X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Bike Peddler Take a Look Cyclist Mirror

Bike PeddlerTake a Look Cyclist Mirror(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(140 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(99)
(29)
(6)
(3)
(3)
(71%)
(21%)
(4%)
(2%)
(2%)
Great for the stiff neck folks like me
by Uncool Joe
Cycling Enthusiast
SoCal

The Garmin Varia is a godsend of tech that can alert a rider of approaching cars. So does this mirror at a much cheaper clip. This also helps on the tight bike paths to get a glance at who is behind without the worry of swerving off course when turning one's head. Looks super dorky, so a huge neg on the coolness scale. Make of it what you will, but I'd rather be safe to ride another day. - signed Uncool Joe.

Reviewed 9/29/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice design, but be advised it's not compatible with corrective glasses due to limited field of view.
by SacTony
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA

Mounted on my glasses it has to be far enough from my head to see over my shoulder, but in that position it's outside the area of focus for the glasses, so cyclists behind me are just a blur. Works fine with contacts or plain sunglasses.

Reviewed 9/20/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No better mirror
by TFTubist
Cycling Enthusiast
Ramona, CA

There is no better cycle mirror. handlebar-attached mirrors bounce way too much and you need to focus on them to see what's going on, obviating their safety purpose. Other helmet or sunglasses-mounted mirrors are bulky and ugly.

While you do have to angle the mirror so that you get the side of your head in the image and you still need to look ever so slightly left when you're peeking behind you, once you get used to it you'll feel unsafe if you lose or forget it! The construction is dead-simple and super effective. The price isn't weirdly expensive like some other cycle accessories.

If you want to add safety with a mirror, this is the way to go. It may take a few rides to dial in the angle and the flick movement to peek behind you, but soon enough it becomes second nature and absolutely indispensable.

Reviewed 7/8/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Essential safety item priced right
by Jayarr
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan

Seeing behind you is a top safety concern. Cars, faster riders overtaking, it's always information that helps you ride safely. That said, every option is a compromise. For me this item seems the best option. Lightweight, removable, and inexpensive helped make the decision. I didn't want a handlebar option, so the helmet add on seemed the way to go. Working fine so far.

Reviewed 7/19/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
ERFECT FOR BIKING OR WALKING
by Mcgruff
Cycling Enthusiast
Winston-Salem, NC

I use this when we are on a long ride to watch traffic behind us.

Reviewed 8/25/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A must for bike safety.
by Rich
Los Angeles
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Could you imagine driving without rearview mirrors? Well that's what you do all the time on your bike, unless you have one of these mirrors. If you're on the road & ride anywhere near cars; or on a bike trail with a bunch of other riders, this is a "must have". If you ride with slower friends and don't want to drop them and keep an eye on them, then this is a "must have". I never ride without, now. Clips easily to helmet visor & with a little determination, it clips to the fat rubbery temple part of my Oakley's. They have fallen off twice, but that's because I didn't check they were secured before the ride. They make a great gift; gave one to my bro. One of the best, cheap purchases I've ever made. Worth 3x or 4x it's value. Wish I had them 30 years ago when I started riding.

Reviewed 2/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is a handy little mirror
by 1chestera
Cycling Enthusiast
Scottsdale

I have both full mirrors and the smaller 1/2 mirror ones. I use whichever one is necessary for the glasses I am wearing. Sometimes too much of my shoulder is in the mirror so It requires a different one.

Reviewed 6/30/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Parts/Bad Parts
by bikerhiker46
Cycling Enthusiast
Bar Harbor, Maine
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I ride kick scooters (Swifty Zero) and use one of these mirrors mounted on my helmet visor. When properly adjusted it works quite well after you get used to turning your head this way and that to vary the angle of view. I had some problems with the mirror mounting arm shifting around but solved that problem with a single spring binder clip purchased at an office supply store. My main problem with this mirrow is that I am constantly banging it into things and knocking it out of adjustment. Everything from a car door jam to the handlebars some how or other manages to get in the way. Mirror wise the unit is pretty durable, stays clean, and never fogs up. It does, however, blur frequesntly from road vibration even on good paved surfaces.

Reviewed 12/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Functional and light weight
by epbob
El Paso, TX
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

This mirror is infinitely adjustable and fits on my sunglasses very securely. If your glasses have a semi-round temple, it might not fit yours. The mirror is distortion free so you can clearly see what or who is approaching from behind you. I like the mirror on my glasses so I can look around behind me by turning my head, something you can't do with bar-end mirrors. I've used these for years and saw an opportunity to get some extras at half-price while they were on sale so I can share them with new riders or others looking for a mirror.

Reviewed 9/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great safety tool for riding solo
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Boston, MA

I use this mirror every time I ride my road or commuter bike. It makes me feel safer while riding in busy roads. I have given a couple of these mirrors to friends.

Reviewed 7/21/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Don't leave home without it!
by Maven
Cycling Enthusiast
Ulster Co., N.Y.
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using the Bike Peddler "Take a Look" cycling mirror for at least 5 yrs. and find it an indispensable cycling aid and virtually indestructible. In my county there aren't many bike lanes along the narrow, curvy, and hilly roads I travel. Additionally, motorists don't really know what to do when they approach you from behind. The BP mirror gives you a "heads up" when riding since you can see what's coming and prepare for it (similar to defensive driving). I wouldn't ride without one and even choose my prescription eyeglass frames with an eye to easy mirror mounting. The mirror may look dorky to some, but it is truly a life saver.

Reviewed 4/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Buy the best and forget the rest
by DocH
Cycling Enthusiast
Modesto, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've tried several different mirrors and this is by far the best. I doesn't vibrate while riding and it's easily adjustable. Customer service is awesome -- they really stand behind their lifetime guarantee. If the mirror cracks along the pivot point, Bike Peddler will happily send you a new one. I've tried both lengths; regular works best for me.

Reviewed 2/25/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Buy Immediately
by RG
Los Angeles
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Can you imagine driving without rear view mirrors on your car? Well that's what I've been doing for years on my bike. This has greatly increased my safety on the road, especially around cars or your fellow group rider. You now don't need to dangerously take your eyes off the road to look at them. It'll be one of the best investments you'll ever make. I clipped mine to my visor cuz the rubber around my Oakley's (Radar EV Pitch) were too thick. Be careful when adjusting them to not make them loose on the visor like I did. They fell off once but no damage was done. I think they have a lifetime warranty to replace broken parts. You won't regret buying these.

Reviewed 2/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Once you use it, it will be hard to ride without it
by Jay (TriSports.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
44 of 44 customers found this review helpful.

I started using a mirror as a ride leader for a local cycling group so I could keep an eye on cyclists behind me. Once I got used to it which really didn't take long, I felt I was missing a critical piece of cycling gear whenever I rode without one.

The regular version may be a bit too close to the eyes for most people since it blocks a lot of your peripheral vision. I find the extended versions works better.

The mirror slides onto the eyeglass temple pieces. Some eyeglasses, particularly the fancier cycling eyewear, have oddly shaped temple pieces that may make it difficult to mount these, so take this into consideration.

In general, I found the eyeglass mounted mirrors to be more effective than helmet mounted or bike mounted mirrors. Helmet mounted mirrors inevitably get dislodged since they are generally attached with simple adhesive. Bike mounted mirrors tend to vibrate too much for my taste, and don't have a wide enough view to get the full picture of what is behind you.

Reviewed 3/13/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I never ride without it
by MBC
Cycling Enthusiast
Albuquerque, NM
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I consider this rear view mirror to be essential. This is the best and most adjustable one I have found. It is also quite rugged, except that the three little rubber or plastic pads meant to grasp your eyeglasses tend to slide off after a while. I solved this problem by putting a dab of epoxy on them to secure them to the wires. I have been using my mirror for decades after fixing the pad problem. The wires can be bent slightly to change the alignment or tighten or loosen the grip on glasses or helmet. There are built in hinges to handle most adjustments. You can simply move the mirror while riding to get a good view behind. This mirror gives a wide stable view of what is approaching from behind. Bike mounted mirrors are useless as they vibrate and the view changes when you steer and you must look down. With this mirror, a slight turning of you head lets you see multiple lanes behind you and you don't have to change focus or look down. It also can be mounted on either side of your glasses or helmet for use in the UK or other left hand lane countries.

Reviewed 1/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent
by Anonymous

Awesome and very good.

Reviewed 5/23/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is the best mirror I have ever used!
by Francisco
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

This mirror works great. It has plenty of ways to adjust it to your liking.

Reviewed 5/23/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Only one I'll use...
by TBplayer
Cycling Enthusiast
Decatur, AL
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Road biking. Helmet or eyeglass mirrors take a little while to get used to, but once you do, you'll feel hindered by the limited view of the bike mounted ones. Tried several others but kept coming back to this one for ease of adjustment and stability.

Reviewed 8/11/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best mirror that I have ever used. No bouncing at all and a clear rear view.
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Tucson, AZ
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Love the mirror. My wife and I have used the 'Bike Peddler Take a Look Cyclist Mirror' for at least 12 years. We mount the mirror on our sunglasses. My recent purchase was for the purposes of having a spare handy in case we loose one of our mirrors. Thus, I did buy this product again.

Reviewed 12/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Useless
by Robert
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The mirror is attached to an arm which sits in a tubular holder. My first time using this, the mirror fell out of the holder on a section of gravel, lost forever.

It was hard to adjust and did not stay in place securely. I did not try to replace it, just considered it a failed experiment.

Reviewed 11/27/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page