Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Garmin Edge 520

GarminEdge 520(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(49 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(35)
(8)
(1)
(2)
(3)
(71%)
(16%)
(2%)
(4%)
(6%)
Really nice
by Jrmst102
Greenwich, CT

This is a great product, as expected. It pairs nicely with the Garmin Vector 3, Garmin Varia Radar, and my iPhone.

The only complain is that they launched a newer version (520 Plus).

With products like this, the only limitation will be your budget.

Reviewed 4/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
imho garmin is still the standard
by nathanong87
Greenbelt , Maryland

ive tried the wahoo element bolt and still prefer harmons to other GPS units. The 520 is perfect sized and isnt an ipad at the front of your bike. 520 also got rid of the 510 stupid touch screen ! 520 is a great unit and it hasnt slipped a beat for me!

Reviewed 4/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Edge 520 is a great step up from the Edge 500.
by SteveB
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is the third Garmin I have owned since 2007. Each new Edge has been a significant improvement over the previous one. The Edge 520 is no exception. It is significantly better than my Edge 500 in almost every way. The GPS locks in very quickly, the display is much larger, and the setup options are extensive. I also love the Bluetooth integration with my phone. This is a great bike computer.

Having said that, there are a few things I would change if I could. The display is large and can be configured in a seemingly infinite number of ways. While it is much larger and the numbers are bolder, without the backlight on, it can seem fairly dim when the light is at low angles. Better contrast control on the display would be nice. On the other hand, turning on the backlight pretty much takes care of the issue and doesn't seem to be a huge drain on the battery. The default maps are quite coarse, but downloading Open Street Maps (OSM) for my area took care of that. I was surprised at how little memory the device has - 105 MB. And no expansion slots for microSD, so only a limited number of OSM maps can be put on the device at one time. There are a few other nits I could pick, but overall this is a very nice bike computer and I would highly recommend the Edge 520 to any rider.

Reviewed 2/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great features, love the customization capabilities
by CK1
Cycling Enthusiast
WI
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great product. The 520 provides way more information than I will ever require - but I bought it anyway. The customizable screens help to sort out what you want and need. Accuracy appears very good, as with most other Garmin products I have owned. Works good on the indoor trainer too, if you get the speed and cadence sensors.

Reviewed 2/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great cycling computer
by Toby
Competitive Racer
Cincinnati

I love all the information that the Garmin 520 provides and how easy it is to set-up the screen just the way you want it. I do mostly Time Trials and I used to use a Joule GPS and the Garmin screen is much easier to see especially when your sweating so much in your aero helmet .

Reviewed 2/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent size!
by Robzilla
Cycling Enthusiast
AL

Perfect size and all the functionality I need. Would purchase again - no issues.

Reviewed 2/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Touch screen unresponsive
by Dmurr
Cycling Enthusiast
Delmarva Peninsula
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I want to like this computer so much but its turned out to be a huge disappointment. Upgraded from the 810 mainly for the smart notifications feature but must return it because the touch screen has a mind of its own. Not had the issue of it scrolling on its own like so many others on the garmin forum. Just cant swipe 50% of the time for no rhyme or reason.

Reviewed 1/21/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I love it!!
by Anonymous

It works great. It is nice to see the speed, miles traveled etc...It is very easy put on and off the bike.

Reviewed 1/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bike computer for the non-beginner
by Salmon
Cycling Enthusiast
Provo, UT
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use it on all rides, auto-sync with Strava, syncs with HR monitor and power meter. Pairs with phone and shows when someone is calling or when a text is received (assuming you have service and aren't lost somewhere in the mountains..). Only complaint there is that when a text comes in it covers the screen (activity fields) and doesn't go away until you manually dismiss it by clicking a button. Yeah, picky, but I wished the text message would just dismiss after 10 seconds.

A handful of features I still don't use (and probably will never use).

Battery time is fine, nothing to worry about there. Size is perfect, out-front mount puts it in the perfect position. Buttons can be a little tricky to find/press when you're wearing full-finger gloves. But if you're riding with full-finger gloves then you have other problems to worry about.

The virtual partner thingy works, but takes a little to figure out at first. It's cool though to create courses from your own PR to race against.

Happens rarely, but I've had it completely die on me mid-ride when battery level is fine. Luckily it keeps a record of the ride, and after restarting the unit I can pick up where I left off. My brother (also 520) had the same experience once so I know it's not just my machine.

4 stars only because it's great, but not perfect.

Reviewed 8/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
An upgrade from my Edge 500. Very Pleased
by sperry52
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Maryland

I purchased the Edge 520 as an upgrade to my Edge 500. I like that it syncs with my iphone Bluetooth.

I also like that it can alert me to phone calls and text messages. I also find it easier to sync my heart monitor and speedcadence sensors between my two bicycles. At the end of the day the Edge 520 will upload to Garmin Connect, Strava and Ride with GPS.

Reviewed 7/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome improvement over previous model (510)...
by David Link Sumerlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Chattanooga, TN

I ride 4-5 dayswk, 175-200 miles - my Edge 520 is nearly as important as the bike itself. All the same great features of the 510 made better, plus better graphic presentations. And love the crash alert feature, plus textphone notices. Occasionally seems off on tracking instantaneous speed, but 510 had same problem which eventually went away, apparently through updates.

Reviewed 6/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great functioning Cycling Computer..
by davidshiloh4
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO

I bought this cycling computer to replace my old Garmin 500. I love the look and the capability of this computer as it does much more and has bigger numbers which are easier to read for this aging cyclist. I am still learning to use this computer as it does much more and is more complicated as the 500 was simpler and easier to manage. Hopefully over the next few weeks I will learn how to optimize it's ability and be a better cyclist.

Reviewed 4/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love my 520
by DrewB
McKinney

Enjoy all the features and the ability to move the 520 between my 3 bikes easily. Easy to read in bright Texas sun,too.

Reviewed 3/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
DEFINITELY NICE !
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Tampa, FL

I had been using the Garmin 500 for at least the last 7 years. When some issues developed with my second 500 I decided to upgrade to the 520. My concern was that it may be too complex for my needs and also it would not be as easy to see as the 500. Neither was an issue. The visibility is much better on the 520 and the setup and use of the 520 is easy. The startstop button is a bit awkward. In a few rides I have inadvertently pressed that button and caused the ride data to end. I can see the 520 much easier even though the numbers are not quite as large as the 500. The background lighting makes it much easier to read. I have not been able to bring the Strava live segments up during a ride to show start and finish points in real time as it says you can do. Maybe I will figure that one out someday. I am really pleased with the 520 and think it is a definite improvement over the 500.

Reviewed 11/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Loving this Garmin
by Andrew
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Beach, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought with hesitation because my Garmin 510 was doing just fine. I am so glad I purchased the Garmin 520. It's easier to use, it's interface is more user friendly, there's no delay in uploading rides, the maps are better, it's by far a better bike computer.

Reviewed 2/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really Like this upgrade!
by Bill
AZ
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

While I really liked my Edge 200, the 520 offers so much more. There are way more features (Bluetooth, messaging, Strava live segments just to name a few. The color screen is awesome, and the ability to add heart and cadence monitors is just the icing on the cake. All this in a package that takes up little space, just slightly larger then the 200. I so happy I pulled the trigger and got the 520. You won't be disappointed!

Reviewed 2/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
light, easy to use
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Tampa, FL

The Garmin 520 is a great device for tracking speed, HR and cadence. It's small and light, and the battery last for a long period time. I ride 6-10 hours a week and only need to charge the battery every 2-3 weeks. It's hard to use Edge 520 for map and navigation, so if you need to see the map all the time, Edge 1000 is a better option as other reviews suggested. However, Garmin Express is connected to Strava, so uploading the training log to Strava is always seamless. Overall, I recommend this device to everyone.

Reviewed 1/31/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Much better than the 510
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
OKC

used for cycling

Reviewed 10/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tons of features
by RobK
Competitive Racer
NYC

As with most high tech gear, this has way more features than you'll ever actually use. I record my rides for Strava, and track HR and cadence for training. Occasionally use it for nav, which I haven't tried yet, but it was relatively simple to DL a route into the machine. Compared to the Edge 500, it tracks satellites far quicker and is easier to set up for your bike. Auto-upload through bluetooth is great, but don't forget to plug it in to charge it every 3 rides or so.

Reviewed 10/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Big improvement over my old EDGE 500 unit.
by ReyBeltran
Competitive Racer
RSM, CA

I got a new power meter and I wanted to upgrade my recording device. I can get all the metrics on the 500 but the added Bluetooth upload feature along with Garmin ConnectIQ apps convinced my to upgrade to the 520.

The color display is a big improvement over the old monochrome display. I can display more fields and I can add app displays from the Garmin ConnectIQ store. I wanted to keep the same form factor so I decided to not upgrade to the larger units. Overall I give it 5 stars.

Reviewed 10/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page