X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Hometrainer Tire (700c)

ContinentalHometrainer Tire (700c)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(40 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(23)
(11)
(2)
(2)
(2)
(58%)
(28%)
(5%)
(5%)
(5%)
Previous Page
Worked for me
by MerlinAma
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas Panhandle
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I had been using worn out tires from my road bike on my Computrainer but always seemed to be having an issue at the worst possible time.

So last year I tried a Continental trainer tire. It lasted almost all year and I ride my trainer a lot!

The only reason it failed was likely my fault as I didn't notice the 120 pound inflation limit. I often went to 125-130 and eventually the rubber split along the length of the tire as a result of my over inflation.

I'm more careful with my new tire and so far it has held up as expected.

Reviewed 1/7/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Didn't want to ruin my good clinchers
by slift
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, BC
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have a separate rear wheel for use with this trainer tire as I didn't want to wreck a good clincher tire on the trainer. Not much to report other than this tire is doing trainer duty and seems to be holding up.

Reviewed 11/22/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The product was a great price and was worth it.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Jacksonville, Fl
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I use this product for my indoor trainer.

Reviewed 8/6/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best home trainer tire !!!
by 50 x 11
Competitive Racer
Calgary, Canada
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've used them all on all manner of trainers - Tacx, Elite and now Computrainer. The Continental trainer tire definitely lasts the longest - I put 5 days x 1.5 hours per session at pretty high wattage and the last tire was good thru about 9 months. Great value and no unwanted 120psi explosions at 4am!!!!

Reviewed 8/6/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Has better roller tracaction than my old trainer tire
by wabeck
Cycling Enthusiast
Woodbine, MD
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I haven't used this long enough to judge its longevity. But I immediately noticed that it yielded better traction with the roller on my Kurt Kinetic trainer than my previous trainer tire. So I don't need to press the roller against the tire as hard to keep the tire from slipping when I do hard, standing intervals. Very pleased so far.

Reviewed 7/20/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Thought this was the answer, but no, just a tease.
by Billy3
Cycling Enthusiast
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I must hold the U.S. record on tire replacements for an indoor trainer. It may be do to a lot of hill training which I know puts extra pressure on the tire, but I only got about 10 rides before this tire let me down. I usually ride for 90 minutes on a Schwinn Velodyne which still works fine after 20 years, but I have gone through the tires. Still searching.

Reviewed 3/16/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great!
by speedplay0
Cycling Enthusiast
Simpsonville, SC
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Very smooth in the trainer plus I'm preserving the life of my road tire(s) but not chewing them up in the trainer.

Reviewed 2/27/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It works.
by shane
Competitive Racer
San Francisco, CA
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm hesitant to rate anything awesome but I give this tire five stars because it is long lasting. You must dedicate a wheel to the trainer, though, because you can't use this tire on the road (safely).

Reviewed 2/16/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire, very hard to install
by sal
Cycling Enthusiast
Howell NJ
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

overall it is working very well, i have about 12 to 14 hours of time on it and its holding up very well. The only issue i had was it's very hard to install.

Reviewed 2/16/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Save the road tires for the road.
by jaropa
Cycling Enthusiast
Bloomington, Indiana!
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I thought I'd just use my old road tires but the smell of rubber and the dust particles that accumulated dissuaded me from continuing down that path. Fortunately, I read about this tire and picked one up when it was on sale. (I'm a grad student so I opted to only buy one for the back tire and use the old road tires on the front.) I am thoroughly pleased with the results no rubber smell, little to know dust accumulation and the ride is pretty much squeak free. I definitely give it my recommendation.

Reviewed 2/9/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Training Tire
by KC1
Cycling Enthusiast
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Good tire so far, although I haven't used it a lot. Seems like it should be pretty durable. A bit difficult to mount.

Reviewed 2/6/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
loyal conti customer!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Thinking of riding inside, and going no where fast! Consider the Conti home trainer tire.

With the long and tough Colorado winters I pretty much ride on the trainer from late November till March. Right now, I guess I have around 500 miles inside and haven't had any indication of any failure from my home trainer tire.

Why am I not surprised, during the summer months I ride on their 4000s's and while I see people busy changing there flats, I'm focused on putting as many miles between me and them. I'm a sold loyal conti customer.

Christopher W.

Reviewed 1/13/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
works great!
by ChazMan
Cycling Enthusiast
Metro Detroit, MI
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)

When I first got an indoor trainer, I went with a cheap, low TPI outdoor tire. That worked for a while but eventually started disintegratng from the inside out and the wire in the casing rubbed the tube. I tried a different one and that didn't last half as long. I bit the bullet and bought the Conti Trainer tire and am sorry I didn't do it sooner. It's tough to get on partially because the surface over the bead is so slippery. But it works great and doesn't really wear because the metal drum on the trainer is very smooth. Great product that I recommend and will buy again.

Reviewed 4/4/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does the job
by Chaz
Cycling Enthusiast
Metro Detroit
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I've also used a cheap road tire on a trainer thinking that if I kept the pressure up, it would survive. And that worked for a while but eventually the road tire would disintegrate from the inside, exposing the casing to the tube. Friction did the rest and I'd flat with a tube that I couldn't salvage by patching. I bit the bullet and switched to the Conti in January of '10. I have probably 1500 miles of trainer miles on this tire and it's been great. I keep the pressure at 110-120. I also do maybe a mile or so cool down at the end of my ride and I think it helps cool the tiredrum interface. MMy only complaint is that it's tough to get on initially.

Reviewed 3/2/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable!!!
by Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, ME
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

Like the other reviewers, I have been using this tire on my trainer for the past 3 winters, which amounts to 4-5 hoursweek for 5months, and it is holding up great! Save your road tires and use this on the trainer.

Reviewed 11/3/2010
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Trainer Tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Forest Park, Illinois
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
12 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

Great product. I started riding a trainer with a normal bike tire and it was OK. This tire however eliminated a decent amount of noise compared to a normal road tire as well as being more sticky against the trainer wheel which helped prevent the squeaks that occur when cranking on the pedals. Over all a good tire and good value. I've had people tell me that they've had these tires last for years before needing to replace them.

Reviewed 12/10/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent trainer tire.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Central Valley California
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
37 of 37 customers found this review helpful.

I have used this tire with my Computrainer 3-5 timesweek for the last 3 years. It finally blew out a sidewall. Excellent indoor tire.

Reviewed 5/18/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lasted 101 hours before the tread separated.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
arid desert
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)

This is the second Continental Hometrainer tire I've purchased, it was on sale. The first lasted 101 hours before the tire split causing the tread to separate and the casing wires to break. Not sure if this is good or bad but I was surprised the tire didn't last longer. Continental had advertised the tread would not separate! I'll probably try another tire next time even if it's more expensive.

Reviewed 2/24/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Disintegrations at 500 miles
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)

I have an Elite-Real Axium trainer. My first tires I used on it was some older road tire. It gave me about 1500 miles. Because of noise, numerous flats and finally a sidewall blow-out, I bought the Conti trainer tire. I am disappointed. I keep them inflated to about 115 psi. Both of the ones I have tried have disintegrated within 500-600 miles leaving piles of rubber crums on the trainer and on my bike. When the tire wears, flats follow. I am still searching.

Reviewed 1/20/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Un-necessary
by Mark
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Needlessly difficult to mount on any rim. Buy the Vittoria trainer tire or just use a cheap, thick clincher tire such as a Fyxation or the like.

Reviewed 12/10/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.