Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Tufo C Elite Ride 23 Tubular Clincher Road Tire

TufoC Elite Ride 23 Tubular Clincher Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(19 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(5)
(0)
(2)
(0)
(63%)
(26%)
(0%)
(11%)
(0%)
not strong enough.
by [email protected]
Cycling Enthusiast
north east
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This is my 4th tire and none of them lasted a hole season. I ride about a thousand mile a year average. for this price? NO.

Reviewed 9/15/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
awesome!
by mike/vegas
Cycling Enthusiast
las vegas

I ordered the Tofus by mistake. I had no idea i was ordering a unique type of tire. Wow, when they came i was blown away. I will not use a tube & tire setup ever again, unless i'm forced to.... They are a pain in the azz to mount...and i swore a few times, but once they are on they're amazing. Great ride, very sturdy, and you can experiment with high PSI's. the tires really come to life around 130psi or above, but i'm finding the ride to be a little rough. I run them about 110-120 now, and i absolutely love them.

Reviewed 7/28/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My first set of Tufos only lasted 745 miles,Im hoping it was for lack of NOT keeping 120 PSI in them
by spicerwolf
Cycling Enthusiast
Ocean County ,NJ
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Brillant concept

Reviewed 7/22/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
More evolved than road tubeless and will install on your existing Open Pro's or similar.
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Similar in weight to a racing clincher/tube combo and lighter than a tubeless setup by a few grams. I run about an ounce of Stan's as I would with any tire type and don't worry about being stopped by punctures. Surprisingly, after you figure it out, these tires install/uninstall easier and quicker than any other tire type. Oh, and you can peel off your old tube rim strip. They roll well with good turn-in feel and bump absorption. Build quality is top notch. Your rim will have to have 13-15mm clearance between clincher hooks. The only thing significantly lighter and more fun to ride is a glue-on tubular.

Reviewed 1/20/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tire for a big guy
by Turbo Dezel
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO

So far this tire has been the best of the Tufo Tubular Clincher's I have tried. Now up to 1300 miles on the set (with rotation every 250 miles) and the wear has been very good no flats and holds pressure for days compared to others, needing little pumping up.

Reviewed 11/13/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice tires
by Ilikehills
Cycling Enthusiast
Stoneville, NC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I am on my second set of these tires and they have worked well for the past few years. I have not had any flats in two sets, I got the tire sealant with my first set but have never put any in, I carry it in case I get a flat for repair purposes. I usually inflate them once a week to 100 psi front and back and only need a couple of pumps each week to get them back to 100 psi, they seem to run well at this pressure but I have been experimenting with some other pressures recently, slightly higher might be better but 90 to 100 works well. I recently had to get a new wheel set, which is slightly wider than my old one, 17.5mm vs 15mm internal width. I called customer service and asked if they would work with the new rims and was told they would. My current pair mounted just fine on the rims, very easy since they are well broken in. The front tire seems to be fine, I use the 23 in the front, but the back tire, which is a 25, has a wobble and a flat-spot feeling bump with each revolution. I checked the trueness of the rim and it seems dead-on true and I did not find any significant out of roundness. I had not noticed any problems from the rear tire before my rear hub broke but it may be the impending breakage was masking something or it was just a gradual change as the tire wore and I hadn't noticed, I also think I am hyper aware of this bump since I have noticed it, sometimes it is hard to detect though with a rougher road surface. I am concerned it may also be coming from the fit of the tire on the wider rim. I had an old front tire which was still in good shape I was keeping for a spare, I tried to mount this tire on the new rims to see if it was my rear tire and it was too narrow to fit these newer rims.

Reviewed 8/15/2014
TriSports.com Comments

Hi Ilikehills,

Thanks for your review! I am sorry to hear about the trouble you have had with your back tire. Be sure to get in touch with our customer service department at sa[email protected] if there is anything we can do to help you!

Thanks,
Anna

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Installing the Tyre correctly is the key. 180 miles no flats.I have 60mm rims,rear flats were too common
by spicerwolf
Cycling Enthusiast
Jersey Shore Area

Tyres are great because they allow presta valve removal enabling extendors for areo rims.They seem to be a titch wider than 23C tires allowing more road contact.

Reviewed 11/23/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great race ready tire
by Darrell
Southern US
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use the tire for all my cycling and racing

Reviewed 10/21/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worth every cent
by chuckgary
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta Ga.

Ok had my first flat on my first set of Tufo in almost 4 years. It was basically my fault as it needed changing but I was pushing the limit. I was in a fast decent when it happened. The front wheel felt like it hit a bump and like I was riding on the rim. I was still going at a high rate of speed but was able to keep control of the bike and come to a complete stop. Had this been a regular tire I would have gone down around the first corner as the tire would have rolled off the rim. My spare Tufo was a used one off another bike so it went on in about 3 mins. I rejoined my wife at the bottom of the decent who did not even knew I had a flat.

Reviewed 10/2/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is my standard tire.
by Gbgemini
Competitive Racer
San Antonio
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Love these tubular clinchers. I never have a flat and they go and go. I only switched them out recently because of an ironman coming up and I am worried that a couple of nicks in the tire had me worried.

Reviewed 6/14/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Installation process fairly easy if tire is stretched and with a little practice
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Install review. I was hesitant to buy these tires after reading negative reviews on other websites that described a difficult installation process. I decided to buy them anyway because I was keen to get a tubular experience on a clincher rim no matter how hard the install might be. I can sum up the installation process by saying the first tire took about 30 mins to install and the second tire took about 5 mins. These were installed on Ksyrium SR rims. First tire: I failed to properly stretch the first tire before attempting the install. Eventually I got it on after about 30 mins but the process was difficult and made me question my purchase. Second tire: I decided to inflate the tire to 100 psi and leave it overnight which helped to stretch it out, I installed it 24 hours later in about 5 mins with no problems. The second tire was easier to install due to a combination of it being stretched and the little tricks I learned installing the first tire. I took off the first tire today to see how long it would take. This time it took about 3 mins because the tire has loosened up a lot. In other words if the tire is stretched and with a little practice these are fairly easy to install. I'll save the ride quality and performance for a separate review.

Reviewed 4/5/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My favorite tire.
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These last a reasonably long time and I don't get any pinch flats which were a huge problem for me.

The run flat feature is a plus for getting home.

Reviewed 2/21/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Blew out after 10 miles.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
FL
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Purchased two tubular clinchers to get a little bit of speed back. Inflated to 135-140 psi. First ride the rear tire blew out 10 miles into the ride. Approximately a quarter inch hole was made. Although I like the concept, I won't buy these tires again after this incident. Threw away the other tire and said enough! Went back to my Maxxis Detonators for training and Michelin Pro Race 3 for races. I did seem to gain about 1 mph and these tires felt faster. Cornering was definitely sketchy. This would be a better TTtriathlon tire if it was reliable.

Reviewed 2/15/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Another great product from Tufo
by Vunderdog
Cycling Enthusiast
Columbus, OH
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Have been riding on Tufo Tubular tire for 8 years, and love how they handle and ride. This new tubular which are designed for clincher rim hold tru to this fact. Be sure to buy the Tire Sealant, work great and helps get the maximum life out of these tires!

Reviewed 1/31/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Flat resistance and at up to 200 psi inflatable.
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
Longview Wa.
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Over the last five years Ive used Tufo 21mm. tires, they're very flat resistance. Two years ago I switched from the 21 mm. to the Tufo C Elite Ride 23 Tubular Clincher Road Tire. I have an aluminum frame and found the ride smoother. They still can be inflated to 200 psi. so you can get a comfortable and fast ride. The only down side Ive found is getting them on my Campy Zonda rims. But I've come up with a solution! After I get the tire two thirds on, I take a large (Width..300 inch 7.6 mm.) plastic or nylon cable tie and cinch it tight on one side then use my two free hands to pull the last bit over the rim.

Reviewed 10/2/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
NIce Ride but Durability Questionable
by PV looper
Cycling Enthusiast
Torrance, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Used Tufo Tubulars on two bikes without issues. Trying the Tubular clincher and enjoying the ride and like the concept. However, after 1,000 miles (175 lbs100psi) the red wear indicator began showing on rear. Will switch frontrear to get more life. However, also have had two punctures on good roads. Sealant hopefully will hold but confidence is shaky. Did not pre-seal but will now. Probably will not buy again based on cost vs. wear life.

Reviewed 11/22/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent overall
by [email protected]
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta Ga
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Installed a set for the BRAG Fall ride in Columbus Ga. After leaving the start within the first mile felt a bump in my rear wheel. Since I had just built this wheel myself thought that some spokes had come loose and developed a slight hop. I stayed in the pace line until the next rest stop which was 15 miles. I found that the tire was flat. I could not find where the object was so I decided to air the tire up to find the leak...no leak. OK I added more air and it blew the valve out. I had inadvertently loosen the whole thing before the ride when I added air at the start and did not re-tighten so it deflated during the ride.

Bottom line...I rode with this tire flat for 15 miles in a pace line of about 18mph and made it to the rest stop with out destroying the tire or the rim. The tire did not roll of the rim like a regular clincher would. I have these on all my bikes to include my wife's bikes. Expensive but worth the extra bucks

Reviewed 10/31/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these tires. Great road feel and flat protection
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
15 of 17 customers found this review helpful.

I gave these a try primarily to see if tubulars were worth considering. I'm impressed. Very comfortable and confidence inspiring. I put a small amount of Tufo's regular sealant in when I mount the tire and I can only remember one flat in the numerous tires I've gone through.

I liked these tires so much that I purchased a set of tubular wheels and now use the tubular version of these tires almost exclusively.

Reviewed 8/21/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Better feel than any clincher I've ever used
by Pangloss
Cycling Enthusiast
Baltimore MD
24 of 26 customers found this review helpful.

I'm in my fourth season of riding a size mix of Tufo C-Elite tubular-clinchers 25mm rear and 23mm front and I love them. In a nutshell, these tires are as comfortable and sure-footed as a tubular when inflated to my standard riding pressure 120psi and are simple to install once you get the hang of it. I've punctured twice in three years but each time the Tufo tire sealant held enough pressure to allow me to ride home.

While these tires are slightly more expensive than other options, one has to remember that you don't need to buy a tube or rim tape. At this point, I wouldn't dream of using another tire on my road bike.

Reviewed 6/10/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.