Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Easy Tape Rim Strip

ContinentalEasy Tape Rim Strip(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(17 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(71%)
(29%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Very Good but Fiddly to Install
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Naperville, Illinois
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is a very good quality rim strip, but you have to work carefully for it to fit. The width is on the high side at 18 mm, which means it has to be installed exactly in the center of the rim or it may cover the rim tire engagement area, interfering with tire installation (at least my rim, a 700 MATRIX IsoC) . Of course you have to cover the spoke holes, or it won't work. It is very tight the last couple feet or so, and centering is difficult. What I did with the 2nd one (first one I destroyed trying to center the tape the last couple feet) was to install six plastic tire levers across the rim under the rim tape when I had the last two feet or so to finish, and scooted the rim tape to exactly the rim center line. Then I carefully removed the tire levers one at a time starting on the first installed, all the while matching the rim circumference center line with the tape center line. This worked fine The tire is inflated to 105 psi w no problems.

Reviewed 3/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental Easy Tape Rim Strip
by GLS
memphis tn
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The Continental Easy Tape Rim Strip is an awesome product. I purchased a set of Continental Cruise Contact 700c29 Inch Tire 700c x 50mm for my bike. I immediately started to have flats on the inside of my rim, I purchased this Rim strip and it instantly solved my problem. No more flats.

Reviewed 12/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
As described
by Anonymous

Easy to install. Works well with the other continental products I purchased.

Reviewed 9/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This was easy ti install.
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Hollywood, FL

The rim tape was easy to install and appeared to be well made.

Reviewed 8/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Strong, Lightweight, Easy to Install
by Flatlander
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Why get anything else? Strong as steel. Light as a feather. Lasts for years. Easy to Install.

Reviewed 4/23/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I won't be going back to tape
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I found this no harder to install than fabric tape. It won't pick up gunk or leave sticky residue. Seems more durable. No more expensive per wheel than fabric tape unless you're buying the fabric tape in 100yd quantity. What's not to like?

Reviewed 3/4/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The product says it all, easy
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Used it since I was replacing wheels, tubes and tires, no hassle to install

Reviewed 3/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tape!
by Jim
Cycling Enthusiast
New Castle PA
0 of 17 customers found this review helpful.

The tape is easy to put on the handlebars, good quality and good looks!

Reviewed 11/7/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect tape for my wheels
by TheUn
Cycling Enthusiast
Thornton, CO
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

The spoke holes on my wheels seem a bit deeper than most.

I blew out several tubes before I discovered the problem.

This tape solved the issue as was easy to install.

Just use a pencil to keep the stem hole lined up.

Reviewed 12/9/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good quality, durable, go-to rim strip.
by RTT Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Central PA
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I ride Rails to Trails 25 miles a day most days. Rim strips are easy to take for granted, bu ones that don't last or aren't uniform are a pain. These do the job well.

Reviewed 10/25/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
quality and ease of installation
by bikerchic
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago,IL
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

replaced my old fiber liners with these...no comparision...this is a much better product, installs in minutes without adhesive so if you need to reposition just lift off and recenter on rim

Reviewed 9/21/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well worth its weight in gold.
by Luke
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas, Texas
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Well to start out I am returning to cycling after about 15 years. So I did my home work. It was the ease of getting it into place that hit me right away and it almost lined it self up in the center by it self.

Reviewed 10/22/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
easy to install
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
White Rock BC
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

good replacement product

Reviewed 10/18/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very easy to install.
by Cycle63
Competitive Racer
Des Moines,Iowa
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Love that they come in two strips and not a roll. Just line up the valve stem hole and they snap easily onto the rim. I run 110 PSI and have had no problems.

Reviewed 10/13/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent quality stips
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas City, MO
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I used these on a couple of cheap Wal-mart bikes that used thin plastic for rim strips. The overall ride of the bikes were much improved.

Reviewed 8/24/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I'm glad to have bought this based on the recomendations of other reviewers.
by superpowers
Cycling Enthusiast
wisconsin
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I like to replace the rim strip on the rims of a new bike when right away. This helps to avoid unexpected problems when riding.

Reviewed 7/9/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Don't Ignore Rim Strip SAFETY
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
24 of 24 customers found this review helpful.

I've swapped out my oe tires on all my bikes and in doing so noticed the rim strip used from the factory in all but one case was poor quality. In two cases the strip had cratered and dimpled into the spoke holes to the point that tube failure was likely. Even on my mtb wheels I've had this problem and I never air those tires past 55 psi. I was very lucky, one hard bump in the road might have caused a blowout, not a good on some of the hills I ride down at full speed. Continental rim strips won't deform under high pressure, I use it on all my bikes now. Cheap insurance and piece of mind, check the condition of your rims strips whenever you change out tires and tubes.

Reviewed 7/25/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.