X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
ENVE SES Tubeless Road Tire

ENVESES Tubeless Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(47 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(25)
(10)
(3)
(4)
(5)
(53%)
(21%)
(6%)
(9%)
(11%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Jeff H.

Awesome Tubeless tires
by Jeff H.
Cycling Enthusiast
South Florida

The regular price is a bit high but whenever these ENVE SES Tubeless Road Tires are on sale I buy several.

These tires are compatible with both hooked and hookless rims. I am using them on a set of hookless tubeless rims, setup tubeless. The setup for me requires either a burst pump or a co2 cartridge, to seat the beads but it's not a difficult setup.

Roadside repairs, I rode into a hole an put a large cut in the rear tire. I had to put a tire boot in and a tube in order to continue. The process was not difficult to unmount and remount the tire out on the roadside.

Wear:

I have logged as many as 4k miles on a front tire and 3k miles on a rear tire. I can't say that I have actually worn out a tire though, I usually run over something that tears or gouges the tire and ends the tires life.

Punctures:

Only the large punctures are noticeable when sealant is spraying out. Most small punctures seal and go un-noticed. When I have a larger puncture I have successfully un-mounted the tire, patched the hole with a tubeless patch, remounted and continued using the tire.

The ride:

I will never ride a 23mm or 25mm tire again. These 29mm tires are far more comfortable and require a much lower pressure.

Reviewed 12/1/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jay

Great tires
by Jay
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I'm adding this review so that people aren't misled by the negative reviews here.

I bought the SES 29's to run on my Enve 3.4 AR wheels (tubeless) / Specialized Aethos.

I rode over 2,000 miles this summer (not kilometers!) on some pretty rough country roads... No flats, no problems, not a single issue.

They are fast and comfortable and very durable.

They are a little rough to get on... but no worse that GP5000s.

I'll be buying another set this year.

Reviewed 1/3/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

This is the old standard
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Lancaster, CA, USA

Has become my favorite, above all others.

Reviewed 11/2/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jon T.

ENVE SES road tubeless 25mm
by Jon T.
Daily Commuter
Nashville, TN
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'd be lying if I said these tires were easy to mount. I am good at mounting tires and understand very well what I'm doing and what optimizes the ability to get that last 4-5 inches of bead over the edge. These were very hard to mount. It required patience, some fans (the kind that blow air as well as the ones that encourage you), and hand strength.

So, once these beauties were mounted, I removed the valve core and inflated to seat the bead with no difficulty. I added about 1.5 oz orange seal endurance sealant using the valve stem and a 60mL syringe with the orange seal adapter (it fits the luer lock on syringes); spun the wheel slowly and repeatedly tilting it to ensure the sealant makes contact all the way round both beads. With that done, I replaced the valve core and inflated to 80psi. I like to put the bike on a stand and give the wheels a spin numerous times over the next several hours. The next morning they'd lost some pressure, but once reinflated, they held pressure pretty well.

Did my first long ride on them two days later. They perform remarkably well. I'm really pleased with the road feel, cornering, and overall performance. The tan walls look killer on my bike, I think. First puncture happened the following weekend. About the size of a pinhead, the hole took some time to seal and I lost most of the sealant and pressure. However, with a couple of stops to carefully reinflate with CO2, it held at least 50 psi for the remainder of the ride and got me home. I booted it using gorilla tape, remounted and did a 90+ mile ride the following weekend with no issues whatsoever.

Great tires!

Reviewed 8/10/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JTridesbicycles

ENVE SES road tubeless
by JTridesbicycles
Daily Commuter
Nashville
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have a pair SES road tubeless 25mm that I run on my carbon fiber road bike. When I was searching for a new set of 30-32mm tubeless tires to replace the worn Panaracer Gravel Kings on my All City Space Horse, it never occurred to me that the ENVE SES would come up in the search. What a great tire, at this width especially! On this bike, I basically use as a commuter, I mainly take paved road. Occasionally, I cut through a park that has broken/buckled pavement, but still no real gravel. Anyway, it basically transformed the ride feel of the Space Horse and is measurably faster as well.

I seat the beads easily using a floor pump that has a compression chamber. Once that's done I go with Orange Seal endurance sealant; spin the wheels and bounce them; then I rest them horizontally for several hours coming back to spin them and flip them over to the other (horizontal) side. They hold the seal extremely well and seem to far more durable than their 25mm counterpart, which makes all the sense in the world. I'm very happy with them.

Reviewed 2/16/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Andy

Great feel, great puncture resistance
by Andy
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Have these 31�s mounted tubeless on Zipp 303 rims. Have ridden about 3 thousand miles on them, mostly 3 seasons as I opt for a wider, slightly textured tire (38mm Schwalbe G One Speed) for the thoroughly gross, wet PacNW winter miles.

Have never had a puncture in all the time they�ve been on my bike. Hold air well although they were a little challenging to seat initially. They still look good and the road feel is excellent, supple and fast. Traction on sharper corners is great, maybe not truly excellent but up there with other great tires. Durability is proving to be excellent for a higher performing tire.

Reviewed 11/3/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Andy

Great feel, great puncture resistance
by Andy
Portland, OR

Have these 31�s mounted tubeless on Zipp 303 rims. Have ridden about 3 thousand miles on them, mostly 3 seasons as I opt for a wider, slightly textured tire (38mm Schwalbe G One Speed) for the thoroughly gross, wet PacNW winter miles.

Have never had a puncture in all the time they�ve been on my bike. Hold air well although they were a little challenging to seat initially. They still look good and the road feel is excellent, supple and fast. Traction on sharper corners is great, maybe not truly excellent but up there with other great tires. Durability is proving to be excellent for a higher performing tire.

Reviewed 11/3/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Excellent quality tires
by Anonymous
Los Angeles

Easy to set up tubeless and 400 miles in have had no issues. They roll well and no flats yet.

Reviewed 9/18/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kevin

Quality control problem?
by Kevin
Salt Lake City
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My 31 mm front SES developed two pinhole leaks in the sidewall at less than 200 miles of easy pavement riding. Tubeless repair kit could not seal the holes, made them bigger. Replaced them with Conti 5000s.

Reviewed 6/18/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

I bought this tire for Enve Foundation 65
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, DC

The tire looks good on the wheel. I usually don't get punctures on the road, but with this tire, I got at least two punctures per tire in a short period of time. There is a good reason for it. The casing is thin throughout and it has no puncture protection. Spend a little bit more money and get GP 5000 tires.

Reviewed 6/18/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Absolutely terrible, unsafe and downright dangerous tires
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
VA
5 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I've had two whole sets of these tires and had another pair shipped to me through ENVE customer service because I expressed my frustration at how they were performing. I set them up tubeless and had two tires blow off the rim on downhills. Thankfully I didn't crash either time but I've never in my life expected a tire to completely separate from the rim like that.

One of the other sets of tires, I mounted the tire with a tube on a DT Swiss wheel and physically could not remove the tire when I needed to change the tube. Not with one tire lever, not with two tire levers, not with a bead jack, not with anything. I actually had to cut the tire off and even that was a ridiculously hard task to get a blade underneath the bead.

These are absolutely terrible to use - tubeless or tubed. They are unsafe and there are clearly production inconsistencies. I expected so much better from a company with a reputation like ENVE. I will not be mounting the extra pair that I received - maybe I'll give them to my worst enemy?

Reviewed 9/9/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by shwnlgo

Over-all a very good quality tire
by shwnlgo
Casual Cyclist
PDX

Great tires! Only issue is that sealant seem to seep out on one spot on one of the tire wall. The other one is fine.

Reviewed 8/29/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Sweet rubber!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portlandia
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I don't have a ton of miles on these yet, but I am totally in love with them. I have the 29 mm tires mounted on Spin Fatboy rims, and the aero fit is pretty close, maybe 1 mm wider than the rims on each side. I weigh around 180 lbs, and I've been experimenting with with the psi. I started out with 70/65 rear/front, and I'm now down to 60/55, with the feeling like I could definitely take it down maybe another 5 psi. Super comfortable and grippy, and they roll beautifully.

They weren't the easiest to seat. I'm guessing that if you have an ENVE wheel set, they might seat easier, but I had considerable difficulty. After several unsuccessful attempts, I left them alone for a while, came back, and voila!

The tan walls are not everyone's fave, but I like them.

Not enough miles to judge wear yet. But riding around Portland's disgustingly gritty and glass riven streets, no puncture issues so far (fingers crossed).

Reviewed 6/29/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by garagon

Nice tires for smooth roads
by garagon
Competitive Racer
New Mexico
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Tires are very light and should only be used on smooth roads. Hard to mount tires need stretching.

Reviewed 8/25/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MeeplePerson

Game Changer
by MeeplePerson
Ozark Mountains

I have never been a fan of true road tires. Schwalbe Pro Ones and other low/no tread tires always felt too slippery and did not inspire confidence. Besides that, I have always been afraid of glass or some other roadside refuse ruining a ride when running lightweight tires. These tires were my compromise, and I am so glad I did. They keep good traction, even in wet weather, but have made a major difference in speed. My best guess is I run half-a-tooth of cassette smaller now with the tires. I also have not had any flats since running them, despite a few cringe-worthy run-ins with metal wire and other tire-wreckers. Also worth noting: the tires meet the promise of mating perfectly with SES rims for (questionable) aero benefits. I could not be happier, and will buy again. Definitely recommend for anyone not sold on the ultralight tire craze.

Reviewed 3/24/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Karksta

Paired With Enve Wheels, These Are Fast...
by Karksta
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Okay, so these tires ARE not the easiest tubeless tires to install, but I have to say that paired with my Enve AR 4.5s I was able to post PRs on some of the flat routes I routinely ride, this without any perceived extra effort on my part. I've been posting consistently fast times on segments, despite these wheels on my "slower" bike. I can only imagine that Enve's promise that these tires are designed to work best with their wheels is spot on. Haven't tried them on other wheels, but I'm super happy with the results on my AR 4.5s and on my SES 5.6s. And the sidewalls look fantastic.

Reviewed 9/6/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Nice looking hoops
by Anonymous
Fallon
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The rode feel is sublime. Feels like I riding a pair of tubulars on race day.

Reviewed 7/5/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ron

Best Road Tire I've ever run
by Ron
Cycling Enthusiast
steamboat Springs, CO
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I run 27 front, 29 rear on Enve 4.5AR wheels. mounting was a breeze and they inflated super easy. I follow Enve's recommended PSI in general but go a couple PSI above recommended (59 front/60 rear). The 27's inflated and settled in at 29.5mm which is just at the 105% rule on the Enve 4.5Ar's. Riding in CO on mountainous chip N seal and these tires are supremely supple, smooth and handle wonderfully. They are very fast too. I run a Power meter and can verify they are faster on real roads and climbs than what a steel drum indicates. :). Even at higher PSI's for my 167lbs on 25mm internals, they run more supple and smooth than Schwalble Pro One TLE Addix's by far! I do wonder by some of the reviews if an earlier production tires had issues ? The rubber is a little softer which adds to the road feel and cornering stability but Im not concerned about getting the longest lasting tire, I am happy with the best rolling and handling tires. I ride about 2K miles a season and these are my favorite tires I've ever run.

Reviewed 6/18/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by jshwlff

Light, supple, fragile
by jshwlff
Competitive Racer
SoCal
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I like everything about these tires except their fragility. I ran 27mm (front) and 29mm (rear) on Roval wheels, using Stan's Race sealant. The tires are light, supple, and easy to mount, they track straight and ride smooth. However ...

Both tires flatted within 200 miles due to small tears, the kind you cannot seal or plug. I have since patched the tires (because the tread is still fresh); but dare I remount them? Even for racing only, I am not sure I trust the tires enough.

Reviewed 5/13/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Contrary to others on here, I thought these tires were awesome!
by Anonymous
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I ran the 25mm on my 20mm internal rims and they worked great. A lightweight tire that felt quite supple. Contrary to others on here I actually found them to be quite durable. They were really easy to mount, I did have to use one lever but otherwise it was a breeze putting on. I live in the mountains and have extremely variable road conditions from fresh pavement to super rough chip seal and gravel. I have been riding these things on long chunky gravel roads many times with no issues.

Used stans sealant and only had 1 puncture over 2700mi. The one puncture I did have did not immediately seal at first but eventually did seal a few mins later after I pumped the tire back up to pressure. I ran 77/80psi f/r @ 162lbs. I also found them to be very confidence inspiring in the corners. Overall I am satisfied and will be ordering them again.

Reviewed 3/7/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Next Page