X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(537 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(417)
(104)
(9)
(5)
(2)
(78%)
(19%)
(2%)
(1%)
(0%)
Excellent tires!
by Marty
Boise, Idaho

I HATE getting flats, so I went to 28 c Gatorskins and added an aftermarket puncture strip, extra thick tubes and sealant. I've pulled construction staples and mean-ass goatheads out of the tires and the tubes were fine. These tires laugh a such things. Overkill probably but nothing will slow you down more than a flat. I know they are a bit slower so I keep them at 110 psi, dropping to 95 psi if it's over 100 F outside. I ride a titanium bike so that smooths out the ride.

Reviewed 8/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good so far, but extremely difficult to mount on rim.
by Grab
Cycling Enthusiast
Jacksonville, Florida

Replaced worn out Conti Ultra Sport III. Rolling resistance higher than Ultra Sport. Noticed a 1 mph drop in average speed over 10 mile daily course that I ride, but I expected this. Otherwise happy with the tire so far. Seems durable and holds pressure well. Good lateral grip going around corners and cul-de-sacs.

This is the most difficult tire to mount - compared to my experience with other Continental tires previously. it took all of my patience and 30+ minutes per tire to get them on. Extremely stiff and tight tire bead.

Expensive, but time will tell if the durability enhances value. I ride 2000+ miles a year, so I won't know for a while about cost/longevity trade off. I expect it to be good.

Reviewed 7/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Built Tires
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Redlands CA
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I've heard so much about these Gatorskin tires. I purchased a pair back in March of 2020. I currently have about 2000 miles on them and they are still looking great. Not much wear. I believe they are bullet proof. I Live in Southern Ca and the streets have so much glass and rocks. I have not had a flat at all. I would recommend these to all.

Reviewed 6/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire
by as25377
Columbus, OH

Great tire, rides smooth

Reviewed 7/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far indestructible
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Use these tires for road touring and have been through some rough roads as well forced to ride the shoulder and have not had any flat tires so far.

Reviewed 9/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Overall Strong Performer
by Mogg
Daily Commuter
Los Angeles, Ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Training rides, city, suburb, good roads but lots of puncture/cut material. Gatorskins roll very nicely and corner well. High pressure makes for fast acceleration. Cuts are not a problem but thorns, metal wire and other hazards will flat your Gatorskins. This is not unusual even with quality tires like those from Continental but kind of refutes Continental's claim that materials and design in Gatorskins give superior protection from flats. In nearly 1000 miles I've had 3 flats, one from a thorn and two from wire shards (like from a wire brush) that worked their way past Gatorskin's "protections'. Overall I recommend Continental Gatorskins despite my luck on the road versus any other rider's luck with road hazards.

Reviewed 10/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable ride
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Reston, VA

I switched from 700x23 to 700x25 and am surprised and pleased with the more comfortable ride. No flats in 500 miles over gravel covered roads that caused flats with other tires.

Reviewed 7/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires,long lasting.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Walnut Creek, CA

Usually ride 90-140 miles weekly, roads, some gravel. Perform great.

Reviewed 7/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
In GatorSkins We Trust
by mph66
Cycling Enthusiast
South Kingstown, RI
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got these when they went on sale, and I bought more than I needed at the time because they were on sale. The purchase was vetted by years of using these tires. If I put these on my bike (I'm in the Northeast US and I get in about 4-5k miles/season) I don't get flats. Period. If I use other tires (and I did- one season) it doesn't go well. The year I didn't use CGS, I ended up with 7 flats and had to purchase two [cheap] tires. You get what you pay for. I'll be using these Gatorskins again next year. I won't use anything else.

Reviewed 9/25/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tires of Steel !
by Randy
New Port Richey, Florida
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I ride 2-3 times a week on a paved bike trail it is generally closed to traffic. I chose these tires because I need durability and reliability for long rides while training for full distance Iron Man races. Knock on wood, I have yet to have a flat tire while using these tires over the course of three Iron Man training seasons. They are a bit heavier and thicker than standard racing tires, however the durability and reliability are more important to me. Highly recommend !!

Reviewed 9/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bombproof!
by TDough
Cycling Enthusiast
Fairfield County, CT
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bombproof. No flats for you!!

Yes, they are hard to mount. Yes, they are a little heavy. However, you will not get flats and they ride and grip very well. I am a fan.

Reviewed 9/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Gold Standard of Cycling Tires
by mph66
Cycling Enthusiast
Rhode Island
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using these tires for years, and they never let me down. I'm over 4k miles this season, and they're still in great shape. I'm 5' 10" and 165. They grip the road well and you can count on them on turns. The only thing that might be a bit of a disadvantage is seating the wire-bead tires on my rim-brake Aksium wheels. Other than that, these tires are basically bomb-proof. I've bought other tires and have gone through ridiculous money spent on tubes. As soon as you put these on, you stop shelling out money. TCO is an important factor for me, in this regard. You pay a little more for these tires, but they'll pay off in the long run.

Reviewed 8/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These are quality tires.
by DATrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland, OH
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've used these tires for over 20 years, and it was time for another pair. Last year I bought a new bicycle that came with different tires that I tried for a few months, but this spring it was time to go back to the Gatorskins, and I'm glad that I did.

Reviewed 4/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good All Purpose Tire For Training
by YPHawaiian
Cycling Enthusiast
Kaneohe, Hawaii - Wet and muddy at times.

I used the GatorSkins on my Kestrel bicycle for training and general riding for approximately 2 months. It rides fairly smooth and prevents flats fairly well although, I've had one flat already.

Reviewed 4/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Desire comfortable tide, long range and reliability from my tire(s).
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
oregon coast and Arizona cities

Frequent long distance recreational riding and everyday city utility use.

Group recreation riding at moderate to fast speeds. General city riding on mostly paved surfaces, hard-pack and occasional gravel.

Reviewed 4/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gatorskins Always
by SallyB
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

The Continental Gatorskins are not only light but are extremely durable. I have been logging 1500 miles per road tire and could probably get more miles if I waited to have a flat before replacing them. Also, they seem to retain air more readily then other road tires I've tried. Gatorskins are now my tired of choice for ride comfort, and confidence.

Reviewed 1/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Like them
by Rocco
nj
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Tough and smooth riding. Perfect for crummy NJ roads

Reviewed 5/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tires - Long Lasting with LOW rolling Resistance
by Cycling_Gent
Cycling Enthusiast
Buda Texas
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

After 52,022 miles in 11 years this is the only tire I will ride with. Here in Texas, we have a lot of things that cause flats. Gatorskins have made my rides almost flat free.

Reviewed 3/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Long wearing easy rolling tire
by jimwbike
Cycling Enthusiast
Clearwater fl
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I am on my second set of gator skin 28's. I did 5500 mi on the first set. and I now have 4800 on the second . Showing a little wear on back. But I think I will get 6000 mi out of them. 110 lbs of air and they roll nice. I ride mostly flat straight roads and bike paths here in Florida, so tired wear mostly in the center.

Reviewed 2/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great, durable tie
by Machine
Cycling Enthusiast
Cypress, TX

I am a distance cyclist logging 300 to 400 miles per week. This tire give a comfortable ride and ease of mind knowing it is highly flat resistant.

Reviewed 5/24/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page