X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(550 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(429)
(105)
(9)
(5)
(2)
(78%)
(19%)
(2%)
(1%)
(0%)
Great tires
by Colin
Daily Commuter
Toronto, Canada

I found that my 23C tires were a bit delicate and unforgiving for daily rides. These Continentals are a bit heavier, but seem durable, and are still very fast. The ride is certainly more comfortable. Very happy with this purchase

Reviewed 6/13/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tires!
by Marty
Boise, Idaho
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I HATE getting flats, so I went to 28 c Gatorskins and added an aftermarket puncture strip, extra thick tubes and sealant. I've pulled construction staples and mean-ass goatheads out of the tires and the tubes were fine. These tires laugh a such things. Overkill probably but nothing will slow you down more than a flat. I know they are a bit slower so I keep them at 110 psi, dropping to 95 psi if it's over 100 F outside. I ride a titanium bike so that smooths out the ride.

Reviewed 8/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tougher than a $2 dollar steak
by BearGnaw
Daily Commuter
portland, or

Currently it's my front tire on my daily rider. Includes an occasional by-weekly work commute of 16 miles round trip through NW industrial streets, picking up groceries and the running of random errands in the neighborhood. I've used this brand of tire for the past six years and have never had an issue. I'm not the most technical or demanding of rider, but for what I throw at it, it's rock solid.

Reviewed 5/23/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No flats and Smooth Ride
by Chilebrown
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area

This is my go-to tire. I was getting so many flats and now I do not. The tire rolls just fine and I get a lot of miles out of it. I actually prefer the wire bead because to me it is a little easier to change on a tight rim.

Reviewed 5/5/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Built Tires
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Redlands CA
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I've heard so much about these Gatorskin tires. I purchased a pair back in March of 2020. I currently have about 2000 miles on them and they are still looking great. Not much wear. I believe they are bullet proof. I Live in Southern Ca and the streets have so much glass and rocks. I have not had a flat at all. I would recommend these to all.

Reviewed 6/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid tire
by ojdurkin
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas

Easy to mount. Rides well. Cannot comment on mileage or flat resistance since the tires have been in service for only two months.

Reviewed 5/26/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
rubber comes off in chunks
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Utah

These tires are pretty good at flat protection. The problem I have with them is the rubber starts coming off in chunks when there seems to still be quite a few miles left on them. I run them at the max pressure, maybe that is the problem. I don't know. I still like them compared with other tires I have tried.

Reviewed 4/19/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good commuter or training tire
by DCF
Oak Park, Illinois

The streets in my area are full of potholes and often broken glass. These tires hold up well.

Reviewed 5/16/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Robust protection, smooth ride
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA

I switched from balding 25mm that came with my (used) bike to new 28mm Gatorskins, and although I've lost a little bit of speed, I have a much smoother ride and have much more confidence in the integrity of my tubes. No flats yet!

Reviewed 3/31/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent products
by Anonymous

Great product and fast shipping. Will purchase again.

Reviewed 5/5/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far indestructible
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Use these tires for road touring and have been through some rough roads as well forced to ride the shoulder and have not had any flat tires so far.

Reviewed 9/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around tire
by Joe
NorCal

Great tire with almost never flatting!

Reviewed 4/21/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good so far, but extremely difficult to mount on rim.
by Grab
Cycling Enthusiast
Jacksonville, Florida

Replaced worn out Conti Ultra Sport III. Rolling resistance higher than Ultra Sport. Noticed a 1 mph drop in average speed over 10 mile daily course that I ride, but I expected this. Otherwise happy with the tire so far. Seems durable and holds pressure well. Good lateral grip going around corners and cul-de-sacs.

This is the most difficult tire to mount - compared to my experience with other Continental tires previously. it took all of my patience and 30+ minutes per tire to get them on. Extremely stiff and tight tire bead.

Expensive, but time will tell if the durability enhances value. I ride 2000+ miles a year, so I won't know for a while about cost/longevity trade off. I expect it to be good.

Reviewed 7/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Rock Solid Training Tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have only put these 100miles on the tires, but they are doing well in the wet muddy winter conditions in Portland, OR. I also have to navigate around numerous homeless camps strewn with glass, needles and debris, putting these tires to the urban test. I'll check back in another couple hundred miles....

Reviewed 1/6/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tires.
by Richard Nourie
Florida

I've bought and used 4 sets and average 4-6 thousand miles a set. Although price creeping up still would buy again.

Reviewed 3/24/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gatorskins Always
by SallyB
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

The Continental Gatorskins are not only light but are extremely durable. I have been logging 1500 miles per road tire and could probably get more miles if I waited to have a flat before replacing them. Also, they seem to retain air more readily then other road tires I've tried. Gatorskins are now my tired of choice for ride comfort, and confidence.

Reviewed 1/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tire, good rolling resistance, very pleased
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Kansas

I have the tires on 2 different road bikes. Running at 90 psi. I am 190 lbs. Rise is very cool forsake. Changed from 700x23 @ 125 psi to this 700x25 @ 90. No apparent loss of performance but much more comfortable.

Reviewed 10/27/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Overall Strong Performer
by Mogg
Daily Commuter
Los Angeles, Ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Training rides, city, suburb, good roads but lots of puncture/cut material. Gatorskins roll very nicely and corner well. High pressure makes for fast acceleration. Cuts are not a problem but thorns, metal wire and other hazards will flat your Gatorskins. This is not unusual even with quality tires like those from Continental but kind of refutes Continental's claim that materials and design in Gatorskins give superior protection from flats. In nearly 1000 miles I've had 3 flats, one from a thorn and two from wire shards (like from a wire brush) that worked their way past Gatorskin's "protections'. Overall I recommend Continental Gatorskins despite my luck on the road versus any other rider's luck with road hazards.

Reviewed 10/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
In GatorSkins We Trust
by mph66
Cycling Enthusiast
South Kingstown, RI
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got these when they went on sale, and I bought more than I needed at the time because they were on sale. The purchase was vetted by years of using these tires. If I put these on my bike (I'm in the Northeast US and I get in about 4-5k miles/season) I don't get flats. Period. If I use other tires (and I did- one season) it doesn't go well. The year I didn't use CGS, I ended up with 7 flats and had to purchase two [cheap] tires. You get what you pay for. I'll be using these Gatorskins again next year. I won't use anything else.

Reviewed 9/25/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tires of Steel !
by Randy
New Port Richey, Florida
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I ride 2-3 times a week on a paved bike trail it is generally closed to traffic. I chose these tires because I need durability and reliability for long rides while training for full distance Iron Man races. Knock on wood, I have yet to have a flat tire while using these tires over the course of three Iron Man training seasons. They are a bit heavier and thicker than standard racing tires, however the durability and reliability are more important to me. Highly recommend !!

Reviewed 9/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page