CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Grand Prix 5000 Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(1264 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(1047)
(127)
(33)
(18)
(39)
(83%)
(10%)
(3%)
(1%)
(3%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Audie Conrad

Gr8 tire
by Audie Conrad
Auburn, Maine

I've been riding on Conti's for 2 decades and the newer 5000's for the 3rd year. Terrific tire all-round. They hold pressure, handle and roll rrally well - top shelf.

However, when new they can be a bear to mount!

A few pointers on this that will definitely help. If possible place them in direct warm sunlight for an hour or so to soften it /make a "bit" pliable. Rub the edge of the rim with lightly diluted dish soap. And [oddly] I've worn rubber dipped yard gloves while mounting the tire. Along with a solid mounting lever - all in all these work well and will illiminate the near impossibility if you don't!??

I recently had a rear tire pinch-flat with about 500 miles on the tire - the tube swap was a snap. No problems at all removing/remounting the tire.

Gr8 bike tire! Try 'em!

Reviewed 6/20/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mander

Love the Continental Tires
by Mander
Cycling Enthusiast
HIllsboro Oregon

I have been using the Continental tires for a number of years now, and love them. They are long lasting and for the most part are fairly puncture resistant. I have a hard time even looking at other brands because I know these will last for a good amount of time.

Reviewed 6/11/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jeffrey

Fast, comfortable, & durable
by Jeffrey
Shreveport

The first time I used the Conti 5000 was the first time I used a tire that I could feel a difference, improvement in my ride. I just do not have puncture problems with Conti�s.

Reviewed 6/17/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Krambambuli

Very good tire
by Krambambuli
Denver, CO

Easy to mount, good looking, holds up very well, mounts slightly thinner measured the 28mm as 25mm, so far 2,000 miles without any issues

Reviewed 6/18/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Stewdebiker

Fast and long-lasting
by Stewdebiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Raleigh, NC

I have nothing to add to the reviews of overall performance for the GP 5000s. I've found them to be fast and long-lasting. But they are a pain to install. I have found that the EZ Clincher makes installation a lot easier.

Reviewed 5/27/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Fast and no flatting, good grip
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham

I love these tires, have them on both my road bikes. They are fast and they don't get flats. Perfect combination.

Reviewed 6/10/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Well Made Tires That Go The Distance
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles

Have been using Grand Prix now for about 5 years. Very satisfied with performance. Well made tire. Get good mileage, which is an improvement over previously purchased Michelin Pro 4s.

Reviewed 6/10/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Germanrazor

The best.....so far
by Germanrazor
Cycling Enthusiast
Asheboro, NC
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Absolutely the best brand and model Conti has for road bikes. I have run a variation of the GP for about two decades! They should tell you something. The bad reviews for flats and sidewall issues have me perplexed a bit. I am not saying there can't be a few bad ones that get by, but I really wonder if it is a road quality issue or improperly mounted by the rider. I ride some junk roads on daily routes too, and knock on wood, no issues like I had with Michelin tires I use to run. These 5000's are truly a race tire and very durable. I even have a daily section of over a football field length of gravel to reach the black top and no issues. Go get yourself a set and those who think the tire is bad that have used them.....check what your roads are like or get them mounted professionally then reassess. If you do in fact have rough roads you may need a gravel bike instead!

Reviewed 3/19/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Serge

Bullet proof
by Serge
Tampa Florida

I�ve been riding the GP5000 for five years love the way they roll , smooth ride and when they say puncture resistance they mean it, no flats. The CONTI�S are my go too tires ,the prices are reasonable and worth it two thumbs up!

Reviewed 5/24/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mike d

Still the gold standard
by mike d
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I still haven't gone tubeless for road tires and GP5000s have been my go-to tires for years. I've occasionally tried something else only to be disappointed in durability and/or cut resistance.

Reviewed 5/9/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bill

My go-to road tires
by Bill
Holly Springs, GA

Continentals have always been my go-to for clincher tires. I�ve never had. Conti flat, ever.

They wear well, I get thousands of miles from a set.

Having praised them (which they deserve) I hate having to mount new ones onto Campagnolo wheels.

Reviewed 5/16/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Conti Fan

These are nice tires
by Conti Fan
Cycling Enthusiast
Circle Pines, MN

I have the 700x32. I have them on an old Surly Pacer (Fatties Fit Fine). It is funny that back then this was a HUGE tire. I dont have much experience on wet roads but really nice on dry roads, I am getting the same tire on me new bike (tubeless). I have not tried a lot of different tires so it is hard for me to compare to others.

Reviewed 5/6/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by LP

excellent tire - good from training to race day.
by LP
Competitive Racer
Houston TX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using these tires for training and racing, and I've had excellent results in various situations - from chip to asphalt to cement, very straight or technical courses. They feel secure in the turns, and are extremely comfortable even in long rides >100mi.

Reviewed 5/2/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Grout

Continental rolls out quality
by Grout
South Western Ontario
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

GP 5000 tires are my go to tire.

Lately my purchases are 30 and 32 mm both used for road riding.

They seem to me no different in speed vs a 25mm tire. Granted nothing to prove this.

On really poor surfaces the 32mm at lower pressure allow you to hold your speed better.

I find my rear tire wears a little faster so I buy in 3s vs by the pair.

Reviewed 4/18/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

The only tire I ride
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Greenville SC

The best tires on the market - especially for the price. I rarely get flats and just migrated up to 28 mm for my road bike. They are very comfortable.

Reviewed 5/20/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Germanrazor

Absolutely the best RT
by Germanrazor
Cycling Enthusiast
NC
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have been running Conti GP's for almost two decades and keep moving with the nomenclature progression. They are very much puncture resistant, light, very sticky for cornering, and a real value for a German made tire for pro racing standards. Unless QC goes out the window or I am given a competitor tire to try to formulate feedback, I will not vacate using this tire. I run a 700 x 25 sizing on a set of full carbon Spinergy wheels that are 32 mm deep with a Hadley Ti Racing hub. If you have not ridden these and are looking for a new manufacturer, give them a try.

Reviewed 10/18/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

The tire I love and hate
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
MD
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I am a Conti GP5000 devotee and have been for years. They get consistently great reviews, roll fast and feel very comfortable on the road. They also look great. That said, you have to have the correct wheel/tire combination for them or you will suffer as they run tight. Had to cut one off and there have been plenty where no amount of manipulation could get my tire lever under the tire bead even having the whole tire down in the center channel. These were supposed to be my tires for life but they disappointed and I've moved on. My bike shop guy who's been in business for years told me that Conti's main business is car and truck tires, not bike tires. Therefore the R&D just isn't there as opposed to a company like Vittoria which only makes bike tires. It was because of the Conti's that I bought longer vinyl coated steel tire levers because they were the only levers with which I could get the last bit of bead over the tire rim and do so without breaking the lever. Getting stuck on the road because I can't change an inner tube is unacceptable.

Reviewed 10/20/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave Wright

Sweet Spot Road Tire
by Dave Wright
Cycling Enthusiast
Upstate SC
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Continental hit the exact sweet spot with the 5000. Perfect mix of speed and flat resistance. Excellent cornering grip too. I use the 32mm size on both my road bike and gravel bike's road wheelset. Have worn out 25mm and 28mm similar Conti 4000s as well, and strongly recommend the 32mm width if your bike can take it. The lower pressure greatly & noticeably improves comfort, traction, and tread life. For the occasional fast smooth pavement ride you can pressure them up to be same or lower rolling resistance as thinner tires. I suppose their extra width adds wind resistance, but if that makes a statistically provable difference in your riding then no worries because your team mechanic is wrangling your gear anyway. My only qualification on the 5000 is that it should only see minimal gravel use. I ruined the sidewall on a rear tire one time.

Reviewed 10/9/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bryan

GP 5000 28mm
by Bryan
Brea
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

After doing the tubless scenario I went back to my roots a roll with clichers again. If you run 80+ psi. on your setup you won't be disappointed. Much better tread-life than most. 3,000+ miles is about my average before having to replace them. BTW, they Roll Fast Too!

Reviewed 3/7/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by bikingchef

The best German road tire for my German Canyon bike.
by bikingchef
Cycling Enthusiast
Del Mar, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I like how easy it mounts (slips) on to the rim. I had many other tires before and they were a pain to put on.

I even had to go see a bike shop mechanic to force other tires than the Contintal Grand Prix 5000 on the wheel.

Reviewed 10/2/2023
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page