Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Fizik Performance 3mm Microtex Bar Tape

FizikPerformance 3mm Microtex Bar Tape(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(36 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(18)
(11)
(5)
(1)
(1)
(50%)
(31%)
(14%)
(3%)
(3%)
Very grippy, by far one of the easiest installations
by Victorbchoi

I have installed this bar tape in my bike, and it's been awesome the past 3 months. When I replaced the bar tape, I was a little skeptical about the feel and installation. I can confirm, that this bar tape isn't hard at all to install. For a novice to install, it has a bit of give to it, allowing you to mess up a few times until you get it right. As for performance, this tape does take some breaking in after it is installed. For me, I took these on a few rides and they were grippy, but still a little stiff. But in about a week, they eventually gave loose, and you can feel it squish a bit and allow you to grip the bars well, as well as providing a reduction in vibration on some of the rougher roads.

Reviewed 6/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is good durable tape
by C.B.
Daily Commuter
Sheattle
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I hate wrapping handlebars. This tape makes sure that I only need to do it once. Great durability and even better if you can get the supplemental gel to position below it. Keeping nerve damage in my hands under control is getting more difficult and Fizik products are a great interface enhancement. If you don't currently use this product, please do your self and your body some good! Good stuff nuff said!,

Reviewed 4/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice bar tape
by Anonymous
Sherwood, OR

This is the first bar tape that I've purchased for my bike. It was long over-due! This tape is easy to install, looks great, and performs very well-very comfortable and grippy. The only reason for the 4 is that the tape is pretty short. It stops about 1 from where I like my tape to end. Not the end of the world, but it does give me that much less cockpit space to use during hard climbs

Reviewed 9/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Thick is good and bad
by richphoto
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Just installed this on a new build and it is really nice material however it is almost impossible to get the bar end plugs in and looking good due to the thickness, used a mallet and still not all good.

Reviewed 3/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable with great feel
by D McMackin
Cycling Enthusiast
Ephrata, WA
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

3mm Microtex has been my preferred road bike tape. The 3mm tape takes a little bit of the edge off chip seal buzz on the bars. The Microtex in black has a no slip texture that I prefer and is very durable. Costs more but lasts much longer than standard bar tape. A bar tape review is going to be subjective but I believe the performance benefits are here for the price premium.

Reviewed 8/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I bought the white
by Anonymous
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Nice a beefy bar tape. The white cleans up easily with soap and water

Reviewed 7/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
High quality but very stiff
by Neil
new jersey
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Avid cyclist...I put new bar tape on all my bikes after a season or two. Never purchased Fizik tape before but saw a sale and purchased 2. Out of the box the tape looks high quality. Install...oh man, first there are about 5 inches of non logo ends on both ends of tape, no idea but I cut off and left about 1 inch on each end. Installing was strait forward, the ridge in the tape ensured even overlapping but when I got close to the curves around the brake hoods that's where I had trouble. Tape is very very stiff, I had to rewrap sever times to ensure I would not get wrinkles with the tape. After several attempts I still had one small wrinkle on each side of the tape..overall the tape looks, feels, and does its job..padding is quite good.

Reviewed 7/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable and Looks Great!
by Tim
Cycling Enthusiast
SoMD and SoCal
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Padding The tape is comfortable even though the padding is pretty stiff when new. The thicker tape also helps those with larger hands.

Color Hard to get an idea of the color until it's in front of you but the range seems very stylish. My hands and gloves turned metallic blue in the heat when I first started using it and still slightly do after a year/5k miles.

Durability At least a year/5k miles and it still looks and feels good. A fall and slide took a chunk out of an aluminum bar cap but only half a layer of the tape on the drops (quite a few layers off me as well), protecting the bar completely.

Texture As advertised, this is not a tacky tape. It can be pretty slick even when not wet.

Reviewed 3/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wraps nicely, durable, comfortable.
by Anonymous
Fullerton, CA

Use this tape, orange, on a gravel bike. EVEN though it is orange, it is staying clean looking. It was a good choice for comfort and durability. Nothing to dislike.

Reviewed 12/28/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This tape offers a good comfortable feel and grip.
by Rich L.
Cycling Enthusiast
Lancaster, PA

I purchased this to replace a Fizik tape that was 10 years old and starting to show wear.

The application is standard and simple. The finishing tape seems a little weak in comparison to the bar tape.

Reviewed 1/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Requires some skill
by Anonymous
Southern California
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The thickness of the tape makes it hard to stuff the end caps. There is a lot of self advertising on this tape that you can mostly cover when wrapping a specific direction. I'm not sure why one edge needs to be white. The tape works well, it just takes a bit of effort to apply it properly and achieve a nice clean look.

Reviewed 9/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tape
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

Applied very easy and made the bars look great

Reviewed 8/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worst I've ever used
by Ty
Cycling Enthusiast
Norcal
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Too short, Too stiff. Not flexible. Padding is hard.

Reviewed 3/27/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfy bar tape
by Anonymous
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Installed in my cervelo bike

Reviewed 6/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does the job
by James
Competitive Racer
Tulsa
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

It's very nice bar tap. Has just the right amount of padding and stickiness. Relatively cheap. Mine started to show wear (paint peeling off) after 8k miles.

Reviewed 11/19/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Soft touch black feels furry.
by Tpalfini
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Ordered two but will return unopened box. Installed but I will be replacing tomorrow with something less bulky and smoother. Too thick for my taste

Reviewed 9/4/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great looking tape that works
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Katy, TX

Tried tons of different tapes, none as good as the 1.8mm Pinarello branded tape that is now unobtanium, this is good stuff though, would use again.

Reviewed 5/18/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I like it...
by NorCal rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Auburn Ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

As with everything in cycling, everyone is different when it comes to components on their bikes. I have not used Fizik bar tape for several years. Mainly (if you can believe this) it is so long lasting that I pull it off as I get tired of looking at the stuff. Now onto my review- This is thick tape, not too flexible and I find it somewhat difficult to apply, especially around the bends. You have to wrap tight and slow and make sure not leave any gaps. There is a ridge on this tape that allows you to overlap perfectly, although when going around the bends you can't do that. When getting to the tops you might have to try a few wraps or it might not come out perfectly even to the distance to the stem. It's thick tape, like I said, but it wraps thin. Has a great feel to it. Perfect amount of cushioning for me (before I was using gel tape). It has a light adhesive backing, so if you mess up, you can pull it off and try again. It looks great. I have 44 bars and had to cut off a lot of tape (I'm thinking 8 inches or so). There are blank spots) on both ends of the tape that kind of baffles me. I cut about half of those off on both ends. I used black electrical tape and used the Fizik logo finishing tape as an after thought. And the bar end plugs fit my bars without a couple of wraps of electrical tape (horray!). I think this will be my go to tape.

Reviewed 5/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bar tape.
by JHopkins70
Competitive Racer
St. Louis area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I put this as a double wrap on my CX bike. Very easy to install. Provides great cushion and is grippy, which is good for wet and sloppy conditions.

Reviewed 5/26/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tape
by steveindanville
Danville, CA
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Strong and looks durable. I really like the ridge on the tape that gives you a perfect overlap on every wrap.

Reviewed 4/16/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page