X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Black Edition Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 4-Season Black Edition Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(145 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(129)
(12)
(2)
(0)
(2)
(89%)
(8%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Previous Page
Excellent in many ways
Cycling Enthusiast
Rocklin CA

After trying many other tires I finally discovered the best of 'em all. This is a durable, long lasting tire. I get thousands of miles out of these tires and very few flats. It fits the rims nicely, so it is less effort when taking them off and putting them back on. Great cornering and tracking, even on wet pavement. I ride 25's and the drag is not noticeable if there is one. My air pressure is 100 psi. My opinion is this is the best tire out there.

Reviewed 9/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reliable gravel and road tire
by Carfreeguy
Cycling Enthusiast
No Virgina
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Used this in the rear (700x32) to complete the C&O Canal and the Great Allegheny Passage trails. Rock solid performance with no flats or issues. 334 miles of gravel, mud and asphalt.

Reviewed 8/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Happy with these tires.
by smileyme
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, New York
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These don't feel faster than GP5000's; however it last 3x as long. Solid tires for all seasons if you're in the North Coast. I never got any flats to the roads we have here in NYC. I'm happy with Continentals and will be using them forever.

Reviewed 4/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
my favorite rear tire
by Wally
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Illinois, SE Wisconsin

My history for rear flats is appalling. This is my latest attempt at mitigation..

It has turned out quite well. 2100 miles w no rear flats. This is very good for me and includes removing a staple from the rear tread after one ride wo a problem.

On the downside I blew out a front at 500 miles w a sidewall cut.

Now riding w Michelin Power Protection on the front (always been good on the front) and Conti 4-Season on the rear and having very good results. I do 100 mile rides (3 last week) so tire reliability is a big deal for me.

It's not scientific, but I haven't ever had better results.

Reviewed 6/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Have used Contis for years - high qauality tires
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
23451

You get what you pay for. I like the consistent, long-lasting quality of Continental's. I hate changing flats on the road.

Reviewed 7/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Updated Review
by Andy Mc2021
AZ

After about 1200 mi threads started coming off tire and the tire developed bulges on back wheel

Reviewed 7/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Extended mileage and resistant to flats
by Fred
Cycling Enthusiast
rocklin ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been road biking for many years, completing many centuries. I get more miles out of this tire than any other I have tried. I have less flats, too. The grip is good on wet pavement and cornering is excellent. Great traction. I use the 25's.

Reviewed 6/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far these are great
by FR
Daily Commuter
San Francisco, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have a set of these on my Lynskey Helix, on which I've been doing an 11-mile urban commute. I have a 28 on the back, 25 on the front. So far, these have been great. They're showing minimal wear, I've had zero flats, they seem to hold pressure pretty well. They feel fine to ride on - it's true what they say about wider tires giving a smoother ride and not adding to the overall effort. They were easy to put on. Feels like I have good feel, good control, tight in the turns. Two thumbs up.

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good resilient tire
by NM Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Fe
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

It's a good resilient tire, good rubber, not as fast but it's a smooth ride.

Reviewed 6/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reliable and long lasting
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Portland has some rough paved streets throughout town but these tires (the old set of the same tires) held the test of time and handing highly variable pavement conditions for more miles than I anticipated them lasting with only one flat that could not be blamed on the tire's performance. Additionally when taking them for a whirl around the area, they held tight to the road in high speed curves and cornering.

Reviewed 1/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great balance for an every day tire
by Mike C
Portland, OR
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Puncture resistance, stickiness, low wear. This has become my everyday tire.

Reviewed 11/28/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for any season
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

It's a great tire in the wet and dry. I feel more confident riding with these on. It's a bit pricey and the treads seem to easily pick up little bits so you may want to double check often that nothing sharp is caught in there.

Reviewed 1/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love Them
by Andy Mc2021
AZ

I have about 500 miles on my 28mm black tires and I love them. Ride comfortably and feel like they have great traction. Seem durable with good rolling resistance

Reviewed 6/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic tires
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Faster than Gatorskins and tougher than GP4000 or GP5000. A great tire.

Reviewed 1/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A fantastic training tire!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago

I have a Canyon Ultimate SLX that came w Mavis 25c, so waited until fall to change tires. Went w a 28c on these GP4 Black edition what an upgrade! The ride quality went way up, no more bone vibrations going down the Chicago roads, and these seriously feel faster. Traction and grips on wet roads also is much, much better. Really wish I would have changed over sooner, but makes the upgrade feel even better. Strongly recommend as a daily training tire that is fast, comfortable, and gives you confidence.

Reviewed 10/13/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Compromise between ride and durability
by Mark A
Cycling Enthusiast
Princeton, NJ
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

These tires deliver the best compromise between ride quality, grip, and durability. They don't excel at any one of those aspects and that's likely the objective. Heightening one seems to take away from the other. These are good for everyday commuting or training but they definitely don't roll and ride as well as others targeted for speed or ride quality. For the money, they can't be beat. They'll survive a century ride over rural roads and last a long time. I just wish these delivered a better ride but that would mean the sidewall losing strength and puncture protection being compromised. I am going to try the 5000s and compare. Given I just used the Vittoria Corsas (zero durability but buttery smooth), that's likely the next tire I'll try to get a better ride.

Reviewed 9/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Winter Tire
by David Brown
Stevenson Ranch, CA

No flats in 500 miles! I bought the 32mm width to fit under the fenders on my Rivendell Leo Roadini. I put them on in November and have been averaging 18 miles/day.

My impression is that they are smooth riding and have low rolling resistance. Traction is good on wet or dry. (No snow here.) Quite a good bargain at the price I paid. I am very satisfied.

Reviewed 12/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellet
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA

I've used Continental tires for over 30 years on my bikes. I have very few flats and the Grand Prix 4-Season are a good tire on the road.

Reviewed 5/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tires!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle WA

Bought these tires to ride a Gran Fondo that included some gravel. The comfortable ride and added stability from these wider tires has me thinking I won't go back to the previous brand. They seem very durable but also roll well on all the paved roads I like to ride.

Reviewed 8/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great traction and puncture resistance
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Amherst, MA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Although this tire was somewhat difficult to change, the traction, wear-ability and puncture resistance make the effort worth while. The side walls are very sturdy. Wearing the tires out without a puncture was a big plus. Now on set #2 after a several thousand miles on set 1.

Reviewed 11/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page