X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Brooks B17 Special Saddle

BrooksB17 Special Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(32 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(28)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(88%)
(9%)
(0%)
(0%)
(3%)
Previous Page
Fabulous Saddle!
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Not only is this saddle beautiful, but it is also quite comfortable right out of the box. I know it will be even better as I ride it more, but I can tell you that I am delighted with this purchase! So much better than gel or plastic saddles.

Buy one! You won't regret it. Modern Bike is also a very reliable company! And the brown color is a gorgeous chestnut.

Thanks!!

Reviewed 8/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Club rides of 30 to 50 miles in distance
by Will Decker
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

.I'm 6'2 and weigh 205 lbs. Being a touring rider the B-17 is 2 inches wider than my former Fizik and offers more support without being too cushy.

Reviewed 8/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My go to saddle
by Anonymous
michigan
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have three bike and three B17 seats.

If it works it works

Reviewed 3/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My rear end thanks me every ride!
by SFL Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
S Florida
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Not my first Brooks but the most comfortable. The Brooks I owned before was the narrower Team Pro and was not wide enough for my seat bones and subsequently not as comfy as it could be.. The B17 special I have now is sheer bliss to sit on right out the box.. At $130 ish delivered it was a great price as well. Long rides are free of any numbness and makes the ride far more enjoyable. I am able to enjoy the ride and not focus on the pain in my arse!!!!!

Reviewed 8/5/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Classic, comfort, and enduring quality
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Arizona
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

A great saddle - my second one in only ten years - the price was the best I could find and delivered promptly

Reviewed 5/30/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A classic ride
by Paddo
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

After 35 years, and tens of thousands of miles, I finally had to retire my old beloved B17. The new B17 special looks spectacular, and in the next few weeks, will begin to feel spectacular as well. A couple of months of decreasing discomfort will be well worth the next 35 years of comfort. I'm glad I ordered the antique brown, but I think the honey also looks beautiful. Fight dependency on petroleum products! Feel the leather!

Reviewed 3/9/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Classy seat
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

You can not beat the comfort and great looks of this seat. It changes the look of your bike instantly to a classic style. The black leather saddle with matching leather bar tape looks and feels great.

Reviewed 8/17/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A terrific saddle - my 3rd
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
LA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The best long distance saddle going - no doubt

Reviewed 7/13/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Break in the saddle, it won't break your butt!
by ND cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
ND
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I thought I was being a bit nostalgic replacing my road bike saddle with one of these, but there is a reason Brooks still exists. This is a comfortable saddle. Break in can be slow and I did defy Brooks admonishment about using neetsfoot oil in my saddle wax formula. A hair dryer gets the wax right into the leather and within 100 miles the saddle was indeed softer. Past experience did not show increased deterioration of the leather, in fact, my 70s vintage saddle is on my son's city bike right now. Brooks seems to get around the cut out center common on most anatomic saddles by actually making the saddle wide enough so that ones hip bones actually are supported. This is not a fat *** issue. (they have saddles for that, too) These comments also apply to the Pro model, which I also have. BTW, those huge copper rivets on a black saddle are classic!

Reviewed 4/9/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Brooks B17 Special - not just a pretty face
by KSBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Giant Hills, MW
12 of 17 customers found this review helpful.

Okay, no one is a stranger to the Brooks name? So much hype? Is it legit? Yes. The B17 special is so much more than copper rivets. I believe they use a better cut of leather for the specials. I have no evidence of this fact, but I believe them to be superior and more instantaneously comfortable. I own two specials and one standard and both of the specials were buttery soft and very comfortable out of the box. The standard made my buttocks ache for ages. TMI? Well, you asked.

So yeah. If you have a larger posterior, try to measure where your bones hit on your current saddle. Or your saddle width - 155 or larger? Don't get the B17. It will be too narrow for you and you'll never feel comfortable. The Pro and Swift are even narrower. You'll have to go B67 or B68 if you or your baby got back, you dig?

Anyways, if you love leathery, supple, beautiful things and are prone to ride lugged frames and wear tweed, you'll dig this. Guess what? If you rock a fixie and a tiny hat, you will too. Also, if your bike is carbon and you live in a castle built of spandex - you will love the B17 special as well. It will last you your entire life if you treat it well. Don't leave it out in the rain, don't feed it after midnight and don't dip it in anything but Proofide (Brooks special saddle goop.) Sometimes the leather color will transfer onto light colored shorts if you put too much proofide on (psst, it's why cycling shorts are black).

So, if you've read this far - you must really want this thing! Buy it already!

Reviewed 4/5/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Gainesville, FL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great seat. Love it. Still breaking it in. Going to treasure.

Reviewed 2/15/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Beginning to break in!
by trawlerdaisy
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

This saddle is fine in quality, however takes some breaking in. It has been a month of rideing 100 miles a week and it is just beginning to feel tolerable. Several club members have the same saddle and love them. One needs a good pair of bike shorts with good padding to reduce the hard surface until the saddle conforms to you.

Reviewed 1/12/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.