CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Castelli Mens Estremo Glove

CastelliMen's Estremo Glove(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(82 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(53)
(21)
(6)
(1)
(1)
(65%)
(26%)
(7%)
(1%)
(1%)

User submitted reviews

Review by B''ham Biker

Not too good for temps below 32 degrees
by B''ham Biker
Bellingham
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Had these gloves about a year or even 2. Seldom needed to use until this winter. Mostly don't ride when it's below 32 degrees, but this winter it stayed dry and cold with no icy spots on the roads, so I broke out these gloves and my hands got extremely cold after riding about 15 miles! After the temperature got above 32 they seemed to work as advertised (for me anyway). I reviewed them before just after purchasing them, but hadn't really tested in colder weather.

Seem to be not up to usual Castelli standards sorry to say.

Reviewed 1/25/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Buy em
by Anonymous

For cold weather, none better

Reviewed 4/18/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JoeyG

Great for Freezing-ish Temps
by JoeyG
Daily Commuter
Chicago, IL

I was looking for a glove warmer than my lighter-weight pair and not as warm as my extremely warm lobster pair, and this fit the bill. Plenty warm for the 30s [in fact, almost too warm for upper 30s], maybe down into the upper 20s, but allowing for good dexterity. The cuff seems overly long, but it makes for easier velcro fastening and unfastening.

Reviewed 2/1/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Sam

Adequate protection to mid-40s
by Sam
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington State

I've been biking in the high-30s to low-40s with the gloves and my fingers are cold. Temperatures above mid-40s provide adequate warmth. As advertised, they are water resistant but not waterproof.

Reviewed 1/5/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jim

Awesome Winter Riding Gloves!!!!
by Jim
Competitive Racer
Wisconsin
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I commute daily to work and do training rides on the weekends. I have used these from the high 30's to -10 degrees and they are awesome! These are the best winter cycling gloves that I have owned. I don't know how they did it, but these gloves are able to pass the moisture from sweating without losing too much warmth. If they are still kind of wet from a ride, they are dry in about 4 hours.

Reviewed 4/6/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ChrisInPDX

Excellent in cold and wet
by ChrisInPDX
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR, US
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These are now my go to gloves for temps below about 40 F. Good with cold and wind. They do a pretty good job on wet as well, but a real soaking rain will definitely soak into them. That being said, I totally did NOT want to spend this much on biking gloves because it seemed really pricey, but I have no regrets after. I also felt they looked bulky and I would have issues with shifting/bell/brakes and that has NOT been the case. They fit well enough to allow for dexterity even on my road bike with di2 shifters. The ONLY gripes I could come up with - I wish the velcro attachment was a little larger so you could have a better tight seal on the wrists, and I wish that they were more touch screen capable, but you just can't get that on thick/warm gloves it seems. If I lost these, I would absolutely rebuy again.

Reviewed 3/20/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tony M

Great Gloves
by Tony M
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey

These are great gloves for cold weather riding. Did a 2.5 hour mountain bike ride where the temp was 22-25F. My hands were never cold. I've used them on the road also but never at those temps, so I can't say how they would perform there.

Reviewed 3/9/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Michael

Finally the Right Cold Weather Glove
by Michael
Competitive Racer
Salem, OR
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

We all own a like 10 pairs of gloves that aren't the right ones - ever. Basically I end up hating every glove I buy. Except these.

After many years of buying the wrong gloves, these finally seem to work for me in most of the temperatures I ride in so far this winter. 32-42, above that, they are too warm for me but even when hot, they don't get that weird sticky thing that lobster gloves get. Hands start to chill around 32 after about an hour but so is everything else.

Minus points for not working with touchscreens

Plus points for working most of the time anyway

The more modern long zipper would be better too

True to size - use the size chart on these

Reviewed 12/14/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave W

Awesome Winter Riding Gloves
by Dave W
Cycling Enthusiast
Ellicott City, MD

These gloves are very warm for winter riding down into the 20's with padded palms and nice silicone grip texture. Not too bulky for operating shifters and droper.

Reviewed 1/25/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Warmest cycling gloves I've found!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Essex, CT
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Definitely warm, down to at least mid-40's F and probably below that, yet with the dexterity needed to work the brakes and shifters. I have some XC skiing gloves which are very warm but too clumsy for cycling. And mittens, which would be even warmer, offer even less dexterity. Be aware that insulated gloves like these can't work on touch screens.

Reviewed 3/20/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Almost too warm
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bend,OR

Love these, but it needs to be COLD out. So if you have cold hands, these are for you. Finger dexterity is good for such a warm glove.

Reviewed 1/12/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CycleRef

Great cold weather gloves
by CycleRef
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These are great when it's too cold for my medium-weight gloves. Still feel like I have plenty of control on the Di2 shifters and my hands stay plenty warm into the 40's (and probably 30's)? I got them at the tail end of winter so haven't used them yet during super cold rides. But have no doubt these will keep my hands much warmer than double up on medium gloves. Good wind blocking for sure since that's the thing that seems to cause the most discomfort over the course of a cold ride.

Reviewed 6/3/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by greg c

Very disappointing not nearly as warm as I hoped.
by greg c
Cycling Enthusiast
GA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Not warm enough

Reviewed 11/30/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Brian Oldham

Best Winter Glove for the Pacific North West
by Brian Oldham
Bellingham, WA

Superb gloves. Perform flawlessly

Reviewed 11/9/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by B''ham Biker

Pretty good, just a little bulky.
by B''ham Biker
BELLINGHAM, WA

I guess to protect from cold temperatures, you need thickness. These gloves will keep your hands warm, but they are a little bulky for shifting and braking. Maybe they will get more flexible with use over time. Seem to be well-made and up to the usually excellent Castelli quality.

Reviewed 3/28/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve F.

Magic
by Steve F.
Saugus
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

These gloves work as well as advertised and maybe better. I went on a fairly long ride with temps around freezing, I began the ride wearing lighter gloves until my hands started to get pretty cold and then put these on. Within a few minutes my hands were no longer stinging and after about 10 or 15 they were starting to sweat, very impressive indeed. These gloves are fairly bulky but not bad considering the warmth they provide, the silicone grip is really secure on the bars as well. Sure I wouldn't mind having touchscreen compatibility but it's something I can live without, if that's a dealbreaker for you I would suggest the warmest PI gloves.

Reviewed 2/22/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chris

Hands are warm and happy
by Chris
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX

Cycling in the cold and rain of PDX makes a good set of gloves a must. The castelli estremo glove has kept my hands warm enough to enjoy rides in the less than ideal winter weather in Portland. The fleece liner is soft and warm, the closure around the wrist holds secure, there is ample grip on the palm and fingers so you can keep hold of the handlebars in wet and rainy conditions.

Reviewed 1/17/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rockyMTNhigh

very well made gloves from Castelli!
by rockyMTNhigh
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Lake Colorado
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these gloves in hopes of using them at temps down to say 15 F. They are very warm in temps ranging from 40's F down to 28 F, but I can't recommend them at temps any lower than that. I rode today at a consistent temp of 20 F for 3.5 hours and they lost all warmth capabilities after 1 hour. I will wear my snowmobile gloves next time at those temps. The gloves are very well made and comfortable and wind proof, they just lack insulation for the cold here in the Colorado winter season, and it's only Dec. 3rd.

Reviewed 12/3/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Fantastic cold weather gloves!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Exeter, NH

Recently after freezing my hands on a road bike ride I determined I really needed a good set of cold weather gloves. The Castelli Men's Estremo Glove is exactly what I needed! Now my hands stay warm on cold weather rides! Highly recommended!!

Reviewed 1/5/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rockn Randall

really nice glove
by rockn Randall
Cycling Enthusiast
oklahoma

9 1/4 palm size large fit perfect. great feeling glove but my fingers still got cold after 45 minutes in the low 40's. However my fingers get cold in lobster gloves.

Reviewed 12/4/2022
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page