Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Wheels Mfg  Presta Stem Savers

Wheels Mfg Presta Stem Savers(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(19 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(4)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(58%)
(21%)
(16%)
(5%)
(0%)
Perfect!
by Father of 3 on MI
Cycling Enthusiast
Mercer Island, WA

I've used rubber grommets before, but these are much better. Won't break down or wear out like rubber.

Reviewed 7/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Save the valve stem
by Anonymous

Exactly as advertised, promptly shipped and received. Great item, experience and Seller.

Reviewed 6/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for smaller size wheels too!
by Birdfish
Daily Commuter
sF east bay

I converted my daughters 20 in. bike to Presta using these and now I don't need to worry converting the frame pump on my bike to Schrader. One stem for everybody and one less thing for me to worry about. That's worth the price right there.

Reviewed 6/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great little doodahs for spacing racks too.
by Norvil Fazool
Cycling Enthusiast
Desert Southwest
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Have used these at adapters for Schraeder valves but they're great for adapting touring racks to 120-126 rear triangles and helping to pinch fender bolt tabs to eyelets.

Reviewed 3/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works as promised
by BuckB
Casual Cyclist
Denver

These come in two per package, in case that wasn't clear. And they work as promised! I put them in my vintage hook-less rims.

Reviewed 3/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Presta Stem Savers need corrosion protection
by Tackdriver56
Cycling Enthusiast
Northwest Connecticut

These do the job, but should be anodized for corrosion protection. I just had to replace a tube after a pinch flat, and could not get the corroded stem saver off the old stem...corrosion was so strong that the stem ripped out of the damaged tube, as I tried to remove the stem saver. I had to limp home with low pressure to prevent the new presta tube from extruding through the Schrader hole.

Reviewed 8/31/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It's a good thing I switched to presta valves
by RoadBikeMan
Cycling Enthusiast
Albion, NY

All I have to say is I'm glad I switched to presta valve tubes using these stem savers on my 1979 Takara Sport Road Bicycle, because I use a pair of 28mm Continental Super Sport Plus tires that require a maximum pressure of 115 psi.

Reviewed 7/22/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
They work as designed.
by Sam
Competitive Racer
Dallas

Not much to say. They do what they are supposed to do.

Reviewed 11/7/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does the job for cheap
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, DC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Nothing not to like. Gets the job done, does it well, and doesn't cost much. I see no downside to using these, and I can run the same valve front and rear.

Reviewed 7/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Exactally what it says on the tin.
by Jeremy
Casual Cyclist
Southern Ohio

They work, and the price ins't too bad, but they could be done better. The rim at the end made too much bulk around the valve hole where the rim tape is already doubled, and the thick stem to tube connection is. I slid the adapters on from the outside, and tightened down the nut on the presta stem to hold it in place. They could stand to be bit longer too. They come shrin wrapped to a card and the plastic is very difficult to get off, I had to scrape it away with a knife. Not bad product, but there's room to iprove.

Reviewed 10/26/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great solution to long term problem
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought on sale, & wish I had done sooner, even at full price.

Reviewed 11/7/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simple, but makes things more tidy
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

If you need em, get these. They cost close to nothing and look a lot cleaner then the solutions I've rigged up in the past.

Reviewed 7/1/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
simple solution for Presta tubes
by TRKarch
Cycling Enthusiast
Alpena,Michigan

I like to carry as little repair tools and supplies as possible when commuting, so its covenient to convert all of my schrader rims to fit all presta pumps and tubes instead of a mix of each kind.

Reviewed 3/14/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These may prevent valve stem blow outs.
by oldtriker
Casual Cyclist
Phoenix, AZ
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I was trying to use tubes with schrader valves on my recumbent trike. The front rims are 406 (20) size and my tubes bunched badly inside the tire. Expected lifespan for the tube was short. Presta valve tubes fit my 20 rims much better. Since the tube is thin rubber and air pressure is 90-100 psi, the tube might blow out around the valve stem. The stem saver prevents this. It also holds the Presta valve stem straight during installation so the rubber on the stem can't be cut by the edge of the hole in the rim. This reduces chance of leaks, increases reliability.

Reviewed 1/25/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works like a charm
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Burbank, CA

I got tired of switching my pump from Schrader to Presta all the time - these worked great on my commute bike and now I'm 100% Presta!!!!

Reviewed 12/20/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sweet deal on a necessary, no frills part
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
PDX

These tiny little bits allow you to run the far superior presta valve on an old (or cheap) wheelset that is drilled for Schrader valves. Other shops will charge you twice the price!

Reviewed 10/18/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works well and easy to use.
by dp
Cycling Enthusiast
Mercer Island, WA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I really like this item. By converting my shrader rims to safely accept presta tubes I can standardize and consoladate my inventory of spares tubes. I like these better than the rubber gromet style converter.

Reviewed 4/16/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This would now press through my rim without needing to drill the hole slightly larger, then it was loose? This was on a Araya rim with standard Schrader valves previously.
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Suprised this was not a closer fit to what I thought was standardized replacementmodification.

Reviewed 4/2/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works just as it should
by Delfairen
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Could do with being a little longer but other than that they do what they are supposed to do.

Reviewed 3/22/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.