X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
AVOID SHIPPING DELAYS & SHORTAGES THIS HOLIDAY SEASON - SHOP NOW!
Garmin Edge 830 GPS Computer

GarminEdge 830 GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(94 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(59)
(24)
(4)
(4)
(3)
(63%)
(26%)
(4%)
(4%)
(3%)
Previous Page
Touch screen is so much better
by Tom
Competitive Racer
Santa Barbara, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Ordered this as an upgrade so I could track my interval workouts with better data. The touch screen is so nice, it makes using the unit so much more easier. Automatically uploads data to Strava so I can check out how I did verses my last ride on the route.

Reviewed 4/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Touch screen is worth it
by Alan
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've had a Garmin Edge 530 for a few years but passed that one on to my wife when her Edge 520 stopped holding a charge. I debated whether to go with the 830 but I'm happy with the choice after using it for a few weeks. The touch screen is easier to manage compared to the multiple buttons on the 530, and it has worked reasonably well in rain and during the last part of the winter with full finger gloves.

Reviewed 4/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
830 over 530
by Jbartlwy
southern Indiana
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I had first purchased 530 and used for the summer and was happy with it very much. But did not like the pushing buttons so much while riding. So went ahead and upgraded to the touchscreen 830 and have been very happy that I did a big improvement and to me worth the money. Even in cold weather riding with gloves screen was easy to use.

Reviewed 3/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great upgrade from 820
by SeaBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

My Garmin 820 battery has lost its ability to hold a charge for more than two hours. So I ordered an 830 as a replacement.

I am very pleased so far. I love how it switched from my data screen to the map screen to warn me of an upcoming turn in my course. After the turn the 830 returned to the data screen. That feature is really helpful.

Setup was a little easier than my 820 but still took about an hour to pair my existing sensors and customize the data screens. No where in the manual did it tell me how to change the front and rear gear values but I did finally figured it out. (I have Etap so the 830 will display current gears and battery life).

Reviewed 2/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Have enjoyed the 830. It was easy t0 set up
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson and Nebraska
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased this to replace a garmin 800 that died on me. This has more options than the 800. I appreciate it linking with my phone to show texts and emails. I'm still working to get courses and routs set up, but it gives warnings and turn information that is great. Still lots to learn, but am glad I purchased it.

Reviewed 2/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Flexible data screens and fast computer
by Anonymous

Like Garmin connect where there are lots of data screen options. The computer is fast, though the touch screen doesn't work as well in rain or sweat. Wish Garmin use the phone for input more like Wahoo.

Reviewed 1/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Garmin 830 is worth the upgrade, lots of great new features
by Richard
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Paul, MN

I have been a garmin user for a long time. Started with the Edge 305, then the Edge 800 and now upgraded to the Edge 830. I have to say that I am quite impressed with the new features that this unit provides. In addition to the bluetooth functionality, the maps and directions are much better, plus the feature that you get a warning when there is a sharp curve or bend in the road approximately 400 feet prior to reaching it, which is very handy when riding in unfamiliar areas. Turn warnings happen earlier than with the 800 unit, I also like the climbing feature which lets you know how much of the climb remains and gives you a graphic to show the distance and number of feet yet to climb, which can be quite useful in gauging your effort. I frequently stop at coffee shops on my rides, so the bike alarm feature is a nice little addition to alert you if your bike is moved. Lastly, the feature sends out a notification to pre-selected contacts in the event of a crash or emergency is a great safety feature. On the downside it seems that the satellite connection is not as good as the previous models, if you even go under a short, open bridge the satellite connection is lost. I have even encountered this issue on tree lined streets, which is a bit annoying to see your connection lost and your speed drop to about 3 or 4 mph no matter how fast you are riding. If you are really concerned about this I would suggest getting a speed sensor with this unit. I have also had the unit freeze in the middle of a ride. It froze at 17 mph. I did a little investigative work and found that this is an issue encountered by many Garmin Edge 830 owners and seems to be a firmware issue. It is easily resolved if you hold in the power button for 10 seconds and the ride is saved, but if you are in the middle of a ride, it is once again annoying. Overall the the unit is great and I love it. I am glad I got it, but wish all the little annoying bugs had been worked out first.

Reviewed 9/9/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic upgrade to my 510.
by keithd
Cycling Enthusiast
Central California

I'm a long time Garmin user (started with the 700) and have not always been thrilled with Garmin software or hardware durability. The software has gotten better of late, so wWhen my 510 died, I looked around, held my nose, and made the expensive upgrade to the 830.

I love this computer! While the form factor is nearly identical, the display is FINALLY super readable in bright sunlight and nearly as responsive as my iphone. The text notifications on the Garmin are slick and unobtrusive. There are many small features that make this feel like a modern cycling computer.

The ONE thing Garmin still need to do is provide phonecomputer setup rather than relying on the clunky setup interface on the device.

Reviewed 8/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Intuitive and simple to use
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Touch screen is clear and easy yo use. Setting the display to personalized settings was simple.

Reviewed 6/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Garmin Edge 830 - Most disappointing Garmin that Ive owned
by 89Gator
Cycling Enthusiast
Brentwood, TN

The 830 is by far the most disappointing Garmin Edge that I have owned. Ive had the 305, 705, 500, and 810 previously, and while all of them had occasional glitches, I found them to be largely reliable. Not so with the 830. First, pairing it and uploading activities to Garmin Connect is a manual activity. Every. Time. Ive paired and repaired it multiple times. On the iPhone Bluetooth connections page, it always shows 2 830s... one connected and one not. So after every ride, I have to open the Garmin app, hope it wakes up the connection and manually sync. But at least half the time, it requires turning Bluetooth off and on, and turning the Garmin off an on one or more times. In addition, the elevation profiles on the Garmin are totally stairstepped. My other Garmins showed the climbs as relatively smoothaccurate lines, but the elevation profile on the 830 has completely flat sections followed by completely verticals sections. It also always shows me an 18th of a mile farther up the climb than I am. Separately, the climb pro feature sounds good until you use it. Its way too zoomed out so that you cant see what elevation features are coming up. Itll say the average remaining climb is something like 8% as an example, but it doesnt give you any visibility to the 20% kicker coming up. So I dont use it. Finally, it also froze on me mid-ride, although Id give it a pass on that because Ive never had a Garmin that didnt do that. But this was in the first 6 weeks of using it. In summary, I wish Id stuck with my 810.

Reviewed 8/10/2019
TriSports.com Comments
Hi there. Seems as though you may have received a defective unit. We are always happy to help facilitate a warranty claim, as are Garmin. They have great customer service and can often help you work through any issues you are having. Don't hesitate to email us at [email protected] to get the ball rolling on this process!
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Getting better but still have issues
by Vailbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Vail, Colorado

Got one of the first units when initially released in May, 2019.

Been in contact with Garmin customer support on several occasions. Their support has been excellent starting with a beta software release update which fixed my initial problem. One annoying flaw is that you can not set the odometer in order to carry over mileage from previous computer. There is an IQ odometer app which can be preset and incorporated into display page. Everything else is functionally complete and the touch screen is a vast improvement over menus and buttons on my previous 530.

Garmin is sending me a replacement unit which will hopefully fix my remaining issue - elevation jumps all over giving wildly erroneous readings. They already had other reports of the problem and established that it is a hardware - not software - problem hence the replacement unit. Hopefully the new unit will not have this problem.

Overall I am very satisfied with the unit, especially the route guidance feature which is essential for touring in unexplored areas.

Reviewed 7/29/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice head unit
by Anonymous
NYC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great upgrade from the 520 which only fault was battery life. Typical Garmin learning curve needed.

Reviewed 6/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
get one of these
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

love the touch screen, no issues even in the rain, easy to read even with out my reading glasses, intuitive, great battery life, good for more than a century ride, also lasted thru four days on the Kokapelli... couldn't be more pleased.

Reviewed 12/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lightyears better than the 820!
by Borg
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN

Just finished a 1,050 mile trip with my new Edge 830 and I was wowed. Battery life is incredible with 70% off the charge left after a 109 mile ride, including interacting with a Varia radarlight unit, remote and D-fly. The higher resolution screen is much clearer than older Edges. Touch screen works well and it's consistent linking with my phone via bluetooth is much more reliable than the 820 had been. Responds automatically to the buttons on my Domane SLR7 hoods to change screens forward and backwards. Ride with GPS routing directions were perfectly presented. The only thing I wish was different is the alarm which indicates someone is moving your bike when you're at a pit stop of getting coffee. It does show on your phone but is so quiet bystanders wouldn't pay any attention. It is apparently not adjustable. Overall, far and away the best computer I've ever owned. Love it!!

Reviewed 7/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
awesome device!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

great stats and trailforks maps....what else do you need?

Reviewed 6/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Much better but still needs some work
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Middle of Michigan

I've been using my Edge 820 for a few years and have been through the range from the 510 to the 820, now the 830. I was forced into a new unit due to battery anxiety. Almost went with the Wahoo Element, but went with what's familiar. Right away, I am very happy with the much improved screen resolutioncrispness. In direct sun I can finally read the unit which was at times a challenge with the 820....Big plus. Touch screen response is also much improved as well as the speed when tapping between screensfunctions...another Big plus.

Downside It could use a phone interface like the Wahoo units in order to vastly simplify screen set-up. If it had that functionality, I would give it 5 stars. Garmin, you need to catch up to the times even though your base DNA is solid.

Reviewed 5/23/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Way better than 520+
by Geoff
Tigard, Oregon

I had the 520+ and it did everything I needed so I didn't think I needed to upgrade, well I love biking and this I really enjoy my Garmin and Garmin 830 is better in a lot of ways that I hadn't really thought, it's fast, it's works better in so many ways, I like the touch screen. Anyway: if you aren't sure if you need to upgrade, umm I was more than pleasantly surprised and so glad I did.

Reviewed 11/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is my first cycling computer and I really like it!
by Gary Sandel
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use it every time I ride my bike either on the road or my trainer. And now I am planning to use it on my runs too. So far, I have not seen any flaws yet.

Reviewed 5/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
BIg Improvement over 820!
by aharmon666
Cycling Enthusiast
Duluth MN

I've been using a Garmin 820 for years, and learned to accept the glitchy touch screen sensitivity, display limitations and cluttered look of many of the pages. The 830 represents a vast improvement on all counts - it is simply a joy to use. Even the charging port cover is more robust!

Reviewed 10/12/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

Larger screen is great. Functionality and ease of use is also great. Loaded with features. A little on the pricey side.

Reviewed 4/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page