X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black

ContinentalGrand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black (Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(134 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(120)
(12)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(90%)
(9%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Good resilient tire
by NM Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Fe

It's a good resilient tire, good rubber, not as fast but it's a smooth ride.

Reviewed 6/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these tires
by Aaron
DULUTH
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Only tires I use. I am doing more long touring now days. Not racing or worrying about time. Nice grip, good puncture resistance and long lasting tire. Have these on 3 different bikes. Used the 4000s and Dura skins primarily before switching to these. Some slower roll with the extra grip. I did switch to 25mm wheels which helped but probably a wash on speed/resistance gain with wheel set change and adding these tires. Great tire though and no longer changing blown tubes all the time! Highly recommended.

Reviewed 5/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Huge frustration - 1 month/5 flats
by Jack
Boston
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I want to love these tires. Coming from Conti gatorskins (wirebeads), i trusted the Conti name and I love that these are lighter and much easier to install, and bonus points for looking slick. However, in month of use, I've had FIVE flats, 4 in front and 1 in back. Each one has been a pinch, totally blowing out the tube and leaving me stranded on the side of the road miles from home. I'm not new to changing tubes and I never had an issue like this before. Immensely immensely disappointed and frustrated with these tires.

Reviewed 5/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent road tire
by SATXcyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
San Antonio, TX

I log 6000 miles per year on several bikes and only use Continental tires. The GP 4 season is one of my favorites. My county does a poor job of accommodating cyclists so that riding is on county roads and shoulders that are filled with debris. The GP 4 does an excellent job of soaking up the rough pavements with minimal punctures.

Reviewed 6/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love Them
by Andy Mc2021
AZ

I have about 500 miles on my 28mm black tires and I love them. Ride comfortably and feel like they have great traction. Seem durable with good rolling resistance

Reviewed 6/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these tires
by Aaron
DULUTH
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I ride 5-10,000 miles a year. Less so now with Covid and working from home. No commuting. I have been riding mostly Gator skin duraskin or hardshell for commuting the last 10 years. Continental 4000 for road. Like most note the 4000 blew out on the sides after awhile, have a pair of 5000 which have not had the same issue but they are fairly new. Switched to the 4 seasons on my gravel bike, commuting bike and one of my road bikes. Only tire I buy now. I am not racing or going for time so a little slower roll is an acceptable pay off for me. The extra grip with these is nice on some tight down hill corners I ride in the summer along the bluffs. Love those S curves. These roll well, are a bit grippy and good puncture resistance. In town our roads suck so on my commuter and gravel bike I do add some of the Ultra-thin Tuffy tape. Not one flat in 2-3 years since I switched!! Awesome! If you want a super clean roll, speed and time are a consideration for you the 5000s are probably a better tire for you. If you want a tire with decent roll, bit of extra grip, and some decent puncture protection these are the tire for you. They last longer than my other tires too which is a bonus.

Reviewed 3/31/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellet
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA

I've used Continental tires for over 30 years on my bikes. I have very few flats and the Grand Prix 4-Season are a good tire on the road.

Reviewed 5/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Happy with these tires.
by smileyme
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, New York
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These don't feel faster than GP5000's; however it last 3x as long. Solid tires for all seasons if you're in the North Coast. I never got any flats to the roads we have here in NYC. I'm happy with Continentals and will be using them forever.

Reviewed 4/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Premium tyre for reasonable cyclists
by JeromeG
Cycling Enthusiast
Westchester, N-Y
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Good balance between performance and life-time. Of course they are plenty of cheaper tyres but you pay for quality here. on the other hand, there are more expensive tyres too, but risk of getting a flat tyre or tiny incremental performance ( on the paper) does not justify premium cost for me. I ride every week, all seasons and thus tyre fits my need. Also, i was lucky to get the all-black edition, it looks awesome on my carbon wheels.

I will definitely repurchase in few months.

Reviewed 12/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland

Love these tires. They're stiff but grip the road really well.

Reviewed 5/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Tire for the Money, and Looks to boot
by it''sjustahill
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix, AZ

These tires are the best tire you can get for road riding. They are durable and handle in all conditions. I ride in AZ where thorns are everywhere, and these stand up!

Reviewed 5/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great lighter long lasting trainingendurance tire
by Jay
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My main concern with tires is flats. I just don't want to deal with them. So for years I used Schwable Marathon Plus 32mm tires on my Salsa La Cruz. I use the bike for commuting into Portland (55 miles round trip) and for touring (a few tours each summer of about 300 miles each). I knew the Schwalbes were heavy but didn't care since I never got flats. That is, unless the 95 mile mark in the 2018 Oregon Gran Fondo. It turns out that the inside of the tire casing was defective and a little wire from the casing was poking into the inner tube. I suspect it wasn't an issue before because I typically ran the tires a bit low, but on the day of the Gran Fondo, I pumped them up to the max PSI. It was really a pain to fix (I had to use a worn piece of gravel to grind the frayed wire down and still ended up pumping the tire up to the minimum inflation to complete the ride). After that mess, I swore I'd switch to a folding tire.

I looked around for a folding tire with similar puncture resistance and came upon the Grand Prix 4-season. I have over 3,000 miles on them and have just reached the point where I need to replace the rear tire (trust be told I probably should have replaced it about 500 miles ago). The front will probably be good for another thousand miles or so. And so far, ZERO FLATS! As a side benefit, they are much lighter than the Schwalbes and it's very noticeable. The bike is much snappier from a standstill and much faster on the steeper (and longer) hills.

Reviewed 6/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Tire for Me
by Andrew R
Austin, TX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Already reviewed the 28mm. These are excellent, durable tires without the rock hard feel of Gatorskins. I rode 1000s miles over 18 months without a single puncture on very messy urban roads where multiple punctures per ride are the norm, as well as a lot of time on the turbo trainer. Rear tire finally retired due to a small sidewall gash that I booted to get home. Could've kept using it but decided to upgrade to 32mm.

32mm just give a bit more comfort with lower pressure.

All black version is slightly darker sidewall then the regular ones that have an almost imperceptible burgundy tint.

Reviewed 11/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My First Contis - Love em
by SHBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Upstate NY

I've been running these in 32mm on my trek domane 'gravel' for the last couple months and loving them. Was previously running Schwalbe G-one Allrounds 35mm (tubed), but I just wasn't riding that much real gravel, so wanted something more road-oriented and quicker but still comfortable.

I've put about 800mi on them since early October and have had no issues so far, and the tires show hardly any signs of wear (re wear, they seem to be much long-lasting than the g-ones - as a point of comparison, I wore though the rear tire tread in 1300mi on my old g-ones...). Also I'd say I'm about 0.5mph-1mph faster on avg. on these vs. the g-ones. Haven't yet tried the GP4000s or 5000s but I think those would be a bit quicker but less durable. Was hesitant at first to take these tires on dirt paths (towpaths, well maintained dirt roads) near me, but have since ridden them multiple times and felt sturdy and fast, more so than I was expecting. They also handle sections of pretty rough pavement near me well. Overall, a strong, grippy, and versatile tire, esp in 32mm (curious to try 28s in the future). And the black edition looks dope, in my opinion. Very happy with the contis so far, my first experience with the brand - would buy again.

Reviewed 11/28/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My Flats Stopped When I Got These!
by COLObiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Broomfield, CO
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.

When I got my new Trek Domane, it came with 32s which I just wasn't ready to go to. I had always run Continental GP 4000S IIs - 23s or 25s, and I saw they made 28s in that tire also, so I got those. I loved the softness of the wider tire and lower air pressure, but I got 4 flats within 200 miles. All goatheads. I lost confidence in the ability of those tires to fend off a couple teeny tiny goatheads, so I went with these 4 Seasons. So far, 300 more miles on the same roads, zero flats. They are a hair stiffer, but I'll take the stronger durability. The black edition was a little splurge but does look better with my partly black bike.

Reviewed 12/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tandem tire!
by Jeronimo
New Mexico
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Co motion Tandem carries around 350 pounds including bike weight. Replaced original conti gatorskins which flatted twice while new. Then self de-rimmed at slow speed. New 4-Seasons, both wheels trouble free. No flats since mounting. Handles well and a confident grip on scary heavy tandem decending. New Mexico varies hot to below freezing roads. Performs on tandem as expected. Worth it!

Reviewed 10/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Loud, harsh ride. Switched to Conti 5000 and 4-season showed no discernable flat prevention over 5000
by JonJ
Cycling Enthusiast
Brenham, TX
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I used these before i put Conti 5000's on my bike. Had issues with flats from other brands so gave it a try. No flats over caliche, sandstone stretches of up to 1.5 miles on my road bike -- puncture resistance was not the issue. Loud, harsher ride. Did not like the feel at all. Tried Conti 5000's when they came out, replacing these. Ride of course does not compare and traversed the same stretches of caliche and sandstone (cobbles up to 1.5") many times with no flats. With no flatting issues on some ugly road stretches, i will stick with 5000's and have a great tire for the road and the caliche cobbles.

Reviewed 9/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent in many ways
Cycling Enthusiast
Rocklin CA

After trying many other tires I finally discovered the best of 'em all. This is a durable, long lasting tire. I get thousands of miles out of these tires and very few flats. It fits the rims nicely, so it is less effort when taking them off and putting them back on. Great cornering and tracking, even on wet pavement. I ride 25's and the drag is not noticeable if there is one. My air pressure is 100 psi. My opinion is this is the best tire out there.

Reviewed 9/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reliable gravel and road tire
by Carfreeguy
Cycling Enthusiast
No Virgina
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Used this in the rear (700x32) to complete the C&O Canal and the Great Allegheny Passage trails. Rock solid performance with no flats or issues. 334 miles of gravel, mud and asphalt.

Reviewed 8/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reliable and long lasting
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Portland has some rough paved streets throughout town but these tires (the old set of the same tires) held the test of time and handing highly variable pavement conditions for more miles than I anticipated them lasting with only one flat that could not be blamed on the tire's performance. Additionally when taking them for a whirl around the area, they held tight to the road in high speed curves and cornering.

Reviewed 1/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page