X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Fizik Artica R5 Winter Road Shoe

FizikArtica R5 Winter Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(9 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(4)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(44%)
(44%)
(0%)
(0%)
(11%)
Great winter shoe
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

I have worn these through some of the wettest Seattle months.

Pros

They are very waterproof. The only issue I have had is if water splashes up and over the cuff and comes in the top

They fit great and ride like a normal shoe

They are not overly insulated and in very cold weather you may need thicker socks (I rode these down to 40 with regular socks)

Cons

The zipper is very tight to zip sometimes

Other notes.

If they do leak they don't drain. I recommend in hard rain making sure tights go over the boot.

They are snug at the ankle which makes them feel different than a regular shoe. This is a trade off for what it is meant for.

Reviewed 4/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best winter boots I have found
by Anonymous
Portland

I bought both road and mountain versions of this shoe. Your feet stay warm and dry, no vents on the bottom means water can't get in. The fastening system isn't perfect but not bad either.

Reviewed 4/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good WInter Rain Show
by Late Night
Cycling Enthusiast
Marin CA

I have worn these shoes a handful of time in NorCal rain and they work well in conjunction with a neoprene sleeve over the top with leg warmers over the neoprene. Stayed warm and dry on rides of an hour plus. Fizik informed me that I should size down from 45 in the Aria R3 to 44.5 or 44 for this shoe. I tried on both, and went with 44.5, and still a bit roomy. It is a high volume shoe with plenty of space for thick socks, and more comfortable due to the flex of the sole. The sole stack is 10.8 mm, so you may need to drop your seat a few mm compared to summer shoes. The high ankles did not bother me much, and since these are more about riding base miles, the sole flex and ankles did not bother me. A key pice of kit for rain cold riding.

Reviewed 1/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Warmest road cycling shoe at a great price.
by buline
Competitive Racer
Kalamazoo, Michigan

This winter shoe is well made and keeps your feet really warm and at a great price. I would highly recommend it.

Reviewed 12/26/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent shoes.
by Steve F.
Saugus

These have really been great at keeping the elements at bay, they are certainly warm enough when used with good shoe covers in less than freezing temperatures. Other reviews mentioned the irritation caused by the height of these shoes and it is the same for me, particularly my left ankle likely due to differences in my legs. I try to keep the strap loose and actually starting zip them up only about 23 of the way to prevent it from happening, rather extreme measures but I'm still enjoying using these shoes. I have the feeling Shimano's Winter shoes might have been a better choice.

Reviewed 1/28/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tried it on two rides, chafed my ankle
by Daniel
Cycling Enthusiast
Tualatin, Oregon
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I rode 140 miles in these winter road shoes hoping that they would keep my feet warm, dry and comfortable. Well, it did the first two, however the high-top design chafed my ankle so it caused me pain and there was no way to adjust how snug the ankle opening was. I did loosen up the ankle by unzipping, but then torrents of water quickly filled up the interior of the shoes, so there was no way to make these comfortable and dry.

Reviewed 6/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fit true to size.
by Anonymous
Pennsylvania
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Nice looking and fit good. Easy get foot in and to tighten laces. Warm enough to 40 Deg.

Reviewed 4/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
warm and waterproof. good fit.
by Anonymous
Rhode Island, USoA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

use this on cold wet days in New England. freezing to 22F, moderate wool socks and you are fine. Spray means nothing to these and the closed bottoms keeps water out from that direction as well. NO overbooties used yet - but if I enture out in teh single digits, i think I will go that way.

Reviewed 2/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light weight, stiff and keep those toes warm!
by Jesse91bmw
Competitive Racer
Rochester, NY
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Very nice job Fizik! Great stiff lightweight road shoe. The speed lacing system works well, easy to get on and off. I have not tried in a full on rain storm, but I am confident they will keep the water out. These do run big, I usually get a 46, Sidi or Specialized. I got the 45 and they fit perfect!

Reviewed 1/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.