Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Tufo Sealant with Valve Tool

TufoSealant with Valve Tool(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(19 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(5)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(63%)
(26%)
(5%)
(5%)
(0%)
Works great
by Edbell
sonoma, ca
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Used with Tufo tubular clinchers, had several punctures self seal. Great combo.

Reviewed 7/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This did not work for Veloflex tubular
by MF
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Concept sounded great. In case of a flat you just fill product into the punctured tube (need a removable valve core) and its supposed to seal. But it didn't. On a punctured Veloflex tubular, I got a seal for a few minutes and then a nice sealant spray all over me while riding. Filled in more product, same story. I made it home but in the end I disposed of the tire as there was just no permanent seal.

On a second tubular that flatted, I used Caffelatex (Dugast recommends this product). That stuff works much better and holds a seal months after the incident. In fact after using Caffelatex, the latex tubes hold air much longer than before without a loss of suppleness. My recommendation keep the Tufo bottle but fill with a better sealant.

Reviewed 6/1/2015
TriSports.com Comments

We recommend this sealant for use before a flat since it stays liquid in the tire for a long time and will often seal a flat before the hole gets too big. Tufo Extreme sealant is a better product for use after a flat.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Allegedly seals flats. Hasn't worked yet.
by Anonymous
Middle Haddam
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Put in tire before you flat is the best recommendation.

Reviewed 10/9/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good product easy to fill tubular tires.
by lazy spoke
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Easy to carry bottle.

Reviewed 1/7/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
not for latex
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
colorado

no warning on the bottle, but this product does not work well, if at all, on latex tubes.....

Reviewed 10/28/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works Great, Saves $$$$$
by LHSRBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Laguna Hills, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I just fixed two clincher-tubular with the compound. Both small holes, hold maximum pressure. The compound only works on relatively small holes and has limited shelf life. I recommend keeping it in refrigerator (not freezing it), but even then it will eventually solidify. Saves lot of money in the otherwise unrepairable but cool tire.

Reviewed 9/14/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Got me home!
by Biker Guy
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Indiana
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I recently replaced my rear tire and decided not to put any sealant in it as a preventative measure. After only 3 rides on the tire I got a flat which was about 2mm wide on my way back home from a ride. It took only a few min to remove the valve core (with the tool provided) and squeeze some sealant into the tire. Then a quick inflate with CO2 and I was back on the road. The tire is still holding 140 psi no problem.

One word of caution, I put this in my last tire as a preventative measure and after a few months the sealant dried in the tube. This caused the tube to stick together when it was deflated and when I tried to re-inflate the tube ripped from being stuck together. I should note that this tire had a slow leak which I could not fix even with the sealant and new valve core so I had to re-inflate it every day I rode. This constant re-inflation is probably why the sealant died out so quickly.

Bottom line I will buy this product again as it is a life saver when you out on the road with a flat.

Reviewed 9/9/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great sealant, i bought this as a spare
by MikeyL
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is currently sitting on a shelf in my bike area. I currently have a set of Tufo Tubular Clinchers on a set of road wheels and it may be time to recharge them. it has worked well in the past so i figured i would make sure i have some on hand

Reviewed 4/1/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It works!
by Rolf
Competitive Racer
Houston, TX

Got a small ball of wire stuck in the rear tire yesterday. About 12 gauge wire. Did the job superbly. Make sure to use the whole bottle. I initially used only part of it which was not enough to go around the tire (Tufo Flexus Primus) and plug the hole.

Reviewed 11/19/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to use and working for me
by mdonald9
Cycling Enthusiast
Edmonds, WA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Being new to tubulars, I was a little reluctant to use this Tufo product in a non-Tufo tubular given the disclaimers, but it has performed as expected, even better than expected. It can be a bit messy, but I think that's part of the learning curve. I learned that you can use less than the amount recommended.

Reviewed 11/18/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simple latex sealant does the job.
by MadFiberRider
Competitive Racer
Seattle

I had a Continental Competition with a pinch flat on the rear from hitting a sharp edged pot-hole in the rain. Using 13rd of the bottle was not enough even after swishing the sealant around the tire and re-pumping several times. I added another 13rd of a bottle and it then sealed. That tire has now been ridden or raced almost every weekend, 100-180 miles per weekend, for the last 4 months with no issues. It holds air as well as the unsealed front tire.

Reviewed 8/27/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Money saver
by Ken G.
Cycling Enthusiast
Lansing, MI
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I had some old trainer tubulars that were flat and had slow leeks, was gonna throw them out tried this and I have been riding them since over 100 miles now and holding 120-140 psi. Got to have this glue no matter what!

Reviewed 7/7/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It just plain works
by sequimboy
Cycling Enthusiast
Sequim,Wa
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Being a weight weenie I hate to put on any more rotating weight that I have to. But, reviews seemed compelling and I thought I would use light weight tubes with the sealant. The tubes are 80 grams versus 100 for the standard and the sealant required is 20 grams. I figured that this was going to be one of those things that if it works I wouldn't know but if it didn't I would.

Then on a ride in Walla Walla Washington my group ran into some goat heads. I thought I was fortunate because didn't get any until I closely examined my tire and it appeared I had 3. Still I didn't know whether they penetrated.

Today I ran across some glass and stopped to see if I had picked up any. There was a very small roack or piece of glass which I picked out with my knife. Immedetely sealant flowed out and then almost as quick stopped flowing. It worked!

Reviewed 6/6/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
comparison testing between this and tubeless
by WetBiker
Competitive Racer
Seattle

I have tubeless tires in my race bike - as I've lost races because of a flat. On my rain bike, I go through enough tires that it's just not cost effective (not to mention expensive to buy rims) to go with a tubeless design. As weight isn't a huge issue on my rain bike, I decided to try this out.

Other than messy, it's easy to use and I haven't had a flat yet. Does that mean it protected my tube? I don't know. I will learn whether it's effective or not when I wear out the current tires on my bike. If there is flat sealant on my tire, or showing through the tube, I'll know it worked. Conversely, if I get a flat I'll have to come up with another solution.

Reviewed 3/29/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Useful and affordable product
by CMach
Cycling Enthusiast
Buffalo, NY
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using Tufo sealant for about a year. In my experience, it reliably seals small punctures in tubular road bike tires as advertised. I prefer it to pressurized latex sealants because each container of Tufo sealant treats up to three road tires, is less expensive than pressurized sealants, and works better. I never leave home without it when riding tubular tires. It has never failed to get me home. Last season, I rode one tubular tire over 1500 miles with no problems after sealing it with this product.

Reviewed 1/19/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It works!
by Joakim
Cycling Enthusiast
Sydney, NSW, Australia
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I recently had the experience of testing this, I had about 13 of a bottle in my tire as prevention. I got a flat, it looked like approx. 2mm cut (probably from a piece glass), as my tire deflated the sealant was spraying out. I couldn't see anything in the cut so I inflated the tire again, and it held up and still does. I'll make sure I always have this in my tires from now on.

Reviewed 6/11/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works Great
by Indiana Hoser
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

My wife and I went out for a short 10 mile ride. About 7 miles up the road her tire went flat from all the rough roads. So I got out the Tufo sealant and the CO2 pump. I followed directions and put about half of the sealant into the flat tire and put some air into the tire. Then I spun the tire around, immediately the sealant started running out due to the rotten tire. So it looked like there was no way that the tire would get us back home and she was going to have to walk. I let it set a little while longer and then added air again. Much to my amazement the tire held air and the sealant stopped oozing out from all the cracks in the tire. With about 40 pounds of air in the tire we were able to make it back home, about 4 miles. By the time we got home the tire was going flat again but it did get us home. Sure saved us a lot of walking. Today I am going to put in an order for 3 more so that I will have some ready just in case I have any more flats. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 3/23/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great preventative too! No more fear about being stranded..
by Bigborb
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

This stuff really works! I have resurrected at least a dozen tubulars that were waiting for, I dunno.. needle and thread treatment. One was a Veloflex $120 tire that had 4 miles on it before a staple put a hole in it. A few squirts of this stuff and PRESTO!! Tires hold air, and generally run until I see the threads! I now put some in all my new tubies before installing, as a preventative. All lovers of tubulars need this product IMO, ride worry-free. One cautionary word this will gunk up the valve.. clean the stem hole carefully with a Q-tip, and put in an old valve to inflate.. then when some sealant comes out, clean again, and use your real valve..

Reviewed 3/18/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fastest Tubular Repairs Ever
by TufoFan4Life
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
26 of 28 customers found this review helpful.

I had a tire puncture and purchased the Tufo Sealant with Valve Tool to repair it. All I had to do was remove the valve core on my Tufo tire, pour in some sealant, replace the valve core, and pump up the tire. It's so simple to do and the repair is holding up fine. It saves time and money. I highly recommend this product.

Reviewed 8/20/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.