X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black

ContinentalGrand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black (Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(87 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(80)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(92%)
(8%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Strong tire
by MEK 4552
long island

3,500 miles, no flats. Great product. Use them until the roads are swept in the spring. Ill be putting them back on in the fall. Changing a flat in the cold isnt fun. Buy a pair.

Reviewed 8/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tire
by Joe
Nevada

I switched to this tire 3-years ago and do not regret it. They handle great and the durability is excellent. Fewer flats than any other tire I have tried.

Reviewed 8/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
my favorite rear tire
by Wally
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Illinois, SE Wisconsin

My history for rear flats is appalling. This is my latest attempt at mitigation..

It has turned out quite well. 2100 miles w no rear flats. This is very good for me and includes removing a staple from the rear tread after one ride wo a problem.

On the downside I blew out a front at 500 miles w a sidewall cut.

Now riding w Michelin Power Protection on the front (always been good on the front) and Conti 4-Season on the rear and having very good results. I do 100 mile rides (3 last week) so tire reliability is a big deal for me.

It's not scientific, but I haven't ever had better results.

Reviewed 6/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Extended mileage and resistant to flats
by Fred
Cycling Enthusiast
rocklin ca

I have been road biking for many years, completing many centuries. I get more miles out of this tire than any other I have tried. I have less flats, too. The grip is good on wet pavement and cornering is excellent. Great traction. I use the 25's.

Reviewed 6/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental Tires have served me well racing and training for 35 years
by Toby
Competitive Racer
Cincinnati, Ohio
18 of 21 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are great for training. They wear very well and handle in good and bad weather. I usually get 3 years out of a set of Continental tires. I average 12 thousand miles a year. I'm a light rider weighing between 128 and 130 lbs. The last set I went 3 years without a single flat. A lot of the roads in southwestern Ohio and Indiana are not the greatest either.

I highly recommend these tires.

Reviewed 4/19/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire with fair rolling resistance and very good puncture resistance
by JeffD0
Cycling Enthusiast
Mississippi
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've used Continental 4 Seasons for several years on my road bike (Lynskey R360). I have rarely had a flat. Are they the lowest rolling resistance tires out there, no they are not but they are stable and will take a lot of abuse. I like the black edition because it looks good on my titanium frame.

Reviewed 6/25/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire and I love the black sidewall goes perfectly with my bike.
by Durk
Cycling Enthusiast

I am a big fan of the Grand Prix 4-Season. Great all around tire.

Reviewed 6/25/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great price great tire
by Anonymous

If you like the gator skin youll love these. And they are great looking!!!!!!

Reviewed 6/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tire for tandeems.
by Silver Ghost
Cycling Enthusiast
The Villages, FL

Continental has always made great tires for tandems. The only problem I noted in the past has been with the brown colored side walls on some tire. It seems that UV light would break down the sidewall fibers causing them to break prematurely. These Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black has eliminated this problem by covering the side walls with a black rubber coating. I also find that when using the 28 and 32mm tires on regular width rims allows for a round tread profile. This offers good straight line and cornering stability.

Reviewed 6/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around tire
by Auren
napa, CA

I bought these on sale and put both on my road bike. In almost 5,000 miles I only got 2 or 3 flats Before the rear needed replacing. The front lasted a bit longer, but soon needed replacing, too. Definitely great flat protection and long wear-especially for the sale price.

Reviewed 6/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
You will not regret this tire with it's excellent grip and stopping power.
by speedsport
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene OR

I ride the roads and bike paths but I like the confidence this tire gives you to even ride off the pavement if you have to.

Reviewed 6/25/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great lighter long lasting trainingendurance tire
by Jay
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon

My main concern with tires is flats. I just don't want to deal with them. So for years I used Schwable Marathon Plus 32mm tires on my Salsa La Cruz. I use the bike for commuting into Portland (55 miles round trip) and for touring (a few tours each summer of about 300 miles each). I knew the Schwalbes were heavy but didn't care since I never got flats. That is, unless the 95 mile mark in the 2018 Oregon Gran Fondo. It turns out that the inside of the tire casing was defective and a little wire from the casing was poking into the inner tube. I suspect it wasn't an issue before because I typically ran the tires a bit low, but on the day of the Gran Fondo, I pumped them up to the max PSI. It was really a pain to fix (I had to use a worn piece of gravel to grind the frayed wire down and still ended up pumping the tire up to the minimum inflation to complete the ride). After that mess, I swore I'd switch to a folding tire.

I looked around for a folding tire with similar puncture resistance and came upon the Grand Prix 4-season. I have over 3,000 miles on them and have just reached the point where I need to replace the rear tire (trust be told I probably should have replaced it about 500 miles ago). The front will probably be good for another thousand miles or so. And so far, ZERO FLATS! As a side benefit, they are much lighter than the Schwalbes and it's very noticeable. The bike is much snappier from a standstill and much faster on the steeper (and longer) hills.

Reviewed 6/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nearly bullet proof speedster
by Tom
Des Moines

This tire is among the fastest, grippiest, and durable tire I have used.

Reviewed 6/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome
by Jeff
m

Super quality tires with incredibly long wearing

Reviewed 6/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best bike tires I have ever owned.
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Seattle, Washington

Light weight and extremely durable.

Reviewed 6/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far these are great
by FR
Daily Commuter
San Francisco, CA

I have a set of these on my Lynskey Helix, on which I've been doing an 11-mile urban commute. I have a 28 on the back, 25 on the front. So far, these have been great. They're showing minimal wear, I've had zero flats, they seem to hold pressure pretty well. They feel fine to ride on - it's true what they say about wider tires giving a smoother ride and not adding to the overall effort. They were easy to put on. Feels like I have good feel, good control, tight in the turns. Two thumbs up.

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My Flats Stopped When I Got These!
by COLObiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Broomfield, CO
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.

When I got my new Trek Domane, it came with 32s which I just wasn't ready to go to. I had always run Continental GP 4000S IIs - 23s or 25s, and I saw they made 28s in that tire also, so I got those. I loved the softness of the wider tire and lower air pressure, but I got 4 flats within 200 miles. All goatheads. I lost confidence in the ability of those tires to fend off a couple teeny tiny goatheads, so I went with these 4 Seasons. So far, 300 more miles on the same roads, zero flats. They are a hair stiffer, but I'll take the stronger durability. The black edition was a little splurge but does look better with my partly black bike.

Reviewed 12/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season
by GF of ACC
Cycling Enthusiast
Southwest Oklahoma

Great tires, very durable. Mine have lasted like iron. Only one flat in the last twelve months. Fantastic for the rough conditions and heat we deal with. Highly recommend them.

Reviewed 6/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire, great service
Daily Commuter
Sisters, Oregon

My go to road tire for here in Central Oregon

Reviewed 7/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great balance for an every day tire
by Mike C
Portland, OR
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Puncture resistance, stickiness, low wear. This has become my everyday tire.

Reviewed 11/28/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page