X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Grand Prix 5000 Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(1104 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(900)
(120)
(31)
(17)
(36)
(82%)
(11%)
(3%)
(2%)
(3%)
Superb Tires: Solid and Dependable.
by Matthew
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been riding on these Continental GP5000s (25mm) since October 9th, 2022. I have enjoyed every mile, and have felt completely safe when bombing hills and trying to stay close to the fastest guys in our group (or not get dropped). These tires have been dependable and problem free. After 1,625 miles over 3 months, my tires were finally tested by Mother Nature when a Goat's Head (those pesky enemies of the MTB crowd) pierced the area where the sidewall meets the tread. It wasn't all the glass and debris of Pacific Coast Highway that I am amazed I was able to navigate without so much as the smallest problem - it was a Goat's Head on a paved road. I am still amazed by these tires and they will continue to be my "go to" tire until something better comes along.

Reviewed 1/23/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best ever tires. Ever...
by machnart
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX

I have been a fan of Continental tires for many years. And to be fair, I have used others, and several expensive Italian brands, and also Schwalbe tires/tubes.

Continental GP 5000 tires are what I consider the best of the best - lightweight, resistant to punctures and flats, well built, and fast rolling, esp. in my preferred 25 mm size (on my Pinarello FP7 road bike) and 30 mm size (on my Cervelo Aspero gravel bike). Mated with Continental Race tubes, I shaved a full 1/2 lbs. (227 gms) switching from 32 mm Continental Gatorskins to Continental 30 mm GP 5000 on my Cervello. And wow! Talk about an far easier solution to saving wheel/tire weight and gaining speed and climbing ability - instead of going to expensive carbon wheels (hey, I might do that next, seeing what a reduction in weight does...).

I can really feel the reduction in rotational mass, with a gain in ave. speed of 1-2 mph all else considered, and more importantly, a VERY noticeable gain in more easily riding up steep grades - which we have plenty of here in Austin, TX. Easily 5 stars!

Reviewed 2/2/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great reliable tires, not as heavy as Armadillos but have held up as well Armadillos
by UTwhohaa
Cycling Enthusiast
utah

For some time I had been using Specialized Armadillos because they're thick & tough. BUT been using grand prix for a couple of seasons, and they are lasting just as long and are MUCH lighter. This was a screamin' deal too! Yay. Grip is stable on descents (major mountain riding)

Reviewed 2/2/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Road Tires
by DaPen
Cycling Enthusiast
Brownsburg, IN

I average about 3,500mi yearly on Indiana roads with these tires before replacing them. Some lighter riders have gotten over 5,000mi. The 700x28mm give a cushioned ride at 75psi and grip the road well even in wet weather. I've only had one pinch flat crossing some railroad tracks to fast, the 4 years I've been using these.

Reviewed 1/19/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Overall, a really nice road tire.
by Victor
Cycling Enthusiast
SC

A little challenging to mount as the tire diameter is really snug, so get out your tire levers and some muscle, but they will go on. First things noted, the rolling resistance is really excellent. When properly inflated they will coast for along time and even on moderately poor pavement have very low rolling resistance. Also, cornering grip, even on somewhat sandy corners is better than expected. Haven't had them long enough to comment on wear but so far, so good

Reviewed 1/16/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire if you have the right rims
by Desert Rat
Cycling Enthusiast
Las Cruces, NM
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought a pair of GP5000s 25mm to run on HED Ardennes Pro rims and they were impossible to mount, I gave up and mounted them on Mavic Open Pro rims with no problems. Although they're labeled as 25mm they measured 23mm when mounted. The Mavic rims are narrower than the HED rims and that seems to be the reason I found them impossible to mount. I've been running Michelin 25 and 28s on the HED rims and have not had any mounting problems. The Michelins are also wider than the marked width, approximately 27mm and 30mm. I'm not sure if if I will try upsizing to 28mm Contis for the HED rims or just keep running Michelin since I know that I won't have problems mounting them.

Reviewed 12/26/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best road tire I have ever used.
by Steve_K
Cycling Enthusiast
Sarasota, FL

I have been using Continental Grand Prix tires for several decades. Each generation from 1000 to 5000 seems to mark an improvement in performance and wear. I use them on my singles and on my tandem too. Tandems are tough on tire mileage, but these last many more miles than anything else I have tried. I'm sure that there are other tires out there that may be as good, but I haven't been able to try everything available. But as long as I have found a winner, I am not going to be looking for one to replace these. Very few flats, good wet or dry traction, comfortable ride. I can't ask for more. One last thing that I noticed - the tire "height" from the rim to the tread is slightly lower profile compared to the GP 4000 mounted on the same rims. Not sure why but I can't detect a difference in performance. However it will affect the rollout calibration on a bike computer.

Reviewed 1/1/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Can't lose with Conti 500
by Anonymous

Always a top quality tire.

Reviewed 2/2/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Another awesome tire from Continental!
by Jspec
Nashville

All my bikes have Continental tires and my new Specialized Allez Sprint Comp is no exception. Ordered these tires in 700x28 to give me a little more width than the factory 700x25 and it was the best thing I could have done. Smooth rolling with no resistance. I don't ride when the roads are wet and I don't think these would excel in wet conditions but they are very grip when it's dry out. The transparent sidewall matches my Oasis color bike. Would order these again in a heartbeat as I loved them more than the grand sport.

Reviewed 1/19/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
None Better
by Mark
Lake Oswego

Offering consistent and excellent quality with as good a puncture resistance as can reasonably be expected with roads and shoulders littered with jetsam, as they are around Portland OR.

Reviewed 1/19/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Looks and Performance
by ShayneB
Louisville, KY

I already had these tires but the colored sidewalls hadn't been offered on the 700x28. I chose the transparent over the cream strictly for the look but they are the same great tire with the the comfort, grip, toughness, and low rolling resistance you expect.

Reviewed 1/20/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Road tires and very durable
by Barry
Cycling Enthusiast
Sherman, Illinois

I have always ridden Continental tires over the past 5 years. These are great road tires and are extremely durable. They are a little difficult to get on but since they do not have a bad failure rate I use them religiously.

Reviewed 1/20/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Solid Performing Tire
by Georgia Cyclist
Daily Commuter
Oxford, Georgia

With this tire often being available at a sale price, I buy a few at a time when possible. I've been using the GP 5000 for years and can only remember two punctures. They hold up well to wear and tear and grip the road in corners. I believe their weight also compares well to other, similar models.

Reviewed 1/21/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for club rides!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Connecticut

This is a great tire for club rides. Fast rolling and puncture resistant. I get a full season of over 3000 miles (4800km) on a pair of 28 with latex tubes. I had one puncture each of the last 3 seasons.

Reviewed 1/17/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great riding tire but TERRIBLE quality!!
by Jon
Cycling Enthusiast
North Carolina
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Like other reviews, I have been extremely disappointed in the quality of the GP 5000. In the past 3 months, I have experienced 4 side wall blowouts. One tire was only a week old! The Conti used to be the ONLY tire I would ride, now I will be looking for a new tire to purchase.

Reviewed 10/31/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I love these tires.
by Johnny
Colorado

I've ridden GP 5000s since they came out. I routinely ride 5000 miles every year. I have never had an issue.

Reviewed 1/26/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Conti's ever!
by BayAreaRider
Daily Commuter
SF Bay Area
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Over the pandemic, I had to switch back to Conti's due to lack of availability of my usual Michelins. While I stopped using Conti's after the GP2k's since they were rather harsh in comparison to the Michelin pros 2's a the time, these GP5k's are a revelation!

I've been impressed by the GP5k's smoothness, gripiness, and overall rideability. Rolling resistance seems to be better than the the Michelin Power endurance tires that I briefly tried (and then switched back to GP5k's).

I got about 3k miles on my first set of GP5k's and am now on my second set. I've been using these tires on my commute bike (20-40 miles daily) as well as for training (though I don't race much any more). For those that thought Conti's gave a harsh ride, I'd recommend trying the GP5k's and seeing for yourself how much more rideable these tires are over older gen Conti's.

Reviewed 10/27/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough, grippy, and good looking
by NM Berkeley
Berkeley CA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Got these to replace the last set of GP 5000s that had lived their life and performed well. Mounted them on Hunt aero wheels and am impressed by the cornering and low rolling resistance. Transparent sidewalks look pretty slick. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 10/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing tire that gets better with age
by James
Miami, FL

Like any release of new technology in a trusted product, you have to give good things time to let the kinks get worked out. And this tire was well worth the wait. In all honesty, getting these on a rim yourself is like an exercise in masochism. You�ll wonder what you did for karma to punish you like this.

That being said, it�s also well worth the pain because this tire gives you such a sense of relief. It is so good. Furable, reliable and a lot tougher than previous GP tires. I got a medium-sized gash in my rear tire a few weeks ago and didn�t even know until I got home 30 miles/2 hours later. I don�t like that it happened but at least I know these tires worth the price.

Reviewed 10/27/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tires
by GV3
Competitive Racer
VT

Reliable tires with a great feel on the road. These are a great value, especially if you can find them on sale, which they often can be stocked up on towards the end of the season. These measure closer to their actual size than the 4k which ran a little big. These roll well, get good grip, and *knock on wood* have not resulted in any flats.

Reviewed 10/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page