X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Garmin Edge 1030 Plus GPS Computer

GarminEdge 1030 Plus GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(28 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(24)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(86%)
(11%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)
Love it
by Timberwolve17
Central texas
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Get this guy and be the talk among your friends.

This unit has a mountain of features and can help you assess your strengths and weaknesses, if you let it.

The monstrous sized screen is actually not that big (incredible what you get used to, just like cell phones you'll wonder what you did before this) and holds what's really the perfect amount of data.

Among the features you will really appreciate is Garmin allowing you to import devices from your old bike computer, it will let you pair this way, no more new device let's pair all my accessories back in one at a time. I also love the bully in coaching/training features. Garmin will take a look at what you've been up to, and suggest a workout of the day (it's almost like Santa, it knows if you've been naughty or nice with your training). I've used this with my Tacx 2T to control it and no issues.

Battery life, I own a 520+ which lives on my secondary bike and wow, the giant screen, improved GPS and multitude of features almost mean nothing to lifespan. I ride a reasonable amount (600-750 miles per month) and if I feel like pushing lifespan I have gone weeks without charging, 520+ needs at least weekly.

Why wouldn't I buy it? 520+ to this was a huge jump in price and features, if I already had a top end computer, improvements would be too marginal and hate to justify. Do you use features? The worst things to buy are things you don't use.

If you have the money and are serious about cycling you should consider this device, it rocks but cost a cool mountain of cash.

Reviewed 10/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Upgrade from 1000
by RC

Gifted my 1000 to my Wife. The biggest difference is the battery life. Lasts nearly three times as long.

Reviewed 7/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great cycling computer
by Greg
Denver, CO

I have been riding with this computer for a month now. It was easy to set up and linked to my other Garmin components including power pedals without and problem. Most importantly, the 1030 plus gives the rider a lot of useful data on one screen. I highly recommend this computer.

Reviewed 1/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This one WILL work with long fingered gloves.
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm the map/route guy for my group. I got this primarily for the larger screen size compared to my old Edge 800. Unlike the 1030, this one WILL work with long fingered gloves which is critical in Portland, OR!

I can't say there are a few bugs to be worked out but overall I'm glad I bought it.

Garmin tech support is actively helping me with an issue now and seem to be genuinely interested in finding a solution.

Reviewed 10/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh, PA

Much better than old 820. Bigger screen makes easier to see, more responsive, much longer battery life

and climb pro helpful.

Reviewed 10/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great except routing
by dtsloan
California
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Took this on a recent tour.

Everything about it is fantastic - customization, legibility, use, battery life, information, etc., except for one thing, the routing.

The mapping and routing is horrendous. There were some roads, perfectly suitable for riding, that the computer simply refused to use. Even if I established the route on a pc and loaded it, if I varied from that in the slightest, it rerouted, coming up with the worst routing possible. It would try to take me down dead ends, loops, or even off road, all to paternalistically avoid a road I was on. Sometimes the waypoints it established didn't match the physical road, so it's jagged zigzaggy route was telling me to turn every 200 yards, in long winding stretches of road with no intersections anywhere. Google Maps on my phone is a thousand times better.

So, if you are not counting on it for routing, it's great. But, for the money there is no excuse for the routing to be so bad.

Reviewed 7/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Cyclometer yet!
by Kirk
Cycling Enthusiast
York, SC

Mostly use the HR and Cadence features to monitor my output during the ride. The mapping feature works great as well and shows a graphic of categorized climbs when you hit them. There many other features I'm still exploring, but this is by far the best cyclometer I've used in my 30+ years of cycling.

Reviewed 3/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Alerts Loud and Clear
by JM
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced my 1030 with the 1030 Plus solely for

Replaced my Edge 1030 with the 1030 Plus solely for the louder alerts. I can now hear my Varia Radar taillight in

I replaced my 1030 with the 1030 Plus solely for the louder alerts. I can now hear my Garmin Varia radar taillight alerts at higher speeds and on busier roads. The improvements with the touch screen and navigation are nice but the clear alerts is the feature that was most important to me.

Reviewed 6/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Edge 1030 plus
by Anonymous
Maryland

Garmin edge 1030 plus has tons of data fields and you can get all the information you need in one screen. If you are training with data and want to.improve your performance, look no further than the 1030 plus.

Reviewed 2/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Verry good computer.
by Tidorv
Daily Commuter
Qu�bec Canada

Verry good computer.

Reviewed 5/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
1030+
by Jon
Chicago, IL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This unit replaced an Edge 1000 that was slowly dying. Display and fields are slightly larger and easier to read, and the battery life is astounding in comparison. Paired easily with all of my sensors, including power meter, and even tracks my fitness and VO2 Max. Very happy with my purchase.

Reviewed 2/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Exceeded expectations
by Wesley
Omaha

I upgraded from a Garmin 520, and I couldn't be happier. It synced very easily with my Garmin radar, Garmin Connect, power meter, and cadence sensor, and I really like the touch screen and easy ability to set up the computer. And added bonus is the way it displays the radar when cars are approaching... Very cool, including a beep instead of just a visual warning.

Reviewed 2/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Slightly Different From The 1030 (but the difference can save your life)
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern NJ where it''s flat & windy

It was difficult to justify buying this when I already had a 1030. Then I thought about all those radar warnings I was not hearing. This unit's radar warning is at least twice as loud. Your life is worth it. There are other subtle improvements, but nothing Earth shattering. If you're not using radar, the 1030 is probably going to be just fine.

Reviewed 2/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent product and easy to use
Cycling Enthusiast
Boardman, OR, USA

Paired so easily with sensors (power meter, cadence sensor, Fenix 5 watch/heart rate monitor).

Super easy to switch between screens.

Big display so my old eyes can read the items I am trying to read (heart rate, speed, cadence, and power).

Reviewed 1/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice GPS Cycling computer Upgrade
by Lutrader
Cycling Enthusiast
NY, NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Longer Lasting Battery and nicer features make the Garmin Edge 1030 Plus a very good buy. It is a bit expensive but well worth the price. I am still learning how to use it and getting used to the differences between 1030 Plus and 1000

Reviewed 1/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
by James
Southern California

This is a huge upgrade for me, considering using Edge 510 previously. Love the big screen with touch screen feature, colorful power meter chart , and precise GPS location. It is also made for mountain biking as well. Great product, period.

Reviewed 1/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The current ultimate cycling navigation tool
by Keith Berg
Cycling Enthusiast
Chino CA

My wife and I have had Garmin edge units for years. Staring with the 800 then the 1000 and now the 1030 Plus. This has a much longer lasting battery. Because the battery is much better than before she is willing to do live tracking without fear of the battery dying like the 800 or especially the 1000. New navigation features work very well and the wife is very happy.

Reviewed 12/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best in Class
by SWF Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Florida

My second Edge 1030 Plus. Love the screen, the higher volume sounds and the flexibility for power meters etc.

Reviewed 4/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great bike computer
by Paul F
Cycling Enthusiast
Franklin MA

Expensive bike computer but battery life is well worth it and so are the screen capabilities.

Had a 1030 and the 1030 plus battery is incredible. a friend of mine used it on a 200 mile 18 hour gravel adventure and never had to use a battery pack to keep it charged.

endless battery life! Do miss the ridewithgps connect IQ app though

Reviewed 11/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
1030 +
by Anonymous

I had a 1030 for 3 years but the 1030+ is way faster to load and the battery last forever

Reviewed 10/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page