CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Blackburn Grid Seat Bag

BlackburnGrid Seat Bag(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(43 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(30)
(10)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(70%)
(23%)
(7%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Jack C Born

My old standby favorite
by Jack C Born
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas

I have several of these seat bags on my different bikes ( mountain and road) and they fit everything I need in a neat and well-made product. Usually that means: a spare tube, tire levers, 2-CO2 cartridges, a patch kit and an inflater-head . They hold their shape well and stay put on the seat bars.

Never had any problem with Blackburn bags, well worth the couple extra $$.

Reviewed 5/3/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Naomi

Great! Large enough to hold a minipump, and robust.
by Naomi
Daily Commuter
Pittsburgh, PA

I chose this because it's big enough to hold a minipump (as well as spare tube, tubeless repair kit, tyre levers and a few snack bars), adds visibility at night (it's reflective) and has a clip for a light.

On all-day rides I put all the repair type stuff in the seatpack and then use a bar bag for convenience items - snacks, wallet, light layers. On shorter rides I skip the barbag, the seat bag is big enough.

The zipper can be a little stiff, and I didn't find the interior separator useful, it's easy to remove (just velcro).

I bought a 2nd seat bag for my 650b bike so that I don't have to switch out the spare tube when swapping it to/from my 700c bike. I've had the first bag for 2 years, it has travelled thousands of miles and it's still in good shape.

Reviewed 12/12/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by stupech

High and tight
by stupech
Delray Beach, FL

Small is Just enough for essentials. I fit 2-CO2 cartridges, inflator, multi tool, pressure gauge,tubeless tire plugger, 2 tire levers, mini jack knife, shock cord, and small plastic bag. I'm sure you could substitute a spare tube for the pressure gauge and one CO2, but I prefer to carry spare tubes in my jersey pocket.

Retention strap is simple, and keeps pack stable. Easy to attach and remove. Reflective side panels are a nice touch.

Reviewed 7/31/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Behnbot

Excellent straps, Well made
by Behnbot
Cycling Enthusiast
Upstate New York
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Saddle bags seem to be a dime a dozen these days, with options coming from every corner of the world at an array of prices. This bag however, is the 5th I have purchased, and the best of any I have tried.

Highlights:

Straps are excellent, very strong, easy to take on and off, and effectively compresses the bag down if it is not filled to capacity.

The material is strong, and the "reflective" aspect of the black sides is present, though placed above my flashing taillight I'm not entirely sure how much it matters. Either way, its a cool bonus feature.

It is waterproof, as much as I can tell. I got caught in a torrential downpour, and everything in the bag was dry as a bone afterwards.

Reviewed 7/21/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by VTbiker

Not many other options for a larger seat pack
by VTbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Vermont
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

There aren't very many choices for a 1 1/2 liter pack and I like this one better than the only other one I was able to find (which was too long and skinny). The large size doesn't look or feel large on the bike but holds a lot. It holds a phone very nicely on the internal shelf (keeping it away from everything else in the bag). It's hard to find a bag that's the right size and shape to hold a phone but this one does. It doesn't have a key clip so I added my own. If you have a problem with the velcro rubbing on your shorts, it's probably because you have the grippy side out. All you need to do is reverse it so the fuzzy side is out.

Reviewed 5/21/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mike in Richland

The Jury is In
by Mike in Richland
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Washington State
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is my second Grid Seat Bag, the first becoming unusable after the zipper did not track anymore. That being said, I got 8 years of service out of my first bag, so expecting the same here. The bag is ideal for most of my rides (I use a bar bag on long rides, however). Solid construction. One thing I do is to pack the bag and then cinch it down.

Reviewed 5/8/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve-o

Medium is perfect for me (MTB, phone + 29 tubolito)
by Steve-o
SF Bay

I use a saddle bag for my MTB w/ dropper and while not a popular choice, I like to place my mobile phone plus a tube (a very light Tubolito 29). The Grid, Medium size fits both perfectly and does so in a svelte package.

The seatpost loop, according to Blackburn, is optional for this model. I use it with the dropper for added security, and hence lose a bit of usable drop for this bike, but that is worthy tradeoff for me

Reviewed 8/23/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mark

Secure, Right Size, Functional
by Mark
PNE

Just what I was looking for - secure/quick mounting, holds a 29er tube and multi tool, narrow so doesn't rub on legs, good construction/fabric/ zippers.

Reviewed 12/26/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chris

Right size for spare tire, tools and and first aid
by Chris
Casual Cyclist
Boston
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I selected for a minimal size bag and fit a road tube, repair kit, air canister, tools and a bag with napkins, wipes, band aids and duck tape. There is still room for a wallet or cable lock. Bag is light and is water resistant with sealed zipper.

Reviewed 7/31/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OR45938

Smaller than you may think
by OR45938
PNW
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Works fine, very basic. Medium too small for cell phone in protective case. But holds patch kit, tire irons, basic tool kit, snack bar and keys and fits very well beneath the seat. Haven't ridden in rain yet, but looks like it will keep things dry for awhile.

Reviewed 7/22/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave

Good bag for C'dale riders.
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Duluth, MN
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

If you ride a Cannondale with the integrated "Smartsense" lights, size medium fits perfectly under the tail light.

Reviewed 9/21/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Long Rider

Very Nice Bag with 1 Caveat
by Long Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Victorville, CA
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

Size Med , but I ride tubeless tires, so no inner-tubes in my seatbag, so I could get by with a Small. Also, no tire irons or patch kit.

I have room for CO2 cart & chuck, 1st Aid Kit, micro Leatherman, Visine bottle of anti-bacterial soap, Topeak micro tool, chain Quick-Link, GU, CC-sized gate key, and 3,000mAh USB charger, although that might have to stay behind if I were using the small size. Lately I've been carrying a medicine bottle filled with GatorAid laid sideways across the top in back.

Love the reflective sides, they show up well at night, and in photographs using flash. Like the wrap-around main strap, and dust/waterproof zipper.

CAVEAT: The Velcro loop around the seatpost has a rough coating on it that will chew up the legs of your shorts. Replace it ASAP with something softer and non-abrasive. I remember distinctly writing Blackburn a nasty-gram 10yrs ago about this same issue. I used a Velcro strap with the soft, fuzzy side out. Works great.

Reviewed 8/28/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by tstrange

Blackburn Quality Continues
by tstrange
Cycling Enthusiast
Columbus, Ohio
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased this seat bag to replace a Blackburn bag I've used for years. I shopped other brands but decided on buying a Blackburn bag again. I went with the large size, its a bit bigger than I need but still not too large. The water resistant material, practical inner design and great zipper all are nice features. This bag also secures tightly - no worries of it becoming loose. In use for a couple months, no complaints. Great looking bag as well.

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Very good product for the price!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles

Can carry 3 inner tubes & tools for long rides. The bag does move slightly while riding

Reviewed 7/18/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by wjbowz70

Nice minimalist bag...
by wjbowz70
Cycling Enthusiast
Coudersport, PA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Medium fits a tube, tire levers, couple CO2 cartridges and few hex wrenches with a little bit of room to spare. Not going to fit a smart phone in this. Would not want to go any smaller.

Reviewed 6/5/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Best rear seat bag
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland,OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Blackberne products are always high-quality. This bag is well-made and had a great price point.

Reviewed 6/5/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by LoRider

Hard to fit in some saddles
by LoRider
Boulde
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The size is okay. Very small. Fits, small tool kit, co2, bacon strips and holder, no tube. Hard to attach to my selle saddle. Might be good on other saddles. I still like it. Just don't love it, which is okay.

Reviewed 6/16/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Nice saddle bag
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Iowa
5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Needed a larger saddle bag to carry my new larger smartphone. It has two separate compartments separated by a soft liner to protect the phone from being scratched from tubeCO2 cartridge. I would have preferred Topeak type clips instead of a large velcro strap.

Reviewed 12/17/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DavidAllan

Blackburn Seat bag
by DavidAllan
St.Petersburg, Florida??
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

...love it, fits nicely with my Brooks Seat

Reviewed 4/10/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Greg

Plenty of room for what I need .
by Greg
Casual Cyclist
Austin,TX

I like the reflective side panels , they really show up .

Reviewed 1/9/2023
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page