X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(194 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(163)
(30)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(84%)
(15%)
(1%)
(0%)
(0%)
Unbeatable tire
by BLT
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

About as puncture-proof as a Schwalbe Marathon at about 2/3 the weight. IMO the Conti Hardshell is the standard for flat resistance and durability. I recently replaced a Hardshell on my rear wheel. I weigh 205 and the tire lasted over 4000 miles until the wear dimples were gone. That's a rear wheel. Amazing. Flats were few and far between. The Hardshell sidewalls are far more durable than the GP 4000 with only a slight weight penalty.

Reviewed 9/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Dare I say... no flats?
by Stacia (TriSports.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
34 of 34 customers found this review helpful.

These are durable, tougher-than-tough tires! I commute pretty carelessly over some really sketchy surfaces strewn with broken glass, gravel, bits of metal, the whole nine yards... and I have yet to get a flat with these tires after many months. That said, I hate these tires in the rain! They feel slippery and I don't have much confidence through the corners when the roads are wet. I plan to take them off and replace them with something grippier when it starts raining in the fall... but you can bet the Gator Hardshells will be back on my bike come spring.

Summer 2014 edit: I never got around to taking these tires off last winter. I got used to taking the corners a bit more carefully and the tires didn't give me too much trouble even in heavy rain. Still going strong now! I recommend these tires all the time to anyone who's sick of flats. Awesome.

Reviewed 8/16/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best flat protection I've found
by TDip
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Nevada
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

A great all round training or touring tire. I've got 28's on my touring bike & no flats in 18 months...

Reviewed 1/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great tires made so well
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange City, Florida
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I ride 40-50 miles everyday. These tires last, resist all the crap in the road and give me the confidence I want so I can go ride.

Reviewed 4/12/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worth every penny!
by rickintx
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX United States
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I was hesitant about spending a lot on a tire for a long time but after trying all kinds of tires and getting sick of flats I decided to try these. Well 1800 miles later I love them! No flats so far! I ride in Houston, about 50 or more miles a day pending weather, I come across bad roads, there is all kinds of crap on these streets, cans, bottles, glass, nails, screws, rocks, wire, wood, steel, a rake, a shovel, no kidding,, anyway these tires still look new, I ride a road bike and ride pretty hard, I love the ride, the grip, all of it. I will buy these tires always from now on.. Try them you will love them!

Reviewed 11/10/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
THE commuter tire (for 700c)
by ORjt
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have an 11 mile (one way) commute that varies from rural to city (bike lane) routes. As you might imagine, lots of debris (rocks, glass, metal, you name it) from time to time in the bike lanes. New commuter bike this year, and on the first ride in, picked up something that cut through the rear tire. In the past, I've used Gatorskins as my go-to robust tire.

This time, went with the Hardshell, I was happy to find it in 32mm folding, and on sale. I've been riding on this for a couple of months. Tread still looks great, no signs of cutsbreakswhat not. I expect to get many, many worry-free commute miles.

One oddity - this tire must run very slightly small, my commute went from 10.7 to 10.8 miles. The 10.7 value was based on three bikes, three different tires. They were all consistent at 10.7, this tire has been consistent at giving me 10.8.

Very happy with this tire, I'll grab one for the front once I either wear out, or flat, the tire that came on the bike.

Reviewed 7/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best city commuter tires
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
New York City
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

IMHO the best commuter tires for city riding. Fast, great rolling, wonderful puncture resistance for the weight. 85 miles a week in Brooklyn and Manhattan on these and they're dynomite.

Reviewed 6/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Hardshell
by Robert
Nebraska

The best tires high mileage great ride I run them on a wide rim 20mm Id 32c third set

Reviewed 4/8/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough but nimble.
by Rick
Daily Commuter
San Francisco
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These tires work for me, daily to work and back, on the streets of San Francisco. They have a good feel and aren't as fragile as other road tires I've used. Punctures are almost a thing of the past.

Reviewed 7/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bullet proof
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

If you don't like fixing flats, this tire is for you - and me!

Reviewed 4/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The new tires allowed a fast ride
by Anonymous
Keizer, Oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Tires had good support and little road friction.

Reviewed 3/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gator skins
by Daniel
Capitol Hill
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I always happy to buy these tires. Theyd seem to last me 4000 miles or moe

Reviewed 2/8/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Everyday great tire that will bring you home and feel good.
by PCH Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Malibu California
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I switched over to Continental Gators about 7 years ago getting ready for a century ride. Fan for life. Great rolling, smooth and have taken about everything the road can dish out. Now have them on 3 road bikes and only 1 flat in more than 2800 miles. The only flat was a direct hit on a 6 jagged rock at dusk on a canyon road - cracked the sidewall but stayed on the rim. I use the wire bead for most rides, carry the folding version when I am on an extended ride.

Reviewed 12/30/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is my go to tire.
by dblrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Rocklin, Ca
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I ride double centuries and feel these give the best blend of speed, performance and puncture resistance. Other tires may be lighter but over longer distances when you don't want to stop to repair a flat these are by far the best.

Reviewed 12/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great reliable tires
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
West Hartford,Ct
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using gator hardshell since they were introduced to the market.

I am a large rider riding on the road and trails . I always had issues with flats once I switched to these

tires my problems with flats have been reduced.

my average annual mileage is 3000 I usually get seasons.

Reviewed 10/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No flats! ride firm oh and NO FLATS!!
by mrchrisd
Cycling Enthusiast
las vegas nv

my 2-3 times a week 22 mile ride I love these tires! No flats!

Reviewed 10/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great commuterwinter tire
by Emac
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon Country, PWN
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Not the lightest tire out there which is why I took a star off (picky, yes).

Now, for the good part I've ridden these tires for 3 winters, probably 9K miles, over gravel rough roads, dirt, mud, snow, dirty post-snow roads, etc. Unlike my summer tires which I take care of, I ignore these all winter and clean them once in the spring when I put them away for the summer - in other words, they get totally abused and no love. I run them at 70 psi (I'm 180 pounds) and have had 1 flat in three years. These are great tires, they're sticky in the rain but roll just fine when it's dry. I'm a bit surprised that people in the other reviews run them at such high pressure, for I find that they actually perform a lot better at lower pressures (like in their rating range). I'll definitely replace these with another set of Hardshells.

Reviewed 3/14/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I'm a happy camper
by GP in Scipo, IN
Scipio, IN
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I was getting flats a lot with Conti Ultra-Sports II, then I went to the 4000 with the Vectran. A little better performance but still had what I considered too many flats. Sometimes every 3-4 rides! Switched to these and it took 42 rides and 1108 miles before I finally got a flat yesterday. Much better performance. I ride at pretty much max(120) in the rear, a little softer (110) in the front. Like the traction and wear so far. Must have happened at the end of the ride as I made it home and found the flat the next day. Lucky! ( sorta!!)

Reviewed 9/21/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome Tire
by Matthew
Cycling Enthusiast
Ripley Ny
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have used Continental tires for four years now. This is the first time I purchased a hard shell. The quality seems really good on this product. I have 100 miles on it already, and it is great. I think from now on I will use hard shell. Great product.

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome Tire! I'm a believer!
by 808Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Hawaii

I'm a 20 mile round trip commuter and I ride these tires at 110 psi. They are a stiff ride and super hard at first, but once you break them in (roughly 200 miles for me) they are smooth and stick to the ground. A bit on the heavy side but no flats so far, so I can live with the weight! I can ride it through anything without worry. There is evidence of cuts and punctures on both front and rear tires, but no flats to date! I'd buy these again!

Reviewed 8/12/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page