Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Ass Savers Big Fender Gen. 4

Ass SaversBig Fender Gen. 4(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(30 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(16)
(11)
(1)
(0)
(2)
(53%)
(37%)
(3%)
(0%)
(7%)
As good as a clip on fender gets
by melee757
Daily Commuter
Austin, TX
Review for SKS S-Blade Rear Fender

Quick and easy to attach and take off. It could pose a problem if you have your seat slammed, but then you probably have other problems, if that's the case. Takes care of the back spray, but won't protect you from rear spray around your cranks, find a clip on fender that can do that and color me impressed.

Reviewed 11/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
for the winter fixe
by sean
Competitive Racer
New York, NY
Review for SKS S-Blade Rear Fender

i throw this fender on when the weather calls for it and it certainly works...strap based cam will work on almost any seatpost.

Reviewed 11/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A fender to keep your backside dry that is easy to travel with
by Hockinator
Competitive Racer
Kirkland, WA
Review for Portland Design Works Origami Rear Fender

I bought this fender to bring along on a week long tour. It easily snaps apart and back together. So, it's easy to pack in a bag. I used it a couple of times during the tour. It performed well, keeping my backside free from road spray.

Reviewed 10/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
excellent sturdy
by trptdoc
Cycling Enthusiast
Aptos, CA
Review for Portland Design Works Origami Rear Fender
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have two of these, one lives on a bike overseas. I bought a second one, and it is even better, they changed the material on the strap that cinches the fender to the seat post, and it holds better than the original, and the company then replaced the strap for my old one. Excellent.

Reviewed 2/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does not fit Drakon saddle
by Anonymous
Ithaca, NY

Unfortunately this fender is useless for when used with the SMP Drakon saddle. It is a great idea but not a great design. Went with a different but similar low profile fender and am very pleased.

Reviewed 5/21/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Absolutely works PERFECTLY...
by Chris
Daily Commuter
Nashville
Review for Ass Savers Wide Fender

I could go on and on describing how happy I am with this but, suffice it to say that in the long list of stuff I've bought for my bicycles, this things ranks right up there amongst the best money I've ever spent. It's light, folds flat so it can be packed away, and installs literally in seconds. I like it so much that I'm going to get a second one for my mountain bike.

Reviewed 7/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A very simple solution to shedding mud.
by lrhalpin
Cycling Enthusiast
Lynchburg,

The Big Fender was simple to install. It relies on the seat support to provide a mount and can twist as it is only attached by wedging into the seat frame.

Reviewed 4/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A very simple solution to shedding mud.
by lrhalpin
Cycling Enthusiast
Lynchburg,

The Big Fender was simple to install. It relies on the seat support to provide a mount and can twist as it is only attached by wedging into the seat frame.

Reviewed 4/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A very simple solution to shedding mud.
by lrhalpin
Cycling Enthusiast
Lynchburg, VA

The Big Fender was simple to install. It relies on the seat support to provide a mount and can twist as it is only attached by wedging into the seat frame.

Reviewed 4/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very good rear protection
by Sam
Daily Commuter
Seattle
Review for Portland Design Works Origami Rear Fender
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm very happy with the protection this provides to my backside. Easy to take on and off and recommend not always leaving it on the bike. Very easy for a thief to remove.

Reviewed 3/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy fix for the rain
by Pablo
Competitive Racer
Maryland
Review for Portland Design Works Origami Rear Fender
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This rear fender is very easy to set up and adjust, and offers excellent protection against rear wheel spray. The seatpost grippper stays firmly in place, so you don't have to deal with it sliding mid-ride and exposing you back end to water. The fender itself also detachesre-attaches to the mounting bracket, which makes the fender versatile for changing conditions like a wet ride to work and a dry ride home.

Reviewed 1/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love it.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado and Utah

Keeps my ass dry.Minimal design and installation.

Reviewed 11/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smart solution
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Review for Portland Design Works Origami Rear Fender
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I appreciate the ability to remove and store the flat, foldable portion of this fender in a back pocket (or anywhere else) without removing the clamping mechanism. It's a feature I wouldn't have thought I wanted but I've ended up putting it to use a lot. Smart stuff, PDW, as usual. I'm not sure about durability but if I haven't updated my review, it means there were no issues.

Reviewed 2/20/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The fender works well.
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Western Washington
Review for SKS X-tra Dry Rear Fender
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Took a little bit of adjustment to get it properly snug so it didn't drift, but once adjusted correctly it barely moves. Does a good job keeping the mud off me. I'd buy it again.

Reviewed 4/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light and easy to mount. Provides more coverage than the regular size.
by Dr.J
Review for Ass Savers Wide Fender

I bought this for a rain road bike with wider tires (28 mm). It works fairly well to keep your shorts and jacket from getting wet and the streak. Easy to mount but the the flip down lock can be iffy. It fell off once. I put an elastic band across the indentations so that it cannot slip off. I understand that new Ass Saver design is to have the locking tab flip up. The new design might work better.

Reviewed 3/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It's better than nothing.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
Review for SKS X-tra Dry Rear Fender
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

On a really muddy ride my back was evenly spotted with drops this fender missed.

No skunk stripe.

Reviewed 3/17/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Dry backside made easy.
by nicecalves.
Cycling Enthusiast
Cripple Creek CO.nice
Review for SKS X-tra Dry Rear Fender

Ideal product wintery road conditions. keeps the snow and wet off . reasoable price and easy mount to any bike.

very happy with product

Reviewed 2/17/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to use and lightweight
by Ryan
Cycling Enthusiast
Potomac, MD
Review for SKS X-tra Dry Rear Fender
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This fender is easy to mount and thus easy to transfer between bikes. It is simple and lightweight.

Reviewed 11/16/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Review for SKS X-tra Dry Rear Fender
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Fender was easy to put on. Does a satisfactory job keeping the water off the back side.

Reviewed 4/26/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not for 700c or 29ers, but good overall
by Commuter
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Review for SKS X-tra Dry Rear Fender
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Apparently the description failed to mention this is only for MTB and ATB wheels... it's not long enough for 700c or 29 wheels because it will still allow a rooster tail to hit the back of your helmet or a backpack which I use while commuting.

It would have been perfect for a regular MTB, clamping mechanism is secure and the allen bolt allows you to tighten the fender tightly.

Reviewed 3/15/2013
TriSports.com Comments

Depending on bike geometry and other factors, this rear fender can be used on a 700C (ISO 622) wheel. I've used it successfully and have seen it on other bikes around town here in Portland, OR. It might take some adjusting to catch all the the spray which might otherwise reach you, but it can usually be done.

A full coverage fender will always provide better protection and help to keep you dry and comfortable in bad weather. Planet Bike's Cascadia Fenders are a great choice.

Thanks,
Theo
Customer Service

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page