X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Challenge Gravel Grinder Race Tire

ChallengeGravel Grinder Race Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(57 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(44)
(7)
(4)
(1)
(1)
(77%)
(12%)
(7%)
(2%)
(2%)
Not for hookless rims
by Nick H
Competitive Racer
Southern California
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Hard to review these tires as they looked just the ticket for me, I was looking for a light, fast hard pack tire. Unfortunately I was about to mount them and on the sidewall in barely visible writing it says not for hookless rims. As I have hookless rims I had to return them. This was not stated on the website description or anywhere I could see. Why manufacturers hide this kind of information is beyond me, continental were the same with their road tires for a while too. Disappointing. Buyer beware.

Reviewed 10/10/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Description is incorrect. There's no puncture protection.
by Anonymous
2 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

So to start these tires are not described correctly on this website. There is no double puncture protection and the max psi is 53 not 80. The sidewalls are extraordinarily weak or I got a defective product.

Literally day one of riding on roads the sidewall got a puncture that can't even be seen by eye, and rendered the tires worthless since you can't really plug a sidewall. It's a shame that the tires are terrible and that I was misled by the description. Avoid at all costs.

Reviewed 9/23/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable, grippy gravel tire for SoCal conditions
by JB
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use these tires set up with Vittoria Gravel Inserts and Orange endurance sealant - set up was easy, they hold pressure and do not leak sealant with this set up. On 24mm internal rims, these tires measure 47mm width and have a high volume with low weight. I can run lower pressures which makes for a grippy and comfortable set-up. They seem to roll as fast on the road as my previous WTB Byway 40mm (which were more like 38mm). In short, it seems like all upside: lightweight (especially compared to other tires in the *actual* size of 47mm), fast rolling, grippy, comfortable!

Reviewed 3/14/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Gravel Tires
by Addison
Pendleton

These are exactly what I was looking for. Great for my gravel bike.

Reviewed 9/26/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent budget tires
by Anonymous
Central Indiana
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I've got a few hundred miles on these tires now-a pretty even mix of good aged chip & seal, fresh loose chip & seal, crappy patched and potholed chip & seal, and plush marble-sized river-rock gravel. I don't notice any real rolling resistance on pavement, and they stick like Velcro even in the really deep gravel. I haven't climbed much, but the bit of climbing I've done was fine and more importantly I had full control on the descent. I am running them with tubes at 55ish psi, haven't had any flats (punctures aren't likely here, no thorns or sharp rocks) and they do a pretty good job at smoothing out all but the worst bone-shakers. I'd definitely recommend these as a good all-around tire.

Reviewed 8/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent all round gravel tire!
by MK
Cycling Enthusiast
Western Massachusetts
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This is my third set of these tires, I love them.

The first set were 33s, now I'm using the 38s. They are setup tubeless with Stan's Grail rims running at 40 psi rear, 38 psi front on a Trek Crocket (I'm about 170lbs).

I ride New England gravel roads, double track, cinder trails and single track and find the tires plenty grippy in all but the wettest conditions and tough enough for the bony single track sections. The tires have a supple ride feel and roll very well on those necessary paved sections that get to the next dirt segment.

Reviewed 10/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Gravel Tire
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Spokane, WA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

In the Spokane area, the gravel routes are usually unpaved county roads and summer roads between fields. They can be loose dusty sand or washboards with gravel used for chip seal (without the oil seal), packed out mud, or just plain mud, all within a few miles. Throw in consistent and persistent 10-14 percent grades and you'll have your work cut out for you. These tires and their file like tread perform great in all of the conditions. I've even used them on some CX before fitting a narrower CX tires. I weight about 200 pounds and ride this around 45 psi (38mm) back and a few pounds lower in the front. Had one puncture, through the tread, that didn't seal up great, but that was no fault of the tire. Big holes are big holes. They also roll great on the tarmac.

Reviewed 10/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Terrible problems with Punctures, Flats, Tears.
by Matt B.
Daily Commuter
Boise, ID
4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Of all the Gravel Tires I've tried, these are hands-down the worst for punctures. I had punctures in the sidewall right out of the box. B.T.D. graciously replaced that. I bumped up one star because I had no problems setting them up for tubeless... but I had sealant spraying out of both tires the first time I rode on gravel, so tubes in them after that. Even running tubes with sealant, I averaged approximately 1 puncture per 5 miles of gravel. By 250 miles, (6 tubes, 15 CO2s) inspecting the center track of the tire shows numerous small cuts. I have /never/ had this issue on other gravel tires. The Sidewalls are thin and supple and vulnerable to cuts. The Center track has small nubs, low rolling resistance and is vulnerable to cuts and punctures. The side knobs provide decent traction cornering, as long as that sidewall doesn't get cut. I don't know what they were thinking, but by me gravel is made of rocks which frequently have sharp points or edges. I /never/ rode these tires "off road" and rode 90% on smooth pavement.

Reviewed 8/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Go To Gravel Tire
by Kahola Kahuna
Cycling Enthusiast
Flint Hills KS
23 of 25 customers found this review helpful.

I live in Kansas and am from Emporia, the heart of Dirty Kanza and Flint Hills territory. I have used these tires thru 3 Dirty Kanzas, 2 Almanzos, 1 epic fail at Landrun(mud and weather, tires were fine) and countless other rides and races through Flint Hills Gravel. Two flats, both were pinch flats and totally my fault for running too low of pressure under my 190 lbs. About 53-55 PSI rear and 48 PSI front seems to keep me out of pinch flat trouble even in the Flint Hills Gravel. Rolling resistance is minimal on hard pack, yet traction remains great in the loose stuff. They do tend to wear a little fast, but at the price and weight well worth it. As a side note, on the two flats I did have, they go on and off the rims using no levers for a quick change under the stress of race conditions. In gravel cycling the tire of the moment always seems be in every conversation, but I have found no need to experiment or go tubeless with these tires around and will continue to run the Gravel Grinders.

Reviewed 5/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worked well for me
by TK
Ohio
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Got these for my CX bike and a gravel race. Running them with latex tubes. Race had some single track with hills and some mud. Surprised how well the gripped. Have now been running them on pavement and see that my average speed is not much slower than on my road bike. No flats. Very pleased.

Reviewed 1/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lives up to it's name admirably!
by Bnystrom
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashua, NH
22 of 22 customers found this review helpful.

I needed tires for a dirt road event in Vermont and after reading a lot of reviews, I settled on the Gravel Grinders. I wanted something wide, with reasonable rolling resistance on paved roads and hard-packed dirt, but aggressive edge lugs for cornering in looser conditions. This tire has all of that and excellent durability, too. I couldn't be happier with their performance.

FYI, at 174, I ran these at 50/55, frontrear and that was perfect on a hard-packed course. My 110 girlfriend ran them at 30/35.

Reviewed 10/4/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good traction, comfortable on road and gravel, problems with punctures
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise ID
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have the MTB on the dirt so the gravel bike actually spends much more time on the road. Road performance is nice -- the mostly flat central tread is quiet and doesn't rob your speed on the pavement. Cornering on gravel and hardpack is great thanks to the corner knobs. 5 stars so far. But the few stretches of gravel I've had them on invariably ended in punctures -- I am now running tubes in both front and back. The pair of tires currently has about 150 miles on them, with less than 5 miles gravel, and I've had punctures in each. For a tire /named/ the "Gravel Grinder" I can't help but be dissatisfied.

My search for the "perfect" tire for my gravel bike continues.

Reviewed 11/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Go-to adventure tire
by deebiker
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This tire is my go-to tire from May-mid September. I opted for the Gravel Grinder after realizing that a 40mm MSO just didn't fit right in my bike. Sacrificed 2mm of width, but gained a hell of a lot of acceleration and versatility of use. Really like that I can use this tire for the early-season races and it's super-puncture protective.

Also, even though it's not technically a tubeless tire, it hooks up like a dream on both my Stan's NoTubes wheels and my DT Swiss rims on my Asylum Meuse.

Reviewed 10/13/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Out of the saddle in loosey goosey gravel...no problem
by PDX teacher biker
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

I just put these tires on my CX bike to get some rides in before the Oregon Stampede (130 miles, 70% GRAVEL). I am a 5'3 woman so I was reluctant to put this big of a tire on my bike for fear I would think it was too slow when not riding gravel. The tires feel fine on the road but they really do shine in gravel. After riding for a few hours in Forest Park (Portland, OR, gravel roads are fire roads) I was most impressed with how I was able to get out of the saddle and accelerate in gravel, especially up steep uphill grades, without that sinking in or spin out feeling at all. The tire also feels very secure through corners (even if one has to brake through the corner to avoid a dog that should be on a leash). On pavement, the tires feel faster than traditional cross tires. If I do any early season CX racing in dry conditions I would even consider leaving these tires on for racing.

Reviewed 8/25/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfection for commuter-training or Outright Gravel Road Racing!!
by Chicago J
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago IL
18 of 21 customers found this review helpful.

Prior to this I have been racing on Challenges high end open tubular Grifo XS in 33mm and soon its high end open tubular Gravel Grinder in 700x36mm tire. For training and commuting I do not want to burn through [$] high end tires when I can burn through the same tread for less than half the money and have an even tougher casing than the open tubular design saving them for race day! For training I have been riding every type of nail file tread pattern I could buy, My favorite up until this tire was released was in this order, Clement Las 33mm (actually a 36mm)for fast gravel country roads and finer gravel, or for rougher gravel Clement USH 35mm, Vittoria Pro XN 32mm(actually 30mm), Schwalbe Sammy Slick 35mm (actually a 31mm), and for rougher gravel and dirt Kenda Happy Mediums in 35mm or 40mm (both slightly undersized as well. I hope that Challenge continue to make Vulcanized Versions of its already top OT tires like The Grifo Pro now, as I wish they would make a Grifo XS 32mm vulcanized soon for my wife as this is her favorite tire! Do your self a favor and get this tire, it is the best!

Reviewed 7/18/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent gravel tire for all conditions
by Jeff M
westchester, NY
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This tire is outstanding in its ability to provide reliable traction on loose gravel, hard pack, single track and pretty much anything you throw at it while somehow feeling road race tire fast and supple on pavement. It�s been literally perfect for everything I do on it. I highly recommend this for anyone seeking a gravel/cyclocross tire you never need question or think about. I don�t even bother changing it when taking the gravel bike on a road ride as it rolls fast. A great choice after many disappointments prior.

Reviewed 9/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Tire
by Anonymous
norcal

These tires are a good choice. They set up easily. I have used them for a few dry CX races and run them at low pressure and they perform well. They are also nice on a graveldirtpavement ride at a higher pressure of 35-40 psi. They roll well and have good cornering qualities. I have over 500 miles on them and they are wearing ok.

Reviewed 1/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good pavementgravel tires
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Enterprise, OR
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

After riding with these tires for a few weeks I am quite pleased. I ride probably 75% pavement and 25% gravel and appreciate the fast rolling qualities of this tire with ability to ride at a variety of pressures depending on conditions. So far so good!

Reviewed 10/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My go to gravel tire for 4 years
by Dick Dastardly
Cycling Enthusiast
NEMO
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using this tire since 2016 in the DK 200, Almanzo 100 (twice), Cuban Gravel Crisis and the Tour of Hermann Gravel Challenge to name a few. I finally went tubeless and ordered the TCS this time.

Reviewed 11/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable, versatile tire for all season use
by runningisfree
Cycling Enthusiast
Wayne, PA
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I use on my cross frame which doubles as a commuter. I pump up tire to 65 psi and it gives a comfortable ride.

Reviewed 7/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page