Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Hometrainer Tire (700c)

ContinentalHometrainer Tire (700c)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(34 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(18)
(11)
(1)
(2)
(2)
(53%)
(32%)
(3%)
(6%)
(6%)
Good trainer tire.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NJ

I use this tire when using my CompuTrainer - both 'regular' training (tempo) and Zwift races (high intensity). Several hundred miles on it so far with no problems.

Reviewed 5/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Should have been using this before
by Pierre
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas, Texas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use a Tacx trainer for Zwift and had been using whatever older tire I had for my trainer wheel. I never really put too many thoughts into it until a friend told me about this trainer specific tire. What a difference this makes. The feel is not much different but the noise level is considerably lower and I do not see black dust from the wear and tear all over the place anymore. Glad I switched.

Reviewed 4/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent trainer tire
by Gon
CDMX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Good choice to avoid wearing down your rear tire on your trainer. A lot quieter too. Very easy to installremove (32). I used it to keep you riding while recovering from a hand injury. Would buy again, but dont think it will be soon as it seems durable.

Reviewed 11/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Hard to mount but loves me long time
by CSlayton
Cycling Enthusiast
Kentucky

I use the 1-Ups trainer (USA!) and this tire works a treat. Since the pressure against the tire is infinitely adjustable on the flywheel, I actually use the an induced slight squeal to smooth out my pedal strokes, No noise means I am pedaling in circles!

I exclusively use Schwalbe for outdoor riding, but this Conti trainer tire is good value, but I replaced a previous one ONLY because it was bright yellow and showed every grease spot. I have never worn one out in over 5 years.

It is a bch to mount!

At least it is on my heavily-spoked Mavic CXP22, that were built for a customer who failed to pick them up from LBS, and they are an excellent trainer rim, since the weight/momentum factor does not matter.

Reviewed 6/2/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not durable
by Anonymous

Very hard to mount and not many hours of use maybe 30 before it deformed and had bad issues, I had more longer use out of old used road tires

Reviewed 4/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Don't use that old worn-out tire....
by Charx
Cycling Enthusiast
Ashland, Oregon

In the past I have always used my worn out Conti's as my indoor trainer tire. I ran out of old tires one fall and decided to try Conti Hometrainer. It's quiet and grippy and was very well. I think it is a bit expensive .... but I am really liking it.

Reviewed 3/17/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire for use on rollers and tubeless
by Dustan
Cycling Enthusiast
Rockingham County

i got a set of these tires two winters ago, they are still in good shape most of the way through the third. Not much smell usually and I don't notice any noise from the tires. I usually put 120lbs in them and they stay good for the week. I recently had two front tire flats, the tire was flat before my ride, one hole at the valve stem (rim problem?) and the replacement split where there was a scab type patch. Since I didn't have another spare tube I took the rim strip out, wrapped three layers of electrical tape around the rim, stuck a Stan's No Tubes valve stem through the hole and pumped it up. It is working fine, I just have to put air in twice a week now, no sealant used. It is a pain in the thumbs, palms, and a few other body parts to get on but I guess that is what makes it work tubeless so easily. Putting some baby powder on it helps it slide on a bit easier, maybe. When I have to take the back tire apart I will convert it also.

Reviewed 3/13/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bad ass
by Anonymous
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

2nd one I've owned. First one lasted 8 yrs. Excellent product... no rubber shards flying around...minimal squealing. But still doesn't help the scenery in the garage!

Reviewed 3/10/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lasted 101 hours before the tread separated.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
arid desert
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)

This is the second Continental Hometrainer tire I've purchased, it was on sale. The first lasted 101 hours before the tire split causing the tread to separate and the casing wires to break. Not sure if this is good or bad but I was surprised the tire didn't last longer. Continental had advertised the tread would not separate! I'll probably try another tire next time even if it's more expensive.

Reviewed 2/24/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Disintegrations at 500 miles
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)

I have an Elite-Real Axium trainer. My first tires I used on it was some older road tire. It gave me about 1500 miles. Because of noise, numerous flats and finally a sidewall blow-out, I bought the Conti trainer tire. I am disappointed. I keep them inflated to about 115 psi. Both of the ones I have tried have disintegrated within 500-600 miles leaving piles of rubber crums on the trainer and on my bike. When the tire wears, flats follow. I am still searching.

Reviewed 1/20/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works like a charm
by Roger
Cycling Enthusiast
Silver Spring, MD
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Ordered this tire to use on my indoor training bike over the worst of the winter. Having destroyed a regular road tire in the past, felt like this could save me from purchasing a regular road tire just to see it shredded before the start of the outdoor season. In the past, I've used a end-of-life tire no longer good for outside use. However, didn't have one for this season. Got this training tire and so far it has performed well. It doesn't overhead on sufferfests over 1 hour like my regular tires did. Having used it for 2 months, it appears it will easily last several seasons and spare my other tires for outside road use.

Reviewed 1/6/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Un-necessary
by Mark
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Needlessly difficult to mount on any rim. Buy the Vittoria trainer tire or just use a cheap, thick clincher tire such as a Fyxation or the like.

Reviewed 12/10/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth and indestructible
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)

Before this trainer-specific tire I was using old road tires but they wore out pretty fast and sprinkled little flecks of rubber all over the floor. This Conti is made of some interesting compound that doesn't seem to heat up at all even after spinning on the trainer for over an hour. I think this will probably outlast a dozen or more regular road tires. Only downside is that it is slippery to get on the rim. Oh, and only 4 stars because it's kinda spendy.

Reviewed 10/9/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Training tire but very hard to put on the rim
by Barry
Cycling Enthusiast
Sherman, Il
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is a great training tire and like all Continental tire it is hard to put on. This training tire though is quite a bit harder to install onto the rim. I had to use other tools to get it on the rim. Once on though this is a great training tire.

Reviewed 11/4/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Computrainer Pro Lifesaver
by 50x11
Cycling Enthusiast
Calgary Canada
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I put a TON of miles hours on my computrainer year round and rely on the Continental Home Trainer tire to ensure my early morning sessions are completed without a bang, literally. I've tried other brands (will test the Vittoria at some point) and had only very short life of 1 - 3 months, typically with the Continental I seem to get around 9 months between required tire changes. Great value based on this type of economics!! Plus like I mentioned I don't run the risk of a 4:30am shotgun blast in the form of a heat induced blowout scaring the crap out of me!! On that basis alone - priceless!!!

Reviewed 9/28/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)

I've tried a few indoor training tires and this one is the best.

Reviewed 6/20/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
All that it was advertised to be
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Quiet running. No sign of wear after 400 miles

Reviewed 2/22/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worked for me
by MerlinAma
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas Panhandle
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I had been using worn out tires from my road bike on my Computrainer but always seemed to be having an issue at the worst possible time.

So last year I tried a Continental trainer tire. It lasted almost all year and I ride my trainer a lot!

The only reason it failed was likely my fault as I didn't notice the 120 pound inflation limit. I often went to 125-130 and eventually the rubber split along the length of the tire as a result of my over inflation.

I'm more careful with my new tire and so far it has held up as expected.

Reviewed 1/7/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Didn't want to ruin my good clinchers
by slift
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, BC
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have a separate rear wheel for use with this trainer tire as I didn't want to wreck a good clincher tire on the trainer. Not much to report other than this tire is doing trainer duty and seems to be holding up.

Reviewed 11/22/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The product was a great price and was worth it.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Jacksonville, Fl
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use this product for my indoor trainer.

Reviewed 8/6/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page