X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Castelli Mens Evoluzione 2 Bib Shorts

CastelliMen's Evoluzione 2 Bib Shorts(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(19 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(5)
(7)
(4)
(2)
(1)
(26%)
(37%)
(21%)
(11%)
(5%)
Great way to step into Castelli and up your bibs game
by Chan
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati, OH

Castelli represents one of the premium bib/jersey brands on this site and the higher pricing in this case translates to better materials and more focus on performance-fit, aero and temp/moisture management benefits. You don't pick this brand to go longer-you pick them because when you are working on the bike, you don't want the distraction of discomfort whether that's in a 30 minute crit or a double metric century.

These specific bibs are a great way to introduce Castelli into the wardrobe, and since Castelli fit is generally more snug than other brands, a less expensive way to figure the sizing out. The brand is definitely race fit, which means for athletic builds they will feel comfortably compressive, but for less athletic body types this translates to tight and you'd either have to upsize for a bit looser fit giving up some of the benefits.

The main difference between this bib and their higher end offerings is the chamois. Highly personal preference, but I find the chamois very good, no friction or discomfort, and have zero issues on base mile rides of 2-4 hours. While I'm sure they'd be fine for all-day rides, I'd generally go for something a little beefier down under.

Reviewed 5/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
bot my second pair after a one year ride. Love them
by CJ
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO

The bibs are very comfortable than the norm. Especially when I consistently ride between 3 1/2 to 5 hour.

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
GOOD PRODUCT
by oletabiker
Cycling Enthusiast
S Florida

My 1st pair of Castelli bibs, nicely made, good material, great fit, and compression, and the chamois is not too bulky, I'd say just right! the logos are rubberized, and will probably peel off after a few washes. Overall a great value on a well made piece of gear

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Value, With One Fit Issue
by WVrunner
Cycling Enthusiast
Vienna, WV

Spotted this at a pretty good price, and like others, guessed wrong on the size. Made a swap for one size larger to fit my hips and quads (5'9 and 140 lbs, wound up with a large). It's a good fit with excellent overall muscle support....EXCEPT for the verrrry small area where my male parts are supposed to go. I'm not singing soprano but this might be a real problem on longer rides.

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
GOOD PRODUCT
by oletabiker
Cycling Enthusiast
S Florida

My 1st pair of Castelli bibs, nicely made, good material, great fit, and compression, and the chamois is not too bulky, I'd say just right! the logos are rubberized, and will probably peel off after a few washes. Overall a great value on a well made piece of gear

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The size are little small for the size but will do. Always go next size on Castelli stuff.
by Ray
Tacoma

A little tight and small for its size.

Your service always the best.

Cheers

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Irritating chamois for longer distances
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Houston, TX

At $50, these are certainly serviceable for a weekend warrior or the occasional short ride. I owned these for a few months and used them a few times a week as backup bibs, usually on 1 hr. rides, and they worked just fine. My main bibs became threadbare right around the time quarantine hit, so these became my go-to bibs. As I took longer rides, I noticed a substantial amount if irritation around the seams of the chamois. I initially thought this may be related to nothing more than longer days in the saddle, but as soon as I switched back to (another pair) of my standard go-to bibs, the irritation subsided. I now only use them for short rides or quick indoor sessions.

Also, as noted in the description, these definitely run a bit small, so consider purchasing a size larger than usual.

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The size are little small for the size but will do. Always go next size on Castelli stuff.
by Ray
Tacoma

A little tight and small for its size.

Your service is always the best.

Cheers

Reviewed 5/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorely disappointed
by SacramentoSlogger
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA

I'm much more of the type of person to relish submitting a raving review of approval (cough, POC Octal!, cough), but this time, nope!

When people say Castelli sizes their stuff smaller than average they ain't kidding!. I should have returned these things the first time I squeezed into them, but figured who wants pre-owned bibs? Then, trying to make the best of it, I rode in them ... one time ... 32 painful miles, only to feel like a vice grip was doing its worst to my tender bits. When I got home, I made good on my promise to myself and ceremoniously tossed them (and my money, goodbye).

There may, MAY have been redeeming value to these things if I had gotten one or two sizes larger, but who'd figure a guy who's 5' 8 and isn't morbidly obese would need a size XXL?

Sorry Castelli, I've liked some of your other stuff, but this one was a giant fail in my book.

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A solid entry bib.
by Pads
Warren, Mi

With every Castelli bib apparel, it runs small. Size up unless you really like it snug. The padding was comfortable but stiff in my opinion. Otherwise for the price its a good deal.

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Much too Small.
by force10
Cycling Enthusiast
Lehigh, Valley, PA

I wasn't able to wear them. I am normally LXL size. Ordered XL and couldn't get them on. Returned for the next size larger but was given a refund instead.

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bibs!
by Steve
Alaska

The chamois on these bibs is the best out there. The seams are very smooth.

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent bibshort for the money
by JB
Competitive Racer
Tucson Az

The Good, Sale Price $49.99, Got the bibs, threw them in the wash then took them for a 3 hour ride. Chamois is great, good size and padding, no issues at all the whole ride. Material is top notch with plenty of support and compression, not super thin nor to thick. All day comfort with these. The straps are nice and have good stitching on both sides all the way around, they should outlast the shorts. Styling, they're Castelli, very nice! The Bad. The sizing is definitely on the small side, I'm 5'7 I range from 155 racing to 170 off season, typically I can get away with most mediums, I ordered these in large because I know Castelli runs small, these were no exception. Currently I'm 170, These in large, on me are as tight as I would want any bibshort, also the straps are on the short side as I do not have a unusually long torso for being 5'7, most other larges the straps are to long but I have to buy to get the rest of the fit. Next, the leg band is nice with some silicon gripping in them but the band width is only 34 wide with extra stitching which causes a little too much compression right at the bottom of the legs. Yes, the length is a tad short but for 5'7 legs they work for me as I don't like them too long. As you get into the higher end bibshorts they've done away with this. Overall FOR THE MONEY at the sale price of $ I'll buy another pair for those short andor shitty day rides! I've been cycling for 30 plus years and don't think I've ever purchased a better pair for the $

Reviewed 3/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality bib but short
by EL
Competitive Racer
CO

Really like the quality and comfort. However, the legs are short and ride up. I may try another brand for a better length. Like so many have said this stuff fits tight so go up size.

Reviewed 3/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very Nice fit
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Central California
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Quality Castelli! I like the high rise in the front of the bibs (ride to drink more beer!), not the current low cut bib style. Medium size was spot on, 3-4-5 hour rides are fine in 100 degree temps. Time will tell if they will last more than a season with a nice rotation of my other bibs.

Reviewed 8/14/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great chamois. Odd sizing.
by Clyde Hohn
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland OH
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I ride 4 times a week with the club, 3short days and 50-70 miles on Sunday. The chamois never feels soaked. Best shorts Ive had for hot weather butt comfort. Im 61, 155, and wear a large. I know that now, after having bought a bunch of these. The new model has a sturdier bib section, and it seems to be no hotter than the old, cheese cloth mesh top. These shorts wear out first in the butt cleavage zone. They go into see through mode before they get baggy, or show other wear.

Reviewed 6/28/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fair
by Anonymous
6 of 13 customers found this review helpful.

Way too tight. I normally wear large shorts. 190 lbs, 5'10. I went up to 2X after returning XL. Still like a cheap hotel.... you know the punchline. Made for the skinny youngsters.

Reviewed 9/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bibs
by Ryan WWWZ
Portland
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I thought they might be a bit too tight when I tried them on. After my first ride I was sold! Fit is great, they stay quite cool, and the chamois is a delight. The logo on the thigh is wearing off as is one of the reflector hits. A bummer but still great bibs!

Reviewed 8/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very nice product, already used for couple of rides and very comfortable and nice.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Redmond WA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

It is a great product, I would glad to suggest to other who are looking for mid range biking shorts.

Reviewed 5/15/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.