X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Garmin Rally Pedal Mail-In Rebate — Learn More
Fizik Terra X5 MTB Shoe

FizikTerra X5 MTB Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(62 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(37)
(19)
(4)
(1)
(1)
(60%)
(31%)
(6%)
(2%)
(2%)
Very nice shoe
by RockinghamRambler
Cycling Enthusiast
Eden, NC

I just decided to try "mountain bike pedals" on my road bike. These shoes replaced a pair of the Fizik Power Strap shoes which I recently got and which have worked really well. My last shoes, before the Power Straps, were also of the velcro closure type. I am really liking the Boa closure, it just works great and the shoes feel great, better than the Power Strap. I was a little hesitant to go with the Boa type because my old velcro shoes lasted forever and the Boa wire breaks over time. I guess I'll just have to get a replacement wire and change it before it breaks. The shoe is very walkable. With the Power Strap shoe I was using the Speedplay Zero pedals. The cleat includes a rubber cover and is pretty walkable but this shoe is even better. The fit of this shoe is the same as the Power Strap. The size and fit is also the same as my older Specialized brand shoes were. Unfortunately, at this time I am stuck indoors on a trainer and haven't been able to do any long rides with the shoes. However, since they are so similar to the Power Strap shoes which I was able to use on some good rides this summer I expect them to work well also. I was able to place the cleat in the same position as the Speedplay, which for me is all the way back and the cleat all the way to the inside to push the shoe out, away from the bike, to give me a little more "Stance Width" or "Q factor". Even with the SPD cleat against the inner lugs of the shoe it engages into and disengages from the pedal just fine. So far the fit feels the same as I had with the Speedplay pedals.

Reviewed 11/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoe!
by Anonymous

Overall: Great, comfy. Love them.

One down side: Water doesn't drain well when riding thru stream crossings.

Fit: Runs a little longer/narrower from Bontrager shoes

Reviewed 5/2/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great looking high value gravel shoe
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

I ride 2 or three times a week, about 60% on paved roads and about 40% on gravel roads and single track. This is a great value for the money. I was willing to spend more, but just didn't feel the need. The fit and finish is high quality. The sole is stiffer and gives me more power transfer to the pedals than my previous Mavic All Road shoes. I wore these for most of the summer and early fall so weather conditions were mostly hot and dry. They were breathable enough that I never thought once about overheating. I can't speak to their abilities in wet conditions yet.

In terms of sizing, I usually wear a size 10.5 or 11 shoe and the size 44 Terra fits me quite well. Snug enough in the heel and midfoot with enough room in the toe. The heel cup is a bit padded for comfort but also locks your heel into place. My foot is a bit narrow and I think these work well.

The single Boa dial effectively locks the heel in place and it's easy to use. Compared to traditional lace systems, I like that I can reach down and adjust the tightness if I feel it is needed. The tongue is a nice slick material that allows it to slide freely as you tighten the Boa so one-handed adjustments are easy enough. One small complaint is that I do sometimes feel a slight pressure point at the top of the tongue. That might be due to my personal anatomy. The strap on the forefoot is essentially useless because even if you ream on it, it doesn't tighten the forefoot. That's fine since I don't need any additional snugness there.

The cleats gave me all the traction I needed for climbing steep trails off the bike. They aren�t as easy or comfortable to walk in as my Mavic shoes, but that�s partly due to the stiffer sole which is better for actually pedaling. A fair trade-off in my opinion.

The stock insole is quite thin and I would recommend after market soles. I do feel a pressure point under my big toe which may be from one of the cleats. A proper sole should mask such pressure points. I can�t judge the Terra�s too harshly in this regard because pretty much all cycling shoes come with poor insoles.

Reviewed 10/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid features in an affordable Shoe
by Anonymous
Sierra Nevada''s

True to size. Good fitting. The single BOA makes for quick putting on and taking off shoe. Nice grippy feature on the back of the heal pocket to help keep foot in shoe. Really pleased so far. Time will tell whether the upper holds up to getting wet. Lot of bang for the buck.

Reviewed 2/14/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice trail shoes
by Anonymous
kansas city

Nice and affordable price for this shoes, first time using this brand Fizik, I'm impressed with the quality and conform of this shoes, I'll recommend it.

Reviewed 8/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Shoes for the Price
by Dave
Portland

Was a little skeptical about a $xxx pair of MTB/gravel shoes, but so far these things have been awesome. Sizing runs a little big (I'm a US 12 and went with the 45.5). Super comfortable and plenty stiff.

Reviewed 12/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Checks all the boxes for my MTB shoe requirements
by KTrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado Springs

I bought these for the value and I liked the look of them. After several rides I'm pleased with the fit and comfort. Had to do a few hike-a-bikes and they gripped will on the local granite and sandstone. Looking forward to wearing them out.

Reviewed 12/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My new favorite shoe
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

Light, relatively inexpensive, and tough. Pick all 3. I own Shimano, Lake, Scott, Sidi, and others. These are the best. I usually wear out a pair each year but I will get at least 2 with these and they fit great for my normal foot.

Reviewed 11/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoe for the price
by stupech
Cycling Enthusiast
Delray Beach, Florida

Used for road and gravel. I like the stiffness of the sole for pedaling efficency. Boa closure adjustment unusual in a shoe at this price. Recessed SPD cleat makes for easy walkability. Bought for a female friend. Her first cleated bike shoes. She has a wide forefoot, and generally wears a women's size 9. With this shoe, a euro 41 fit best.

Reviewed 11/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit and performance.
by SLOLetsGo
Cycling Enthusiast
San Luis Obispo, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The fit on these MTB shoes mirrors Fizik road shoes (they run large), so a 44 fits as well as a 45 in Sidi. If you like Fizik road shoes, you'll love these for road riding. I'm wearing these on a gravel bike with Look X-Race pedals and they work really well as a road-like shoe on off-road terrain. The uppers are supple and the single Boa dial provides sufficient compression. I don't find that the front velco band alters fit very much. The Terra X5's are clearly more forgiving than a carbon soled road shoe, but they still transmit power well. They are somewhat walkable, but these are definitely not a commuter shoe. If you wear these for an office commute you're going to want to have street shoes to change into when you get to your destination. I did notice that there are a pair of stud mounts at the toe which means these would also work well as a cyclocross shoe in muddy conditions.

Reviewed 11/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
AWESOMENESS!!
by oletabiker
Cycling Enthusiast
S. Fl
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these to replace an aged set of Sidi MTB shoes, and was looking for something that was sleek, functional, durable, affordable, and most of all with a BOA system. the Fizik Terra X5 MTB Shoe not only checked off every box, but also came in this amazing looking olive green color which I like very much. I chose size 42, which is typically a just right fit, these shoes do seem to fit slightly larger, so I should be wearing a 41, other than that, I am really impressed by their performance out on the trails! I Highly Recommend!

Reviewed 10/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
If the shoe fits, they say
by GT Grade Gravel Bike
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan

It is a very good fit for my feet. I love having BOA adjustment though having 2 would be even better. I got a good price here at $135. Two complaints - the insole is extremely thin so count on retrofitting something. If you unclip by accident, the foot can slip on the pedal when trying to click back in due to the slick bottom surface of the shoe. I had read about this going in. It's not a deal breaker as you can get used to it and become more skilled at avoiding it. I do love the look of these Fizik and even wish I had gone for the edgier look of Green/Orange. My green ones are still nice.

Reviewed 10/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worst fitting and most uncomfortable shoe I ever worr
by Anonymous
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Sorry I wanted to like these shoes but there were awful. I don't like writing bad reviews but I wore these for 1.5 hours and could wait to take them off. They dug into my ankles and the soles really hurt, I could barely go down one of my favorite trails. I have owned dozens of Mtb shoes and unfortunately first I ever had to return. FYI I have been riding clipless for 25 years both dirt and road.

Reviewed 9/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great, accommodating shoe with awesome performance
by Lengis
Portland, OR

Really pleased with this offering from fizik. Even though the brand is known for a narrower fit, I found that these shoes were great for my wide feet. No hot spots or numbness on century-length rides, and the boa system provides a consistent tightness. The cleats do not come in contact with the ground for the most part, and the traction on these soles is excellent. While the boa system is in the side of the shoe, I haven�t experienced any contact with the ground to damage them at all, and I�ve slid out one or two times since having them. Cannot recommend enough at this great price point!

Reviewed 9/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fizik shoe with great value!
by davidc
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, DC

I bought the shoe for gravel biking. With stiff bottom, I was able to transfer power to the pedal effortlessly. New Boa L6 dial is a huge improvement over earlier generation. It is easy to adjust, and kept my shoes tight and fit on my feet. Because it has stiffer sole, walking can be awkward but it is a good trade off. You don't want to have floppy bottom unless you expect to walk a lot. Overall, great shoe for the money. Five stars!

Reviewed 9/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Shoes!
by Jacob Hines
Baltimore Maryland

Amazing shoes! Love the boa, great color ways and super comfortable hiking and cycling.

Reviewed 9/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fizik Terra MTB shoes
by Ron M
Vancouver Island BC

Shoes are true to size. Comfortable fit for a person with wider feet. Good grip on gravel surfaces.

Reviewed 1/7/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The most comfortable bike shoes I've owned.
by tdel010
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

As the title says, these are the most comfortable bike shoe I've owned. Be aware that they run a little big (long in my case). If you're often on the cusp of shoe sizes (for me it's 10.5 and 11 US), consider going for the lower number. The width seems pretty adjustable with the boa system, so I think these could work with a decent range of widths, but I'm average width, so what do I know?

Reviewed 6/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome shoe for narrow feet
by Bikerdude11
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, Washington

Very pleased with the quality and fit of this shoe. It's a MTB shoe that doubles as a road shoe I- multi use best of both worlds. Fit is screwy - I wear size 45 European typically and the size that fits correctly is size 43. Just odd but a great shoe for narrow feet.

Reviewed 8/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good shoe but.
by Julian Munoz
Connecticut

This is a pretty decent and comfortable cycling shoe. I use it for road/gravel riding. I have a narrow foot and these fit well. Probably not for people with wide feet. However do not wet these shoes. The inside lining by the toes will warp and become hard like a rock. Therefore the shoe will be uncomfortable to wear. It happened to my first pair however I love the shoes and bought a second pair.

Reviewed 8/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page