Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Sprinter Gatorskin Tubular Tire

ContinentalSprinter Gatorskin Tubular Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(37 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(27)
(8)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(73%)
(22%)
(3%)
(3%)
(0%)
Great Tire
by Billmars04
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Continental tires are my go to tires, and gatorskin makes it even better. I am the only one of 700 members in my club that uses tubulars. I am the only one who doesn't get flats on our rides. I did have one flat, but it was the only flat in 11 years with the club.

With Tubulars one has to glue the tire and the rim, and then put them together. It can get messy, but not with a little experience.

Anyone using tubulars would find this tire to be long wearing and not prone to flats. Well worth the money.

Reviewed 8/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable, and ride well
by happy camper
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin. Texas
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I literally never have flats with these, though I do wear them out especially the back. Best to get a bunch of these when on sale. Get the Tufo tape when on sale also. It's a lot easier install them with the tape, not glue (and tape works well). The easiest is the Tufo tape (removes most easily) but 3M VHB Heavy Duty Mounting Tape (5952 Black, 34 in x 15 yd 45 mil) works great too though harder to remove used 3M tap (I usually get two mounts out of the 3M tape). Be sure to mount them on a rim and bring them up to max pressure overnight to stretch them (don't hand stretch them). Definitely use orange seal and you'll be good to go.

Reviewed 2/27/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great durable tubular tire
by Charlie
Cycling Enthusiast
Upstate NY
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The Contintental Tubular Gatorskin is a durable, longer lasting and fast tire for weight and costs. The reasonable pricing makes this tire a deal! They wear well on rougher road as well as rolling extremely fast on smooth surfaces.

Remember these tires must be pre stretched before applying to rim.

Reviewed 7/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wrong tire for my use
by Dave
pennsylvania

This is not a good tire for my racing wheelchair. It is to wide a tire for my racer and is a bit softer under weight. However works perfectly for my handcycle

Reviewed 10/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental Gator Sprinter tubular tire is tough, reliable, responsive
by Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Virginia
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I was using the basic Continental and Vittoria tubulars for years, but getting too many punctures that I had to repair. Tread wore down quickly, especially on the Conti.

I switched to the Gator Sprinters last year and have not had a single flat despite a full year of hard fixed-gear training rides. They hold pressure well and feel responsive on hard cornering. Tread wear has been minor. For the small additional price, well worth it.

Reviewed 3/28/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A very good wearing tire
by Jamis
Cycling Enthusiast
New Hampshire

Handles well in the hills and mountains of New hampshire.

Reviewed 5/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very good tireprice
by mountainman
Competitive Racer
Middle Appalachia
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I had been running Conti Competition and thought I'd try the Sprinter out over the winter for training.

Bought the 25 mm to match newer, wider rim and have been running it on the back since gluing it up.

VERY comfortable tire, corners well and hasn't shown signs of wear after hours on the trainer and quite a bit of road wear.

I'm very pleased, and probably won't be spending almost double on Competition's if the Sprinter's are all as consistent as my first.

Reviewed 5/30/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great wear
by The Green One
Arizona
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Got 3000 miles on my last set if tires. Will only purchase Gatorskins. No tire is puncture resistant but these wear great. I roll on 25mm, like the wider tire, rolls smooth.

Reviewed 5/22/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nce rolling, durable tubular
by Mtn&road
Competitive Racer
Lon Beah, CA

Rolls well, durable and long lasting

Reviewed 4/6/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
well-made
by Randall
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Cruz CA
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Bought this as a high-mileage training (everything is training) tubular. Have not put enough mileage on it to know if will last as well as the gatorskin clinchers that I have used in the past. However, did notice immediately that the tire is very well-made and balanced. Cheaper tubulars are often unbalanced and this causes some wobble or bump when descending. Also, this tire can take pressure up to 170 psi which is awesomely high.

Reviewed 2/6/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excelent
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Excellent product. I have use other brands but I always get back to Contis, they are the best tires in my experience. I wish they would last longer and be less expensive but other wise great product.

Reviewed 9/29/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire!
by AlaBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Alabama
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Finally found a tubular I can trust! Being new to tubulars I went with another brand. Had troubles right off the bat with small punctures but was able to patch with sealant, however that was problematic as it gunked up my valve stems making it hard to put air in the tire eventually. Finally had to walk home about 8 miles and that did it! Replaced with these and several hundred miles later no probs whatsoever! I still carry sealant but haven't had to use it yet. I ride both clinchers and tubulars and will be buying Continentals for both now!

Reviewed 8/29/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My favororite tubulars right now.
by clayhorste
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I am hard on tires. I always have been. I am 230lbs and won't ever see the south side of 200 since I am quite tall and have a large bone structure. So, I have lots of flats. I went with tubulars due to romance and an effort to reduce flats. These tires have fit the less flats bill perfectly. Wile I can get around 1500 miles of commuting and fun rides out of the rear, the front is over 3000 miles and it isn't showing signs of being anywhere near done yet.

Reviewed 7/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great products and great prices
by L J
Michigan

The continental gaterskins are a great high mileage tire great for touring and even racing and pratice riding with the confidence of not having a flat tire I recomend this tire.

Reviewed 5/29/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
the 700 x 28 tires do it all, from the paved roads to the dirt roads,more rubber on the road, better on the dirt,wet and descending
by Dr.Jabb
Cycling Enthusiast
central vermont

in vermont, the rides go from paved roads to dirt and back again, the valleys and the gaps too, riding the 25's are perfect for this location, between the pot holes, frost hives and the mud season this tire offers more control in all of these surfaces, more rubber on the road helps in the descents also, better handling, you can run this tire softer also it smooths out some of the road making it easier on your back and butt. and the price on these are the best tubular deal for the all around tire.

Reviewed 5/5/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Noisy
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
FL
5 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

I am 200lb triathlete using these in 25mm for racing 40K. Very nice looking tire. However, at 22-23mph they get noisy and the front one had a vibration un-attributable to the wheel or road. I was only running them at 135psi. Any higher than that and much worse. Avoid these for race speeds.

Reviewed 11/7/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Both tires fatted
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought these tires thinking they will last for awhile. First time out, I got a big whole around the valve. Next time, there was a slow leak after the second time on them. Maybe it was me, but I am very careful and rub off the tire constantly. I rode down the west coast from Seattle to L.A. with one flat. So, I have to say these tires pick up ever thing on the road. You make the judgment.

Reviewed 11/20/2014
TriSports.com Comments

Thanks for your review! I am sorry to hear about the flats you had with the Continental Sprinter Gatorskin Tubular Tires you purchased. Be sure to get in touch with our customer service department at [email protected] to talk about a possible warranty. We would be happy to look into the issue for you.

Thanks,
Anna

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great training tubie, and light enough for everything else
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
San Francisco, CA
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

We use these as an everyday/every occasion tire. It hasn't let us down yet. I prefer Conti tires when it comes to mounting. They have a snug fit and the cotton backing isn't coated in wax so it absorbs the glue easily (requiring more glue but at least you know it is good).

Reviewed 9/26/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Best Training/Racing Tire
by jason
Competitive Racer
Sacramento

I train and race using these for both tubular and clincher wheels. Very durable tire that makes sense especially for racing. Why would you spend all that money for race fees, gas, etc... only to get a flat and not finish the race because you wanted the lightest or fastest tire?

Reviewed 9/2/2013
TriSports.com Comments

Hi,

Thanks for your review! Just to clarify, tubular tires should only be mounted on tubular rims. Conti Gatorskin tires are also available in plenty of clincher sizes, though, which I'm sure is what you meant!

Thanks,
Stacia

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Grip and feel!!!
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Breckenridge, CO
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

Placed them on my Road racing wheels....what a difference in confidence for the tight turns, as well as, the fast descents here in the Colorado mountains..

Definitely will run these...

Reviewed 8/5/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page