X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Bike Peddler Take a Look Cyclist Mirror

Bike PeddlerTake a Look Cyclist Mirror(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(123 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(89)
(25)
(5)
(3)
(1)
(72%)
(20%)
(4%)
(2%)
(1%)
Don't leave home without it!
by Maven
Cycling Enthusiast
Ulster Co., N.Y.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using the Bike Peddler "Take a Look" cycling mirror for at least 5 yrs. and find it an indispensable cycling aid and virtually indestructible. In my county there aren't many bike lanes along the narrow, curvy, and hilly roads I travel. Additionally, motorists don't really know what to do when they approach you from behind. The BP mirror gives you a "heads up" when riding since you can see what's coming and prepare for it (similar to defensive driving). I wouldn't ride without one and even choose my prescription eyeglass frames with an eye to easy mirror mounting. The mirror may look dorky to some, but it is truly a life saver.

Reviewed 4/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The only mirror that works for me.
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using this mirror for about 8 or 9 years. It works for me. This is only the 2nd one I've needed to purchase in all this time. It connects to my prescription sun glasses easily and securely. I'm 71 years old and my head doesn't rotate as it once did. This mirror helps with that problem.

Reviewed 5/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Buy Immediately
by RG
Los Angeles
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Can you imagine driving without rear view mirrors on your car? Well that's what I've been doing for years on my bike. This has greatly increased my safety on the road, especially around cars or your fellow group rider. You now don't need to dangerously take your eyes off the road to look at them. It'll be one of the best investments you'll ever make. I clipped mine to my visor cuz the rubber around my Oakley's (Radar EV Pitch) were too thick. Be careful when adjusting them to not make them loose on the visor like I did. They fell off once but no damage was done. I think they have a lifetime warranty to replace broken parts. You won't regret buying these.

Reviewed 2/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These are a great addition to your safety system.
by Vans
Daily Commuter
PDX OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Well its a rearview mirror so it has to be adjusted correctly to do its job. The key thing is the glasses it is being used on, it has to be secure so you can make minor adjustments along the way with out it coming off.

Reviewed 4/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I never ride without it
by MBC
Cycling Enthusiast
Albuquerque, NM
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I consider this rear view mirror to be essential. This is the best and most adjustable one I have found. It is also quite rugged, except that the three little rubber or plastic pads meant to grasp your eyeglasses tend to slide off after a while. I solved this problem by putting a dab of epoxy on them to secure them to the wires. I have been using my mirror for decades after fixing the pad problem. The wires can be bent slightly to change the alignment or tighten or loosen the grip on glasses or helmet. There are built in hinges to handle most adjustments. You can simply move the mirror while riding to get a good view behind. This mirror gives a wide stable view of what is approaching from behind. Bike mounted mirrors are useless as they vibrate and the view changes when you steer and you must look down. With this mirror, a slight turning of you head lets you see multiple lanes behind you and you don't have to change focus or look down. It also can be mounted on either side of your glasses or helmet for use in the UK or other left hand lane countries.

Reviewed 1/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for out of the saddle.
by miss. biker
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Adjustments made easily. Sturdy construction. The only problem I have is where to store my sunglasses. I haven't tried taking the mirror on and off.

Reviewed 3/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Functional and light weight
by epbob
El Paso, TX
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This mirror is infinitely adjustable and fits on my sunglasses very securely. If your glasses have a semi-round temple, it might not fit yours. The mirror is distortion free so you can clearly see what or who is approaching from behind you. I like the mirror on my glasses so I can look around behind me by turning my head, something you can't do with bar-end mirrors. I've used these for years and saw an opportunity to get some extras at half-price while they were on sale so I can share them with new riders or others looking for a mirror.

Reviewed 9/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Greatly Improved Safety
by Anonymous
North Georgia Hills
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've been ridding seriously for over 35 years and for 34 of them would not have been caught dead with a mirror. But the need to feel safer on the roads made me break down and get this mirror and now I can't ride without it. I feel so much safer being able to see what's happening behind me. Just takes a ride or two to get adjusted and really is a game changer.

Reviewed 1/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product.
by Paul S
Grosse Pointe MI
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I feel naked without my mirror while riding. This mirror is very durable - much better than the plastic product I've used for years which consistently fatigues and breaks at the arm. Completely adjustable and blocks minimal forward view due to the narrow rectangular shape. Highly recommend for any rider who values an eyeglass rear view mirror.

Reviewed 12/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great!
by Ron
Cycling Enthusiast
Ann Arbor, MI
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have a Garmin Varia and now I have rear view mirror. With the number of distracted drivers, and down right rude people, cyclist need as much help as we can get! Getting the mirror set up properly and getting use to using it takes some time, but then it's great. I much prefer this to a bike mounted mirror because I can move my head slightly and scan a wider field behind me.

Reviewed 11/28/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Old school but still the best..
by Tedolph
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Thus thing has been around forever and never improved upon, Durable materials, adjustable, large field of view and will last longer than you will.

Lost one years ago and replaced it with a plastic Third _____ brand. What a piece of junk. Broke in one season and the field of view was too small. Pair this with one of those new radar thingies and you have complete situational awareness.

What more could you want?

Reviewed 11/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love it.
by Walleye
Cycling Enthusiast
Palmetto, FL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought 2. Long and short models. Had owned short but lost. Friend has long and really likes. I tried both. Short version is my preference. Also has smaller mirror. Kept long as a back up. Both work well. Went with my personal preference.

Reviewed 11/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Once you use it, it will be hard to ride without it
by Jay (TriSports.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
43 of 43 customers found this review helpful.

I started using a mirror as a ride leader for a local cycling group so I could keep an eye on cyclists behind me. Once I got used to it which really didn't take long, I felt I was missing a critical piece of cycling gear whenever I rode without one.

The regular version may be a bit too close to the eyes for most people since it blocks a lot of your peripheral vision. I find the extended versions works better.

The mirror slides onto the eyeglass temple pieces. Some eyeglasses, particularly the fancier cycling eyewear, have oddly shaped temple pieces that may make it difficult to mount these, so take this into consideration.

In general, I found the eyeglass mounted mirrors to be more effective than helmet mounted or bike mounted mirrors. Helmet mounted mirrors inevitably get dislodged since they are generally attached with simple adhesive. Bike mounted mirrors tend to vibrate too much for my taste, and don't have a wide enough view to get the full picture of what is behind you.

Reviewed 3/13/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Results will vary
by A1Arider
Cycling Enthusiast
Delray Beach, FL

The use-fullness of this mirror depends on the rider position. I ride 100 miles/week with hands on the drops or on the brake lever hoods 98% of the time. There is no adjustment that can be made that will provide the line of sight required to see the lane behind. It would be useful if I rode in an upright position. I gave it a three star overall rating because it is well made. One star for value because it has no value to me.

Reviewed 10/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Only one I'll use...
by TBplayer
Cycling Enthusiast
Decatur, AL
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Road biking. Helmet or eyeglass mirrors take a little while to get used to, but once you do, you'll feel hindered by the limited view of the bike mounted ones. Tried several others but kept coming back to this one for ease of adjustment and stability.

Reviewed 8/11/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome product . . .
by Rixtoy
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have a bar end mirror on my hybrid bike, but bought a new Carbon road bike and didn't want to add that. a friend of mine suggested this mirror to wear on my glasses. Only took a bit to get the angle and sight line adjusted - I LOVE this thing. Even took off the parabolic mirror extending from my drop bars because I never looked at it before. Based on reviews, I went with the small size and it is perfect for me. Lowest cost safety device I own.

Reviewed 4/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lost without it!
by Anonymous

I have used these road mirrors so long I keep extras in case I lose or break one. Sold one to a friend recently because he liked mine.

Reviewed 9/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best rear-view mirror on the market!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Dayton, oh

My husband and I use these on every ride. They work great, and they are incredibly durable (unlike any others I had in the past)

Reviewed 1/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Why did I not buy this before?!
by Pedaling Peter
Daily Commuter
Baton Rouge, La.
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

It attaches to my sunglasses and is angled for maximum and sufficient rearview. For several weeks I have used this item, the first of its kind that I have used. I have no complaints about it at all. I ride city streets with lots of motor traffic multiple times a week. No longer need I twist my neck around to see what is behind me. If you ride your bike where cars are driven, there is nothing to decide but to get this mirror.

Reviewed 7/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I Feel Naked Without It
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago IL
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've used several mirrors. This is unquestionably the best. I usually carry two or three on overseas bike trips as people I meet all want to know where to get one.

Reviewed 6/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page