Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Garmin Edge 1030

GarminEdge 1030(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(35 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(25)
(7)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(71%)
(20%)
(9%)
(0%)
(0%)
,Great Cycle Computer
by Eric
Daily Commuter
Queens, NY
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Ordered this to work with a newly purchased power meter. The computer works great and tracks accurately. With Broadcast Mode it syncs with the heart rate monitor from my Garmin Forerunner watch. I love the navigation software, plus you can create your own routes with Strava if you are looking to explore a specific path. It recalculates any time you go off course to put you back on. If you connect it to your phone you can also use a live track feature and will notify emergency contacts if it detects a collision. Luckily haven't had to try the collision part, but the live tracking works great. It's a bit pricey, but you get a lot for it.

Reviewed 10/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great User Interface, But GPS seems to drift
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Michigan
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I love the user interface and the available metrics. I have had none of the issues that have been talked about. The only issue I have is a the accuracy of the GPS, I have to use a speed sensor otherwise my speed is all over the place.

Reviewed 9/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best cyclocomputer so far!
by Anonymous

Easy to setup and use. Integrates easily with Varia radar rear light. Beeps and shows red lines on the sides of the screen when a car is 400 yards behind you. Love it!

Reviewed 4/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
lots of upgrades in this unit
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Golden, CO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I replaced my Garmin 520 (which I really liked) since the battery would not stay charged. I also wanted better map capability since the 520 was not adequate. The 1030 battery is light years ahead of the 520. I'm not wild about the appearance of the 1030 since it is so much larger but the payoff is how much easier it is too read. The 1030 also manages my Bontrager ION front light. The 1030 is also giving me a lot more ride data. All in all I would buy this again.

Reviewed 1/31/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very happy - no issues
by Steve R
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati OH
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Normally I wait a while after adopting a new bike computer but I really wanted the bigger screen and longer battery live because I do ultra distance rides and want navigation visible at a glance and no need to add a battery so I took the plunge and haven't had any issues. Its running software version 3.70. Haven't had any glitches with anything - it will run my virb camera, varia lights, my Elite Drivo trainer, all with zero problems, and the touch screen works perfectly even in the rain. It's big so the Garmin mount is really needed for it to fit on a bike and get to the buttons easily. The K-edge XL does also but puts it very close to the bars, so close it makes the lap and stop bottons a little hard to access, not impossible. The screen colors are a bit dull, but it's very readable. Garmin really did a good job with this one, it's a home run in my book. I also have 510 and 820, and had a 500 before that - this one is a very nice improvement over all of those. Pricey but it's worth it to me.

Reviewed 1/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
MUCH BETTER THAN THE EDGE 1000
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Montgomery, AL
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Seems to be made well, obviously better than the Edge 1000. The charging port appears to be sturdier and in a much better location. It should be able to be charged with a remote battery charger while riding (the Edge 1000 could not).

The main improvement for me is the increased battery time. Before I got mine, my buddy had one during a 300k ride that lasted from 0630 until 2300. He said he had 30% left on his battery. This was also the last day my Edge 1000 worked. While charging it during our lunch break, and again later in the ride, the charging port broke became loose, and never worked again. My Edge 1000 lasted 1 12 years, not good!

Reviewed 11/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Long Time Garmin user
by Anonymous
Eastern Washington State
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Have used 520 and 820. 520 was favorite until this new model. Syncs great with iPhone, Strava. Easier to see. Looking forward to using mapping features this summer.

Reviewed 1/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
by Jochen
89523
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

It would be hard for me to say it is a good piece, it is fantastic.

Reviewed 1/10/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It will do it
by Shaun Thompson
Cycling Enthusiast
Northeast Colorado
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Upgraded from an Edge 500. Start up and satellite acquisition is MUCH faster. Like my smartphone, this device can do more than I can ask it to do. I like the different profiles. I can have different screens for a road ride or a gravel ride or my commute. It's an investment for sure, but if you want the top of the line, you need to pay for it.

Reviewed 12/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding
by Biking in Alabama
AL
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Enjoying my new bike computer. Fairly easy to learn and use. Im not one for reading directions.

Reviewed 11/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice improvement over Edge 1000
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Garmin continues to improve the cycle computer, and totally dominates the market for highly functional devices. The Garmin 1030 is a nice improvement over the 1000, although the 1000 was quite good. The 1030 screen is easier to read, which is a big deal for me since my eyes aren't as good as they used to be. I have to wear magnifiers to read a tablet or phone, but I can read the 1030 screen ok without glasses, even with 8 different parameters displayed on the screen.

I like the new routing algorithm which uses Strava heat maps to pick the best route. I've definitely noticed that it picks better roads.

I am now using this computer with the Garmin Vector 3 pedals on one of my bikes, and there is a lot more information available. While I don't follow a rigorous training program, the added information is helpful and inspires me to push myself a little harder.

The battery life seems somewhat better than the 1000. I've done a couple century rides since getting it and there was still plenty of juice left over when I was done even though I'm not as fast as I used to be.

Reviewed 1/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Larger Display Better Battery Life
by RAC47
Reno NV
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I am an endurance rider-10-14 hours. Longer battery life ensures I can track my entire ride. The larger display with my aging eyes is appreciated. Tracking unfamiliar routes is a great feature.

Reviewed 7/27/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great device for navigation and training
by cycleacrossamerica.com
Cycling Enthusiast
cycle across America
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

This is my third Garmin Edge and the best one yet. The navigation features are basically the same as my Garmin Edge 800 and 810. However, the Garmin Edge 1030 offered enhanced training and safety features over the previous models. For example, this model has incident detection. The sensors within the device, along with any other paired sensors such as a speed or cadence sensor, are used to determine if there has been an impact. If an impact is detected, my Garmin will use my mobile phone to send a message within 30 seconds to my emergency contact with my last known location.

In addition, the Garmin Edge 1030 also allows me to set an alarm at the completion of set number of miles and time. I use this mileage alarm as a reminder to take a drink and the timer alarm to remind me to eat while Im riding.

This bicycle computer is much more than a device used for navigation and to gather useful ride statistics.

Reviewed 7/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fabulous features but major design flaw
by Tony from Philly
Daily Commuter
Philadelphia

Lap and startstop buttons are on the rim, not the top like the 1000 so there is not enough space to reach them on a 1000 mount so you need longer mounts for all your bikes AND I suspect no mount will be long enough to give room for winter gloves. Otherwise a great upgrade from the 1000

Reviewed 7/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fabulous features but major design flaw
by Tony from Philly
Daily Commuter
Philadelphia

Lap and startstop buttons are on the rim, not the top like the 1000 so there is not enough space to reach them on a 1000 mount so you need longer mounts for all your bikes AND I suspect no mount will be long enough to give room for winter gloves. Otherwise a great upgrade from the 1000

Reviewed 7/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simply the best I have owned
by LastOstrogoth
Cycling Enthusiast
Bonney Lake WA

I have had a Garmin Edge 520 for three years. I liked it a lot and still use it on my gravel bike. However, on longer rides, particularly when I used navigation it was always a race to see which would end first, the battery in the 520 or the ride. That is no longer a problem. I redid a ride last weekend that had left my 520 gasping by the end with barely anything left as I rode into my driveway. The 1030 had more than 70% of the battery left at the end of this. Beyond the battery, though, the screen is wonderful. All of the data fields are easily read. When text messages come in I can actually read them on the screen. Like my 520, it paired with my various ANT devices and my ETap gear combo. I had some minor issues getting to to talk to my iMac, but that was resolved with a direct connection to the computer, rather than through a hub. I can say, sincerely, that I have not had a moment of regret. It really is a superb computer. The navigation screen is really nice, a big improvement, both literally and figuratively over the 520's. Having the option to add a extended battery, though it doesn't seem that I will ever need one, is a nice touch as well.

Reviewed 6/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
very nice upgrade from my edge 810
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Quito Ecuador
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

only problem, I can pass information from the odometer and I will loose information for the different bikes

Reviewed 6/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
All you need to collect data
by chuck4ram
Cycling Enthusiast
ClovisFresno, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

If you learn and use all the options, this Garmin is well worth the $$. Just using the data fields alone, not to mention the weather data, the averages for your heart, speed, laps and more. Then down loading the data to your computer-wirelessly, thats info to browse while you recover andor watch tv. Being able to review your power usage over the course of your ride lets you evaluate your laps for speed and cadence. This info is useful for pedal strength and efficiency. I also have my Varia Radar linked which I use on every ride. My wingman has the 1030 too, so we use the Group Track to meet up on a ride. The Garmin 1030 has enhanced my riding all around. Glad I bought it, I think youll be glad too. Ride safe.

Reviewed 6/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bike computer
by HKS
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas

Edge 1030 has a great display, easy to use and setup.

Reviewed 6/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love the big screen, the smarts to figure which sensors are live. Not so happy about the WiFi- Bluetooth battle
by Wynchmprf
Cycling Enthusiast
Rhode Island

OK, Garmins flagship unit lives up to the hype as long as you leave the WiFi off in my experience. (And the forums out there talk about issues with the the WiFi an dBT not playing well together) Sets up like a Garmin (I have owned a few and the menu sense is pretty logical. You can have a bunch of sensors for your different bikes, and the unit figures out which one you are using. Unless, you are using WiFi and maybe stages PM, but.. then the unit will lose connection and not update. Liveterack goes wonky... and wont disconnect - as long as the WiFi is on. Notices from my phone didnt work while WiFi was turned on. Turn wifi off and bingo, all seems well. On BT it uploads like a high speed router (well, cuz the files are small) compared to the LeZyne I had before. Garmin may come out with a firmware fix, but til then, I can live with the BT connection to my phone. The other features are very nice - and work as advertised. 3 stars because they have a useless hardware feature (at this point)

Reviewed 5/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page