Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Dumonde Tech  Bicycle Chain Lubrication

Dumonde Tech Bicycle Chain Lubrication(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(53 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(43)
(10)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(81%)
(19%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Lovely stuff and smells good too!
by iammikeDOTorg
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR

After decades of using the standard stuff, I found myself out of town and with limited options for lube. The local shop had this, I tried it, and fell in love. I use the green for everyday and dirty riding, and the yellow for bikes I know will stay clean. Lubes well, I definitely apply it less often than the other brands, and doesn't get too grimy or greasy. A little pricey, but the performance and that smell are well worth it.

Reviewed 7/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Makes for a Quiet drivetrain
by Andrew
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston

I'm not sure if it helps increase the longevity of the chain yet, however I was surprised at how much quieter my chain was after application.

Reviewed 7/27/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is THE bike chain lube! There are no others.
by Al
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR

I discovered Dumonde through their motorcycle chain lube but once I tried their bicycle lube, I'm blind to other lubes now. This is THE bicycle chain lube. It takes maybe 2 to 3 applications to fully coat a chain but once it's coated, it works like no other. Worth every dollar that you're going to spend on it. There are 8 bikes in my family, down from 9 just recently, and it takes me about 2 years to go through a 4 ounce bottle. Sure it costs more than Finish Line or Triflow, but it's the longest lasting and least maintenance lube I have ever come across. There's no need to look for anything else. It just works.

Reviewed 6/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simply the best
by iammike
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR

I switched to Dumonde products on all of my bikes last year and haven't looked back. Green goes on anything that might get dirty or spend time in the wet, yellow on the dry bike. Lubes well, doesn't collect a lot of dirt, nice smell (yeah!), and cleans up nicely.

Reviewed 5/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My favorite so far..
by bigborb
Competitive Racer
Toronto & France

I moved from using ProGold for years (which is a very quick, clean and easy solution for chain maintenance) to Dumonde as my preferred lube. It requires less cleaning, (i.e. chain does not get dirty) and seems to keep the links rolling smoothly for longer. Nothing is perfect, but this comes close !! I've been using the 'Lite' version for road and the thicker stuff for off-road, MTB and cyclocross. They are all too expensive for a bit of solvent and a few drops of oil, but hey.. a bottle lasts about a year, so it won't break the bank.

Reviewed 12/30/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great, and pretty clean lube
by fredbyte
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've used a bunch of different lubes over the years. This is the best I've come across so far. The trick, after applying to a clean chain, is to wipe off the excess. This means wiping the chain with a good rag while spinning the crank. Do this for 2-3 minutes. After your first ride on the freshly lubed chain, wipe it again until you get a fairly dry cloth. Dumonde claims you don't have relube it until you hear the chain start to make noise. I relube it when the chain looks particularly dry. Also, I like the Dumonde Regular better than the Lite since it seems to adhere longer to the links in the Northwest rain. Even with Dumonde, there will be a little bit of crud building up on the links. I push a Q-tip through the big links. And, another trick to get some of the crud off: Use a smooth hand cleaner such as Gojo or Fast Orange and apply to a paper towel. Then run the sides of the chain through the daubed paper towel to do a partial cleaning of the chain. (A thorough cleaning necessitates taking the chain off the bicycle and soaking it in gasoline or citrus degreaser.) My wife's SRAM 8-speed chain lasted 4500 miles using the Dumonde Lube. I replaced the chain when the 1.0 mark fell into the links using the Park chain stretch tool. The chain does look cleaner with this lube. And I dont have to reapply the lube right away after riding 1 to 2 hours in a fair to middling rain, as I used to do with some other lubes.

Reviewed 3/16/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best road lube I've used lately.
by Dan STL, MO
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Began using the lite (yellow bottle) formulation with a new 11 sp. road chain about 700 mi. ago. Drive train shifts crisply, longer than with wax-based lube I was using. Also reapplication is needed less often, no more than every 100 mi. in dry weather for me. Chain stays cleaner than with my old lube, especially if I don't over-lube. It also doesn't smell as bad. Instructions say to reapply when the drive train gets noisy. If you're used to lubing after every ride or two, this will take some getting used to. But the chain definitely stays cleaner with less lube, and still runs well. I don't write many reviews. But wanted to share this one because this product will save you time and take care of your chain and cogs too. Keep on riding!

Reviewed 7/28/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth, long lasting, and clean.
by Josh (TriSports.com Staff)
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
16 of 17 customers found this review helpful.

I use the original version of this lube more as it is one of the only lubes I have found to last more than a day or two in Portland rain. It is pretty thick yet doesn't get that dirty as long as you wipe off the excess after application. I generally use the lite on my road bike in the dry months as it is a bit cleaner. You can even mix the lite and original together to get whatever viscosity you want. I have tried pretty much every lube out there and this is my favorite.

Reviewed 3/26/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best I've used
by rare clan
Competitive Racer
SoCal
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have only used the Lite version for road biking in the dry. I have found that it lubricates very well and is fairly long lasting. The characteristic I really appreciate is how clean the chain wipes down with this product.

Reviewed 7/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
one bottle 7000 mi excellent result, very cost effective for me
by Tom
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Island

Odor is tuff indoors protect your hands ect,follow directions for use, no degreasers at all very important. Enjoy excellent results, savings and convenience.

Reviewed 5/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
New favorite
by rareclan
Competitive Racer
SoCal

I use the Lite version on all of my road bikes. Living in Southern CA I normally don't need to worry about wet weather and the Lite is all I need. Before I started using the Dumonde Tech product my go-to was Rock and Roll Gold. I still consider the Rock and Roll product excellent, but I have found the Dumonde product to keep the chain cleaner. I still keep a bottle of the Rock and Roll Gold as a back up.

Reviewed 4/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Lubricant
by bikingjoe
Cycling Enthusiast
Souderton, Pa.

On the pricey side, but product works great. A little smelly in confined spaces. I clean my chain several times a month (I ride in all weather conditions) I have noticed chain is quieter and seems to spin easier after applying. Do not notice lubricant attracts dirt. I have tried many products, My favorite is a melted wax chain dipping. I no longer want to spend all that time to lube a chain. I am very satisfied with Dumonde Lube, I use the Lite Formula on my road bike.

Reviewed 11/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great stuff but not enough in the small tube for 20 bucks.
by Old John
Casual Cyclist
Anal Retentive county MD

I prefer the lite for my road bikes chain but this stuff aint cheap I only use it on a clean dry drive train and only enough to

make the chain wet a drop on each link then shift over every sprocket to work it in evenly makes the chain run smooth clean and quiet like a sewing machine no extra residue buildup if road conditions are clear and dry

Our local bike shop still sells it for 10 bucks plus tax

Reviewed 2/21/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Lite is an excellent lube for road bikes
by Crankin
Cycling Enthusiast

I like that I can tell when my bike needs to b lubed again as it does not shift or ride as easily as usual so I just lube it again

Reviewed 6/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The only chain lubrication you'll ever need
by bikeshopdave
Cycling Enthusiast
SoCal

I have used this product for 8 years on mountain bikes and road bikes that are raced and have not found a comparable chain lubricant. Follow directions provided to ensure the best performance of this product. Worth every penny!

Reviewed 6/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
works GREAT
by c1charlie
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas

Used this lube before and during this year's Dirty Kanza 200. After the mile 11-14 hike a bike section, I had peanut butter mud caked around my chain, rear tire, crankset, and front derailleur. I scraped it and squirted it clean with a water bottle and continued on. What else could I do? Reapplied at mile 70 checkpoint and then at 158 after dust, mud, grit and water crossings took their toll. I was starting to hear my chain work right before the second treatment at mile 158, so I guess their recommendations were followed. I am very pleased with the performance of Dumonde Tech original. AWOL, TourRide and Dumonde Tech-no mechanical failures!

Reviewed 6/14/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good product
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Atlanta, GA

Very effective lube with a pleasant smell.

Reviewed 6/4/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works flawlessly..
by Flight
Cycling Enthusiast
Rutland, MA

I've tried so many different chain lubes for MTBing and most just fail.. Ideally you are looking for a lube that gets between the roller and stays in place to cushion the wear and tear a chain goes thru..

I've tried Waxes, dry lubes, wet lubes, Motorcycle chain lubes, zinc lubes..

This lube stays on well and is a dirt shedder which is very important with MTBs. The chain looks dry but you can see it being retained between the links..

Highly recommend..

Reviewed 5/1/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best lube out there
by TPBear
Competitive Racer
Marin County

Works perfectly, runs clean, lasts forever.

Reviewed 5/1/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My go to lube
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, Wa
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My go to lube. I notice much better shifting using the Tech lube product than other brands that I have used.

Reviewed 2/2/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page