Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Garmin Edge Speed Sensor

GarminEdge Speed Sensor(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(13 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(10)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(77%)
(23%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Good deal!
by Jim
Texas

Recently ordered and received the speed sensor, as always the best price and speedy delivery. My go to source for cycling needs

Reviewed 1/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does it's job!!
by Kevin
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana

I've had no problems since putting this on my rear wheel. Read where some riders had intermittent issues being on rear wheel vs front, but I haven't noticed anything. Which ever wheel you have it on...it works!

Reviewed 5/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good quality items
by Burl
Madison Wi

Came as advertiesed.fast delivery.and works great.so far nothing but a great experience with this company. Will do business with him again

Reviewed 1/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works Great on my Trainer
by Grinding Away on the Trainer
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My bike is on the trainer in the basement where it cannot get any GPS info. But with this mounted on the rear wheel I get the speed and distance info. Now only if it would only register higher numbers! On the trainer it always seems like I should be going faster for all the work I do! Can't wait until it gets warmer outside.

Reviewed 3/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Huge improvement over old-style sensor
by Gino L
Cycling Enthusiast
Cupertino, CA

The new speed sensor wraps around your wheel's hub and uses an accelerometer to compute speed as opposed to the old magnet-based sensor. It eliminates the annoying tick-tick-tick sound that can occur when the spoke magnet hits the sensor arm when they go off position after a huge bump. Battery life is pretty good, too.

The sensor will wrap flush around most hubs, but certain ones (e.g. curved hubs) will cause it to mount askew. This is only a problem with tight spaces, such as 130mm rear, curve-shaped hubs where the sensor won't mount securely causing erratic data reads. In these situations, it's easier to mount it to the front hub.

Overall, I prefer these type of speed sensors. I just wish Garmin would support Bluetooth LE (BTLE) in future versions.

Reviewed 9/4/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works well.
by christopherdart
Competitive Racer
Middle Haddam, CT
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Speed sensor on my GSC-10 broke. It's easier to use this device than to buy a new GSC-10 (2, in my case). I use it on the trainer for speed/distance calculation.

Reviewed 5/25/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No more magnet, less bike clutter
by Crux Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Saratoga,CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

With cadence reporting from a power meter, I no longer needed the speedcadence sensor. Having the speed sensor is nice when the GPS has the occasional drop out, so this fit the bill. Added plus is that it virtually disappears on the bike.

Literally seconds to install and pair with the head unit. So far, seems flawless.

Reviewed 3/23/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great upgrade
by Slowzeak
Cycling Enthusiast
So. Cal
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This gizmo replaces the speed sensor for you garmin that hangs on the rear stays. This one wraps around the front or rear hub. It partially eliminates the need for the older speed sensor, and eliminates the needs for batteries. Just one thing thought, unless you are riding indoors or areas where GPS satellite coverage is poor (maybe the North or South Poles) you really don't need it. Garmin sells this either separately or in a kit with a cadence sensor that also eliminates the needs for magnets.

Reviewed 2/8/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Stealthy sensor
by DaveH
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Works as well as the older model, but no magnets on your spokes or big ugly sensor on your frame. Only downside is that you need to buy a separate sensor for cadence.

Reviewed 1/23/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great addition for indoor riding
by CTbiker

I have a Garmin Edge 520. This was easily paired with my unit and is a nice addition for riding indoors. It allows me to set an indoor profile and uploads ride data to Garmin connect.

Reviewed 4/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good product (mostly)
by hpbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Cullman Al

Put on my wheel for speed on trainer rides. Works well most of time but with sometimes settle down to one or two mph even when I don't.

Reviewed 3/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
nice simple single component for speed
by Anonymous
Dana point
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I like it is only one unit don't need to use a magnet

Reviewed 11/17/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great - super convenient!
by RealKarl
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got the speed sensor only as I have cadence built into a Stages power meter. So much more convenient than magnet based system I have on my older bike. Also much easier to move from bike to bike if needed.

Reviewed 9/2/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.