CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Teravail Cannonball 700c Gravel Tire

TeravailCannonball 700c Gravel Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(20 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(15)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(75%)
(20%)
(0%)
(0%)
(5%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

I am very happy with these so far
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
52240
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use these on road and gravel with no issues

Reviewed 4/12/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great all-around gravel tire!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise, ID
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

OEM tire on my 2000 Salsa Warbird. I've tried numerous other brands and tires since my original set wore out - and I'm back. They are easy to mount tubeless, offer great dry traction, are smooth on pavement, and last a long time. Hard to beat!

Reviewed 2/1/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John Young

Love these!!!
by John Young
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm on my third set of these tires. They roll very nice, but still give some grip in the chunky terrain.

Reviewed 3/26/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Huge comfort and handling improvement over my factory 38mm tires
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Lafayette, IN
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Fan of the Maxxis brand but I didn't see a 42mm tan wall tire. Running at 32psi on gravel - outstanding handling and comfort

Reviewed 3/7/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by jollyGreenGiant

I've got 1,600 miles on a set of 42's and they've got a ton of use left, I should probably rotate... I use them for as an all use tire for a cross bike ( 2018 SuperX SE ), they rock. Their plen
by jollyGreenGiant
Daily Commuter
11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.

I've got 1,600 miles on a set of 42's and they've got a ton of use left, I should probably rotate... I use them for as an all use tire for a cross bike ( 2018 SuperX SE ) that I use for fast commuting, trail, cross, everything, they rock. Their plenty fast on the road, yeah, I might lose 1MPH or something, I'm not trying to race one the road, but to be honest, I'm hitting PR's and KOM's with them... Let the air out and awesome on single track. Gotten two easily fixed flats from big object punctures. Used a plug just like a car tire on the roadside. Clean and patch from the inside when I have time, again two instances of this. That's acceptable, I was puncturing Gatorskins, tough hood... Orange works well with these, that's what I've been using anyway. For an all use tire, it's amazing how little compromise there is. They're comfy, long lasting, nicely performing, durable, fairly light big ass file treads. It's nice having one bike that does it all, these tires are an important piece of that. I'll buy more.

Reviewed 9/10/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ripcity Ryan

Da best all around dry dirt road tire!
by Ripcity Ryan
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The price is modest but the value is incredible. The bead seats easily with a track pump. Pretty smooth rolling on tarmac. Dirt, gravel, grass, sand, roots, bark dust, bark chips? No sweat. Mud, snow, wet grass? Capable. Sloppy mud, ice, rocks� maybe not but that�s not what these are designed for. I�ve even enjoyed these in dry cross races cuz I don�t wanna faff with switching tires until the mud kicks in. Seriously though. I recommended this tire to a friend and they love em too! Ain�t that right K-Dubs?!

Reviewed 10/6/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Laura

Awesome gravel tires and last longer than others
by Laura
Hood River, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I switched to these after going through multiple sets of the WTB Raddler that is popular. These last far longer and perform great. I�m sticking with them.

Reviewed 2/15/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mandomatt

Great tire for mixed surface rides--fast on pavement, good grip in gravel.
by mandomatt
Cycling Enthusiast
southern Oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have ridden the 38 size all summer and love them. The set up tubeless was OK on the DT Swiss 540 rims that came stock on my 2021 Diverge. The first couple of days the air pressure did not hold, but part of that was a faulty valve. Once that was fixed, I have had no issues. Some of our Oregon gravel is really chunky, but these are stable and have good grip at speed downhill. Riding on pavement I can't tell they have tread because they are so quiet.

I'll continue to use them because they are a quality tire at a fair price.

Reviewed 9/30/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by arjxbh

Excellent bike packing tire
by arjxbh
Cycling Enthusiast
new jersey
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Bought this tire last minute for a bikepacking trip when my current 700x40c tires got cut during a training ride. Bumped down to 700x38c because that is what was available, and did not regret it. The tires were smooth and confident with a heavily loaded bike on a variety of surfaces from road to hard pack dirt to fine gravel to chunky gravel. Part of my trip did end up hitting up a trail that was full of rock gardens, and these tires weren't as forgiving there, but mostly because 38c wasn't really wide enough to handle the weight over such difficult terrain. Despite the harsh ride, and the need to hike a bike a bit of the uphill sections here, the tires did not show any sign of damage from impacts with the rocks.

Beyond the performance, installation and removal of these tires is a breeze... that isn't always the case with all tires I have used. I am using them tubed for reference.

Overall very satisfied with these tires.

Reviewed 11/17/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tomas

The Best!
by Tomas
Seattle
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I really love these tires! I ride hard, and they do everything very very well. Tubeless is easy. Be careful with clearance, as they tend towards plump. I got my first set when they wouldn't fit on a buddy's bike.

Reviewed 1/17/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Gravel T

Quite Simply, The Best!
by Gravel T
Seattle
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

These are the best gravel tires ever! I'm on my second set now and I can't imagine using anything different (except possibly the 2.2 Sparwood).

They're tough, they're tubeless, they have great grip, and they look good. But, what really surprised me, was their performance on pavement. These suckers are fast! I was expecting to give up some road prowess for bomb-proof gravel busting. Instead, I got both.

I love mine, I've converted two of my friends, and they love theirs. I plan to move more of my bikes to Teravail tires. Get the premiums, why not?

Reviewed 12/4/2016
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave

Not as described
by Dave
Coatesville
1 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

I road a gravel road today. The was virtually not sharp objects and is heavily traveled. I had not one but two blow outs with this tire. I been riding for 4 years and this was my first two blow outs.

Reviewed 5/31/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mista_mws

Good combination tire - confidence on gravel, comfort on pavement
by mista_mws
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area, CA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Tried this tire (38mm) on a trip through the Sierra Nevada mountains to the west coast on a combination of unpaved Forest Service roads and paved backroads. Good traction on mud, gravel, and a little snow. Rides smooth & comfortable on pavement. Only one pinch flat when I tried to run them at 30 psi (below spec) down a rocky trail. So happy with them that I left them on for all my riding at home.

Reviewed 8/28/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Arcadian

Great Choice for Many Riding Conditions
by Arcadian
Cycling Enthusiast
MIssouri
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Pumped up, this tire rolls well on hard surfaces. It's surprisingly stable in dirt and gravel. I've been in some loose rock a couple times and stayed in control. Tire wear is reasonable. It's not a mud tire, or a rock hopper, but excluding such extreme conditions this tire is a very good choice.

Reviewed 11/19/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dw

42mm offes a plush ride and solid traction for adventure riding
by dw
Cycling Enthusiast
oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Ive been on the Cannonball for several months and they've proven to offer an excellent ride. The 42mm edition is generous in size and offers a nice plush ride. They've also proven bomber in rough, rocky terrain. I'd compare 'em to the Flintridge in overall traction and rolling resistance on pavement, but the ride is nicer and they are a little rounder and wider in profile. If the price doesn't scare you way, you won't be dissapointed.

Reviewed 7/26/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by twhite610

Best gravel tire on the market
by twhite610
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas City, MO
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I've used the 35, 38, and 42mm tubeless tires with durable casings on multiple Dirty Kanza and various local gravel events with no flats. The tires have mounted easily, roll fast, and shed mud well.

Reviewed 7/12/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by d2333

A nice looking tire
by d2333
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought the durable, heavier version at 35 width. I have been using this tire with tubes. So far this winter it has been on mostly paved roads, but it has gotten me out of at least one muddy situation. I don't have experience with other knobby tires to compare it too, but I feel like it handles pretty well on pavement. Rolls well and haven't noticed much sluggishness.

Reviewed 2/18/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chad L.

Great Tubeless Cross Bike Gravel Tire
by Chad L.
Cycling Enthusiast
Mid West Gravel Mecca
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I ordered the 35c version of this tire, I'm unsure if it's actually a new tire size under the Cannonball name or if this is simply a rebranded name for the older 32c Galena. The Cannonball 35c measures a fat 33c or 34mm on my HED C2 rim brake wheels. This is fine for my needs I have the tires mounted on my older Canti Brake Trek Crockett and anything over 36mm is an issue with frame clearance. The tire rolls very well on pavement and it's supple on gravel (I have the light casing version). On chunky mid west gravel this tire rolls fast and the casing feels thick enough I have little worry for punctures. The weight could be a little lower, I find my SK gravel kings tend to roll a bit better but the beads on this tire fit more securely on my rims of choice. Over all, I'm very happy with this tire.

Reviewed 1/24/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great tubeless gravel tires
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Love these Cannonballs! Work great on KS gravel!

Reviewed 6/14/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by bl226009

Best Gravel tires period
by bl226009
Cycling Enthusiast
West Palm Beach, FL
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I tried a few different brands and models of tires since I ride on gravel. The Cannonball is simply the best available on the market. I got 6500 miles out of the rear, 8000 out of the front, including a DK200, and not a single flat. I started them with tubes, switched to tubeless before DK 2017 and never had any problem whatsoever.

Just need to reorder some more!!!

Reviewed 3/10/2018
Thank you for your feedback.