Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black

ContinentalGrand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black (Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(26 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(23)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(88%)
(12%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
My Flats Stopped When I Got These!
by COLObiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Broomfield, CO
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

When I got my new Trek Domane, it came with 32s which I just wasn't ready to go to. I had always run Continental GP 4000S IIs - 23s or 25s, and I saw they made 28s in that tire also, so I got those. I loved the softness of the wider tire and lower air pressure, but I got 4 flats within 200 miles. All goatheads. I lost confidence in the ability of those tires to fend off a couple teeny tiny goatheads, so I went with these 4 Seasons. So far, 300 more miles on the same roads, zero flats. They are a hair stiffer, but I'll take the stronger durability. The black edition was a little splurge but does look better with my partly black bike.

Reviewed 12/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoulder season tires
by Bikes 4 Pizza
Competitive Racer
Portland

This is my second pair of these Grand Prix tires. They roll fast, come in several sizes and have fantastic flat protection. They are great for Spring and Fall conditions when the roads might be rather nasty. You might want to swap for something a bit lighter in the Summer.

Reviewed 3/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great tire at a great price!
by Tal
Cycling Enthusiast
NorCal

I cant think of anything to add to all thats been said about this tire. Its been my go-to for years.

Reviewed 3/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire
by Bill G
Cycling Enthusiast
Mass

These are awesome. No flats on my last pair that Im still using.. they also look nice..

Reviewed 2/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The tougher version of the best all around road clincher available.
by PDXKing
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR

I've used 28mm GP 4-Seasons tires for years - for winter training, commuting, touring, gravel, and on a tandem. I think of them as a tougher version of the 4000S. Great grip, durability, and puncture resistance. The black side walls on the Black Edition make 'em look a bit cooler than the old gum-wall version, too!

Reviewed 2/21/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The commuter standard or close to it.
by Doug L.
Cycling Enthusiast
Knoxville ,TN
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I ride gravel trails with the grand kids and occasionally commute on debris laden deteriorating city streets with inattentive drivers. Good side wall protection is a must and thus have avoided many opportunities for punctures. Adjust the air pressure to the terrain 40 - 55 lbs. and ride with confidence. I have not made a direct comparison with comparable Compass tires but I think they are close in speed and comfort - on sale well worth the price. Had been using 32 mm Gatorskins and these are better for all weather traction, comfort and speed. The black edition actually improves the appearance of my beater VO campeur. To sum up, A tire that does its job very well.

Reviewed 12/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far very happy with tire choice
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago suburbs

Very happy with choice of the Grand Prix 4-Season tires. The feel is good, reasonably weight, and hoping the puncture resistance lives up to expectations.

Reviewed 1/20/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Same as regular Grand Prix 4-Season only black
by GaryF
Cycling Enthusiast
CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Love these tires and the regular Grand Prix 4-Season. The last upwards of 2500 miles or more. They don't puncture often, are grippy in both dry and wet, and are reasonable comfortable. These tires are my all year tires, the only exception being when I'll use the GP 4000s during the summer months. The 25mm tires (which I love and now use only) are not overly wide, while a set of 28mm tires I purchased left little to no room in the rear brake caliper, sometimes rubbing the rear caliper or getting small pebbles jammed in there while riding. So, depending on the size you choose and your clearance, you'll need to make sure you have enough room.

Reviewed 1/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best of all worlds tire
by Short Legged Cyclist
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA

Almost as smooth and fast as the Conti GP 4000 IIs and almost as puncture resistant as a Gatorskin, a beautiful compromise that is no compromise at all in terms of durability and quality.

Reviewed 1/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
All season tire rides well in winter.
by Anonymous
Idaho

I usually ride Conti's 4000 Grand Prix in size 23 mm and purchased the Grand Prix 4 Season in 28mm for winter riding. Like the 4000 these are folding tires and are lighter than I thought. They corner well, and are more durable. I am a fan. Great success!

Reviewed 1/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Toughness and grip
by VIADOOOOM
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Came off a set of Veloflex Masters, and the difference is just as you'd expect between Italy and Germany. Italy passionate or whatever aka cool but flawed, lighter, faster, more delicate. Germany tough, thorough, engineered precision.

Great tires for the PNW. Not the fastest but so grippy and inspiring in slimy to wet conditions. Seem super tough so far also. I was gentler on the Veloflexes, pinch flats and all that, not so on the Contis. Full speed ahead on whatever comes, bunnyhop the urban campers. We have a lot of random shit and broken glass on our streets.

Reviewed 1/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best all round tire
by Jerry
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa Ca

I run these tires on all my road bikes

Reviewed 1/10/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These are strong and fast tires!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Island

I put these on my off season bike for when the roads are not in the best condition and I found them to be pleasant to ride and sense of speed and responsiveness that is not in the usual 'winter' tire...

Reviewed 1/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These tires have great traction, ride well, and look great.
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

As a daily commuter in Seattle I needed tires that could withstand lots of road debris, wet weather, and plenty of hills. These check all those boxes. I've only had them a few months, so can't really judge them on how they wear and how much puncture protection they have. So far so good though.

Reviewed 11/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simply the best all-season tire on the market!
by CDYZL
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The limited edition all-black tire will simply take the aesthetics of your bike up a notch!

Reviewed 10/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent all round tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Montpelier, VT
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these tire for general use. Some pavement. Some well maintained gravel trails. After 1500 miles they are still in excellent condition and have handled all the riding and weather conditions without flinching.

Reviewed 9/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast. Durable. Versatile. Supple. My go to tire.
by Col Flaneur
Cycling Enthusiast
Truckee, CA
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

In June I rode these tires (28mm) in the Haute Route Rockies - over 500 miles and 50,000 ft. of climbing on a mix of pavement and gravel. They were bullet proof and comfortable. No punctures, no problems. They performed flawlessly in heat, hail, rain and snow. They tracked with confidence on the descents and didn't hold me back on the endless climbs. I've also put countless training miles on these tires without a single flat. Pricey - maybe. Worth it - definitely.

Reviewed 7/28/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough Tire
by Hard Road
Cycling Enthusiast
St.louis
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Rode the Katy Trail. 250 miles of gravel. The tires look unscathed

Reviewed 7/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excelent continental tire
by Luigui
0 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Grate tire frim continantal

Reviewed 6/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire
by N V
Miami Fl
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Durable and rides comfortably. Rains a little in the summer here in Miami and this tire has very good traction in the wet plus great flat protection

Reviewed 6/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page