X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

GarminEdge 530 GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(106 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(68)
(31)
(4)
(1)
(2)
(64%)
(29%)
(4%)
(1%)
(2%)
Great product
by Anonymous
So Cal high desert

Very happy with this computer. Great battery life. Impressive graphics. Big upgrade from my 520.

Reviewed 7/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is a very good bike computer.
by Clarence
Cycling Enthusiast
Westchester county, New York
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use this computer when I ride during the weekdays. I like that it does not have a touch screen, as my 830 has. Sometimes on my 830 I accidentally touch the screen and I can not get back to the original screen. What I do not like about the 530 is that when initially entering data, it is more difficult to enter and save data without a touch screen. Since my 530 was a replacement for my 820, I wish I could have transferred the data from my 820 to my 530.

Reviewed 7/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great GPS
by Smytty
Ottawa

Easy upgrade from my old 520, automatically carried over my settings in a minute or two. Love the grit and flow ratings for MTB. Road features are excellent too - reminders to eat and drink if you want them. Overall, a great upgrade with improved battery life.

Reviewed 7/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great cycling computer, once you get used to the confusing interface
by fearlessphil
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas

I love all of the metrics you can get from the Edge 530. I especially like the detailed maps, turn notifications, nutrition/hydration alerts, and climbpro. The unit has a great screen that is easy read even in the bright sun. The user interface takes some getting used to. I also had trouble with routes I loaded constantly telling me to make a U-turn even though I know I am going right way.

Reviewed 7/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really great bike computer - one flaw
by ZimZim
Cycling Enthusiast
Sandpoint, ID

The screen is very easy to read (screen set up with speed, cadence, HR, gradient, clasped time, time of day). Initial setup a bit tricky but once set up no problems. The big flaw is that it is a very delicate device. Had it for a month and it slipped from the hand and hit the floor. Completely dead. If Garmin won't repair it I'll get another - and put a silicon case on it. Would be a five star review if it was not so delicate.

Reviewed 7/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Happy I upgraded
by Damonpdx
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Upgraded from Edge 130 and very happy.

Able to move seamlessly from my trainer to my road bike with different profiles. (Original edge 130 does not allow this).

Screen much larger than 130.

Love that it uploads my ride via WiFi on trainer rides. When I get home from a ride it seems I have to link via phone to Garmin Connect instead.

Haven't taken advantage of climb pro yet because I typically don't download routes.

Still wonder whether touch screen would be better, but I wear full finger gloves much of the year, so that might be problematic with touchscreen.

I did buy a silicone cover on Amazon in case I drop it as the glass is otherwise unprotected. The Garmin cover is about double the cost of others.

Reviewed 6/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One Great Upgrade
by BruceCurt
Cycling Enthusiast
Saratoga, NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This was an upgrade from an old Edge 500 and I have to say that the difference is like night and day. The unit is so much more customizable, has many more features and color graphics. Like the 500 you can add screens and format them as you wish, but it also has modes for a road bike, a trainer or a mountain bike right out of the box. Pair it with a set of power meter pedals and you'll be overloaded with data during and after your ride. Then when you're done with your ride the 530 provides you an evaluation of your effort and provides a summary. Brilliant!

Reviewed 5/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Edge 530 so good I bought two!
by jboehlke
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Fantastic product significantly larger screen with similar footprint than the 530 and far better screen resolution, this thing is amazing. Gifted 2nd one to Pop for his 70th bday. I have mine paired with rear blinkie radar and front light, all purchased from Western, could not be more pleased with the product and the latter with the shop.

Reviewed 6/24/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
All you need in one compact unit.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Ohio
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I upgraded to the 530 because I appreciated it's functionality over my older 520. Lots of training dynamics data, maps galore should you want to consult them, and an easy-to-read screen. I prefer a smaller display than the 1030 range, more compact in cockpit and lighter. Good visual interface with Garmin Varia radar. Only drawback is that the battery may require more frequent recharging, depending how many features you activate.

Reviewed 6/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid, compact, do-it all bike computer
by HalloweenEagleBike
Cycling Enthusiast
Swedesboro, NJ
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

The Edge 530 has been a great addition to my cycling. With the integration w Garmin Connect, its very easy to create training workouts, custom routes, and also more detailed performance stats from each of my rides. I've used it for both road, gravel, and mountain biking and its well suited for each discipline. The battery life is solid. I've only done 1 longer (5 hours) ride with it, but had no concerns of it dying somewhere along the way. Normally, I use it for several 60-90 minute rides a week and typically only charge it once every other week. It integrates seamlessly with all of my sensors (garmin speed and cadence), heart rate strap (garmin chest strap), and lights (garmin varia headlight, garmin varia radar). It has changed my cycling experience. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that periodically there are some small annoyances like auto downloads restarting your ride, but these are few and far between.

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Looks great on my bike.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Very stylish. Loaded with lots of stuff I'll probably never use. I believe that Garmin is phasing out support for 500 so I decided to upgrade to the 530. I had great success with the Garmin 500. It had just the right amount of basic functions. The 530 has all the 500 has and lots more, more than I really need. I can link the 530 to my IPhone and get my ride results immediately. That I like. It's a little bigger and heavier, but it has a very nice look on the bike.

Reviewed 4/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love the routing and data
by Carey
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've had a Garmin 500 for some time, about 5 years, which has worked just fine with no issues. But... the 530 gives me so much more, especially nice is the routing. Yet then there are the other stats, training options and status updates which are great too. And simply put, I don't mind the setup even though it takes a little time to figure out. I've even configured the Activity Profiles individually by bike (4) as well as for the specific activities such as Indoor Training, so I can break out the data more easily.

Reviewed 4/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great. Larger screen along with so many features
by Anonymous

Used for long distance riding.

Reviewed 7/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lots of features at a fairly reasonable price.
by OldBikerRunner
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

As winter falls upon Wisconsin, I have been training (biking & running) indoors more often. The profiles allow me to set certain data fields for indoor biking vs ones I want for the open road. I used to use my Garmin watch for the bike, but having a head unit is a great improvement. Being cheap I utilize Garmin Segments, creating ones to mimic Strava segments, which then allows me to race against them. This feature alone makes the purchase worth it for me. I had been trying to take the crown on particular segment all summer and with the real time feedback, I smashed it by 20 seconds. We don't have many "climbs" in Wisconsin, but I could see how that new feature would be very useful after using it just two times. I had a couple issues with losing connection to my Garmin Vector pedals, but since the latest update, that has improved. Connects well with other sensors: heart rate strap, speed/cadence sensors on my other bikes. Nice to have decent mapping as well. I find the menu arrangements slightly different than other Garmin products. I also sometimes wish I had spent more for the touch screen model.

Reviewed 12/12/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to move from bike to bike.
by RedBud Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Wichita, KS
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have a road profile for my road bike and another profile for my gravel bike. The unit came with two mounts and I have one on my road bike and one on my gravel bike.

The road profile includes average speed in addition to distance, time, and speed. The gravel profile adds temperature and time of day to the parameters. My only concern is that with my sunglasses prescription I don't have a reading lens and I have to limit the number of parameters displayed so they are large enough to read. Not a complaint since there is flexibility in the number of parameters and size of the boxes for the information displayed.

All in all, very pleased with the product. Now that I am wearing winter gloves, I can say that the buttons are really easy to use!

Reviewed 11/20/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works as well as I expected
by VTGuy89
Cycling Enthusiast
Alpharetta, GA
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

My Garmin Edge 530 was easy to set up, sync with Garmin connect which syncs with MapMyRide. It is easy to read under clouds or direct sunlight. The battery lasts a long time--should be no problem for a 100 mile ride. I can see text messages coming in through phone pairing. Interesting to see the grade % on those tough climbs--although it does lag by a few yards. There are certainly more features than I have used so far. Mount is solid as well.

Reviewed 10/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sleep design
by Pete
Kent
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Been a fan of the Garmin's 500 series for quite sometime. I bought the Garmin Edge 530 to replace my aging 500. The screen is bigger and brighter than its predecessor. The new features such as turn by turn map, live strava segment, and MTB tracking (air time, ft) if you're into that sort of things.

One thing is taken out and i wish Garmin leaves it, the bike profile which tracks each bike odometer (up to 3 bikes). On 530 you can set your bike profile as eitber road or mtb.

Reviewed 10/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good size & battery life
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

So far so good after a month. No problem using my 4yr old speed/cadence sensor & quickly find GPS. Customizing data screens can be tedious but you get use to it. Nice to be alerted that a sharp curve was ahead. Can't wait to get a smart trainer to pair to and re-ride a previous course.

Reviewed 4/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sleep design
by Pete
Kent
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Been a fan of the Garmin's 500 series for quite sometime. I bought the Garmin Edge 530 to replace my aging 500. The screen is bigger and brighter than its predecessor. The new features such as turn by turn map, live strava segment, and MTB tracking (air time, ft) if you're into that sort of things.

One thing is taken out and i wish Garmin leaves it, the bike profile which tracks each bike odometer (up to 3 bikes). On 530 you can set your bike profile as eitber road or mtb.

Reviewed 10/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality piece of equipment
by MattO.
C L E
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I mainly purchased this for navigational purposes, but also use it on local rides. Interface is user friendly and easy to get accustom to. Climb profile is a neat touch! Navigation has been pretty spot on. Happy with the purchase

Reviewed 4/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page