Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Grand Prix 5000 Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(523 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(423)
(64)
(13)
(8)
(15)
(81%)
(12%)
(2%)
(2%)
(3%)
All that and a bag of chips....
by MootsRSL
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

GP5000's deliver on every front! Fast, Light, Grippy, and Durable. Aesthetically designed, the graphicslogos are more subtle and the rubber is very dark as compared to the previous generation.

Reviewed 1/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome new tire
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
South Carolina
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great new tire from the bike tire Kings. I think a good step above the fine 4000 II S.

Reviewed 1/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding tire
by Dave Christ
Phoenix Az

I have used Continental Grand Prix 4000 tires on all my bikes since they were first released and I did not think a better road tire could be produced. When I saw that the Grand Prix 5000 was being released, I ordered a pair the same day. The new tire is incredible and has lived up the the claims of faster, more comfortable, and more grip. I am impressed with the improvements.

Reviewed 1/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far, so good
by PeterO
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I bought a pair of these when they first became available last week. I've only got 100 miles or so on them, so the jury is still out, but so far they seem at least as nice as the last version - GP4000S2.

I've been riding long enough to have used every generation since the GP2000. Continental has always had a strong contender in the high-end clincher road tire market. Since the introduction of the GP4000, they have pretty much dominated this segment. The GP4000 S2 was, or is, the tire of choice for the majority of riders in my bike club.

With each generation, Continental has made improvements in wear, flat protection, and ride quality. I'm looking forward to seeing how much better this new tire is compared to the old one, but I'll be really surprised if it isn't a noticeable upgrade.

Reviewed 11/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not all that is promised
by Rob
Sf Bay
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The good news is that the lab review below says the rolling resistance may be better (less) than claimed. The bad news is that the improved puncture resistance claim appears to be false. The weight savings appears due in large part to Continental making the tires smaller. This means that if you want to go up a size, youll need to go two sizes larger, and if you want to just stay the same size youll need to go up a size. This was my experience. I went up a size and the tire width is the same size as the 4000 II I replaced. httpswww.bicyclerollingresistance.comroad-bike-reviewscontinental-grand-prix-5000-2018

Reviewed 12/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent grip in the wet
by Dane
Competitive Racer
Portland, Oregon
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

After a week of riding this tire-and getting caught in the rain-I have to say I am very impressed. Not sure how Continental managed to improve on the 4000, which I've been a fan of for years, but these tires have noticeably more grip than other tires I've tried. Even while descending in the rain I was able to rail the corners with confidence. They also felt a bit faster on dry flats roads as well, but that's a subjective. I can't speak on durability or flat protection yet, but as an improved version of the 4000, I don't think either of those will be an issue.

Reviewed 11/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Conti does it again
by Bobby
Competitive Racer
Pacific NW
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Another awesome performance road tire from Continental. I've been a real fan of the GP4000 S2. There really hasn't been anything else that was really as good for performance road cycling. For a tire that grips and rides as well as the GP4000, it is surprisingly durable and resistant to flats.

Based on my admittedly limited experience with the GP5000 so far, it seems at least as good and probably better. Nice and grippy even on cold, wet roads. And it looks like it's going to be available in 700x32 which I'm really looking forward to for my endurance bike.

Reviewed 11/21/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is what we have been waiting for!
by d-nice
Competitive Racer
PDX
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

As a huge long time fan of the 4000S2 I am so excited to have the new Grand Prix 5000.

The quality looks fantastic, and while I have only done a short ride on them so far, the early feeling is that this tire is fast and grippy. Can't wait to put more miles on them!

Reviewed 11/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Runs large
by Anonymous
New York
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Running 28s on a Specialized Roubaix (2014 carbon frame) they rubbed. When calipered at 100psi they read 32mm. Changed to the 25s and had perfect clearance. The 25s measured 27mm at 100psi.

1400 miles in 6 months (40-100 F) on smooth to chipped surfaces with occasional pot holes

No issues and minimal visual wear

Reviewed 12/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
best tires
by kulioh
Casual Cyclist
san francisco
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

I have been riding for about 4 years and these are the best tires I have used.

Reviewed 1/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Always a classic
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
San Diego CA
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

You can't go wrong with these tires. They're my favorite for both racing and training.

Reviewed 1/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire would buy again
by Pam spotts
virginia
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

Good quality and a nice ride. Have been riding for years.

Reviewed 1/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Confident with comfort
by Rich L.
Cycling Enthusiast
Lancaster, PA
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

I have been riding Continental tires for about twenty years. They have only improved their products and I appreciate the durability.

My latest tires are 700 x 25 and it has made a noticed improvement without any disadvantages. The ride is even better.

Reviewed 1/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Tire!
by summerboy
Cycling Enthusiast
North Carolina
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

I've been riding on these tires for many years. They are simply the best!

Reviewed 1/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth and Strong
by Elyse
Houston
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

Great tires for endurance riding. I was using Gatorskins on the past three century rides. The Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c road tire rocks. I can get better speed for sure.

Buy them.

Reviewed 1/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Performance & Durability!
by Nisswa Bob
Brainerd MN
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

As a heavier rider (200 lbs), but one that likes to ride as fast as these old legs can do, Im always looking for a performance tire, but yet one that will last me 1000 miles. Ive found these tires in a 700c X 25mm the best for me after trying several Michelin & Schwalbe Tires as a alternative. In 4000 miles of seasonal riding my flats are usually limited to 3 - 5 (not bad?).

Reviewed 1/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Road Bike Tire for the performance and money
by Calvaradousa
San Diego
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

I have been using Continental Grand Prix 4000 for years for its reliability, superior performance and price. I ride 5K-10k miles a year. I have tried other tires but always found my self gping back to use continental Grand Prix, a bike tire I trust without breaking my budget.

Reviewed 1/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sticky and Tough!
by Tim
Competitive Racer
Morris County, NJ
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

I know all my buddies are excited about the new 5000 tire, but really... how much better can it be? I grew-up on Italian rubber, but these tires just give you so much confidence!

Reviewed 1/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great road tire
by NorthBayBiiker
Casual Cyclist
NorthBay, Bay Area, Ca USA
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

These a long lasting, durable road tires that perform great and live up to the hype. The longevity of these tires also make them a great value. I use them on a daily basis for training rides in all conditions. Because of geographic considerations where I ride and live, I typically climb 3000 ft. on any given ride. These tires provide light weight for climbing and great stability when descending Highly recommended.

Reviewed 1/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love em
by rm10036
Competitive Racer
NYC
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

Perfect for the road. Im a big boy and use the 700 x 25. Hey no tire is 100% perfect but I get a good life from these

Reviewed 1/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page