Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Tufo Hi-Composite Carbon Tubular Tire

TufoHi-Composite Carbon Tubular Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(26 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(17)
(4)
(2)
(1)
(2)
(65%)
(15%)
(8%)
(4%)
(8%)
A great long distance tubular trainer.
by Andrew S. (TriSports.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR.
34 of 36 customers found this review helpful.

I've used this tire in the spring showers, and the fall down pours. I have put loads of miles on these babys and they are still going strong. These tires wear very slowly but have a great feel. I would recommend these tires to any one that wants to train or log some serious miles on a set of tubulars.

Reviewed 9/22/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best sew-ups Ive ridden
by Lee
Cycling Enthusiast
South County, Rhode Island

By far, these Tufos are the best sew-ups Ive ever ridden. The ride is firm and positive. Cornering on dry roads seems sure-footed. Doesnt feel like they offer much rolling resistance and they sing on the pavement when cruising along. They wear like iron and rarely flat. They mount up straight and true and dont have any lumps or bumps. There are about 900-miles on my current set and there are no nicks or cuts anywhere in the tread. The one Tufo Hi-Composite tire that I did flat was due to hitting a sharp edged rock that put a gash in the sidewall. (Doh! Thatll teach me to concentrate on whats in front of me.) I change my tires before they wear out or flat (usually every spring) so I cant tell you how many miles to expect if you like to run em into the threads.

As background and point of reference Im NOT training for, nor do I aspire to riding The Tour. I ride a vintage Peugeot PX10LE (I bought it in 1975). Ive ridden sewups on it the entire time. (Hutchinson Super Sprints, Clements, Vittorias, Wolbers, Contis, etc.) I built the wheels many years ago with Fiamme Red Label rims on high flange hubs, 36 spoke, three-cross lacing, tied but not soldered. I run the tires at 160psi. Im 61 195 lbs. I live and ride in southern Rhode Island, close to the South County beaches, on mostly fair to good roads for fitness and recreation. The few hills are relatively short and not very steep so Im geared 42 52 up front and 13 17 in back. I try to get in 3 or 4 rides a week from mid-spring through late fall. Roads are a mess in winter and early spring and I dont ride in the rain or snow. Most of my rides are in the 30- to 40-mile range and I average just under 16-mph most rides.

Bottom Line For my purposes, these Tufos are great performers. I think these Tufos are a great value as well.

Ride Safely

Lee

Reviewed 9/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good, durable training tire
by NeilK
West Central Florida

Tufo makes great, durable tires. This one is my favorite for all around durability, light weight, long mileage and decent puncture resistance. I find that they tend to get more cuts in the tread than some other tires.

Reviewed 8/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Low miles
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NJ
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I gave these tires a chance bought about 6 pair now but they just do not hold up. I get about 300 - 500 miles from a rear tire. Threads show through then they blow within another 50 miles. I am 170 LBS and run these at about 130 psi. Not enough miles for any price tire! Back to Continental.

Reviewed 6/21/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
decent tire, race worthy durable and great price
by dbag
Competitive Racer
Virgina
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

tubulars are pricey, get over it. but for [$] over a race clincher this is a steal when its on sale. durable enough for training and relatively light enough for racing. I have them mounted on zipps and with sealant they can last a couple seaons as dedicated racers. I went through some gravel with these, they held up nicely with sealant, and hold air like you would not believe. get your money's worth by removing core and dropping sealant in them. I used to use the S33 specials but after a sharp rock rolled up on side and broke the supple side wall im willing to trade to the hicomp for a little more side wall protection for upping the rotational weight. you're out [$] with the side wall ripped. not happening to me again. to benefit from lower rotational weight at the finish line I need to get there first, and its just not happening with the race weights. cut your losses race and train with hi-comps and save some money while youre at it

Reviewed 10/25/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I don't see how it can get any better...
by Tresgeek
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida Panhandle
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I'm 6'2, weight 245 pounds and have ridden these tires for 1200 miles over the past year, including two tri sprints. No flats, no pinholes, no issues running 175 PSI. The installation with tape went perfectly, first time.

Reviewed 7/1/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires
by SGBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
St. George, UT
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I initially purchased these tires on the recommendation of a friend and former racer. His suggestion was spot on, as these tires perform well and are easy to mount using Tufo gluing tape. They wear well and small punctures seal quickly and efficiently when running them with sealant installed.

Reviewed 4/29/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around tire.
by Wmgr
Competitive Racer
Nashville
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased these tires to go on my race wheels this season and they have been great! I let them stretch for a few days and they mounted straight and true and no lumps! This made me happy because I have wasted a lot of time trimming base tape and messing with glue thickness to avoid the dreaded lump 6 in away from the valve stem on some hand made tubular tires. The tires themselves have also been great. I have used them in crits, road races, and a time trial all with no problems and no flats. They have a great feel and inspire confidence cornering. I am 6 2 and weigh around 170 and ride them around 130 on a good course. They are also half the price of most tubies and the weight is low for such a durable tire in that price range. I will be buying again next year.

Reviewed 4/9/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
GREAT VALUE
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Atlanta
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I HAVE BEEN RIDING THESE TIRES FOR OVER A YEAR AND THE ONLY PROBLEM WAS A CUT ON THE SIDE WALL OF THE TIRE DUE TO THE TRANSITION OF ASPHALT AND CONCRETE...MY FAULT. IN THE PREVIOUS REVIEW, I WOULD ADVISE THAT RIDING RULES 101 ARE OBEYED BY CROSSING RR CROSSINGS PERPENDICULAR TO THE TRACKS. YOU CAN'T BLAME THE TIRE FOR IGNORANCE. THIS IS COMMON SENSE!

Reviewed 4/7/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Uniform, high quality
by Scarpelli
Competitive Racer
Southern Utah
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've been training and racing on these for over ten years, on two sets of Campy Hyperon tubular wheels. The uniformity from tire to tire is perfect, they're relatively durable, have decent traction, a nice ride (for 22 mm), the mounting and sealant system works. I've used over 500 tubulars in my career, and these are the best. I now use half as many tires per year. Keep in mind that flats are inevitable, as are crashes, and the tire shouldn't get the blame. In 7,000 miles a year, I flat maybe twice, and the sealant usually works. The ride is supple, but if you need a smoother ride, go to a 25 mm Tufo.

Reviewed 2/14/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not happy
by E.Tbikehome
Competitive Racer
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Got these after riding on a pair of conti sprinter for a whole year without a single flat (over 10 K km.

Bottom line- 4 weeks after I has these on, I went back to conti. The rear caught 3 flats, that the sealant could not close, the fron caught 1 that closed, then another one which didn't.

Not happy at all because this is not a cheap tire...

Reviewed 12/30/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
wears quickly so we'll see how long it lasts.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

One flatted with a rock and the gash didn't seal with the repair product, I'll try it again.

Reviewed 9/24/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good tire
by [email protected]
Cycling Enthusiast
skillman, nj
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

this tire seemed to be the best balance between price and performance. this tubular wears well and has been trouble free. it mounts easily using tufo tape and performs well on the road.

Reviewed 9/20/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Flat Protection
by Rich85GTS
Cycling Enthusiast
frederick md
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

A year or so ago I was musing on whether to buy a set of Tubular wheels but hesitated due to the negative issue of flat repair on Tubular Tires. Although my highly rated Tufo Special 33 rear Tufo flatted within a couple rides due to unlucky nail laden path,giving me that Oh NO feeling, my front Tufo Sp. 33(cousin to Tufo Hi-Composite Carbon ) has lasted for over two seasons of riding the mountains of Frederick, Md where roads are not smooth ,it even survived a crash where my front wheel was knocked rightward askew. It was still going strong about two months ago but the tread was beginning to wear a bit too much even tho the tire held its 150 psi pressure for many days. I replaced it with the Tufo Hi-Composite Carbon and its held pressure and had no flats even over my spring climbing season in those mountains. There so good, I kept them on my Trek for a climbing vacation in France. Stay away from Vittoria tubies until they solve fast leak issues on the Vitt Rubino Pro or Evo corsa Tubies. The former flat very easy

Reviewed 7/26/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very easy install!!
by Mr. Noname
Competitive Racer
PA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Ok, I was kind of hesitant to mount my own tubular tires. I usually had my LBS do the mounting, but figured I might as well learn.

As an additional note, I also used the required Tufo Tape.

After watching Tufo's video on how to mount their tubulars, along with other videos out there on the web, I jumped right in.

And it's was quite simple. Actually easier than some clinchers I've tried to mount.

I highly recommend Tufo products. The wear on these tires has been nonexistant, with probably close to 600 miles in 4 months. No cuts, slashes, flats.

Reviewed 7/13/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Keeps me sane.
by Sergio
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City, UT
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I keep coming back to these after trying other more expensive tubs. Solid performers in inclement weather and bad roads.

Reviewed 7/9/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tufo Carbon Tire, great road tire.
by Pennsylvania Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Erie Pa
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

This is my first venture into the world of tufo tires. As of this writing and several hundred miles on these tires, Im very happy with the performance of them. I have always glued my other tubulars,what a messy and long process,the tufo tape which goes on very easy and the ease of aligning the tire on the rim makes short order of this process. It took me about 15 minutes to mount a tire.

i have gone down hills at 40 mph, done some pretty sharp corners,with no problems. Also did a lot of research on these tires and the tufo tape. As it stands now ,I will be using these tires exclusively from here out.

Reviewed 7/2/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I tried to love these tires.. but in the end.. it wasn't worth it!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
6 of 24 customers found this review helpful.

I read all the reviews.. and tried to love these tires as so many people did, but after my 2nd accident due to the lack of grip on these tires, I give up! Yes these tires will pretty much last forever, but as far as grip goes, forget it! after my 2nd accident w these tires, and as i sit here w bandages on half my body, forget it. My first accident came when i was riding along a asphalt road close to the gutter where it is cement. The two mismatches in friction coefficients (asphaltconcrete) does not work well with these tires. It apparently just lost grip, and started to slide sideways on my front tires which made me fall on my side and getting a bad road rash on my elbows. This past week, I incurred a similar situation when i rode over train tracks that were not pependicular to my ride direction but at a slight angle. These tires are so slipper when encountering a slick surface such as concrete and or metal, it just gives. Anyways as soon as my front tire ran over the tracks, it fell right into the track's grooves which twisted my bike and threw me off. I landed head first sideways and destroyed my helmet, which saved my life. I side here w bandages on half my body. I've tried Continental Competitions, and those tires do grip like no other. They flat sort of easy, but they sure do grip! I was trying to go on the cheap side, and save a few bux buying these Tufo's.. but after 2 accidents, forget it.. it's not worth the pain.. Since my accident 2 days ago, i've gone wild and bought 5 sets of Conti Competitions. They grip like no other, and I am certain had i not been a feel and been cheap, that these accidents would have never occurred. As a word of advice, don't be like me, pay the extra bux and get a tire that grips. It'll save you painagony and maybe your life.

Reviewed 6/3/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best all around tubular training tire
by Nkreitman
Cycling Enthusiast
Central FL
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I tried all of the major brand tires, and none compare to Tufo tires in general and the High Composite Carbon tire in particular. This tire doesn't have the lump at the seam that all of the others have, and rolls extremely smooth. I generally keep them inflated to 175 PSI, and even at this pressure, the tire is more compliant than others, and provides less jolting ride - close to a Michelin Pro 3 clincher. This is really appreciated on long training rides and rough pavement. The handling and grip in dry and wet conditions is as good as any of the other tires I've ridden. I have had decent luck avoiding flats, but I live in cycling paradise - miles of clean, traffic free country roads. I generally get about 3,500 miles at 22-26 mph on the rear tire before I wear through the tread. You may be able to find a lighter tire or one with lower rolling resistance, buy I doubt you'll find a better all around training tire than this.

Reviewed 2/12/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
1600 Miles and going strong
by Seth_in_Tampa
Cycling Enthusiast
Tampa, FL
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Update After a pinhole flat at 500 miles, the Hi Comp Carbon has performed admirably. I'm 162 lbs and this is my rear tire. Lots of tread left, a few small cuts but the rubber has held up well. The Tufo Sealant worked very well also. The prior hole slow leaked but the sealant plugged it up and I've had no issues since. I mostly ride clean roads and trails so take that inot consideration. I'll get another 500 miles out of this tire. My next set will be Tufo S33 Specials.

Reviewed 2/11/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page