Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Garmin Edge 1030

GarminEdge 1030(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(14 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(79%)
(21%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Very happy - no issues
by Steve R
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati OH
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Normally I wait a while after adopting a new bike computer but I really wanted the bigger screen and longer battery live because I do ultra distance rides and want navigation visible at a glance and no need to add a battery so I took the plunge and haven't had any issues. Its running software version 3.70. Haven't had any glitches with anything - it will run my virb camera, varia lights, my Elite Drivo trainer, all with zero problems, and the touch screen works perfectly even in the rain. It's big so the Garmin mount is really needed for it to fit on a bike and get to the buttons easily. The K-edge XL does also but puts it very close to the bars, so close it makes the lap and stop bottons a little hard to access, not impossible. The screen colors are a bit dull, but it's very readable. Garmin really did a good job with this one, it's a home run in my book. I also have 510 and 820, and had a 500 before that - this one is a very nice improvement over all of those. Pricey but it's worth it to me.

Reviewed 1/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A must have for endurance cyclest
by J.Brain
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern CA

I purchased this for the 2018 double century season. In the past, I've carried a spare battery and charged my Edge 1000 in my pocket during my ride. With the extra battery, this no longer is a hassle. The maps and guidance feel a lot better also. This is a must if you ever want a worse free long ride. We all know if it's not on Strava it didn't happen!

Reviewed 4/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice improvement over Edge 1000
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Garmin continues to improve the cycle computer, and totally dominates the market for highly functional devices. The Garmin 1030 is a nice improvement over the 1000, although the 1000 was quite good. The 1030 screen is easier to read, which is a big deal for me since my eyes aren't as good as they used to be. I have to wear magnifiers to read a tablet or phone, but I can read the 1030 screen ok without glasses, even with 8 different parameters displayed on the screen.

I like the new routing algorithm which uses Strava heat maps to pick the best route. I've definitely noticed that it picks better roads.

I am now using this computer with the Garmin Vector 3 pedals on one of my bikes, and there is a lot more information available. While I don't follow a rigorous training program, the added information is helpful and inspires me to push myself a little harder.

The battery life seems somewhat better than the 1000. I've done a couple century rides since getting it and there was still plenty of juice left over when I was done even though I'm not as fast as I used to be.

Reviewed 1/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Another great Garmin product
by J. Spencer
Competitive Racer
Little Rock, AR

Purchased this mainly to take advantage of the long battery life. I have had other Garmin products and been happy with them. I recently rode Land Run, finished in a little over 8 hours, and only used %40 battery. A larger screen is nice but the basic features are not that much different from the 1000 version. If you are like me and need the long battery life ( I also have the battery adaptor but haven't used it yet), then this is for you.

Reviewed 3/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bigger is Better
by Chilebrown
Cycling Enthusiast
Rodeo, Ca.
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The bigger screen and advanced features makes this latest version a must have.

Reviewed 1/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
GARMIN NEVER fails with technology
by @ratcyclingtpc
Cycling Enthusiast
Houma,La.

i love this garmin the new 1030 has all the stats and numbers with the capabilities to give one absolutely the best experience in cycling computers

Reviewed 12/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Upgrade
by waterman
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Florida

I have had Garmin cycle computers for 12 years. The 1030 provides the integration and data collection functions I need. Phone, connectivity data. Good deal!

Reviewed 12/15/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does its job. Touch screen does not work with my fullfinger windstopper gloves.
by slider
Colorado Springs
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Plus

Good screen visibility

Easier to program than the 510 or 520

Like the wifi connectibility

Minus

You have to download some basemaps

Doesn't work with fullfinger gloves

Matching sensors not always easy

Reviewed 12/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good but not great....yet
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
AZ

the display is great! the promised functionality is very good. the problem is the inconsistent Bluetooth connection. when it works its great, when it doesn't its very frustrating. As it is, it's better than my Edge 810, but I'm hoping a software update will solve the connection issues.

Reviewed 12/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great cycling computer
by efrago
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA

I use the Edge mostly to capture information and for when I'm doing training rides, the screens are very easy to read and customize. The Strava integration and turn by turn maps are also pretty great, one to give that extra motivation to push in a climb, the other to try new routes without having to look at the phone all the time.

I'm waiting to get power meters and get the full extension of the product, but for now even connecting to the DI2 is pretty awesome. Definitely recommend

Reviewed 11/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best upgrade to date
by kaltech
Cycling Enthusiast
Tenafly, N.J.

Much better viewing the screen in any light including bright light then the old 1000, the STRAVA segments work great, I think you have to go premium. maps and route directions work great also

Reviewed 11/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice And sleek
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Morgan Hill, Ca

Great product the screen is more clear and vivid has more functions than the 100-

Reviewed 11/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice upgrade
by JJ3438
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland,
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Upgraded from my Garmin Edge 1000. Like most Garmin Edge computers there are some bugs to the system to start but they correct them within a reasonable amount of time. Its a great computer and does everything I want it to do. I recommend it and am very happy with my purchase.

Reviewed 10/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pretty complicated
by Thomas
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

It seems hard to just go for a ride trying to navigate multiple screens. I do appreciate the incident report aspect and the bright screen yet I would like the ability to password protect the device and make voice commands.

Reviewed 10/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.