Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(181 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(150)
(30)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(83%)
(17%)
(1%)
(0%)
(0%)
Looking to prevent flats on the glass filled streets of San Francisco!
by SFDailyCommuter
Daily Commuter
San Francisco

I recently installed these tires to try and prevent flats on the glass filled streets of San Francisco. There is so much car vandalism here that there is glass everywhere! I hope to prevent some flats with these tires. Need some time to see the results!

Reviewed 6/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best flat protection I've found
by TDip
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Nevada

A great all round training or touring tire. I've got 28's on my touring bike & no flats in 18 months...

Reviewed 1/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Most durable, flat-resistant tire I have found .
by bluesky
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Ohio

We ride our tandem about 7000 miles a year mostly on road but about 20% on bike trails. Until I switched to this tire we probably averaged a puncture flat every 250 miles. In the past 3 years we have had two puncture flats. (There was a snake-bite caused by hitting a rather large stone at high speed but I don't fault the tire for that.)

Mileage has been good as well - on the order of 3000milestire.

We run 700x28 and the foldable tires can be difficult for these old hands to mount, so I try to stick to the wire beads.

Reviewed 5/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best flat resistant tire on the market.
by THE BIKE MAN
Cycling Enthusiast

This is the tire I use during my daily 38 mile ride, on my favorite road bike. You can depend on these Continentals. I've been using these tires since 2010. This is the same tire I installed on my TREK 1.1. in 2010, which was the same day I bought the bike. You can't loose with the stuff they use !

Reviewed 5/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Dare I say... no flats?
by Stacia (TriSports.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
32 of 32 customers found this review helpful.

These are durable, tougher-than-tough tires! I commute pretty carelessly over some really sketchy surfaces strewn with broken glass, gravel, bits of metal, the whole nine yards... and I have yet to get a flat with these tires after many months. That said, I hate these tires in the rain! They feel slippery and I don't have much confidence through the corners when the roads are wet. I plan to take them off and replace them with something grippier when it starts raining in the fall... but you can bet the Gator Hardshells will be back on my bike come spring.

Summer 2014 edit: I never got around to taking these tires off last winter. I got used to taking the corners a bit more carefully and the tires didn't give me too much trouble even in heavy rain. Still going strong now! I recommend these tires all the time to anyone who's sick of flats. Awesome.

Reviewed 8/16/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires!
by Stacy
Yakima, WA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is my 2nd pair of these tires and I love them. My bike mechanic highly recommended them and Im so happy to have listened to him. Durable and long lasting. Very well-made tires.

Reviewed 4/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best city commuter tires
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
New York City
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bike from Brooklyn to Manhattan and back five days a week and these tires are a must for city commuting. Used them previously in Chicago and they have speed, durability, and puncture resistance.

Reviewed 4/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It does what I needed it to do
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Chicago, IL

I commute by bicycle 40 miles a week over often rough and uneven pavement. Despite keeping my tires properly inflated, I was plagued with flats. After switching to this tire I no longer have a problem with flats.

Reviewed 3/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worth every penny!
by rickintx
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX United States
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I was hesitant about spending a lot on a tire for a long time but after trying all kinds of tires and getting sick of flats I decided to try these. Well 1800 miles later I love them! No flats so far! I ride in Houston, about 50 or more miles a day pending weather, I come across bad roads, there is all kinds of crap on these streets, cans, bottles, glass, nails, screws, rocks, wire, wood, steel, a rake, a shovel, no kidding,, anyway these tires still look new, I ride a road bike and ride pretty hard, I love the ride, the grip, all of it. I will buy these tires always from now on.. Try them you will love them!

Reviewed 11/10/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very trustworthy tire.
by Mr. B
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO

I am an Avid road biker on our hills here in Colorado, I love these tires, they have great road grip and they roll over into the turns like butter. They are virtually indestructible. I do several Mountain Century rides every year and have a great deal of confidence in the tires standing up to the stresses of rolling down Mountain Passes at 45 MPH. Recently I ran over a very sharp edged rock and put a cut in the sidewall. This was a direct hit and the cut was about 38ths of an inch wide. I folded a dollar bill and put it inside the tire, replaced the tube and I was on my way. I was concerned that under pressure the cut might start ripping. When I got home the cut had not changed at all, I credit the construction and materials.

Reviewed 2/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
THE commuter tire (for 700c)
by ORjt
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have an 11 mile (one way) commute that varies from rural to city (bike lane) routes. As you might imagine, lots of debris (rocks, glass, metal, you name it) from time to time in the bike lanes. New commuter bike this year, and on the first ride in, picked up something that cut through the rear tire. In the past, I've used Gatorskins as my go-to robust tire.

This time, went with the Hardshell, I was happy to find it in 32mm folding, and on sale. I've been riding on this for a couple of months. Tread still looks great, no signs of cutsbreakswhat not. I expect to get many, many worry-free commute miles.

One oddity - this tire must run very slightly small, my commute went from 10.7 to 10.8 miles. The 10.7 value was based on three bikes, three different tires. They were all consistent at 10.7, this tire has been consistent at giving me 10.8.

Very happy with this tire, I'll grab one for the front once I either wear out, or flat, the tire that came on the bike.

Reviewed 7/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough but nimble.
by Rick
Daily Commuter
San Francisco

These tires work for me, daily to work and back, on the streets of San Francisco. They have a good feel and aren't as fragile as other road tires I've used. Punctures are almost a thing of the past.

Reviewed 7/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bullet proof
by Anonymous

If you don't like fixing flats, this tire is for you - and me!

Reviewed 4/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The new tires allowed a fast ride
by Anonymous
Keizer, Oregon

Tires had good support and little road friction.

Reviewed 3/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Everyday great tire that will bring you home and feel good.
by PCH Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Malibu California

I switched over to Continental Gators about 7 years ago getting ready for a century ride. Fan for life. Great rolling, smooth and have taken about everything the road can dish out. Now have them on 3 road bikes and only 1 flat in more than 2800 miles. The only flat was a direct hit on a 6 jagged rock at dusk on a canyon road - cracked the sidewall but stayed on the rim. I use the wire bead for most rides, carry the folding version when I am on an extended ride.

Reviewed 12/30/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire!
by Sammy
Cycling Enthusiast
East Texas

This is my second set of this tire. Absolutely love them. My guess is 5,000 miles and NEVER a single flat. That is very hard to beat. I absolutely love these tires. Use them all year around in hot, cold, dry and wet and they are great. Excellent traction in ALL conditions.

Reviewed 10/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bullet proof
by Anonymous
Anaheim

In 17,000 mile riding with Gators I've had four flats.Two of them were dry wall screw in side,Staple T50 deflected through side wall.

Reviewed 10/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
New Brand for Me
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm Springs, CA

I am a recreational cyclist, a roadie. I live in the desert so bike tires are subject to goat head stickers which are a real nuisance. I have always used Specialized All Conditions Armadillos and had been reluctant to change because I was used to them and they always worked for me up to a point. I just replaced the Armadillos with Gatorskins and so far I am very happy. I can tell that the Gatorskins are a tough tire and they are a surprisingly comfortable and quiet ride. My cycling friends have always sworn by them and now I am also a fan. A good product....

Reviewed 9/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great commuterwinter tire
by Emac
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon Country, PWN

Not the lightest tire out there which is why I took a star off (picky, yes).

Now, for the good part I've ridden these tires for 3 winters, probably 9K miles, over gravel rough roads, dirt, mud, snow, dirty post-snow roads, etc. Unlike my summer tires which I take care of, I ignore these all winter and clean them once in the spring when I put them away for the summer - in other words, they get totally abused and no love. I run them at 70 psi (I'm 180 pounds) and have had 1 flat in three years. These are great tires, they're sticky in the rain but roll just fine when it's dry. I'm a bit surprised that people in the other reviews run them at such high pressure, for I find that they actually perform a lot better at lower pressures (like in their rating range). I'll definitely replace these with another set of Hardshells.

Reviewed 3/14/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome Tire! I'm a believer!
by 808Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Hawaii

I'm a 20 mile round trip commuter and I ride these tires at 110 psi. They are a stiff ride and super hard at first, but once you break them in (roughly 200 miles for me) they are smooth and stick to the ground. A bit on the heavy side but no flats so far, so I can live with the weight! I can ride it through anything without worry. There is evidence of cuts and punctures on both front and rear tires, but no flats to date! I'd buy these again!

Reviewed 8/12/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page