Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Sprinter Tubular Tire

ContinentalSprinter Tubular Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(22 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(7)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(55%)
(32%)
(5%)
(5%)
(5%)
Great - all around performer
by Gutter Boy
Cycling Enthusiast
Reading, PA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is pretty much my go-to tubular anymore use them for everyday and the occasional sportif. Decent amount of wear - usually can get at least 2000 miles (up to 3000 if I'm real lucky) out of them. They are supple and roll well and are decent in the rain. Only average on puncture resistance - The GatorSkin version naturally is better - all though I had my share of punctures with them which is why I usually just go with the regular version.

Reviewed 9/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great tire
by Pista
Cycling Enthusiast
AZ
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use these tires on the track any while they are not as light as some of the track specific tires there, they roll well and hole up great.

Reviewed 7/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good BUT.........
by chaz
Cycling Enthusiast
AL
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Good tire, wears and performs well....however, on 4 of the last 6 conti sprinters I purchased, I experienced a SIGNIFICANT hump, or bump near the stem. I am an expert at applying tubular tires, trust me it's the tire, not tire installation technique. I had to drill a bigger hole, use tape and feather the tire on the rim....this happened on 3 different rims....one was over $1,000 so when I went on a long ride and the hump got worse, I wanted to burn the dam thing. And it's just Conti's, not any of the other tires I put on. Just FYI, good tire, but I had frustrating humpissues with just this brand of tire.

Reviewed 3/16/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I made it almost two miles before I had a flat!
by Skyrocket
Cycling Enthusiast
Indianapolis
1 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I recently acquired a 1970's road bike to restore that had tubulars. I was going to switch to clinchers, but thought it might be fun to have one bike again with sew-ups. I used to ride on them all the time. I bought them based on many good reviews. When I see a lot of good reviews, and only one or two bad ones, I usually discount the bad ones.

I finally got everything finished and took the Maserati for its maiden voyage with two new Continental Sprinter Tubulars. I made it almost two miles when I got a rear flat. It was a tiny stone fragment. Are you kidding me? I guess I should only use them on inside board tracks. No, that probably won't work either. There might be a splinter that will puncture my Sprinter

Reviewed 3/2/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tubular tire you will ever find at this price!
by Anonymous
Tampa, fl.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I ride tubulars on my road bikes and fixed gear bikes 90% of the time because tubulars simply feel better and give a superior for to clincher tires. The conti sprinter is very durable, long-lasting, smooth, fast, straight mounting, and as good as eries that cost twice as much and dont hold up as well.

Reviewed 10/29/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
super fast tire for racing but not for your weekend ride.
by ronny
Cycling Enthusiast
Lenoir NC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I had this tire on my 50mm carbon rim for 8 months now. I use it on every Tuesday 45 mile country side race. This is the only tubular I have so can really compare to other tubular but I will compare to my clincher conti. 4000s and Mich. Pro4. instead.

The ride is harsh if you're riding on bad surface. You can feel every bump on the road. If you're riding on a smooth surface. Its super fast and you just glide on the road. This thing spin up so fast. I can climb with no problem. Im surprise that it can climb better then my other set of wheels. I wish they made 23mm or 25mm cause its so smooth. Its spin faster then my 4000s. The only problem is that you have to keep it at 135-165psi to get its benefit. There is a BIG difference riding it on 140-165psi compare to under 130psi. I haven't had a flat yet after 1440 miles. Front tire still look good and back might need changing soon. I will buy these again. If not then I will try Tufo S3 lite.

Reviewed 10/26/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
an outstanding tubular tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
north texas
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

they go on nice, ride nice and wear very well. The price is right compared to other tubular tires and are as good as tires priced twice as much

Reviewed 9/3/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The MUST HAVE tire combining top of line performance in speed, cornering and damage resistance.
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Richmond, VA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Pump up this tire to 150 lbs or more. The Black Chill compound sticks to the road like glue at high speed. After several months of riding on city and open roads I have not seen one mark of damage of any kind. You must pre-stretch this tire prior to mounting or forget it, it is not going on. For road riders and racers who insist on tubulars, this is the only tire to buy.

Reviewed 6/25/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tubular
by tgounev
Competitive Racer
Kansas City
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Very good traction, perfect for crits. Seems to be durable as I was skeptical at first. No flats so far, little rocks and other sharp objects don't stick to it as much as other tires I've used. Overall I am very satisfied. Probably the best value out there. I have them mounted on a light carbon wheel set for racing andor hard climbing rides (I use heavier clinchers for regular training rides). I've gained so much confidence with their durability that I go to long rides with no tools, spares or CO2, just a can of Vittoria Pit Stop inflator in my jersey (hope my luck doesn't run out )

Reviewed 5/2/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very fast, smooth, all around tire
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Riverside, CA

The tire is a tight fit initially so make sure that you stretch them out. I have rode them for about 500 miles now. They have good grip even in the rain. I race them about twice a month and at high speeds they are fast, and grip well.

Reviewed 2/25/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Old stand by
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Iowa

I have been riding the Sprinters for years. They have always been a good wearing tire. I like that they hold air much better than many other tires.

Reviewed 1/21/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tubular training tire
by ETbikehome
Competitive Racer

I love this tire. It is durable, handles and corners well, and feels like a decent grip in all weather conditions. The previous set I had lasted over 10K km. My favorite training tire of all times.

Reviewed 1/14/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid tire.
by kdatl
Competitive Racer

Been riding this tire for over 20 years. Good wear and value.

Reviewed 12/21/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tires held up well during racing over different road conditions
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
NYFL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use the tires on a handcycle for US Handcycling events as well as US Handcycling events. Held well for both.

Reviewed 10/8/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice tire
by Havoc2099
Competitive Racer
Las Vegas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use them for training. Good tire at a great price. I've already logged 2k miles and had one flat that was easily sealed. Not too heavy and good grip.

Reviewed 10/4/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good value for a durable training tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Relatively new to tubulars, but put a couple thousand miles on a pair of these before I finally had a puncture. Solid training tire with relatively low rolling resistance for a good price overall.

Reviewed 8/27/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good value for the money
by Speedy Turtle
Competitive Racer
Nokesville, VA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Pros

I installed these tubular tires back in May 2012. I have logged about 1000-1200 miles as of July 2012. These tires are indestructible! I pulled and dislodged fine wire nail off the back tire using a plier and I was for certain I was going to be a flat. To my surprise to this day, the back tire is still holding air. Compared to my best friend's Continental GP6000 clincher tires who has had about four (4) flat tires and major tire cuts, I have been spared so far. These tires are very supple, durable, sturdy, and very lively.

Cons

Difficult to install. The best way is to leave them a spare tubular rims for a week until the tires conform to the rim shape. I used 3M 8031 Fast Tack Adhesive and within hours these tires were ready to rock and roll.

Conclusion

I recommend these tires for every day training, group rides, and occasional road criterium racing.

Reviewed 7/14/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Value
by roadbike1020
Cycling Enthusiast
Mt Carmel,IL

Excellent tire so far. A great value tubular.

Reviewed 1/23/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome tire
by VictorB
Competitive Racer
Marin County, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The Conti sprinters can be used as a training or racing tire. I use them for both. These are bomb proof tires that will perform great on criteriums, especially those that have rough pavement, cracks, bot dotts, you name it. For training, they are totally reliable and will last a long time. I usually mount them on rear wheels and use something lighter for front wheels.

Reviewed 1/20/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great handling reasonable price
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have been logging in excess of 500,000 feet of climbing (annually) since 2009. I train on a 13 lb. Parlee equipped with Envy 40 tubulars. The high speed descents and breaking associated with my regime tends to shred the tires. I have found the Conti Sprinter to be a reliable, puncture resistant and durable tire, much more so than the Victorias. Only one small complaint is that the Continental tire tolerances are tighter and require extra effort to mount, it is recommended that you pre-stretch these before attempting to bond on rims. Steep hills & Blue Skies, Michael (San Diego)

Reviewed 1/13/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page