Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Garmin Edge 520

GarminEdge 520(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(69 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(47)
(13)
(4)
(2)
(3)
(68%)
(19%)
(6%)
(3%)
(4%)
Excelent
by Richard
Toa Baja

Garmin Edge 520 excelent tool to keep track of all your workouts Im still not using a power meter on it but looking foward to it

Reviewed 2/21/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Always wanted a Garmin
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Vermont

Use this on trainer , gravel , road , mtb. Short learning curve to operate . Good tech support when needed .

Reviewed 2/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does everything I want in a GPS with actual buttons
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago suburbs

The Edge 520 has everything I needed from a GPS at a good price. It has a water resistant build, easy to read and customize display, and compact. For me the deciding factor was having actual buttons (as opposed to a touchscreen) that allows me to use the unit in colder weather with full finger gloves.

Reviewed 2/2/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Garmin 520 is a great device for a great price
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsylvania

The Garmin 520 is a great GPS for my bike. I've been using it for 6 weeks and am still learning some f the features.

Reviewed 1/12/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works but with some caveats
by Clint O
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm more of a casual rider, so I don't take advantage of the advanced features of the product. Having said that, there are some things that really bug me about it.

I primarily use it to upload my data to Ride wGPS. My biggest gripe is that when I'm done riding, uploading my data to the Garmin app via my cellphone rarely works wo rebooting my phone. I tend to use the latest and greatest Android versions (Nexus, Pixel), so that might be part of the problem. But the reboot is hugely annoying.

Lately the computer has been auto-enabling collision detection, and this goes off when I come to a controlled stop. I've since disabled it, but having the sirens go off on my phone at an intersection just irks me.

Finally, the Livetrack does work to notify my family of my rides, but sometimes beginning a ride it doesn't automatically turn on for 10 minutes or so nor does it always shut down cleanly after a ride.

Reviewed 12/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
by Anonymous

Just updated from the Garmin 500. Great new features worth having. Rock solid performance.

Reviewed 11/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
by Anonymous

Finally replaced my Garmin 500 with the 520 and love the new features. Rock solid performance.

Reviewed 11/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gps capabilities still lagging
by Anonymous
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Still need a wheel sensor in the woods for accurate speed and distance. Horrible set of instructions.

Reviewed 7/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bike Computer
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

This computer works great. The buttons on the side works well with gloves

Reviewed 7/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very good
by Fernando
port st lucie fl

Good

Reviewed 7/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Speaker volume
by Anonymous
louisiana

The built in speaker is no loud enough

Reviewed 7/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bike computer for the non-beginner
by Salmon
Cycling Enthusiast
Provo, UT
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use it on all rides, auto-sync with Strava, syncs with HR monitor and power meter. Pairs with phone and shows when someone is calling or when a text is received (assuming you have service and aren't lost somewhere in the mountains..). Only complaint there is that when a text comes in it covers the screen (activity fields) and doesn't go away until you manually dismiss it by clicking a button. Yeah, picky, but I wished the text message would just dismiss after 10 seconds.

A handful of features I still don't use (and probably will never use).

Battery time is fine, nothing to worry about there. Size is perfect, out-front mount puts it in the perfect position. Buttons can be a little tricky to find/press when you're wearing full-finger gloves. But if you're riding with full-finger gloves then you have other problems to worry about.

The virtual partner thingy works, but takes a little to figure out at first. It's cool though to create courses from your own PR to race against.

Happens rarely, but I've had it completely die on me mid-ride when battery level is fine. Luckily it keeps a record of the ride, and after restarting the unit I can pick up where I left off. My brother (also 520) had the same experience once so I know it's not just my machine.

4 stars only because it's great, but not perfect.

Reviewed 8/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
An upgrade from my Edge 500. Very Pleased
by sperry52
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Maryland

I purchased the Edge 520 as an upgrade to my Edge 500. I like that it syncs with my iphone Bluetooth.

I also like that it can alert me to phone calls and text messages. I also find it easier to sync my heart monitor and speedcadence sensors between my two bicycles. At the end of the day the Edge 520 will upload to Garmin Connect, Strava and Ride with GPS.

Reviewed 7/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome improvement over previous model (510)...
by David Link Sumerlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Chattanooga, TN

I ride 4-5 dayswk, 175-200 miles - my Edge 520 is nearly as important as the bike itself. All the same great features of the 510 made better, plus better graphic presentations. And love the crash alert feature, plus textphone notices. Occasionally seems off on tracking instantaneous speed, but 510 had same problem which eventually went away, apparently through updates.

Reviewed 6/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still learning how to use it as it's very capable. Really like the unit overall.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northeast Ohio
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I ride about 150 miles per week. The Garmin has become a very useful tool. Haven't used the mapping capability yet but I like the unit. Does take some time to figure out if you're a newbie to Garmin. Plenty of YouTube videos for assistance though. Like the fact that the unit shows multiple items at once. No playing with buttons to scroll through information while you're riding.

Reviewed 6/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
started out great and then
by kestrel03
Cycling Enthusiast
NC

replacing my old 510 which I lost, set up was great, took a little getting used to using the buttons instead of the screen. all was good for 2 months, then started getting crazy reading on temps, cal and elevation, would have 0 climb at end of ride. contacted Garmin, who said it was a bad barometer. since it was less than 6 months old, a new one is on the way. so that's cool...love the features of seeing who is calling or texting, lots of info screens you can set up...if the next one will only last, its a great computer...

Reviewed 6/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Garmin Edge ....excellent !
by AML PRO RIDER
Cycling Enthusiast
Burlingame, Ca.

Great Garmin Computer. Compact, easy to use, plenty of information recorded without being too much !

Very accurate, all the data you could possibly need or want.

I have used this bike computer for years and I do recommend it.

It looks great too !

Reviewed 6/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid product
by Anonymous

I do not like the idea of touch screen so 520 fits me well. My only complaint is the battery life, I wish it could last longer.

Reviewed 6/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awsome, all the features you need and more
by Anonymous
SLC

I love the battery life and ability to configure data screens, I was very happy to have the turn by turn course feature on my recent ride through the British countryside

Reviewed 6/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great functioning Cycling Computer..
by davidshiloh4
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO

I bought this cycling computer to replace my old Garmin 500. I love the look and the capability of this computer as it does much more and has bigger numbers which are easier to read for this aging cyclist. I am still learning to use this computer as it does much more and is more complicated as the 500 was simpler and easier to manage. Hopefully over the next few weeks I will learn how to optimize it's ability and be a better cyclist.

Reviewed 4/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page