Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Velotoze Tall Waterproof Shoe Cover

VelotozeTall Waterproof Shoe Cover(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(24 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(6)
(7)
(4)
(1)
(25%)
(25%)
(29%)
(17%)
(4%)
Performed as expected - good and bad
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Southeast US
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

If you watch the video from Velotoze, you get an accurate idea of what they're like. They're essentially a swim cap for your shoes. You do have to budget a little extra time to put them on. Breathability is as expected - zero - so keep that in mind if riding in warmer temps. Durability is also as expected - not great. My left foot rubbed my crank on the first ride and put a hole in them... lame. Good news is they are cheap and they are indeed waterproof, both from outside in and inside out. If you plan to pocket them for a questionable weather outing, keep in mind you will have to take your shoes off to put them on. Size chart was accurate for my 45.5 Shimano R321 - Large. They are not LHRH specific.

Reviewed 1/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Waterproof as advertised
by bradci
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I picked these up with the hope to find some pretty waterproof shoe covers. These are really waterproof... they are made from what feels like whoopie cushion material. So they are impervious to water seeping through.

But they are hard to get on, (read the directions before you try!) but once you get it they are work fine.

For a ride where you know it is going to be raining for hours, these are good. But they are made out of rubber so on a warmish day, your feet will get warm. And on a cold day, they aren't insulated, so may not be quite warm enough for everyone. I give them a middle of road mark because they really are kind of a pain to put on, and take off. Maybe with practice it gets easier, but you need to be careful not to rip the material.

Reviewed 1/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great. Once.
by Grimes
Competitive Racer
Minneapolis, MN
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I followed the instructions putting these on and it took noticeably longer than knit covers but wasn't difficult. These were perfect for this morning's rain although there was an annoying squeak when they would rub the cadence sensor on my crankarm. When taking off the left cover, the bottom split near the cleat hole. I'm going to try and patchreinforce it using an old swim cap, but I'm disappointed in this. This material has a tendency to stick to itself, especially when damp, so maybe that's what happened. If patching works, I think I'll rub some kind of lubricant (Body Glide probably) all over them to minimize the cadence sensor squeak and help avoid sticking.

Size-wise, I ordered the large and it fit my size 45 Bontrager XXX road shoes great.

Reviewed 6/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
will likely work well in the rain
by abdean007
Competitive Racer
spokane, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I wear size 49 euro and it's a very tight fit. Tore mine on the first time but patched it up with a tire repair kit. I don't anticipate them working for more than a couple times. Appear aero and waterproof. My opinion is that they were designed for smaller shoe size

Reviewed 6/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very brittle
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Tore on my first time trial

Reviewed 5/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Work great but
by Papaogre
PDX
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

These are more durable that you would think but still pretty fragile. I would NOT recommend these for mountain bike shoes as putting them on over the lugs on the soles is difficult at best and can over stretch the rubber.

They really do the job though. My feet stay dry during a very wet commute. Sweat may be an issue on warmer days. I would not wear them above 60-65 F.

Pay attention to the sizing chart and when in doubt, go larger.

Reviewed 4/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
works like it says
by Anonymous
Los Angeles
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

They definitely keep your feet dry. I was hoping for something a little more convienient for commuting. They are a bit of a pain to put on and take off. Also they don't seem very durable and can tear easily. They are kind of like putting a rubber glove over your shoes. Also the top part of your ankle will sweat so much you're going to get a little damp one way or another. Not really a fan of these.

Reviewed 3/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast shipping
by Anonymous

True to description

Reviewed 11/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
delicate and hard to put on
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
WA

left side wore a hole after 5 miles. Partially my fault since my toes rub my cranks, but was hoping for a few weeks of riding.

Got two more holes while wrestling with putting them on.

Patched the worst one with a piece of spare latex tube.

Otherwise they definitely keep the wind and water off.

Reviewed 11/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great inexpensive solution
by Chester
Portland
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

It's hard to find a truly waterproof bootie and these will do the job. Durability is certainly a concern but for the price you can't go wrong. A higher end bootie would also have its own durability issues.

Reviewed 2/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great inexpensive solution
by Chester
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

It's hard to find a truly waterproof bootie and these will do the job. Durability is certainly a concern but for the price you can't go wrong. A higher end bootie would also have its own durability issues.

Reviewed 2/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Velotoze beats rain storms
by bikercr
Cycling Enthusiast

These are the best Rain shoe covers hands down. It may take a few times to learn how to put these on but you get them on, you won't be disappointed. For the price of neoprene shoe covers you can get 2 or 3 pairs of these. These work best with shoes with Boa dials. Always dust with talcum powder after each use. And if you do get a tear, which usually starts off as a pinhole, don't panic, just clean the hole area and place a glueless patch on it.

Reviewed 11/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Cleanest and Fastest shoe cover out there!
by smellies
Competitive Racer

Pain in a butt to get on but after a few tries its easy as pie. I use this for Time Trials, some were wet conditions my feet stayed dry. The tight fit is great to match the rest of your kit! Plenty of colors to choose from

Reviewed 9/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simple and effective
by Andrew
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

If correctly worn, these will keep all water out of your shoes. They're pretty simple to put on, but taking them off again is another story and can double up as your daily core workout. Just go slow so you don't snag the latex on any shoe or cleat parts.

Reviewed 5/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Dry feet are always nice!
by Cougfan93
Cycling Enthusiast
Tacoma, WA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Considering the wetness this year, I really appreciated having dry feet! It takes a moment to put on, usually BEFORE putting your shoes on, and then you're set.

Reviewed 5/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works well for water resistance. A little snug around the ankles.
by All weather commuter
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR

Used as directed. Works good for some shoes, a little too tight for mtb. style shoes.

Reviewed 5/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Don't waste your money
by Papaogre
Daily Commuter
Portland, Oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These tore the second time I tried to put them on.

I tried to exchange them at the store and was told that there is no exchanges for this product.

Don't waste your time or money on these.

Reviewed 4/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These should sell these in packs of 5 and label as disposable
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
PDX
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I bought two sets of these to try them out. Without wasting your time - they should sell these in packs of 5 and label as disposable. They will keep your feet dry and there is a technique to taking them off and on - all in all a good product but not marketed well - I would be all over these if I they sold 5 for 40. 15 bucks for a product that lasts maybe 3 to 5 rides is.......... well......disposable.

Reviewed 4/18/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Didn't last
by Papaogre
PDX
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This is a follow-up for a previous review.

One of these covers tore on the third use. They will be returned.

I might try an XL over my size 44 MTB shoes but IMHO using these covers over any shoe with tread is a waste of time and money.

Reviewed 4/17/2017
TriSports.com Comments
Per the veloToze website FAQs: How long do they last? veloToze products are designed to be used multiple times, but if you take them on and off carefully and follow the proper care instructions, they can last longer. Do the shoe covers work for mountain biking or cyclocross? veloToze shoe covers are designed for road cycling shoes and for use during road cycling. The material on the bottom of the shoe is likely to tear if they are worn for walking or running on rough surfaces and are therefore unlikely to last more than one or two times if used in this way. Also, because they cover a portion of the bottom of the shoe, they may be slippery when walking or running on muddy surfaces.
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The price is right
by Anonymous
Pittsburgh
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These are a chore to put on but once you get get them there they keep your feet dry. I haven't had any durability problems so far. Taking them off is also not easy. I recommend you peel them off along with your sock.

Reviewed 4/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page