CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Terra Trail ProTection 700c Gravel Tire

ContinentalTerra Trail ProTection 700c Gravel Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(60%)
(30%)
(10%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by TK2cycling

Great Tire and Grippy
by TK2cycling
Competitive Racer
Sandy Utah

Use this tire on my Gravel Bike. Typically hit trails of varying surfaces from loose sandy soil to loose gravel to hard packed dirt. Gave me better grip in the loose stuff which was what I was looking for. Didn't feel like I lost too much on the road, still rolls pretty smooth but I'm sure there is more rolling resistance than the smoother center tires I was using before. The other thing I really liked about these is they seated easily and they don't lose too much pressure. My previous tires were a pain to set up tubeless and constantly lost pressure. These in comparison were an absolute breeze. I got the size 40, but they actually look a little narrow (I didn't measure), but they look narrower than my 38's. Could just be how the tire is constructed and how the knobs look.

Reviewed 9/28/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tim H

Glad I tried these tires
by Tim H
Portland, OR
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

A friend was getting flats with his Maxxis Ramblers and tried some Continental Terra Trail ShieldWall 700c Gravel Tires that he saw on sale. He really liked them, told me, and so I bought a pair. But seeing the Terra Trail ProTection was also on sale I also bought a pair of them to see if the Black Chili rubber actually was worth the upgrade. I tried these out first and so far I think they are fantastic. They feel smooth and supple and amazingly confident leaned over in fast wet corners. It�s sloppy winter riding here now so I�m spending most time on roads and haven�t gotten into much serious gravel or trail riding but just for general riding I love these. Remains to be seen how durable they�ll be over time with the softer compound but so far I�d say it�s well worth compromising a bit of mileage for performance and feel.

Reviewed 12/30/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Roger

Excellent ride, if you can ignore the sealant weep.
by Roger
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

In terms of ride performance, I really like these tires. Supple, reasonable weight and puncture protection. However, they're very porous. Once they wear a bit, you get lots of wet spots where the sealant weeps right through the tread. They don't seem to lose significant pressure but sealant dries out more quickly than normal. Not to mention that it also looks terrible. I've been through a couple sets of these tires (using regular Orange seal) and they've all done the same thing.

Reviewed 8/20/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Really Good All-Around Gravel Tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

The first 700C tubeless tires I've ever used, they mounted easily first time with a Blackburn Chamber on HED wheels. Average weight was 466 grams for the 40mm size. With my weight and on a steel frame, I run them at 45-50psi. These work well for loose gravel, trails covered in tree leaves and needles, sand-over-gravel spots and mixed surface, crowned dirt roads. The knobs are big enough and well-spaced, but I notice more resistance on smooth hardpack dirt roads than a tire with a smooth center strip. Really good all-around gravel tire.

Reviewed 3/9/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great performance but casing developed a wobble
by Anonymous
Baltimore
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Using these tires for gravel and cross gave dependable grip and decent flat resistance compared to the "shield wall" version.

Reviewed 1/5/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mike d

Greate grip, and ride nice.
by mike d
Cycling Enthusiast
Taylorsville and Ivins Utah
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I have the ProTection version and have ridden these for a couple hundred miles now, mainly tarmac, but some good miles on dirt and gravel too. The are probably not the fastest on tarmac, as can be expected from the aggressive tread,, but they still handle and corner well even then. For gravel and dirt, they seem fantastic. Wear and durability are still a question mark. I'll have to update in a few thousand miles. ?? I think these are my favorite gravel tires so far.

Reviewed 2/17/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Roverlord

Fantastic gravel tire
by Roverlord
Cycling Enthusiast
Issaquah, WA
14 of 14 customers found this review helpful.

These are definitely the best tires I've ever used on my gravel bike. In 40mm size, they are extremely easy to mount tubeless with a JoeBlow pump. No struggle, no fighting, they seat immediately. The traction on mixed surfaces is incredible. I've taken them on wet single track where no gravel bike has any business being, and they gripped like a mountain bike tire. On packed dirt and gravel they are very cushy and smooth. Conti has another winner with the Terra Trail.

Reviewed 11/18/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Good tires...
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
nor cal
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Good dry condition tires: They roll fast on dirt and pavement, have decent traction with no surprises in corners, they're relatively light and spin up quickly, and they're easy to mount (unlike some other Contis). The only downside is the casing is they can be susceptible to cuts.

Reviewed 7/4/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Monte

Rolls easy, holds firm
by Monte
Long Beach CA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I've put about 250 miles on these tires, about a 50/50 mix of paved roads and gravel, and they have performed great. They roll easy on the pavement, grip sufficiently in the dirt, and have held pressure set up tubeless. I haven't had them in wet or muddy conditions yet, so no comment there. I would highly recommend at this point!

Reviewed 1/17/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rpenrod_99

Quality tire with excellent grip
by rpenrod_99
Cycling Enthusiast
Kentucky

Have only used them for about 100 miles on mostly gravel rides. Good grip. Feels confident on sharp turns. Has a nice firm ride on road as well. So far so good. Would I buy again? Yes.

Reviewed 4/6/2023
Thank you for your feedback.