X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

GarminEdge 530 GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(126 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(83)
(36)
(5)
(0)
(2)
(66%)
(29%)
(4%)
(0%)
(2%)
Hands down I would not ride with out itIIII
by RivBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Riverside CA

This will track anything you want in a workout, it has lots of buttons and whistles......But I bought it for back/Hearing issues.

With The EDGE 530 is connected to the VARIA RT515 I can track the traffic Behind me. This is exactly why I bought it and its AWESOME! I would not ride without it . I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!

Reviewed 1/17/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Edge 530 delivers as promised.
by Anonymous
Portland

Decent value as you get what you pay for. Navigating menus with the side buttons is a little clunky but it works.

Reviewed 1/10/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great cycling computer
by drkerr
Daily Commuter
Corpus Chrisit, TX

Big upgrade from my worn out Edge 520. Better display. Usable maps. Much better battery life.

Reviewed 1/3/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
garmin edge
by dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Morgantown, WV
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I haven't used it yet, I assume it works. It is a spare.

Reviewed 12/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Bike computer I ever owned
by DaveZ
Cycling Enthusiast
Lake Tahoe
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great bike computer with many new functions. I really like the climbpro as you get all the etails of the climb and know how much longer you have to go in the climb. Please note that you must be following a pre-loaded course for climbpro to be enabled. Wish it would work on a new ride where I'm doing a climb for first time and don't have the course loaded in. The GPS is very accurate and works well. Several feature that have been flaky for me are the livetracker and incident detection. The livetracker sometimes notifies my contacts but not always, not sure why. I tried the test for incident detector and it does not work.

I paired my 530 with cadence/speed and HR monitor(all ant) with no problems. Recently added the Varia radar and love it as I'm notified of cars approaching from behind. All in all a great computer and well worth the price.

Reviewed 9/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does what it says
by sleeptein
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Full retail price a little painful for me, but this does what it says it will. Supplied mounting hardware works, the screen is visible and informative, and it quickly pairs with the Varia radar unit and my Vivoactive 3 watch (for heart rate). That said, I find the side buttons difficult to operate, and it took me a while to figure out how to navigate all the different display options (still learning).

Reviewed 12/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works well, great battery life and GPS connectivity. Does the job I need it to do
by Michael
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY

I am a denizen of the Garmin universe, having purchased two Garmin running watches, track efforts on Garmin Connect, including cycling. Purchased Garmin 530 mainly for navigation for organized gravel rides and travel. Tried using GPS on my iphone and it was less than optimal primarily due to poor reception and poor battery life. Enter Garmin 530, so far have been very happy. There is a bit of a learning curve but am now pretty familiar with downloading and creating routes with Strava or Ride with GPS and loading onto Garmin. Very easy to use, like the push button controls rather than touchscreen, battery life and GPS reception are excellent. Use almost exclusively in navigation/map mode, like that the screen tells me where I am and what roads are coming up ahead, even if i am not following a set route. Bought a second 530 for riding with my wife, now we both have downloaded routes to follow, no more arguing over directions, no worries about one of us having to wait for another or one of us rushing ahead in the wrong direction. Garmin Connect is useful to track rides and syncs with Strava. There are many other bells and whistles that seem helpful but i dont really use anything other than navigation. Solid and functional, it just works.

Reviewed 9/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Much improved from the last model
by Control Freak
Cycling Enthusiast
East Tennessee
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The Edge 530 replaces my 5-yr. old Edge 820. I am much happier with the 530 because: 1, my screen would go haywire in the rain; 2, much faster processing with routes; 3, better looking screen that does not reminds me of my Palm Pilot; 4, much better battery life. The new firmware is also less buggy so, yeah, I am glad that Garmin (finally) up their game. I was seriously considering switching to a Wahoo Element or a Karoo Hammerhead. I would have given it 5 stars if the screen has better resolution and color-there is not excuse in 2021 to have a screen from a 20 yr. old flip phone!

Reviewed 9/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
All you need in one compact unit.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Ohio
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I upgraded to the 530 because I appreciated it's functionality over my older 520. Lots of training dynamics data, maps galore should you want to consult them, and an easy-to-read screen. I prefer a smaller display than the 1030 range, more compact in cockpit and lighter. Good visual interface with Garmin Varia radar. Only drawback is that the battery may require more frequent recharging, depending how many features you activate.

Reviewed 6/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent upgrade from 520
by MJGSCLA
Cycling Enthusiast
Sunnyvale, CA

I decided to upgrade to the 530 when it was on sale and I am glad I did. Battery lasts longer it connects sooner. No more waiting for the satellite connection. Display is good as I can scroll through the various screens easily though I have settled on the main display with heart rate and the usual metrics. All I know is Garmin. I compared other devices my friends had and they seemed fine but I stayed with what I know and what already fit my bikes. No regrets.

Reviewed 8/24/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid, compact, do-it all bike computer
by HalloweenEagleBike
Cycling Enthusiast
Swedesboro, NJ
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

The Edge 530 has been a great addition to my cycling. With the integration w Garmin Connect, its very easy to create training workouts, custom routes, and also more detailed performance stats from each of my rides. I've used it for both road, gravel, and mountain biking and its well suited for each discipline. The battery life is solid. I've only done 1 longer (5 hours) ride with it, but had no concerns of it dying somewhere along the way. Normally, I use it for several 60-90 minute rides a week and typically only charge it once every other week. It integrates seamlessly with all of my sensors (garmin speed and cadence), heart rate strap (garmin chest strap), and lights (garmin varia headlight, garmin varia radar). It has changed my cycling experience. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that periodically there are some small annoyances like auto downloads restarting your ride, but these are few and far between.

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Definitely choose the 530 for longer battery life
by manholemagnet
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO

I received a Garmin 520 Explorer as a gift. On the first ride, the extremely short battery life caused the unit to shutdown after approximately 3.5 hours. Big surprise and quite annoying. I returned the device and upgraded to the 530. The battery life is significantly better--approximately 3 to 4 times longer between charges. The Garmin 530 does what it is supposed to do, so there's that. The illumination is good --especially when riding at night or in dim natural light. My main disappointment is the learning curve necessary to manage the various functions. It is anything but an intuitive process and the "get started" booklet is basically a waste of paper; entirely insufficient. Users who want to actually use the device will need to download the more detailed manual from the Garmin website. The GPS works fine although it takes me a few minutes to locate a satellite signal; better to wait before pedaling down the driveway. I find that the post-ride map/graphic of the route is very general; vague and not helpful. All in all, I believe that the 530 provides the best value for the money. For casual riders, a wireless cycle computer still may be a simpler way and less expensive way to go.

Reviewed 8/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Definitely choose the 530 for longer battery life
by manholemagnet
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO

I received a Garmin 520 Explorer as a gift. On the first ride, the extremely short battery life caused the unit to shutdown after approximately 3.5 hours. Big surprise and quite annoying. I returned the device and upgraded to the 530. The battery life is significantly better--approximately 3 to 4 times longer between charges. The Garmin 530 does what it is supposed to do, so there's that. The illumination is good --especially when riding at night or in dim natural light. My main disappointment is the learning curve necessary to manage the various functions. It is anything but an intuitive process and the "get started" booklet is basically a waste of paper; entirely insufficient. Users who want to actually use the device will need to download the more detailed manual from the Garmin website. The GPS works fine although it takes me a few minutes to locate a satellite signal; better to wait before pedaling down the driveway. I find that the post-ride map/graphic of the route is very general; vague and not helpful. All in all, I believe that the 530 provides the best value for the money. For casual riders, a wireless cycle computer still may be a simpler way and less expensive way to go.

Reviewed 8/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great GPS, NIce step up from edge 520
by Vafishinpa
Competitive Racer
South East PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My bike computer for the last 5 or 6 years has been the Edge 520. LOVE that computer but the battery life had dropped dramatically in cold weather so... For Father's Day I received the Edge 530. Wow. This has all the mapping features I wanted, such as zooming in/out, and I didnt have to get the touchscreen 800 series. I ride in the rain and sweat a lot, so I WANT Buttons. The new metrics the 530 provides are great too! Heart Rate Variability, training value, etc. Most of my time is spent on a road bike but prefer mountain biking... I am still trying get the hang of the Grit and Flow scores, but the jump estimates are cool!

After using the Edge 530 for a month, I gave the 520 to a my father in law... The Edge 530 is AWESOME

Reviewed 8/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
upgrade from the Garmin Edge 130
by jcw - ( o)==::
Daily Commuter
York, PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This was kind of a "crime of opportunity". The 530 was on sale, and I wanted to see what extra features the 530 came with.

If you started out with the Edge 130, there is a bit of a learning curve:

-some of the buttons are in different places

-some of the functions work a bit differently

-you have to choose your type of ride (road, gravel, commuting, etc.) at the beginning of the ride rather than at when you save the ride at the end

Overall, I like the Edge 530. I moved my 130 to the commuter bike, and I'll probably get another 530 for my wife when she is ready for a new one.

Reviewed 8/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Difficult setup and fragile - but great device when working
by ZimZim
Cycling Enthusiast
Sandpoint, Idaho
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Use the Edge 530 for gravel and road rides. Creating a course on Garmin Connect is a bit of a chore but is easy to follow once uploaded to the 530. My eyes are not working so well now and I really appreciate the easy to read data screen. I was using a Wahoo Bolt but just could not see the screen. I passed it on to my daughter and purchased the 530. The 530 is a huge step up in the display over the Wahoo.

After a month of use I dropped the 530 from a height of about 2 feet. No visible damage but the screen no longer worked. Garmin did send a refurbished device for a $130 charge. The 530 is quite fragile - certainly not a robust as a Wahoo device. I now have a silicon sleeve that, hopefully, will preclude damage should the 530 be dropped. My experience with the 530 is really great; with exception of the fragility. a silicon protective case is, in my view, an absolute necessity.

Reviewed 7/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid upgrade over the Garmin 520 Edge
by Tailwind
79015

Really like the larger screen & is much faster than the 520 Edge. Also, the ability to load proper maps is a big plus. Battery life seems to be quite good as well.

Reviewed 8/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very impressed!
by Marin biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Mill Valley, Ca

Better screen resolution, faster, much better battery and more capabilities as compared to my 2 year old Garmin 520+!!

Reviewed 8/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
by Anonymous
So Cal high desert
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Very happy with this computer. Great battery life. Impressive graphics. Big upgrade from my 520.

Reviewed 7/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great GPS
by Smytty
Ottawa
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Easy upgrade from my old 520, automatically carried over my settings in a minute or two. Love the grit and flow ratings for MTB. Road features are excellent too - reminders to eat and drink if you want them. Overall, a great upgrade with improved battery life.

Reviewed 7/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page