X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(563 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(441)
(106)
(9)
(5)
(2)
(78%)
(19%)
(2%)
(1%)
(0%)
Great wear and durability
by Anonymous

Have used Gatorskins on my hybrid and road bike with only a few flats in several years. I�ve got almost 6,000 miles only last (rear) tire

I find the wire bead 700x23 or 28 a little tough to change but that�s because I don�t need to do it very often

Reviewed 10/20/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tires for the Apocalypse
by mph66
Rhode Island

I cannot say how much I love these tires. I�ve been rolling Gatorskins for over a decade. Zero flats. Tons of mileage. Won�t buy anything else (or anywhere else).

Reviewed 10/9/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great wear and durability
by Anonymous

Have used Gatorskins on my hybrid and road bike with only a few flats in several years. I�ve got almost 6,000 miles only last (rear) tire

I find the wire bead 700x23 or 28 a little tough to change but that�s because I don�t need to do it very often

Reviewed 10/20/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tires!
by Marty
Boise, Idaho
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I HATE getting flats, so I went to 28 c Gatorskins and added an aftermarket puncture strip, extra thick tubes and sealant. I've pulled construction staples and mean-ass goatheads out of the tires and the tubes were fine. These tires laugh a such things. Overkill probably but nothing will slow you down more than a flat. I know they are a bit slower so I keep them at 110 psi, dropping to 95 psi if it's over 100 F outside. I ride a titanium bike so that smooths out the ride.

Reviewed 8/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Built Tires
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Redlands CA
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I've heard so much about these Gatorskin tires. I purchased a pair back in March of 2020. I currently have about 2000 miles on them and they are still looking great. Not much wear. I believe they are bullet proof. I Live in Southern Ca and the streets have so much glass and rocks. I have not had a flat at all. I would recommend these to all.

Reviewed 6/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great training tire
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

As older stubborn cyclist I am reluctant to move to tubeless from tubes, and really why when I run Gatorskins. For me I haven't had any punctures in 2800km with them and I travel on all kinds of surfaces. Not the fastest nor the most comfortable tire, but for me there is no better training tire.

Reviewed 8/29/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These are very reliable tires.
by Titanium Tim
Cycling Enthusiast
Eastern Washington

I use these tires in Eastern Washington. Most of our rural roads are chip seals. These tires wear better than most on chip seals. A bit heavy for racing but very reliable and durable for training.

Reviewed 8/26/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gatorskins... Can't go wrong
by Bandier
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California

Continental Gatorskins are your best bang for the buck. They aren't the cheapest but you definitely get loooong life and very good road hazard protection. They are built with a tougher interior to prevent that intrusive thorn or glass bit that may stall the ride. Yet still give an excellent road control and comfort. Two thumbs for these babies!!!

Reviewed 7/11/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Always a good value.
by timmconnelly
Cycling Enthusiast
Walla Walla, WA

I use the Gatorskin tire for road rides. The CONTINENTAL GATORSKIN 700C ROAD TIRE (WIRE BEAD) is the best tire for our county chip seals. It's durable and smooth. It's a bit heavy, but I don't care as I don't race.

Reviewed 7/11/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far indestructible
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Use these tires for road touring and have been through some rough roads as well forced to ride the shoulder and have not had any flat tires so far.

Reviewed 9/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires
by Colin
Daily Commuter
Toronto, Canada
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I found that my 23C tires were a bit delicate and unforgiving for daily rides. These Continentals are a bit heavier, but seem durable, and are still very fast. The ride is certainly more comfortable. Very happy with this purchase

Reviewed 6/13/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tires for the Apocalypse
by mph66
Rhode Island

I cannot say how much I love these tires. I�ve been rolling Gatorskins for over a decade. Zero flats. Tons of mileage. Won�t buy anything else (or anywhere else).

Reviewed 9/2/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
All Surface Tire!
by SF Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco

I have 5,000+ miles on a set of these tires any only one flat caused by piece of wire. Great for all surfaces including gravel. Definitely worth the price.

Reviewed 8/29/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tougher than a $2 dollar steak
by BearGnaw
Daily Commuter
portland, or

Currently it's my front tire on my daily rider. Includes an occasional by-weekly work commute of 16 miles round trip through NW industrial streets, picking up groceries and the running of random errands in the neighborhood. I've used this brand of tire for the past six years and have never had an issue. I'm not the most technical or demanding of rider, but for what I throw at it, it's rock solid.

Reviewed 5/23/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good so far, but extremely difficult to mount on rim.
by Grab
Cycling Enthusiast
Jacksonville, Florida

Replaced worn out Conti Ultra Sport III. Rolling resistance higher than Ultra Sport. Noticed a 1 mph drop in average speed over 10 mile daily course that I ride, but I expected this. Otherwise happy with the tire so far. Seems durable and holds pressure well. Good lateral grip going around corners and cul-de-sacs.

This is the most difficult tire to mount - compared to my experience with other Continental tires previously. it took all of my patience and 30+ minutes per tire to get them on. Extremely stiff and tight tire bead.

Expensive, but time will tell if the durability enhances value. I ride 2000+ miles a year, so I won't know for a while about cost/longevity trade off. I expect it to be good.

Reviewed 7/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome tire!
by Chazz
Santa Fe, N.M

Love the Conti Gatorskins! Since mounting on my bike no flats from goat heads or debris. They ride well and mount easily. $$ well spent!

Reviewed 8/26/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gatorskins Always
by SallyB
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

The Continental Gatorskins are not only light but are extremely durable. I have been logging 1500 miles per road tire and could probably get more miles if I waited to have a flat before replacing them. Also, they seem to retain air more readily then other road tires I've tried. Gatorskins are now my tired of choice for ride comfort, and confidence.

Reviewed 1/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No flats and Smooth Ride
by Chilebrown
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is my go-to tire. I was getting so many flats and now I do not. The tire rolls just fine and I get a lot of miles out of it. I actually prefer the wire bead because to me it is a little easier to change on a tight rim.

Reviewed 5/5/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
rubber comes off in chunks
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Utah

These tires are pretty good at flat protection. The problem I have with them is the rubber starts coming off in chunks when there seems to still be quite a few miles left on them. I run them at the max pressure, maybe that is the problem. I don't know. I still like them compared with other tires I have tried.

Reviewed 4/19/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tire
by Anonymous
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Very durable with great low rolling resistance.

Reviewed 8/8/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page