X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Garmin Edge 1030

GarminEdge 1030(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(60 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(40)
(16)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(67%)
(27%)
(7%)
(0%)
(0%)
Love the big screen, the smarts to figure which sensors are live. Not so happy about the WiFi- Bluetooth battle
by Wynchmprf
Cycling Enthusiast
Rhode Island

OK, Garmins flagship unit lives up to the hype as long as you leave the WiFi off in my experience. (And the forums out there talk about issues with the the WiFi an dBT not playing well together) Sets up like a Garmin (I have owned a few and the menu sense is pretty logical. You can have a bunch of sensors for your different bikes, and the unit figures out which one you are using. Unless, you are using WiFi and maybe stages PM, but.. then the unit will lose connection and not update. Liveterack goes wonky... and wont disconnect - as long as the WiFi is on. Notices from my phone didnt work while WiFi was turned on. Turn wifi off and bingo, all seems well. On BT it uploads like a high speed router (well, cuz the files are small) compared to the LeZyne I had before. Garmin may come out with a firmware fix, but til then, I can live with the BT connection to my phone. The other features are very nice - and work as advertised. 3 stars because they have a useless hardware feature (at this point)

Reviewed 6/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
unreliable text/phone synching with iphone
by hipkneemd
Cycling Enthusiast
Northeast
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The product works well to keep track of my route and miles. The map is reliable. Unfortunately it does not always capture the texts and phone calls. It does share all of the ride data and uploads it to Garmin Connect. I've had many conversations with the folks at Garmin. Finally they acknowledged some communications problems with iPhones. Some days are better than others.

Reviewed 10/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Battery is King
by Anonymous

I bought this unit to replace my aging 820 whose battery couldn�t last four hours. The battery on the 1030 is like 80% charged after a four hour ride. The larger screen and better touch screen made this a nice upgrade.

Reviewed 9/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good with a big learning curve
by petestony
Cycling Enthusiast
long island
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

difficult downloading a route in the beginning and the instructions were too vague with the relationship between Garmin connect and Strava. I'm using it but still don't have it mastered

Reviewed 9/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great upgrade From My Edge 820
by DocWass
Cycling Enthusiast
PA

Thought about upgrading my Edge 820 for awhile and when the 1030 went on sale at a great price I went all in but with reservations as to how it would compare and was I missing out by not spending the extra money on the 1030 plus. First, the size of the device hits you - it's a brick. I don't mind since my days of being a weight-weenie over components has long passed. The upside of this screen size is not only easier to read but I can fit more fields on a single screen and still maintain the readability - a winwin! The touch interface is much more responsive than that of my 820, which I wasn't expecting. The menus such as History and MyStats are available right on the home screen so more easily accessed. At the end of each ride, the device provides summary data indicating what systems (aerobic, anaerobic) were utilized along with recommendations regarding your training load. This summary data is consistent with my Training Peaks WKO5 data which is another unexpected surprise. I am extremely happy with the Edge 1030 and don't feel like I missed out by spending the extra for the Plus.

Reviewed 7/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works as designed
by Albie

I was on the fence between the 1030 and the 1030 Plus (newest model) and after reviewing the side by side comparisons, I decide that certain new features were not needed and instead opted to save a few dollars.

Most impressed with battery life and responsiveness of touch screen.

I did discover that iPhone Notifications need to be �Show Previews� in order the the message to appear on the device.

Reviewed 9/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Improvement over my Edge 1000
by RichardNY
Cycling Enthusiast
Brooklyn, NY

The Edge 1030 has everything my Edge 1000 had plus more! Larger screen, longer battery life, ClimbPro, etc.

Reviewed 9/28/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding Cycling GPS
by Snowhog
Cycling Enthusiast
Columbia Heights, MN

Had a Garmin Edge 1000 previously. Used it A LOT, and the battery performance (discharge rate) began to suffer. I considered replacing the battery, but opted to purchase the Edge 1030 instead. In fact, I now have two Edge 1030's, one for each bike. The battery life on the Edge 1030 is SO MUCH better (and longer) than the Edge 1000. And long battery life is important to me. I'm getting well over 21-hours on a full charge. The Edge 1030 is a rock star in my book.

Reviewed 6/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Now I can see my stats
by epbob
Cycling Enthusiast
El Paso, TX

I bought 2 for my wife and I in the sales prior to the roll out of the 1030. Finally I have a display that is big enough for display of the fields I want to see on one screen. I like my old 520 but couldn't pass up the deal to get this. The touch screen feature is more useful than I anticipated but it does change screens by itself occasionally when on rougher trails on my gravel bike. I look forward to using the navigation feature and tracking my friends (and wife) during rides.

Reviewed 6/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tracks everything and more than I can use
by Tpalfini
Cycling Enthusiast
Redding CA

My Garmin experience started 10 years ago and this is my 4th unit. I have not used all the features yet and the one I really want to try out is "get me home". My previous units required using the USB to upload the rides to Garmin Connect. The Edge 1030 does it when I arrive home or even with just my phone service. I bought mine when it went on sale but feel it will serve me well for several years.

Reviewed 8/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
,Great Cycle Computer
by Eric
Daily Commuter
Queens, NY
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Ordered this to work with a newly purchased power meter. The computer works great and tracks accurately. With Broadcast Mode it syncs with the heart rate monitor from my Garmin Forerunner watch. I love the navigation software, plus you can create your own routes with Strava if you are looking to explore a specific path. It recalculates any time you go off course to put you back on. If you connect it to your phone you can also use a live track feature and will notify emergency contacts if it detects a collision. Luckily haven't had to try the collision part, but the live tracking works great. It's a bit pricey, but you get a lot for it.

Reviewed 10/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great User Interface, But GPS seems to drift
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Michigan
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I love the user interface and the available metrics. I have had none of the issues that have been talked about. The only issue I have is a the accuracy of the GPS, I have to use a speed sensor otherwise my speed is all over the place.

Reviewed 9/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very happy - no issues
by Steve R
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati OH
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Normally I wait a while after adopting a new bike computer but I really wanted the bigger screen and longer battery live because I do ultra distance rides and want navigation visible at a glance and no need to add a battery so I took the plunge and haven't had any issues. Its running software version 3.70. Haven't had any glitches with anything - it will run my virb camera, varia lights, my Elite Drivo trainer, all with zero problems, and the touch screen works perfectly even in the rain. It's big so the Garmin mount is really needed for it to fit on a bike and get to the buttons easily. The K-edge XL does also but puts it very close to the bars, so close it makes the lap and stop bottons a little hard to access, not impossible. The screen colors are a bit dull, but it's very readable. Garmin really did a good job with this one, it's a home run in my book. I also have 510 and 820, and had a 500 before that - this one is a very nice improvement over all of those. Pricey but it's worth it to me.

Reviewed 1/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I recommend it!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle

This is now my second GPS cycling device, the first being the Garmin 1000, so that is all I can compare it to. After 6 years of good service, the 1000 was getting short on battery life, and the onoff button cover failed. I really like the 1030. It has more features, better displays, and MUCH better battery life. It integrates well with my Android phone, and Shimano D-Fly. Don't leave home without it!

Reviewed 6/25/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The absolute Best!
by MAW
Casual Cyclist
Michigan

The Trendline rider-to-rider messaging is very useful, in fact indispensable! Especially if you get separated out on the road! And don't forget GPSGlonass, especially if out in middle of nowhere or unfamiliar territory! I heartily recommend this unit with Touch Screen to any cyclist casual or avid!!!!

Reviewed 6/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy Transition
by DM
Cycling Enthusiast
Edmonds, WA

Compared to the Edge 1000 I've used since 2014, the Edge 1030 has new features that have been useful to me like a larger, easier to read screen and longer battery life. I like that the charging cord plugs into the bottom edge of the device rather than the bottom so it lays flat while charging. Direct connectivity to a Garmin Power Pack mounted underneath is a plus. Configuring data screens is easier since windows can be moved around with the touch of a finger. The LiveTrack feature has worked with variable success. Incident Detection is fairly sensitive and occasionally needs cancelling when activated by a sudden stop. Both involve use of the Garmin Connect app on your mobile phone. I have not figured out how to activateuse messaging between other riders in a group. All in all a worthwhile upgrade made necessary by the micro-USB port on my Edge 1000 going bad. Had it not been for that I probably would not have upgraded just yet, the cost being the main impediment, but I'm not sorry that I did.

Reviewed 7/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Garman 1030
by William LBowens
Battle Creek mich

Garman 1030 ordered this over the phone what a awesome experience. They will be always be my go to site for anything like apparel tires clothing anything to do with bicycling Ive ordered from them several times and always had awesome experiences weather on the phone or online orders things always come second day out what an awesome site.

Reviewed 4/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent cycling computer for long rides in unfamiliar territory
by Mt Bikeman
Cycling Enthusiast
Fremont, CA

There are three things that I found to be outstanding with respect to my use of this computer. 1) The battery really last 20 hours with turn-by-turn navigation enabled. 2) The screen characters are large and easy to read. 3) Turn-by-turn navigation that pops up a local map with specific guidance indicated is a huge improvement over the text box I use to get on my 520. So far the only annoyance is the tough screen. I love how easy it is to navigate the functionality but I hate the smudge marks left all over the screen.

Reviewed 4/29/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Its worth upgrading from 810
by LC
NE Oklahoma

Better screen than the 810. During the initial setup with my iPhone XS Max, the two would not communicate. I called Garmin and after 1hour and being placed on-hold several times as the representative consulted with others, the problem was resolvedit had to do with a setting in Garmin Connect, not iPhoneyes, it was a Garmin setting. I continue to get occasional messages on the 1030 at the start of a ride that I do not have emergency contacts set upbut I do and the Garmin representative helped me set the contact up. The coolest things are that SMS texts and sharp turn warnings (riding on bike trails without a course loaded) show up on the 1030 screen. Battery life is probably as advertised. Swiping screens is impossible with my long finger gloves.

Reviewed 4/23/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy tousr
by Alan
Portland Or

Perfect intuitive device. Never get lost

Reviewed 7/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page