X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Continental Grand Prix 5000 Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(896 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(718)
(108)
(22)
(16)
(32)
(80%)
(12%)
(2%)
(2%)
(4%)
Reliable, High Performance Tires
by Karen L. Wade
Indianapolis, IN
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

After trying Michilan's, Vittorio's, Specialized and various Conti road tires, I finally settled on the 4000S (23, 25) years ago as my go-to tire. When Conti came out with the 5000 chili's I tried them (25) and liked them! I typically ride between 3500-8000+ miles per year and that includes commute, pleasure, group, training, touring, and in the past some light racing. I also delivered Jimmy John's in downtown Indianapolis from 2012-2018 part-time on these tires (28 on my SS) as part of my quest to improve my sprinting. I mean, why not get paid to ride your bike, huh?? What I've found across the board is that these tires perform overall superior to any other brand racing/performance/endurance road tire I've ever used in the past. I've found the GP4000 and 5000 to be the perfect combination so far of durable, comfortable and performance qualities. Excellent sticky grip in cornering, reliable handling on dry, wet and even somewhat on snow, equally excellent on dirty city roads as on pristine clean roads, more comfortable on chip&seal and rattlebone roads. I usually get 3000+ miles out of a set, more if I rotate tires every few of months and actively avoid glass if possible, and bad sections of road. Nowadays most of my riding is training for my annual, multiday touring of back to back century days in the saddle, which can always include unplanned surprises in road surfaces, reroutes and detours. (I plan the routes based on where I'd like to ride and Google maps/Map-My-Ride. I do not use a touring service. I like the adventure! And I prefer a carbon road bike (coz, you know, we like to get there without taking the whole day, lol!) a lightweight backpack and a credit card for these tours - 8 under my belt now!) I always put on a new set of tires the day before Bikecation and roll without worry over what unexpected surprises the road throws at us! I find these tires to do very well, rarely flatting until pretty well worn, and getting noticeably table-topped. Only once ever have I had a sidewall blowout, and that was on an aged tire and my own, awkward-moment fault. Again, rotating the tires periodically helps them last longer than if you don't. These tires have proven to be worth the money to me, especially when i can find a great deal on pricing. But I have paid - and will pay - the $70+ normal RV if I need the tires and can't find a deal at the time, with zero regrets. Although now I stock up ahead of time when I find them on sale. And that's my review! Good riding and happy trails to you!

Reviewed 6/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth, grippy, not robust
by OaklandMark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

I am a Conti fan, having settled in on the Grand Prix 4 Season tire as my go for many years, after trying several different brands. I got a new road bike a year ago, and thought I wold give the 5000's a try when the OEM tires gave way. Those were Specialized Turbo Pro's, and based on my previous experience with Specs, I thought they would be shot after 500 miles. In fact, I got 3150 out of the rear, and 4000 on the front!

Once I was fully on the 5000's I noticed 2 things right away - they are indeed smooth, fast, and grippy, but the sizing is a little questionable. I moved from being a 700x23 @120psi diehard, to 25's, and with the new bike, 28's running 75 psi F, 85 psi R. (I am 6'2", 180 lbs). If you're an old diehard skinny tire rider, do yourself a favor and try something different - easily just as fast, and waaaay more comfortable. When I mounted the 5000's it was immediately clear that although labelled 28's they were no bigger than 25's. So if you're looking for bigger tires, I would suggest going all the way to 32's - that's what I plan to do if these last long enough to be worth repeating.

The rear tire has 900+ miles on it now, and is showing considerable wear. Lots of cuts and nicks, with one fairly small cut having nicked a cord of the casing. By contrast, the Spec's had many more and deeper cuts, without a single injury to the casing. In fact on removal I saw that the sidewall had been cut along the radial line about 1" all the way to the casing, yet the tire performed flawlessly!

A word about rubber- these 5000's new out of box had noticeably less rubber on the wear surface than my 4000 mile worn Spec did!

If I can get 2000 miles flat free, I will consider another pair. The Specs went their entire life flat free, which is amazing. Plus they were a dream to ride.

Some reviewers commented on sidewall weakness. So far, no problems. Also, others say tires difficult to mount, but mine went on pretty easily, FYI. Lastly, I believe these are an improvement over the 4000's, as my experience with those was that they flatted like crazy.

Reviewed 1/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast Rolling Butt Undecided
by JimmyM
Cycling Enthusiast
Florence, KY

I changed from a set of Bontrager tires and immediately noticed a big difference in rolling resistance and speed. For the first 3 months I had these they performed flawlessly and seemed to be durable and fast rolling. My only complaint was they are not the most subtle tire in regards to taking out the road vibrations. I ride an aluminum bike so I don't have all the luxury that a full carbon bike has so tires make a big difference. I was really happy until one day at about 500 miles I had a major blowout. I inspected the road and never found anything that could have caused the sidewall cut and I did not hit any holes. Was it the tire or a slight cut from another day out? I don't know but i was unable to repair it. At this point I'll say it's just a case of bad luck. I decided to give another brand and a bigger tire size a try. Will I come back to the Conti's? Perhaps, I'm not sure at the moment and I want to compare how a 36 performs compared to the 32 Continental.

Reviewed 5/31/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Has pluses and minuses
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

This was the original tire on my bike, and I had something like three flats in the first week of riding. Thinking it could be a factory issue, I bought a new set, same brand/model. Coincidentally, they did somewhat better off the shelf, but still highly prone to flats. They are crazy fast tires, but the downside of that is that the rubber wears super fast (pretty worn after only 650 km), and is soft enough that just about anything goes through. If you can ride near enough to your house that someone can pick you up, or cary lots of tube and tire patch kits, go for it. The inconvenience was such that I just decided switched to Continental's GP 4-Season tire. The rubber on that one is harder and they are marginally slower, but not overly so. I kept the GP5000 in case I race. I had better flat results from Michelin Pro4 Service Course, and they were faster than Conti's GP 4-Season, and much more puncture resistant and longer wearing than Conti's GP 5000. Even on a commuter bike! May end up going back to them over the Contis. (except they are not manufactured in 28 mm, which I need for my rear wheel), or Michelin's Power Road TS, which I have yet to try.

Reviewed 4/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Puncture resistance is improved and I put that to the test.
by mrpelco
Cycling Enthusiast
West Point NY
26 of 28 customers found this review helpful.

Before taking the new road bike tire for a spin, I reviewed the technology first. The Grand Prix 5000 has a 12% lower rolling resistance, a 20% better puncture resistance and 10 grams less weight according to Continental. The tires puncture resistance was improved and I put that to the test. While out for a ride we encountered a large patch of glass. My buddies all got flats. I pulled some glass shards out of the tire. No damage and No Flats... The tire smoothly glides over asphalt and my bike has no problem accelerating.

Reviewed 3/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tire
by Rick
Arizona and Colorado

I am running the Conti 5000 on all my bikes. Great strength and cornering. A must tire!

Reviewed 6/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Contis always deliver
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Golden, CO

Riding road, mtb and gravel, I go through a ton of rubber. Continentals seem to be the perfect balance between weight, durability and price. Love 'em

Reviewed 6/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A solid tire
by Jason
Vancouver

Remarkably grippy and smooth rolling, a wonderful tire. Although, something of a pain to seat.

Reviewed 6/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast-Grippy-Simply Awesome!
by RobertNC
Charlotte, NC

I replaced some training tires on my old road bike with the GP5000 in 700x28c size and could notice an immediate improvement in ride quality, cornering and speed. My average speed on matched rides per Strava jumped 1-2 mph with the GP5000. Ok, maybe I'm just getting a little fitter or maybe the weather conditions are making a difference, but I put a second set in 700x25c on my TT bike yesterday. On a matched 22 mile ride from 2 days earlier that had much nicer weather (20 deg warmer and less wind) I was 0.5 mph faster with the GP5000 compared to the Spec. Mondo Pro in 700x21c. Plus I was able to crack into a leader board on a segment that was dominated by a club rider peloton and had another PR even with the brutal 15mph cross wind. Yes, they are hard to get on and off the rim. It requires tire levers and I would hate to be fixing a flat on the side of the road. But 500+ miles on the first set and no problems so far. I have swapped the tires from my road bike to a hybrid and back, so I'm even getting used to tight fit on the rims. My tire of choice now!

Reviewed 4/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental 5000 Road Tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Spend equal time in New Jersey and Florida.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Over the years I have found the Continental brand the best. I get the best handling and long term use from this brand. They also look good on tire rims. I have bought the 4000 tire over the past few years. Thought Id give the 5000 a try especially since they were on sale.

I have found them to be another excellent tire from a Continental. Dont think you would make a mistake when you give them a try. I have a house in Sarasota FL and another in New Jersey. These tires are excellent on the warm fast flats in Florida. Also on the hilly terrain of central Jersey.

Reviewed 6/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic road tire
by West Sider Rider
Los Angeles

I've been a fan of Conti road tires for years and these are the best clincher road tires yet. They're not the most puncture proof but I rarely have problems even with the debris strewn roads of west Los Angeles. Their suppleness is excellent and they're reasonably durable.

Reviewed 5/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Superior tires do make a difference
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
95492

I held off on upgrading tires, but wish I had done so sooner. I ran Conti Gatorskins 23ml for years -- I'm now 4 rides into Conti GP5000 25ml and noticed the ride quality (and speed!) difference immediately.

Reviewed 5/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Even Better than the 4000's
by Stan
Cycling Enthusiast
6 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these at a good sale price a few months ago and put them on last week when my 4000's were getting flats to easily. This is usually a sign to me that they needed replacing-about 3000 miles worth of wear.

The new tires were a tight fit on my DT Swiss carbon rims but the new bike tire tool, a Crank Brothers Speedier lever, lived up to its name. It made mounting the tubes much easier than putting on the 4000's , which was what led me to buying the new Crank Bros. tool in the first place. The tires look good on the bike and ride well with better grip on the turns than the previous ones. The ride is comfortable, too. I'm not sure I can tell if they have less rolling resistance. Obviously, I can't comment on longevity or flat resistance yet but usually have good luck with Continental products.

Try these tires. I think they are a good example of continuing product improvement by Continental.

Reviewed 1/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Grippy and fast, but at least for me, tough to mount/unmount
by PSBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm Springs, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've lost track of the number of Continental tires I've owned. Quite a few 4000's followed by a couple of sets of 5000's. I rotate them every 1,000 miles, so between rotations and rare flats, I have a fair amount of experience mounting/unmounting these.

At some point a couple of years ago, I felt like it had become a lot harder to change tires. I figured that maybe I didn't have as much hand strength as I once had. But then I bought a new bike that came with Specialized Turbo Pro tires. When it came time to rotate, oh my gosh -- what a difference! The tires were actually easy to change! Now it could that my previous troubles were from some interaction between the Continentals and my Mavic Ksyrium Elite wheels, but when it came time to replace the Turbo Pro's, I asked around and read reviews and noticed that I am by no means alone in having trouble with the Continentals.

So I'm going to try something else for my next set of tires. I may come back as I like the 5000's and was getting a couple thousand miles out of them, but I'm hoping that I can get easier maintenance and the same performance out of something else.

Reviewed 2/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tire
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Western New York
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use the tire for training and racing. It seems to have better grip in the corners compared to the 4000. No complaints.

Reviewed 5/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent ride quality
by Mark A
Cycling Enthusiast
Princeton, NJ
14 of 18 customers found this review helpful.

I am an avid cyclist of mostly group rides that range between 20 to 75 miles over flat to hilly terrain. Back roads with some countysecondary roads to help connect the dots. I was a long time user of the Continental brand between the GP4000s and the 4Season. I went between the two depending on the season, weather, and the amount of riding where durability was more sought than ride quality. I would trade between the two by switching out the tires. I ride a 500 mile7 day cycling fundraiser every July in the Northeast US so that alone causes some flux as to what tire to use. I recently went off course by trying out the Vittoria Corsa G which claimed to have vastly improved its durability by way of a new material called Graphine. The first two sets where super fast and buttery smooth. The third set which was used over the 500 mile ride rendered the ugly durability head by rendering three flats. I have since switched back to Continental as I was made aware of the 5000s. Of course they are on par with the Corsas in terms of speed and roll resistance but I've been told the 5000s were made with a 20% improvement on puncture resistance. I just took them out for 40 miler and have to say they are impressive from a ride quality and rollspeed standpoint. I did not flat during that ride but honestly its going to take a much larger sample size to determine just how much more durable they are than the 4000s, the Corsas, and whether they're close enough to the Conti 4Seasons which while very reliable deliver a slower ride with greater vibration. Ruins the experience a bit.

I'm very happy with the 5000s but jury remains out on the surviving the rural routes.

Reviewed 9/23/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast Rolling Tire
by Lou M
Cycling Enthusiast
San Antonio TX
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I been using continental 4000S tires for a long time, Now that the 5000 came out I wanted to try them , and I am not disappointed , it feels fast and grippy just like the old one . If it is as durable as the 4000 I am a happy cyclist. Of course durability of any tire depends on the terrain and the weight of the rider, I am pretty light and I am lucky that most of the roads in my area are pretty smooth. The only downside is installing the tire for the first time can be difficult, it fit pretty snug. Tire lever are a most ,

Reviewed 1/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Feels like the Grand Prix 4000
by Daniel Payne
Cycling Enthusiast
Tualatin, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The first thing that I noticed was that the two little wear markers in the tread are about one half of the depth on the GP 5000 as compared to the GP 4000, so I'm not quite sure if that means that there is only one half of the tread or not. I cycle 12,000 mile per year for fitness, and don't race because I don't like broken bones and road rash, although I have weekly group rides with racers. I have never actually worn out a rear GP 4000 tire because they always gashed out first from striking rocks or debris. On the front I do wear out a GP 4000. I get about 2,000 miles per tire on the GP 5000.

Reviewed 9/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tires, yet
by Anonymous
Dallas
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Love these tires. Comparing really to the continental TT. These have amazing rolling resistance. Very similar to the TT but the 5000s feel stronger and stickier.

Reviewed 7/25/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great tires
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
19 of 19 customers found this review helpful.

Been riding the 5000s (regular version) for a couple weeks now and have a few hundred miles on them. 23mm in front, 25mm in rear, latex tubes. I'm 145lbs. I've gotten to do a lot of varied riding on them, including a very wet and rainy crit and gravel. IMO they are excellent tires.

I used to be a die hard Veloflex fan. I rode them for many years for the ride quality. I switched over to GP4000s because they wore better and rolled fast. I could tell they weren't as supple as the Veloflex but I was tired of how easily they cut. I was really excited to try the Michelin Power Competitions, but those were a failure for me. They roll fast and feel good but I got bad sidewall cuts that ruined the tires and made them unrepairable. Bad luck I suppose. I also tried some Vittoria Corsa G for a time, because I got a deal on them. They are okay. They are pretty durable for a supple tire, but they don't really ride that great for me. Not sure why. They definitely don't ride as nicely as the Veloflex. In any case, the 5000s are undeniably fast and IMO feel better than the 4000s, and better than any of the other tires I've mentioned above save for the Veloflex. I haven't ridden them for a few years now so can't really do a direct comparison but the 5000s feel close.

Reviewed 4/26/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page