CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Castelli Mens Estremo Glove

CastelliMen's Estremo Glove(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(82 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(53)
(21)
(6)
(1)
(1)
(65%)
(26%)
(7%)
(1%)
(1%)
Previous Page

User submitted reviews

Review by nhmtnbkr

Excellent winter gloves
by nhmtnbkr
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashua, NH
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these for mountain biking without a lot of expectations and was quite pleasantly surprised overall. Fit is excellent and these are considerably warmer than I thought they'd be, figuring they'd be warm enough for the 30's at best. These have kept my fingers warm down below 20 degrees, which is saying something, because my fingers run cold after getting frostbite while mountaineering some 20 years ago.

About the only thing these could be said to suffer from is a lack of padding for mountain biking, so you'll feel your bars and vibration after a long ride, since the one palm pad isn't sufficient for shock damping.

Reviewed 1/31/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Michael

Well made, moderate warmth for those with cold hands
by Michael
Cycling Enthusiast
Maine coast

My hands run cold, not Reynauds, but colder than average. These well made and comfortable gloves are excellent for cycling down to about 45F, and to 25F for running. I'm not so sure there is really an acceptable option for me in a full fingered glove to the mid 20's for cycling other than heated gloves. Reading between the lines of numerous reviews for many a warm winter glove, I sense none of them are really suitable for cycling below freezing if your hands tend to run cold. I'll wear shorts and short sleeves if it's 55-60, but opt for light full fingered gloves as the first warm layer to consider.

Reviewed 1/13/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Pedro

Antidote to early spring or late fall sub 40degree frostbitten fingers
by Pedro
Competitive Racer
Truckee, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Even with modest bulk, the Castelli Estremo glove is easy to grip handlebars, brake hoods or push shifters. These gloves are a superb and uber effective choice to keep cold-prone hands/fingers toasty warm even on the chilliest rides, road, gravel or mountain. So very happy to have them in my cold weather cycling clothing arsenal!

Reviewed 4/21/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mark Nardone

Warm without bulk
by Mark Nardone
Boston, Ma
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Super cold days I use Pogies, but as the temps get above freezing I move to my lobsters and now these Extremo gloves.

Nice and warm, found my hands overheating at times above 40F.

My one negative is that when hands are moist the inner liner can displace from the fingers when you remove them. It can take some tugging and wiggling to get the hand back in, not something you want to be doing while pedaling.

Reviewed 3/31/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Doug

Warm and Dry Fingers!
by Doug
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham, WA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Just purchased my second pair. Fingers usually stay warm and dry. I order a size or two larger than expected, which is typical for Castelli sizing in most of their gear. These are excellent all-winter riding gloves. They sop of winter nose drips well, too. Material around outside fingers starting to wear after third season of heavy use but this hasn't affected their use.

Reviewed 3/24/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bamicus

Very Good
by Bamicus
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville, Tn.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These are great gloves, and very well made like most Castelli products. Good for me down to 40, then I use silk glove liners inside. Good for working levers for a large insulated glove. Great at keeping wind out.

Reviewed 2/10/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by NJR2

These gloves keep your hands warm in the NJ winter
by NJR2
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These are the best winter gloves I've worn. I had them for several 3+ hr gravel rides in low to mid 30's F. My fingers were warm and dry throughout the rides. They provide secure grip on the handlebar. They are not too thick, I had no issue with shifting gears or braking. Also they are easy to take on and off. Highly recommend.

Reviewed 12/30/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Troy

Warm but bulky
by Troy
Bellingham

Great warm gloves but just a bit bulky when trying to unzip my jacket otherwise very nice

Reviewed 1/26/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve

These are great!
by Steve
Daily Commuter
Murrieta,Ca.
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I live in Southern California and some Fall mornings are quite cold. I bought these hoping to keep my hands warm in the 30 degree morning rides. I am pleasantly surprised!

Reviewed 1/6/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jim M

Excellent Winter road or gravel glove
by Jim M
Harrisburg, PA

Not too bulky and allows easy mechanical and Di2 shifting.

Reviewed 1/5/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jon

Good cool weather gloves
by Jon
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville, TN
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Great wrist coverage and pretty good fit for me. They are tight on the end of my thumbs, but so are all my gloves and mittens. My thumb tips get cold pretty much no matter what. I've used these with temps as low as 30F and am satisfied with them. Little grippy features on the palm side is nice and reflective accents, too.

Reviewed 2/9/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Sean

Luxurious winter gloves
by Sean
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These were a Christmas gift from my kids this year. They were a very welcome upgrade from my previous winter gloves, the Castelli Chiros. The Chiros still serve me well from 40 - 50ish degrees, but the Estremos have been a necessary addition when the temp drops below 40. They are super comfortable. Great feel. Cozy warm. Perfect fit. I can't yet vouch for how water proof they are on extended rides in a steady rain. Still, my hands have been dry and warm in light, intermittent rain with temps around 40. In dry weather, I've used them down to 30 degrees. I wouldn't say my hands were toasty, but I was comfortable enough.

Reviewed 2/9/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Better Than Most
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

While I don't believe anyone will ever create the perfect winter glove, these have proved to be better than many in my arsenal. I have worn these comfortably down to the freezing mark, below that I would add a wool liner or switch to a lobster claw. Above 45F (7C) I would go with something lighter. These feel solid and well-made and the long cuffs prevent gaps and help keep the cold out.

Reviewed 2/8/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by year around rider

cold weather gloves
by year around rider
Daily Commuter
Spokane Wa.
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Spokane weather a good test and the gloves worked great

Reviewed 1/23/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dewey

warmest functional pair of gloves i've ever bought
by Dewey
Cycling Enthusiast
Peoria, ill
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I wear the gloves in extremely frigid temperatures to work out in outside and also when riding my bicycle in freezing conditions.

Reviewed 1/26/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Fairly warm gloves and good wind blockage.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Albuquerque
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Good gloves. The velcro tab is a little hard to manipulate with the gloves on.

In extreme cold you might need to put on some thin liners in addition to these gloves.

In respect to appearance, these gloves look nice and of excellent quality.

Reviewed 1/23/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

They're okay.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These are marketed as very warm gloves on the coldest rides. I think Castelli needs to clarify what they interpret by the coldest rides. If you are talking about 40 degree temps these work okay. If you are talking about anything colder, recommend you look elsewhere. They are well made, but not overly warm.

Reviewed 1/19/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Larryn

Nice gloves
by Larryn
Cycling Enthusiast
Manchester NH
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

They keep my hands warm still some tingle at end of fingers. Have used them in the 20's they did okay. Today temp was in the low 30's and they kept my hands warm. They are better then PI lobster gloves. I also own Planet Bike Borealis lobster gloves and they keep my hands warm.

Have on order from Dicks store a pair of Seirus Heatwave Liner gloves. Still looking for the perfect glove.

Reviewed 1/16/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jon

Warm and cover the wrists very well, but the right thumb is short - weird.
by Jon
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville, TN
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The early morning temps on my commutes the past two weeks have been in the twenties and even in the teens. Nothing keeps my numbs . . . I mean my thumbs warm. However, these are really nice gloves. Wrist coverage can be a problem for my long arms in riding position, but these provide enough coverage. I like everything about them except that the right thumb is annoyingly short and I feel like the web between thumb and forefinger is restricted therefore when reaching for the brake. It's an annoyance I'll probably tolerate until they wear out.

Reviewed 1/7/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Brian

Extra-toasty!
by Brian
Cycling Enthusiast
Portlandia
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I'm super-impressed by these gloves. They have not only kept my hands warm on rides around the freezing level, but literally sweating. Even when my toes have been numb, my fingers are toasty. I don't think you'd want to ride in them much above 45 or 50, but for those cold rides, they are perfect. As others have said, order a size or two above what you think I have average to small hands, and large fits pretty snugly. I was worried at first about the tight fit and heat loss, but that has NOT been a problem. The fingers are a little bulky, but if want to be warm, it's a small price to pay. Hugely recommend!

Reviewed 1/6/2017
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page