like it wrapped around my chest. Since, I have a Garmin 1000 Edge, it was important to have a device that would pair easily, which is does. The chest strap isn�t uncomfortable like I initially imagined. It works like a charm. I am very pleased with the quality & value. I did find that I have the strap almost as small as can be adjusted. It would be nice to have a chest strap made to accommodate a small frame, however, this is working so I should not complain. I would highly recommend this product to others.

Reviewed 9/24/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SWF Rider

Drives me crazy with inconsistency
by SWF Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Florida
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This is the only Garmin product that I have had to replace once a year. No kidding. Within the first 7 months the HR readings become intermittent during the ride, progressing to full non-function on the latter half of the ride. Replaced batteries, reset Edge 1000 and Edge 1030 to no avail. Buy another one. That's my cycle (Pun intended)

Reviewed 8/28/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by David D.

Great heart rate monitor
by David D.
Cycling Enthusiast
OC, CA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This heart rate monitor is very comfortable. It give excellent, consistent data to my Garmin head unit. The only times I've had it go blank was when I forgot to get the sensors wet, and even then it would kick on pretty quickly as I started cycling and sweating. Compared to older units I've used in the past, these seem to have been updated and never skip a beat!

Reviewed 11/14/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Long strap
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR

Bought this to use with my Lezyne computer. Comfortable, works great and Bluetooth connection to my computer fantastic. Only issue is that the strap is incredibly long. While it can be adjusted, it is a bit too loose on my female, 58, 115 pd frame even when shortened as much as possible.

Reviewed 7/16/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dude.Bike.Repeat.

Works, Mostly
by Dude.Bike.Repeat.
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I got this to connect both my Garmin Edge and my phone in order to have back up in case one goes awry on a ride, which does happen. It connects to the Garmin with ANT and the phone with bluetooth. It works except, oddly, my Garmin Edge will lose connection and I can't get it back while out on a ride. The phone stays connected. I think it loses connection when I power up the Garmin Connect app on my phone, so go figure. Otherwise works as advertised and is great to have HR on both devices when one craps out our produces wacky GPS.

Reviewed 6/27/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jay Cahow

Very Poor Battery Design
by Jay Cahow
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis
15 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

This sensor has a real poor battery replacement design using four very very tiny screws to hold the back cover in place unlike all their other sensors that have easy to turn and pop off backs. I get about one year out of the battery and the screws are either impossible to get out (do not drop them) or they strip out when replaced. I have to glue the back on with silicone glue as all the screws or their mounts have been damaged over time.

Other than the pathetic battery design it seems to work well and the strap is washable. If the battery design would have been sensibly designed I would given it five stars.

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Eric @ MD

So far so good
by Eric @ MD
Cycling Enthusiast
Frederick, MD
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've only had the Garmin HRM for three months and it simply works everytime with my Edge 520 when I'm on the road or with Trainer Road when I'm riding indoors.

Reviewed 3/13/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mike in Richland

Look for a Different Monitor
by Mike in Richland
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Washington State
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have three Garmin HRMs that do not work. Most recently, I bought the HRM-Dual last year, and it has quit working. Now I am dealing with Garmin on a warranty issue, which I would rather not have to do. I have switched to a Wahoo monitor and am quite satisfied at this point.

Reviewed 9/6/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Works great
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

My old Garmin HRM wore out. I bought the new Garmin Dual Heart Rate Monitor to replace it. I couldnt be happier. One plus this new HRM works with Zwift and your heart rate shows on the screen and also in Zwift Companion app. The old Ant monitor was not recognized by Zwift.

Reviewed 11/5/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SeaBiker

Nice improvement from original
by SeaBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

The strap on my old Garmin HRM wore out. Ordered this as a replacement.

Nice that Zwift now recognized my HRM and both Zwift and Zwift Companion now display heart rate information. It wouldnt recognize the Anti information.

I have done several rides and this product works perfectly.

Reviewed 10/21/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MikeFromNC

Great HRM, good connectivity to apps
by MikeFromNC
Cycling Enthusiast
Davidson, NC

I use this when walking, cycling etc. Pairs nicely via ANT to my android using my Workouts app. The HRM signal is very reliable.

Reviewed 8/29/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Geoffgg

Works Great
by Geoffgg
Tigard

Well most head units are Garmin and use ANT, and then Ive got a TACX Neo2 (which Garmin recently bought TACX) which uses Bluetooth with my Apple TV. So if you get this heart rate strap your pretty set as it work seamlessly with both the Garmin headunits ANT and Bluetooth as needed. Plus its comfortable and I like the strap.

Reviewed 7/22/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Eyekayak

Consistently good
by Eyekayak
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida West Coast

I use this heart monitor strap 3-4 times per week for 2 hour rides each time. This is a very comfortable strap and once adjusted for my chest stays in place. In fact, I never notice that I have this strap on.

Reviewed 5/23/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Solid HR monitor
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is a reliable HR monitor with long battery life.

Reviewed 5/25/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mike in Richland

Good heart rate monitor
by Mike in Richland
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Washington State

I use this heart rate monitor (HRM) in combination with my Garmin bike computer and trainer (Zwift interface). It is comfortable on long rides. Definitely make sure to follow direction and wet the band prior to riding. This HRM was bought to replace my more expensive Garmin HRM PRO, which had a very short life span under my usage conditions (seal failed, electronics were subsequently corroded and quit working).

Reviewed 5/14/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dudeyak

Excellent SALE price for this Garmin HRM!!
by dudeyak
Cycling Enthusiast
Ft. Worth TX

Very easy to set-up and use, paired immediately with my Garmin 820 head unit. Properly tensioned with the strap, stays perfectly in place for longer (3+ hrs.) rides. Sensor also snaps off and back on super-easy when washing or cleaning the strap. Haven't had long enough to speak for battery life, but should be a long time.

Reviewed 4/28/2022
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page