X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Continental Grand Prix 5000 Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(926 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(746)
(109)
(22)
(16)
(33)
(81%)
(12%)
(2%)
(2%)
(4%)
Smooth, grippy, not robust
by OaklandMark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
18 of 20 customers found this review helpful.

I am a Conti fan, having settled in on the Grand Prix 4 Season tire as my go for many years, after trying several different brands. I got a new road bike a year ago, and thought I wold give the 5000's a try when the OEM tires gave way. Those were Specialized Turbo Pro's, and based on my previous experience with Specs, I thought they would be shot after 500 miles. In fact, I got 3150 out of the rear, and 4000 on the front!

Once I was fully on the 5000's I noticed 2 things right away - they are indeed smooth, fast, and grippy, but the sizing is a little questionable. I moved from being a 700x23 @120psi diehard, to 25's, and with the new bike, 28's running 75 psi F, 85 psi R. (I am 6'2", 180 lbs). If you're an old diehard skinny tire rider, do yourself a favor and try something different - easily just as fast, and waaaay more comfortable. When I mounted the 5000's it was immediately clear that although labelled 28's they were no bigger than 25's. So if you're looking for bigger tires, I would suggest going all the way to 32's - that's what I plan to do if these last long enough to be worth repeating.

The rear tire has 900+ miles on it now, and is showing considerable wear. Lots of cuts and nicks, with one fairly small cut having nicked a cord of the casing. By contrast, the Spec's had many more and deeper cuts, without a single injury to the casing. In fact on removal I saw that the sidewall had been cut along the radial line about 1" all the way to the casing, yet the tire performed flawlessly!

A word about rubber- these 5000's new out of box had noticeably less rubber on the wear surface than my 4000 mile worn Spec did!

If I can get 2000 miles flat free, I will consider another pair. The Specs went their entire life flat free, which is amazing. Plus they were a dream to ride.

Some reviewers commented on sidewall weakness. So far, no problems. Also, others say tires difficult to mount, but mine went on pretty easily, FYI. Lastly, I believe these are an improvement over the 4000's, as my experience with those was that they flatted like crazy.

Reviewed 1/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reliable, High Performance Tires
by Karen L. Wade
Indianapolis, IN
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

After trying Michilan's, Vittorio's, Specialized and various Conti road tires, I finally settled on the 4000S (23, 25) years ago as my go-to tire. When Conti came out with the 5000 chili's I tried them (25) and liked them! I typically ride between 3500-8000+ miles per year and that includes commute, pleasure, group, training, touring, and in the past some light racing. I also delivered Jimmy John's in downtown Indianapolis from 2012-2018 part-time on these tires (28 on my SS) as part of my quest to improve my sprinting. I mean, why not get paid to ride your bike, huh?? What I've found across the board is that these tires perform overall superior to any other brand racing/performance/endurance road tire I've ever used in the past. I've found the GP4000 and 5000 to be the perfect combination so far of durable, comfortable and performance qualities. Excellent sticky grip in cornering, reliable handling on dry, wet and even somewhat on snow, equally excellent on dirty city roads as on pristine clean roads, more comfortable on chip&seal and rattlebone roads. I usually get 3000+ miles out of a set, more if I rotate tires every few of months and actively avoid glass if possible, and bad sections of road. Nowadays most of my riding is training for my annual, multiday touring of back to back century days in the saddle, which can always include unplanned surprises in road surfaces, reroutes and detours. (I plan the routes based on where I'd like to ride and Google maps/Map-My-Ride. I do not use a touring service. I like the adventure! And I prefer a carbon road bike (coz, you know, we like to get there without taking the whole day, lol!) a lightweight backpack and a credit card for these tours - 8 under my belt now!) I always put on a new set of tires the day before Bikecation and roll without worry over what unexpected surprises the road throws at us! I find these tires to do very well, rarely flatting until pretty well worn, and getting noticeably table-topped. Only once ever have I had a sidewall blowout, and that was on an aged tire and my own, awkward-moment fault. Again, rotating the tires periodically helps them last longer than if you don't. These tires have proven to be worth the money to me, especially when i can find a great deal on pricing. But I have paid - and will pay - the $70+ normal RV if I need the tires and can't find a deal at the time, with zero regrets. Although now I stock up ahead of time when I find them on sale. And that's my review! Good riding and happy trails to you!

Reviewed 6/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really Nice Tire
by EdenBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Eden, NC

I have been using the Continental Grand Prix tires for several years now. This newest version seems to work well. I will continue to keep buying them. I have used them with Latex tubes in the past and they work very well. Currently I am trying the Tubolito tubes which are working well with these tires. Not quite the same ride feel as with the Latex tubes though.

Reviewed 9/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable, quick and fairly comfy
by Mrchad
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Ohio

Better puncture protection for my needs than any other tire I have used that rolls this well. The compound also feels very grippy versus other similar racing/training tires. Tread wear far surpasses cotton casing tires for a tire that isn't very slower in use by my estimates.

Reviewed 9/24/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect
by Anonymous

I only purchase these road tires and have for years. They hold up well and are perfect for my use

Reviewed 10/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
long lasting and dependable
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I am a daily fitness rider who rides at least 30 miles each morning. This is my second set of Continental Grand prix 5000's and I have been very happy with them. They are resistant to flats, corner well and are very dependable, lasting around 5000 miles even through a Boston winter. Bought them on sale for a good price and expect for them to last me the rest of this year and into next year as well.

Reviewed 7/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My bike loves its Contis!- 5000s
by MAYTAG
Cycling Enthusiast
Maine
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Continental 4000,s 5000s, Black Chili compound are my go to tires. I average 2,300 t0 3,000 miles a season, which is somewhat short in Maine.

Reviewed 7/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
True to size
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, Utah
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I've ridden on Conti's for several years. My last set was a 25mm GP5000. This time I went wider to 28mm. The tire really sticks to the road. If you air down a little with the wider tire the ride quality is great. My rims are 19mm internal and when mounted the tires measure right at 28mm or just a tiny bit over. I weigh around 155 and ride with 70 psi front and 75 psi rear. My only complaint is I've had 2 punctures in 1100 miles. I guess you can always complain about the hassle of punctures that can happen with any tire under all sorts of circumstances...however, I was hoping for a little more resistance to the common thorn or glass. I recommend them for all around riding. The weight is also good for the size and all around type use.

Reviewed 6/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
New Continental 5000 are no were close to the old 4000 in dependability!
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Greenville S.C.
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Avid road cyclist, loved the old continental 4000, these new continental 5000 are horrible. The wear is ridicules, 1k miles an they are significant wear on tread. All kinds of cuts an side wall shows seperation an thinness. They do ride better an I like the low profile. But not worth the over all wear factor. The 4000 were great last thousands of miles with little or no abrasions. Bring back the 4000 thks.

Reviewed 7/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Puncture resistance is improved and I put that to the test.
by mrpelco
Cycling Enthusiast
West Point NY
27 of 29 customers found this review helpful.

Before taking the new road bike tire for a spin, I reviewed the technology first. The Grand Prix 5000 has a 12% lower rolling resistance, a 20% better puncture resistance and 10 grams less weight according to Continental. The tires puncture resistance was improved and I put that to the test. While out for a ride we encountered a large patch of glass. My buddies all got flats. I pulled some glass shards out of the tire. No damage and No Flats... The tire smoothly glides over asphalt and my bike has no problem accelerating.

Reviewed 3/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Quality Tires
by Jim
San Diego

Love these tires after changing from 23s to these 25s. Not only are they more comfortable, but they mount much easier than 23s, especially when new and not yet stretched out.

Reviewed 9/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One of the best tire out today
by Charles
Greenville

Great tires !!! Great ride and last forever

Reviewed 9/27/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
EVERYTHING AS CONTINENTAL ADVERTISES
by MIKE H
Cycling Enthusiast
las vegas
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I started using Conti 5000s two years ago because of their claims over the Conti 4000s which I was using, especially flat protection. The first day I cut down the sidewall on glass that would have cut anything. Ok, i bought another one to really try these out. Well, 3000 miles later ( on two bikes) they have lived up to all their claims. One complete year with no flats. Subjectively I do believe the ride is slightly better than the 4000s ( not as good as the Vittorias, but they are a poor choice for flat protection here in Las Vegas with lots of broken glass and lots of shredded tire filaments) and they are definitely lighter. I'm using the regular tire and not the tubeless and couldn't be happier!

Reviewed 6/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental 5000 Road Tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Spend equal time in New Jersey and Florida.
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Over the years I have found the Continental brand the best. I get the best handling and long term use from this brand. They also look good on tire rims. I have bought the 4000 tire over the past few years. Thought Id give the 5000 a try especially since they were on sale.

I have found them to be another excellent tire from a Continental. Dont think you would make a mistake when you give them a try. I have a house in Sarasota FL and another in New Jersey. These tires are excellent on the warm fast flats in Florida. Also on the hilly terrain of central Jersey.

Reviewed 6/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast Rolling Butt Undecided
by JimmyM
Cycling Enthusiast
Florence, KY
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I changed from a set of Bontrager tires and immediately noticed a big difference in rolling resistance and speed. For the first 3 months I had these they performed flawlessly and seemed to be durable and fast rolling. My only complaint was they are not the most subtle tire in regards to taking out the road vibrations. I ride an aluminum bike so I don't have all the luxury that a full carbon bike has so tires make a big difference. I was really happy until one day at about 500 miles I had a major blowout. I inspected the road and never found anything that could have caused the sidewall cut and I did not hit any holes. Was it the tire or a slight cut from another day out? I don't know but i was unable to repair it. At this point I'll say it's just a case of bad luck. I decided to give another brand and a bigger tire size a try. Will I come back to the Conti's? Perhaps, I'm not sure at the moment and I want to compare how a 36 performs compared to the 32 Continental.

Reviewed 5/31/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Quality Tires
by Jim
San Diego

Love these tires after changing from 23s to these 25s. Not only are they more comfortable, but they mount much easier than 23s, especially when new and not yet stretched out.

Reviewed 9/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Rides nice and no flats so far
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Windsor, CO

Not easy to install, but happy with it other than that.

Reviewed 9/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A faster Continental
by Anonymous

Moved to these tires from the 4000S. These tires seem to be a bit faster (or I am a little fitter). There is an increase in speed with these tires. The black chili rubber is sticky and sticks very well in the corners. I cannot comment on the puncture protection, so far they are holding up well.

Reviewed 8/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Even Better than the 4000's
by Stan
Cycling Enthusiast
8 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these at a good sale price a few months ago and put them on last week when my 4000's were getting flats to easily. This is usually a sign to me that they needed replacing-about 3000 miles worth of wear.

The new tires were a tight fit on my DT Swiss carbon rims but the new bike tire tool, a Crank Brothers Speedier lever, lived up to its name. It made mounting the tubes much easier than putting on the 4000's , which was what led me to buying the new Crank Bros. tool in the first place. The tires look good on the bike and ride well with better grip on the turns than the previous ones. The ride is comfortable, too. I'm not sure I can tell if they have less rolling resistance. Obviously, I can't comment on longevity or flat resistance yet but usually have good luck with Continental products.

Try these tires. I think they are a good example of continuing product improvement by Continental.

Reviewed 1/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent ride quality
by Mark A
Cycling Enthusiast
Princeton, NJ
15 of 19 customers found this review helpful.

I am an avid cyclist of mostly group rides that range between 20 to 75 miles over flat to hilly terrain. Back roads with some countysecondary roads to help connect the dots. I was a long time user of the Continental brand between the GP4000s and the 4Season. I went between the two depending on the season, weather, and the amount of riding where durability was more sought than ride quality. I would trade between the two by switching out the tires. I ride a 500 mile7 day cycling fundraiser every July in the Northeast US so that alone causes some flux as to what tire to use. I recently went off course by trying out the Vittoria Corsa G which claimed to have vastly improved its durability by way of a new material called Graphine. The first two sets where super fast and buttery smooth. The third set which was used over the 500 mile ride rendered the ugly durability head by rendering three flats. I have since switched back to Continental as I was made aware of the 5000s. Of course they are on par with the Corsas in terms of speed and roll resistance but I've been told the 5000s were made with a 20% improvement on puncture resistance. I just took them out for 40 miler and have to say they are impressive from a ride quality and rollspeed standpoint. I did not flat during that ride but honestly its going to take a much larger sample size to determine just how much more durable they are than the 4000s, the Corsas, and whether they're close enough to the Conti 4Seasons which while very reliable deliver a slower ride with greater vibration. Ruins the experience a bit.

I'm very happy with the 5000s but jury remains out on the surviving the rural routes.

Reviewed 9/23/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page