Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(400 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(305)
(83)
(5)
(5)
(2)
(76%)
(21%)
(1%)
(1%)
(1%)
Great tires.
by Anonymous
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great tires. I have been using gatorskind to tour I all over the world On my single bikes in on our tandem. Its been a very reliable tire.

Reviewed 3/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
THE GATORSKIN IS THE BEST ALL-AROUND ROAD TIRE i'VE EVER RIDDEN.
by Westcountybiker
Cycling Enthusiast
West Sonoma county, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The Gatorskins seem to be exceptionally durable - I've never tried a side-by-side test with other brands, but I must say that I've had fewer flats since I started riding them - and the wear indicators are a smart feature. Aesthetically, I like the classic look of lugged steel sport-touring bikes from the 70's and 80's, so I find the round profile and brown and tan sidewalls attractive (and practical they don't show the smudges and chain lube stains that can mar the appearance of gum sidewalls .) I like the foldibility of a kevlar bead for a spare tire when traveling, but I can't detect a difference between a kevlar and wire bead in rideability, so the lower price of the latter is a fair trade-off for it's slightly higher weight. Many of my friends ride Gatorskins, and I've heard nothing but positive comments from them - they're definitely My tire of choice.

Reviewed 3/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fairly good tire ( I guess)
by Troy Phillips
Peoria , Illinois

I keep purchasing this tire even though Ive had two of them cut open . The first one was the older design. Then I purchased the new design and a piece of metal cut it open. It was a fairly large hole in the tire. So I purchased a third . This time I accidentally got the wire bead . I didnt see it advertised as wire bead when I ordered it though. Im not a racer so I guess it doesnt matter much but I bought lighter stiffer wheels and definitely noticed the difference. I still feel these are pretty durable tires road debris is hard on any tire. A piece of sharp steel cut through this last tire .

Reviewed 3/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gatorskins Always
by SallyB
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The Continental Gatorskins are not only light but are extremely durable. I have been logging 1500 miles per road tire and could probably get more miles if I waited to have a flat before replacing them. Also, they seem to retain air more readily then other road tires I've tried. Gatorskins are now my tired of choice for ride comfort, and confidence.

Reviewed 1/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love this tire, smooth riding and durable. My first set last four years with no flats.
by IKE
Casual Cyclist
Maryland

I ride everyday, no flats, no dislikes with these tires.

Reviewed 3/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tire - highly recommend
by Pdxblues
Cycling Enthusiast
Sister, OR

This is a great tire and run this on the road for daily commuting and road riding. I have seen reviews that say this tire is too hard - not my experience. It is not bullet proof but close to it. Have ridden this in some pretty extreme conditions and always been happy. What are you waiting for - buy them already!

Reviewed 3/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is a great tire.
by BryantBill
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is my second set of Gatorskins. I bought a set about five years ago, because I was having so many flats. I never had a flat in that whole five years. Before that I had flats all the time. One time I had two in one day. I'm not a racer, just a long distance pleasure rider, so I don't know much else about performance for high speed riding. All I know is that I don't like getting flats and this tire has cured that problem for me. Thank You.

Reviewed 2/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable - getting between 5500 & 7000 miles
by Rides -a -Lot
Cycling Enthusiast
Cypress, TX

I am a distance cyclist, 250 - 300 mpw12000py. These tires wear well, cut resistant and excellent for not having flats. Usually do 110 miles on Sat. Rest of the week is between 25 miles M thru F and 65 miles on Sun.

Reviewed 2/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good against flats. Terrible in wet conditions
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Virginia
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I recently took a bad fall running these tires up front. I took a simple turn I take all the time. . Conditions were wet with some winter grime. Front wheel just disappeared. These are basically slicks. I would never ride them again in wet conditions

Reviewed 1/28/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Why would you ride anything else.
by Tootallcyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
New Britain, CT
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been riding theses tires for over 6 years and will continue to do so. The fact is they do not flat. When all the people in my group scream GLASS I more or less don't flinch.

Have I ever flatted?....yes. Under inflated and a pothole pinch flat. I consider this my fault and not the tire.

If you like to ride a lot and long this is the tire for you

Reviewed 10/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good against flats. Terrible in wet conditions
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Virginia
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I recently took a bad fall running these tires up front. I took a simple turn I take all the time. . Conditions were wet with some winter grime. Front wheel just disappeared. These are basically slicks. I would never ride them again in wet conditions

Reviewed 1/28/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very reliable tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Arizona

I went to Gatorskin tires a couple of years ago, because I I'm in an area with lots of burrs and other pointy plants. In all of last year, I had just one flat (2000 miles). The peace of mind is worth the price for these tires. The only ding against them is that they're difficult to put on by hand, initially. Other than that, they suit my riding well.

Reviewed 1/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect for Touring
by Peter
Cycling Enthusiast
Maine

Obviously different tires for different types of cycling. These are perfect for cycling on surfaces such as hard packed rails to trails or The Erie Canal bike path. And they fit fine on my carbon fiber road bike.

Reviewed 7/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gatorskin
by Bill
Goose Creek, SC

The best tires I have ever purchased. Great wet weather traction & a smooth ride over poor road conditions, Thanks for the best tires on my Bike, Bill

Reviewed 7/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Only Tires for me!!!
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Niceville FL

I used to have several flats a month. I am into my second set of these tires and will use them going forward. They do weigh a little more but in a race and you have a flat!!! It is a no-brainer... i do not know when this last time I got a flat! The are the ONLY tires i will ever use!!!

Reviewed 7/28/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super long range tire
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
USA

If you want a high mileage tire that's almost impervious to flats, then you should consider this tire!

Reviewed 7/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
westernbikeworks always the best price ,fast service and no tax
by stevenlevesseur
Cycling Enthusiast
kent, washington

tires are very good for any street or paved trail.

Reviewed 6/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
virtually indestructible and impervious to all city and country roads throw at you! My last set saw 5k miles before failure and that was a wear hole!
by SFBiker
Daily Commuter
San Francisco, CA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

see review headline! No other alternative for city streets

Reviewed 6/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great service and good price
by Dennis from Mn. & Tx.
Cycling Enthusiast
Mn. & Tx.

Continental Gaterskins are a very durable tire, I have bought others and nothing has compared, believe or not I get 3 to 4 thousand miles out of rear tire and and 13 to 15 thousand out of front tire and they are not bald when I change them!!

Reviewed 12/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for the unexpected
by Anonymous

I bought a Trek Domane as my everyday ride because I ride on some dirtgravel areas and roads that are fairly rough. In the first 10 rides on the Bontrager tires I had 4 flats, one at about 30MPH. So I shopped for a tire that claimed to be tough, and I think I found it. I have ridden these about 20 times now, over the same areas, and zero flats. Very happy with them.

Reviewed 6/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page