Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Garmin Edge 520

GarminEdge 520(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(63 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(42)
(13)
(3)
(2)
(3)
(67%)
(21%)
(5%)
(3%)
(5%)
Gps capabilities still lagging
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Still need a wheel sensor in the woods for accurate speed and distance. Horrible set of instructions.

Reviewed 7/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bike Computer
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

This computer works great. The buttons on the side works well with gloves

Reviewed 7/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very good
by Fernando
port st lucie fl

Good

Reviewed 7/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Speaker volume
by Anonymous
louisiana

The built in speaker is no loud enough

Reviewed 7/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still learning how to use it as it's very capable. Really like the unit overall.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northeast Ohio

I ride about 150 miles per week. The Garmin has become a very useful tool. Haven't used the mapping capability yet but I like the unit. Does take some time to figure out if you're a newbie to Garmin. Plenty of YouTube videos for assistance though. Like the fact that the unit shows multiple items at once. No playing with buttons to scroll through information while you're riding.

Reviewed 6/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
started out great and then
by kestrel03
Cycling Enthusiast
NC

replacing my old 510 which I lost, set up was great, took a little getting used to using the buttons instead of the screen. all was good for 2 months, then started getting crazy reading on temps, cal and elevation, would have 0 climb at end of ride. contacted Garmin, who said it was a bad barometer. since it was less than 6 months old, a new one is on the way. so that's cool...love the features of seeing who is calling or texting, lots of info screens you can set up...if the next one will only last, its a great computer...

Reviewed 6/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Garmin Edge ....excellent !
by AML PRO RIDER
Cycling Enthusiast
Burlingame, Ca.

Great Garmin Computer. Compact, easy to use, plenty of information recorded without being too much !

Very accurate, all the data you could possibly need or want.

I have used this bike computer for years and I do recommend it.

It looks great too !

Reviewed 6/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid product
by Anonymous

I do not like the idea of touch screen so 520 fits me well. My only complaint is the battery life, I wish it could last longer.

Reviewed 6/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awsome, all the features you need and more
by Anonymous
SLC

I love the battery life and ability to configure data screens, I was very happy to have the turn by turn course feature on my recent ride through the British countryside

Reviewed 6/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very easy to plug and play
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Omaha, NE

I bought because I needed something I could transfer between bikes easily and so needed GPS. To be honest I have done very little to take advantage of much beyond the basics. I haven't even changed the preferences on the screen of what I see when riding. I wish it was easier to hit a button to switch the data saving for which bike I use, but to be honest, I don't care enough to take the time to go into my data to do it manually.

Reviewed 5/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great unit with lots of screen options and smartphone connectivity
by RAllen
Cycling Enthusiast
Barbourville, KY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

As an avid road cyclist, I purchased the 520 having used a Garmin 500 for three years. I was ready for the smartphone connectivity as it was always inconvenient to have to wait to download the 500 by data cable to a computer. The 520 lives up to it billing with all the features I was seeking . The Live Segment feature is awesome. The feedback from the unit give me exactly what information i was needing to train properly. All I can say is great unit!

Reviewed 5/14/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
More or Less the Standard - but Unnecessarily Complex to Use and Decipher
by DailyBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The 520 is admittedly compact and lightweight but its interface is unintuitive and opaque. Quite obviously, the Garmin programmers never worked at Apple, for every function however rudimentary requires annoying scrutiny and multiple button pushes. Also, having large hands like Bart Simpson certainly doesn't help!

Reviewed 5/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Bike computer
by Anonymous

Replaced my Edge 25 with the 520, good battery life, no issues with GPS.

Reviewed 5/14/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good so far
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Atlanta, GA

Replaces my 510 that started giving funky altitude readings. Seems more reliable than my 510, and I don't miss the touchscreen (which seemed like a bad idea for sweaty cyclist fingers anyway). Navigating functions in the 520 does not seem as intuitive as the 510 and boo for the loss of a programmable odometer, especially for multiple bikes. Four stars for that loss of functionality, otherwise 4.5 to 5.

Reviewed 5/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really nice
by Jrmst102
Greenwich, CT

This is a great product, as expected. It pairs nicely with the Garmin Vector 3, Garmin Varia Radar, and my iPhone.

The only complain is that they launched a newer version (520 Plus).

With products like this, the only limitation will be your budget.

Reviewed 4/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
imho garmin is still the standard
by nathanong87
Greenbelt , Maryland

ive tried the wahoo element bolt and still prefer harmons to other GPS units. The 520 is perfect sized and isnt an ipad at the front of your bike. 520 also got rid of the 510 stupid touch screen ! 520 is a great unit and it hasnt slipped a beat for me!

Reviewed 4/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bike computer for the non-beginner
by Salmon
Cycling Enthusiast
Provo, UT
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use it on all rides, auto-sync with Strava, syncs with HR monitor and power meter. Pairs with phone and shows when someone is calling or when a text is received (assuming you have service and aren't lost somewhere in the mountains..). Only complaint there is that when a text comes in it covers the screen (activity fields) and doesn't go away until you manually dismiss it by clicking a button. Yeah, picky, but I wished the text message would just dismiss after 10 seconds.

A handful of features I still don't use (and probably will never use).

Battery time is fine, nothing to worry about there. Size is perfect, out-front mount puts it in the perfect position. Buttons can be a little tricky to find/press when you're wearing full-finger gloves. But if you're riding with full-finger gloves then you have other problems to worry about.

The virtual partner thingy works, but takes a little to figure out at first. It's cool though to create courses from your own PR to race against.

Happens rarely, but I've had it completely die on me mid-ride when battery level is fine. Luckily it keeps a record of the ride, and after restarting the unit I can pick up where I left off. My brother (also 520) had the same experience once so I know it's not just my machine.

4 stars only because it's great, but not perfect.

Reviewed 8/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
An upgrade from my Edge 500. Very Pleased
by sperry52
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Maryland

I purchased the Edge 520 as an upgrade to my Edge 500. I like that it syncs with my iphone Bluetooth.

I also like that it can alert me to phone calls and text messages. I also find it easier to sync my heart monitor and speedcadence sensors between my two bicycles. At the end of the day the Edge 520 will upload to Garmin Connect, Strava and Ride with GPS.

Reviewed 7/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome improvement over previous model (510)...
by David Link Sumerlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Chattanooga, TN

I ride 4-5 dayswk, 175-200 miles - my Edge 520 is nearly as important as the bike itself. All the same great features of the 510 made better, plus better graphic presentations. And love the crash alert feature, plus textphone notices. Occasionally seems off on tracking instantaneous speed, but 510 had same problem which eventually went away, apparently through updates.

Reviewed 6/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Edge 520 is a great step up from the Edge 500.
by SteveB
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This is the third Garmin I have owned since 2007. Each new Edge has been a significant improvement over the previous one. The Edge 520 is no exception. It is significantly better than my Edge 500 in almost every way. The GPS locks in very quickly, the display is much larger, and the setup options are extensive. I also love the Bluetooth integration with my phone. This is a great bike computer.

Having said that, there are a few things I would change if I could. The display is large and can be configured in a seemingly infinite number of ways. While it is much larger and the numbers are bolder, without the backlight on, it can seem fairly dim when the light is at low angles. Better contrast control on the display would be nice. On the other hand, turning on the backlight pretty much takes care of the issue and doesn't seem to be a huge drain on the battery. The default maps are quite coarse, but downloading Open Street Maps (OSM) for my area took care of that. I was surprised at how little memory the device has - 105 MB. And no expansion slots for microSD, so only a limited number of OSM maps can be put on the device at one time. There are a few other nits I could pick, but overall this is a very nice bike computer and I would highly recommend the Edge 520 to any rider.

Reviewed 2/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page