X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Grand Prix 5000 Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(1050 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(852)
(117)
(30)
(16)
(35)
(81%)
(11%)
(3%)
(2%)
(3%)
Fast rolling, strong puncture resistance, comfortable and stable on wet pavement
by Andy
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

I use these tires for road riding, training, and racing. Recently upgraded to these and so far no complaints. I have only ridden them approximately 350 miles, but in that was a few 50+ mile rides where many others seemed to get flats. Very low rolling resistance and very confident in corners.

Reviewed 9/22/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best All-Around Road Tire
by George
Willoughby Hills

I've ridden on these tires for years and except for picking up a jagged piece of metal which ripped the side wall after catching on the rear brake, I've not had a flat in over 30,000 miles. I'm an endurance rider, but I love hard cornering and "bombing" down-hills. These tires handle it all. The GP5000 is the ONLY tire I buy.

Reviewed 9/26/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
895 Mile Review
by Matthew
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County, CA

I just finished two months and 895 miles on my new Conti GP5000s. I run the 700x23 clinchers at appprox 108/110 psi, using the Silca weight/size calculator. I really like these tires on my Pinarello, and I used to swear I would never change from my Vredestein Fortezza Tri-Comps - until they stopped making them. The Conti GP5000 is a great tire. I have not encountered a single problem, nor had a flat over the last 895 miles, and I will most certainly stick with these tires until something better is created.

Reviewed 9/14/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable and Secure
by GW
Rhode Island

Bought these for a 200mi, 2-day charity grand fondo as an upgrade from an all-condition tire I was training on. I'm 186lb so run these 32mm at 65-68psi. Comfortable yet firm and secure in the turns. Only one flat in the ~800mi I have on them.

Reviewed 9/20/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast Rolling!
by Anonymous
Portland, OR

Fast rolling, grippy tire. 4-500 miles in and no complaints.

Reviewed 9/26/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Exactly what I was looking for
by Anonymous
Corona , California

Had previously owed and was very satisfied with the Continental 5000. I was looking for this tire with yellowish looking side walls to compliment the Rage Red on my Trek Damone and found it with a creme side wall, very satisfied and happy with looks and performance.

Reviewed 9/22/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast!!!
by Zoran
Woodhaven

Pump up to 100 PSI and your bike becoms the rocket.

Reviewed 9/26/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tires
by T Craig
Memphis, TN
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I installed these tires (28c) on my 2018 Diamondback Century 1 in early July. This set is my third set of Continental brand tires. I buy these tires due to durability. I ride on some very rough streets here in Memphis and no flats. As with all new tires, it takes a few rides for them to speed up. You will have to air these tires up every few days after first installing them due to expansion. In typical Continental fashion, the last 6 inches is the most difficult to get on the rim. Have a good tire lever or that bike seating tool. The gum wall looks good, too, but not too much on my bike. Overall, I am pleased with these tires and the Continental brand as a whole. Continental is the brand I have had the most durability with.

Reviewed 8/18/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Only tires i put on our bikes
by Louise
Hawkesbury, ON Canada

These are the only tires i put on our bikes! And for the price this is perfect.

Reviewed 9/23/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Favorite tire
by DR
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas City

I've been using these since they came a few years ago. I've had great luck with very few flats and lots of miles out of them. They are light, grip well and are holding up well. Excellent all around tire.

Reviewed 9/6/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Terrible
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

This tire is the worst bicycle part I have ever purchased. Not the worst tire, the worst product. I have never purchased another bicycle part that failed so miserably in it's intended role. I have been riding mountain and road bikes since I was 10 years old in SoCal, I have been through every manufacturer of tire out there, and let me tell you, don't buy the hype when it comes to these tires.

The first tire failed when I ran over a small piece of plastic within 20 miles of installation, the kind of thing that I saw on the road but never even considered steering around based on thousands of miles of experience with other tires. Since that moment, when the tire was completely destroyed in an instant, the tires have gone through an endless cycle of flats and failures, the failures always seem to occur on the other tire, the one that I had not just replaced, so it has been hard to throw out the set for a better option when I had just paid to replace the twin. Let me tell you, I should have thrown them both out at that first failure, the tires have left me on the side of the road with flats based on items I pulled out and crushed between my fingers countless times.

At least 10 times the number of flats and failures with these tires vs. any other tire I have used in the past. To make matters worse, they are extremely tight on the rim and horrible to remove and install, at least on Mavic Ksyriums. When I first installed these I was surprised at how soft the durometer of the rubber felt compared to the tire I had just removed, I think that may be a part of why they attract flats and destroy themselves on small objects so often. You may be wondering if this is real because it doesn't say verified purchase. I bought these at a major bike retailer with tires in the name and am so fed up with the performance of this product that I am posting my review of it anywhere I can. I have never been inspired to do something like that before. Continental should be ashamed of themselves for selling this product.

I made this mistake and wrote this so you don't have to. Don't do it!

Reviewed 7/26/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Grand Prix 5000 Rolls across Race Across The West
by Craigjok
Cycling Enthusiast
Broken Arrow, OK
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I installed a pair of the Grand Prix 5000's for my four man team's (https://www.teamsuicideprevention.com) 930 mile Race Across The West event. This is a team time trial type event with at least one rider on the road from Oceanside, California to Durango Colorado riding day and night across the deserts and mountains on the route. Crap happens. About 200 miles into the race during one of my pulls, I ran over a strip of a wood pallet on a desert section and a 1" long staple went clear through the tire. The amazing thing about the Grand Prix is that in my haste to keep moving, I quickly put a new tube in and aired up the tire and went on to finish my pull. I went on to ride to the finish with that same tire. I think that is incredible. I did have a spare Grand Prix tire but didn't have to use even after that significant "flatting" event. We finished the race in 2d 14h 46m. I'm sticking with my Grand Prix 5000's

Reviewed 6/20/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth roller worth the money
by Anonymous

These have performed well in all conditions and are noticably smoother than other tires I've ridden in this price range. Haven't tested in wet conditions. I ride debris ridden urban and suburban roads, and the only flat in 1K miles this far was a saw blade that slashed the tire sidewall to sidewall.

Reviewed 9/2/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The tires work as one would expect them to work...
by bloaker
Zushi/Hayama
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I run both the TR and non TR versions on different wheelsets.

After years of running GP4000s and thousands and thousands of miles with only 2 flats, I opted to move to the 5000s this year and forego gatorskins (also a nice tire). I am running 28mm on both the tubeless and tubed tires and they stick amazing in corners, brake better than the 4000s and have very little road noise. They met my expectations and I can happily say they feel a bit better than the 4000s they replaced.

I have also run the Enve SES tire in a 27mm. For comparisons, they SES is more 'V' shaped and falls into corners. The 5000s are more round and allow you to incrementally drop the bike into a corner more consistently. The SES is also a great tire, but the 5000s are my choice moving forward.

I think the regular 5000s are a great value. The TRs are a bit pricey for a tire, but if you need tubeless, you are stuck.

Reviewed 6/16/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth, grippy, not robust
by OaklandMark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
31 of 36 customers found this review helpful.

I am a Conti fan, having settled in on the Grand Prix 4 Season tire as my go for many years, after trying several different brands. I got a new road bike a year ago, and thought I wold give the 5000's a try when the OEM tires gave way. Those were Specialized Turbo Pro's, and based on my previous experience with Specs, I thought they would be shot after 500 miles. In fact, I got 3150 out of the rear, and 4000 on the front!

Once I was fully on the 5000's I noticed 2 things right away - they are indeed smooth, fast, and grippy, but the sizing is a little questionable. I moved from being a 700x23 @120psi diehard, to 25's, and with the new bike, 28's running 75 psi F, 85 psi R. (I am 6'2", 180 lbs). If you're an old diehard skinny tire rider, do yourself a favor and try something different - easily just as fast, and waaaay more comfortable. When I mounted the 5000's it was immediately clear that although labelled 28's they were no bigger than 25's. So if you're looking for bigger tires, I would suggest going all the way to 32's - that's what I plan to do if these last long enough to be worth repeating.

The rear tire has 900+ miles on it now, and is showing considerable wear. Lots of cuts and nicks, with one fairly small cut having nicked a cord of the casing. By contrast, the Spec's had many more and deeper cuts, without a single injury to the casing. In fact on removal I saw that the sidewall had been cut along the radial line about 1" all the way to the casing, yet the tire performed flawlessly!

A word about rubber- these 5000's new out of box had noticeably less rubber on the wear surface than my 4000 mile worn Spec did!

If I can get 2000 miles flat free, I will consider another pair. The Specs went their entire life flat free, which is amazing. Plus they were a dream to ride.

Some reviewers commented on sidewall weakness. So far, no problems. Also, others say tires difficult to mount, but mine went on pretty easily, FYI. Lastly, I believe these are an improvement over the 4000's, as my experience with those was that they flatted like crazy.

Reviewed 1/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around road tire
by Paul C
Bellevue,WA

Rolls great and durability.

Reviewed 9/12/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bang for buck!
by RipCity Ryan
Portland, OR

GP 5ks are my favorite overall tire. The tan sidewalls seem to go on easier than all black. Fast, durable, feel good, and corner well. Other tires might gain a few more watts or have more durability but these are the workhorse do-it-all. Especially if you're still playing with tubes.

Reviewed 8/25/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
All around good value!
by Jeff
Olympia, WA

Handling is excellent,

Puncture resistance is good.

Very aesthetic.

Reviewed 9/15/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality
by Dan
miami florida

Strong material excellent engineering technology I personally run 600 miles no flats always check my PSI most be at 120 no issues every 600 miles I replaced them not a single flat outstanding performance cero rolling resistance.

Reviewed 8/22/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reliable, High Performance Tires
by Karen L. Wade
Indianapolis, IN
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

After trying Michilan's, Vittorio's, Specialized and various Conti road tires, I finally settled on the 4000S (23, 25) years ago as my go-to tire. When Conti came out with the 5000 chili's I tried them (25) and liked them! I typically ride between 3500-8000+ miles per year and that includes commute, pleasure, group, training, touring, and in the past some light racing. I also delivered Jimmy John's in downtown Indianapolis from 2012-2018 part-time on these tires (28 on my SS) as part of my quest to improve my sprinting. I mean, why not get paid to ride your bike, huh?? What I've found across the board is that these tires perform overall superior to any other brand racing/performance/endurance road tire I've ever used in the past. I've found the GP4000 and 5000 to be the perfect combination so far of durable, comfortable and performance qualities. Excellent sticky grip in cornering, reliable handling on dry, wet and even somewhat on snow, equally excellent on dirty city roads as on pristine clean roads, more comfortable on chip&seal and rattlebone roads. I usually get 3000+ miles out of a set, more if I rotate tires every few of months and actively avoid glass if possible, and bad sections of road. Nowadays most of my riding is training for my annual, multiday touring of back to back century days in the saddle, which can always include unplanned surprises in road surfaces, reroutes and detours. (I plan the routes based on where I'd like to ride and Google maps/Map-My-Ride. I do not use a touring service. I like the adventure! And I prefer a carbon road bike (coz, you know, we like to get there without taking the whole day, lol!) a lightweight backpack and a credit card for these tours - 8 under my belt now!) I always put on a new set of tires the day before Bikecation and roll without worry over what unexpected surprises the road throws at us! I find these tires to do very well, rarely flatting until pretty well worn, and getting noticeably table-topped. Only once ever have I had a sidewall blowout, and that was on an aged tire and my own, awkward-moment fault. Again, rotating the tires periodically helps them last longer than if you don't. These tires have proven to be worth the money to me, especially when i can find a great deal on pricing. But I have paid - and will pay - the $70+ normal RV if I need the tires and can't find a deal at the time, with zero regrets. Although now I stock up ahead of time when I find them on sale. And that's my review! Good riding and happy trails to you!

Reviewed 6/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page