X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Zipp Rim Tape

ZippRim Tape(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(17 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(14)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(82%)
(18%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Zipp rim tape is thin and light
by Jon
Daily Commuter
Nashville

I swore by cloth rim tape for years. However, I've found that my newer carbon rims are wider with a less deep channel in the center. What's that got to do with anything? Well, it has to do with mounting tight fitting tires and preventing pinch flats. This rim tape is just that much thinner than cloth rim tape that mounting tight tires to new carbon rims is a bit easier. I am relieved that in the process of mounting tight tires I won't accidentally scoot the cloth tape over so that a tiny sliver of spoke hole is exposed. This will lead to a flat (hopefully before you set out on ride). Also, when it is so difficult to mount a tire that you end up using a tire lever to pop that last four inches of bead over the rim, you increase the risk of pinching your tube - or worse yet, damaging your rim.

Reviewed 2/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light & great fit for narrower rims
by Andrew
Competitive Racer
Chicago
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I was looking for rim tape for a restoration project of wheelset built with RR1.1 rims (15mm wide). The Zipp Rim Tape stretches just enough for installation and creates a great fit in the tire bed of these older style rims.

Reviewed 3/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great protection
by Jimmy Dee
Cycling Enthusiast
Farmington, MI
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is the only product that fit my 1996 Mavic Heliums and I found them superior to the OEM strips. They installed easily and fit perfectly.

Reviewed 6/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Zipped them right around the rim
by williemakeit
Cycling Enthusiast
sacramento,Ca

fit perfectly in the rim,conformed real nice haven't had a flat from a sharp edge or crease rubbing on tube.

Reviewed 2/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Zipp wheels. Zipp tape. Perfect fit. Simple decision.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I am not yet convinced that I want to deal with tubeless...so for my latex tubes, I needed this. It works perfectly.

Reviewed 12/26/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect for wider rims
by BikeLA
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I needed tape for a couple of wheelsets that I built using Velocity A23 rims - these 23mm rims need 21mm tape. I am not running tubeless, so do not need the time-consuming adhesive tapes. The Zipp tape was very easy to install and is, as it says, ultra thin which makes tire installation easy. So far, no issues with durability.

Reviewed 1/19/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I'm glad it fits on my 27 Wheels!
by RoadBikeMan
Cycling Enthusiast
Albion, NY
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

When I received these in the mail, I was somewhat skeptical if the 700x18mm rim strips were going to fit on the wheels of my 1980's Takara Sport 10 touring bike. But, with some effort, they fit like a glove. I bought these so that I could replace the 30 year old rubber rim strips, because I have bought two 27x1-18 Continental SuperSport road tires from this website that have to be aired up to 102 psi since I am a heavy rider. But I'll have to wait until it's springtimesummertime.

Reviewed 1/14/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Cheap and easy
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
PNW

I've used these on several rims and they work great.

Reviewed 12/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
thoughts you might not want
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

it is advertised as 16mm when in fact 18mm same as the other 6 I have of 18 which i wanted 16

Reviewed 8/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to install, no adhesive mess
by GJ
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

What's to say? Its thin, designed for higher pressures and doesn't use an adhesive.

Reviewed 8/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
by Anonymous
Illinois
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Fit perfectly on my 23mm rims, much cleaner than the usual rim tabe and less expensive.

Reviewed 8/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Just what I needed
by Anonymous

This is not just any rim tape. Its a must, I disnt Get too far with just any old rim tape.

Reviewed 9/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
works great - terrific value
by ememso
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, Il
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

700x20 fit my velocity a23 rims like a glove. Easy installation. Gets the job done.

Reviewed 6/15/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fits like a glove around a 27 wheel
by Alex
Casual Cyclist
Sherman Oaks, CA
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced my ancient rim tape that was falling apart and causing rips in the tube. This one protects much better. Definitely Recommend.

Reviewed 8/29/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good product.
by Bike rider Jim
Cycling Enthusiast
Syracuse,In.
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Good product,but I was not sure 16mm was wide enough for my wheels. I wound up ordering 20mm so it would be wide enough for sure!

Reviewed 8/29/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect!
by Anonymous
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Just what I needed. For high pressure tires (120 thin road racing tires) and very easy to apply. Great price too!

Reviewed 7/31/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great products. Easy to install.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
arizona
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I used the tapes for my 404 zipp wheels.

Reviewed 2/2/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.