X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Garmin Rally Pedal Mail-In Rebate — Learn More
Garmin Edge 1030 Plus GPS Computer

GarminEdge 1030 Plus GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(39 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(30)
(7)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(77%)
(18%)
(3%)
(3%)
(0%)
Excellent, setup was a bit difficult
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA

This is my 4th Garmin bike computer all the way from an Edge 800 to now the Edge 1030 Plus.

I really appreciate the new user interface and the speed with which the device responds to user input.

The screen is highly visible and the battery life is phenomenal.

The only hiccup was during setup, for some reason I was unable to set up the device on my computer and had to use my phone to set up. It took a while but got through it.

Also note it shows up as two devices on bluetooth. No idea why.

Reviewed 4/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Challenging to learn but worth it
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Ashland, OR

I bought this computer for the bigger screen (aging eyes) and the fantastic map capability. This was an upgrade from my old Edge 500. I found the set up and general use a bit daunting to begin with as many aspects do not seem intuitive to me. Garmin support was extremely helpful and I am slowly figuring out many of the functions though there are so many that I will probably never use...it's a bit overwhelming. I'm now to the point that I'm having fun with it and rather enjoy the challenge of figuring it out. The one thing I don't like so far is how slow it is to calculate grade. It's fairly good on long, sustained climbs but on short rollers, it's very poor. My old Edge 500 was much better...you'd think a computer of this caliber and price would offer lightening fast data regarding grade.

Reviewed 2/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love it
by Timberwolve17
Central texas
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Get this guy and be the talk among your friends.

This unit has a mountain of features and can help you assess your strengths and weaknesses, if you let it.

The monstrous sized screen is actually not that big (incredible what you get used to, just like cell phones you'll wonder what you did before this) and holds what's really the perfect amount of data.

Among the features you will really appreciate is Garmin allowing you to import devices from your old bike computer, it will let you pair this way, no more new device let's pair all my accessories back in one at a time. I also love the bully in coaching/training features. Garmin will take a look at what you've been up to, and suggest a workout of the day (it's almost like Santa, it knows if you've been naughty or nice with your training). I've used this with my Tacx 2T to control it and no issues.

Battery life, I own a 520+ which lives on my secondary bike and wow, the giant screen, improved GPS and multitude of features almost mean nothing to lifespan. I ride a reasonable amount (600-750 miles per month) and if I feel like pushing lifespan I have gone weeks without charging, 520+ needs at least weekly.

Why wouldn't I buy it? 520+ to this was a huge jump in price and features, if I already had a top end computer, improvements would be too marginal and hate to justify. Do you use features? The worst things to buy are things you don't use.

If you have the money and are serious about cycling you should consider this device, it rocks but cost a cool mountain of cash.

Reviewed 10/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best yet, better than the 820.
by Ron Stout
Cycling Enthusiast
Aloha, Oregon
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is the best Garmin that I have used. I have used it for a while now and it is far superior to my older 820. The battery lasts longer than I do buy a lot. I can turn it on and it lasts through a physical therapy appointment and a three hour ride and still has about 60% left. The display is larger and easier to read by these old eyes. I'm not going to worry about the battery for centuries next year even when using the navigation function. Well worth the extra price.

Reviewed 12/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Garmin 1030 is everything that i hoped it would be.
by Anonymous

I was originally nervous about pulling the trigger on this purchase due to it being pretty pricey but it has been fantastic. Easy to setup and the battery life is awesome.

Reviewed 4/18/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simply awesome, and may save your life
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Wisconsin, Florida
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought it to replace a failing Garmin 1000. The addition of emergency notification is a must!!! Seriously don't think about anything else. I crashed horribly, went down at HIGH speed. Shattered clavicle, split hip socket and pelvis in half, broke sitting bone. Before my body stopped I could hear the garmin alert sounding that my emergency contacts were being notified. If you are unconscious you will have help on the way. While I was conscious (although I wish I was not due to pain) and my phone with me through crash, if it was not I would have struggled to move well enough to find them. Serious stuff people. It's not worth a couple grams and little $ to get a lower functioning unit.

Reviewed 9/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Garmin Continue to Improve Their Products
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The Garmin Edge 1030 was problematic transferring data from my previous Edge 1000, but once that I accepted that only the very basic info could transfer directly and accepted that most would need to be manual it's been good. The model is more reliable than the previous version, operates more consistently. I still need to figure out how to handle the "off course" options as they are not intuitively named and don't allow more than seconds for a decision. But overall it does what it is suppose to do. The slightly larger size makes the data more readable when attempting to finding it quickly on the move. The on/off button is much better designed for durability than the 1000 was, so hopefully it will last longer. I didn't expect to be impressed with the new ClimbPro feature but it does come in handy when climbing new terrain and knowing where you are when the climb is a slog. Unfortunately, it doesn't actually make the climbs easier. It is a pricey product so that could be a factor. Customer support is much improved over years ago, so they are responding to the presence of more competition.

Reviewed 8/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great computer but with one flaw
by Anonymous
boston area
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This computer has all the bells and whistles. Large screen allows you to have a lot of data at a glance. Maps and navigation are great. Do I need all the options? No Do I even look at the detailed training analysis? No. Basically I spent a ton of money on the large very readable screen and maps. Is it worth it? Depend on your needs. So I mentioned that there is one feature that really bugs me, the gradient data is so slow to respond that I begin a climb and my grade still registers at zero. I finish a climb and begin to go downhill but the gradient is still increasing because it is trying to catch up. Very annoying. I live in a hilly area and like to know what my power output is on a 8 percent gradient but it is not accurate because of its slowness to respond in real time. Almost returned it but decided to hold on and see if Garmin has a fixed for their top of the line computer.

Reviewed 8/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It just works!!!
by Sharpbakers
san jose

I had previously purchased the high end Stages bike computer. Trust me get the Garmin 1030 instead. The software and functions are just simply better. 1st Garmin has a touch screen. 2nd-data screen edits are easier to create and modify. Very simple. Small software features are also just better for example- the Garmin allows you to set a stop data recording at a slow/almost stopped speed. The Stages does not even have that function. You have to be completely stopped.

The actual mechanical mount is also way better on the Garmin� The Stages mount barely works..

Battery life is also excellent on the 1030.

I could go on and on but you get the point. Don't waste your time go with the gold standard of Garmin

Reviewed 8/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
3 in the past year have failed
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I don't know what's happening. But I've 2 Garmin 1000's in the past year where the battery I assume has swollen pushing the screen out of the unit. I'm assuming the heat or cold has blown up the battery for lack of a technical explanation.

My newest replacement that I received in April. The backlight upon setting up was blinking while in use. Then the unit started to shut down during use.

Never used to have problems with these computers years ago.

Reviewed 7/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great cycling computer
by Greg
Denver, CO

I have been riding with this computer for a month now. It was easy to set up and linked to my other Garmin components including power pedals without and problem. Most importantly, the 1030 plus gives the rider a lot of useful data on one screen. I highly recommend this computer.

Reviewed 1/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This one WILL work with long fingered gloves.
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I'm the map/route guy for my group. I got this primarily for the larger screen size compared to my old Edge 800. Unlike the 1030, this one WILL work with long fingered gloves which is critical in Portland, OR!

I can't say there are a few bugs to be worked out but overall I'm glad I bought it.

Garmin tech support is actively helping me with an issue now and seem to be genuinely interested in finding a solution.

Reviewed 10/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh, PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Much better than old 820. Bigger screen makes easier to see, more responsive, much longer battery life

and climb pro helpful.

Reviewed 10/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
1030+
by Christopher Massa
LexKY

Works identically to the 830 I had been using.

Love the upgraded screen size and quality.

Reviewed 1/21/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great except routing
by dtsloan
California
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Took this on a recent tour.

Everything about it is fantastic - customization, legibility, use, battery life, information, etc., except for one thing, the routing.

The mapping and routing is horrendous. There were some roads, perfectly suitable for riding, that the computer simply refused to use. Even if I established the route on a pc and loaded it, if I varied from that in the slightest, it rerouted, coming up with the worst routing possible. It would try to take me down dead ends, loops, or even off road, all to paternalistically avoid a road I was on. Sometimes the waypoints it established didn't match the physical road, so it's jagged zigzaggy route was telling me to turn every 200 yards, in long winding stretches of road with no intersections anywhere. Google Maps on my phone is a thousand times better.

So, if you are not counting on it for routing, it's great. But, for the money there is no excuse for the routing to be so bad.

Reviewed 7/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Alerts Loud and Clear
by JM
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced my 1030 with the 1030 Plus solely for

Replaced my Edge 1030 with the 1030 Plus solely for the louder alerts. I can now hear my Varia Radar taillight in

I replaced my 1030 with the 1030 Plus solely for the louder alerts. I can now hear my Garmin Varia radar taillight alerts at higher speeds and on busier roads. The improvements with the touch screen and navigation are nice but the clear alerts is the feature that was most important to me.

Reviewed 6/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best computer I've owned.
by Anonymous
Florida

Love that I can read it because of its size.

Reviewed 12/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Cyclometer yet!
by Kirk
Cycling Enthusiast
York, SC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Mostly use the HR and Cadence features to monitor my output during the ride. The mapping feature works great as well and shows a graphic of categorized climbs when you hit them. There many other features I'm still exploring, but this is by far the best cyclometer I've used in my 30+ years of cycling.

Reviewed 3/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Edge 1030 plus
by Anonymous
Maryland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Garmin edge 1030 plus has tons of data fields and you can get all the information you need in one screen. If you are training with data and want to.improve your performance, look no further than the 1030 plus.

Reviewed 2/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
1030+
by Jon
Chicago, IL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This unit replaced an Edge 1000 that was slowly dying. Display and fields are slightly larger and easier to read, and the battery life is astounding in comparison. Paired easily with all of my sensors, including power meter, and even tracks my fitness and VO2 Max. Very happy with my purchase.

Reviewed 2/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page