X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Tacx Neo 2T Smart Direct Drive Trainer

TacxNeo 2T Smart Direct Drive Trainer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(23 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(18)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(78%)
(22%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
True road feel
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

I use it with Zwift for general riding and Sufferfest for training. Time saver. The best workouts in the shortest amount of time during the week. Most liken to road feel. Love the the ability to rock left and right, just like riding outside.

Reviewed 7/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Good and the Bad
by Pilgrim
Cycling Enthusiast
Puyallup, Washington
10 of 13 customers found this review helpful.

I've used TacX trainers for the last 10 years, and have appreciated them immensely for the days when it was not possible to ride outdoors. I have looked at other brands of trainers including the virtual reality trainers that are out there, but they do not quite meet the standards of the TacX trainer. I purchased this newest trainer as an upgrade. So, there are things I love and hate about this trainer. Love items: 1. It is much quieter, making almost no noise at all. 2. The rides offered by Garmin/TacX are of superb quality. 3. The new program now almost never crashes. 4. There is much more functionality in the latest program. 5. Most important, this trainer does a phenomenal job of simulating real life. It is closest to anything I've ever been on to date that matches the strain I would see when I was actually on a bicycle in real life. Items I hate about this trainer. 1. I had quite a few rides from the past version of the trainer and had to essentially toss them all in the garbage. I had rides that I had really enjoyed, and their new system did NOT include those rides. Torture me! 2. They have included NO filmed rides from North America. The rides they offer are nothing but gps simulations through Google. Cheap! Does the TacX crew have an allergy to the USA????? Their old system had quite a few filmed USA rides. What is their problem????? 3. The films come through a subscription service of pay by month. I totally detest subscription services. Totally. So, I ride 8-9 months on the trainer and then spend the summer/fall on a real bicycle. 4. The assembly instructions are terrible. I mean, absolutely terrible. My derailleur drags on the trainer in the lowest gears. They have instructions to fix that, but they are completely in error and are impossible to follow through on. So, I have to avoid using my largest cassette gear. In terms of mounting the bicycle on the trainer, the cassette gears are offset enough that one needs to completely re-tune up the front and rear derailleur. If you don't know how to tune your bicycle, then this trainer should definitely be avoided.

Reviewed 9/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Expensive but worth the price
by ironfoot
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

When you do a lot of indoor training always having to do a spindown after 10 minutes of riding is a major hurdle. Tacx Neo 2T doesn't require that. Getting accurate power measures without having to do so is a major plus. Also, I really like the road feel simulation on gravel, cobble, wood, etc surfaces. It adds a fresh sensation on otherwise monotonous indoor trainer rides.

Besides the two major points, I also like the look of the trainer. The light emitted towards the ground makes it look futuristic and cool.

Reviewed 4/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Long and thought out choice...
by Mr. Porky
Cycling Enthusiast
Poulsbo WA
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using a wheel on trainer for years with the plan on moving to a direct drive. I ride 7 months out of the year indoors utilizing Zwift and Sufferfest. It was a well thought out process (over a year) with thorough research involved (DC Rainmaker, GPLama, Tacx Faqx and hours of review combing). Narrowed it down to The Italians (Elite), the Americans (Wahoo) and the Netherlands (Tacx). In the meantime Garmin acquired Tacx and here we are today. Final two were the Wahoo KICKR V5 and the Tacx Neo 2T. Review nightmares about "the NEO Tacx time bomb" or "Wahoo's firmware issues" made it extremely hard to choose. Neo 2T cost a bit more but has a few more bells and whistles. The KICKR has the climb. I decided on the NEO 2T with it's 2 year warranty compared to the KICKR one year. The road feel and the freewheel effect going down hill in Zwift is cool. The smoothness and responsiveness in ERG mode of the NEO 2T is amazing. I own Garmin GPS devices so I figured the integration with Tacx can only get better. So far I'm extremely happy with my decision and keeping the faith that this top of the line machine with a top of the line price will last a long while. Oh yeah, I used the VIP points to by the Sterzo but that's another review.

Reviewed 1/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent purchase
by coloradoroadrider
Competitive Racer
Denver
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

So glad I bought this. It's SO much quieter than my 2018 Kickr. All I hear is my drivetrain, really. Feels smoother as well. Pairs nicely with the apps I use. Doesn't require calibration. Somehow magically works when I forget to plug it in (maybe it's haunted?). Overall great purchase.

Reviewed 5/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooooth!
by Greg
Cycling Enthusiast
Sherwood Arkansas
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Have been using a Kickr Snap for three years without any major problems. Unfortunately, it required a spin down before every ride to get accurate speed and power results. That spin down didn't happen very often. Enter the Tacx Neo 2T! No spin down required, no tire to air up, no tire slipping and no cleaning up tire debris. The Neo 2T ride is smooth and feels like you are outside and virtually no maintenance. Using the Neo 2T it on Zwift is a major upgrade in that you can "feel" the road and power is accurate and now my speed has improved noticeably. With the Bike Tire Direct discounted price the Neo 2T was only a little more than the Kickr. If you can afford this trainer, buy it! No regrets here!!

Reviewed 9/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This trainer quietly does the job.
by PDXRoad
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The Neo 2T was easy to set up, works great, and is much quieter than the drive train on the bike. Take it out of the box, put on a cassette and you're ready to roll. Has been working perfectly for several months now. Love being able to ride inside on rainy days.

Reviewed 6/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I'm having fun riding indoors for the first time
by Jay
Cycling Enthusiast
Pacific NW
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

I've had trainers in the past and hated them. Even when the weather was incredibly crappy outside, I still preferred getting cold and wet and muddy than riding indoors. Indoor training was so BORING.

Enter the Tacx Neo 2T. I LOVE IT. I've done a fair amount of cycling in Europe over the past ten years and I'm having a blast finding routes that I've ridden in person using the Tacx software and reliving those wonderful memories. I can do a ride through Provence or to the top of Alp d'Huez and have a great time and get a great workout.

Over the past few weeks, I've been more-or-less forced to train indoors with the shelter-in-place order. Yes, I could go out and ride around the neighborhood but I'm not comfortable going far from home, and frankly, with this trainer, I'm having more fun exploring more challenging routes in Europe.

Highly recommended!

Reviewed 4/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Five star plus
by J. Cobb
PDX
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought the Tacx Neo 2T and absolutely love it easy to set up. Although not a game changer, the motion on the trainer and bike as well as the vibration on the cobbles makes for a realistic spin. Living on the west side of the cascades, the trainer pays off in gold buollions, especially this time of year. I would highly recommend it. Keep in mind, I've only had it a month but so far, 2 thumbs up

Reviewed 1/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I LOVE IT!
by P.Trickie
Cycling Enthusiast
Tacoma, Wa
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Finally upgraded my trainer after 10 years and I could not be happier, except when I hit steep grades while Zwifting. Old trainer could only do up to 12% and 25% is really steep when it is reproduced accurately . The road effect is a nice addition. The Neo is ready to roll out of the box, no calibrating, just click in and pedal.

Reviewed 3/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works very well. Great way to stay in shape during the cold/wet months.
by Nhhillrider
Cycling Enthusiast
New Hampshire
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

At this price point all the options are excellent. So making a choice is difficult. I chose the Tacx because I felt it was a bit more configurable with its fully magnetic resistance mechanisms. I also thought it might be able to add even more features in the future.

In any case the Neo2T set up very easily and I have been using it for a few weeks now. Primarily with Zwift. Prior to this I could only use my indoor dumb trainer for about an hour before getting mentally tired. With the Neo2T and Zwift (many options there as well) I am now doing 2 hour workouts. The workouts are probably more productive as well.

So far the Neo2T has worked flawlessly. It is so quite that I did not realize all the noises my bike was making prior to this on my old noisy trainer. Had to break out the lube ! ). The road feel feature adds some interest to the workouts too. Overall very pleased! My only complaint is that its expensive

Reviewed 2/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Direct Drive Trainer
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Princeton Junction, NJ
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great trainer. Easy to set up. Just be sure to secure your bike tightly to the trainer. I had a little difficulty with this step.

Reviewed 4/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great trainer
by Ed
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

If you can't be outdoors this is the next best thing. I hate riding inside but this trainer makes it, dare I say it, fun. The Tacx software and films make the time go by. And my personal opinion is that you get a great workout since there is no coasting.

Nnd

Reviewed 1/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Neo 2T a nice improvement
by NE BIKER
Cycling Enthusiast
PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

A great trainer for using during the winter months in the north east

Reviewed 3/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One GREAT Trainer
by gswbike
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsylavania
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This is an AWESOME Trainer !! It is very reactive to profile changes in Zwift and provides an fantastic experience.

It was easy to setup and get riding. Plus it can be used unconnected , which makes it possible to use for event warm ups. I Highly recommend it

Reviewed 9/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Trainer
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The Neo 2T is a bit pricey, but the trainer does makes it more realistic, like actually riding a bike. Having those routes to ride on, with varying intensities depending on the terrain makes it a lot more interesting than riding an indoor exercise cycle. The default setting for the resistance on hills was a bit too much for what I saw in the videos, so I dialed it down to 75%. Will be using the trainer a lot more come winter.

Reviewed 9/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very Good, could be Great but you need to be somewhat tech savvy.
by Anonymous
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

You may need to have Ant sensor hooked to your computer. Not exactly seamless. Only 2 things can be running on your computer at a time in order to send wireless to tv hence the Ant possible need.

Reviewed 6/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simple, smooth, easy to use trainer...
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Cupertino, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The trainer is simple to use, easy to attach your bike to and very quiet. Works well with or without power plugged in. The trainer would get five stars, but it gets four because it is difficult to move. It folds, but it is easy to pinch fingers and no handle to hold while moving. Think about this if you plan to move often, otherwise great trainer.

Reviewed 6/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fabulous Trainer!
by Cole
Cycling Enthusiast
SE PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I really love this trainer. It just feels SO GOOD. The ride effects (gravel/Cobbles/etc) and the fact the the unit isn't completely rigid IS JUST AWESOME! Set up and use is so easy!

Reviewed 1/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Trainer
by Anonymous
Windsor ontario
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Beat trainer by far in market. Great "real"feel and very robust.

Reviewed 12/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page