X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
AVOID SHIPPING DELAYS & SHORTAGES THIS HOLIDAY SEASON - SHOP NOW!
SRAM PC-971 9-speed Chain

SRAMPC-971 9-speed Chain(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(23 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(17)
(6)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(74%)
(26%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
971 vs 951
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I ride 150-200 miles a week so I go through a lot of parts especially rear tires...stretched chains do shift poorly and I think they chip cogs/sprockets

I replaced 2 chains in January early Feb both were 9 speed, which may make a difference as they are thicker than 10.11 speed chains. one was a 951 and the other is 971 the 951*** (I use the 951 when it rains on my older bike but the prior chain was a shimano and no rust after about 4000 miles and it was used in the same conditions AND it was used over 500 miles at the beach which the 951 wont get to until May) the 951 is already rusted ,

the 971 still looks great and after 800+ miles seems good the sram 971 chain is $xx compare to about $xx for shimano so if it get 4000 miles with no rust and failing 75% test then it will be a great value but so far too early to tell (at 800 miles it is still a good bit away from 50% stretched) for the few dollars.difference between 951 and 971 I'd buy the 971, I will never buy the 951 again

The only complaint for the 971 is I feel and hear chunk noises shifting under load NO COGS were broken before and none are yet with the new chain(s) **I'm not sure this can be avoided and what the cost would be but both the 951 and 971 feel clunkier under load than what I remember the shimanos felt like ** I assume(d) the stretched chain would be clunkier, but that does not seem to be the case.. I'm not an engineer .....as an addendum the chain ring and sprocket are shimano I assume there may be 100th of mm differences between sram and shimano components regardless i assume the 971 will get close to the same mileage and i ordered replacement 971 chains for this summer

Reviewed 3/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One thing to know...
by Eric
St. Paul

One thing to know about this chain is that you'll definitely need a chain breaker to install it the first time, since the two ends of the quick link come facing the same direction. I didn't need to shorten it, based on my old chain, but I did need to reverse one end so the ends would mate.

Reviewed 11/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My go-to source for all things bicycle
by Jerry
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA

Excellent. Good pricing, excellent customer service.

Reviewed 11/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very Good Bike Chain
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

I have used this chain for over 10 years and have never had a breakage. I usually get over 10,000 miles out of each chain.

Reviewed 10/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does what it's supposed to
by Anonymous
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Got the chain for my wife's first bike. She hasn't had a single complaint yet!

Reviewed 6/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good chain, good price.
by timdow
Daily Commuter
San Diego
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This chain just works. I find it to last longer than KMC at comparable price.

Reviewed 5/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excelent Product for the Daily Rider, Long Lasting, Light Weight!
Daily Commuter
Portland Oregon
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I am a daily commuter. I ride every day in all weather and road conditions. I have utilized this chain for my bike for thousands of miles without any issues. Keep your chain clean and lubed for years of trouble free service.

Reviewed 5/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice chain for the price
by Lumpy
Granite State
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I'm not looking for the best, I'm looking for a workhorse.

I ride a fair amount miles a year and swap out chains every 2000-2500 miles, so I go through 4 chains a year.

I've found this one to work for me.

Reviewed 3/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
SRAM are the chains I use exclusively on my Campy 9- and 10-speed drivetrains.
by Bicycle Tommy
Cycling Enthusiast
San Rafael, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Excellent smooth-running chains that are very reasonably priced. If you change your chains as frequently as you should, they are definitely the way to go. I've been riding them since they were Sedis products. Never a complaint.

Reviewed 3/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Prefer SRAM
by Loose Spokes
Boise
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This chain comes with a quick link for easy installation and maintenance. This chain is cheaper than Shimano.

Reviewed 12/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Just as expected
by Ty Simpson
Central Texas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Just as advertised.

Plenty long for My 59cm frame running 2X9 and a 34-tooth cassette.

Great performance and the master link was easily applied.

Reviewed 9/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simple, durable
by Dustyrides
Competitive Racer
Central Oregon
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great chains for older bikes still running 9 speed. Using on my old carbon hardtail with SRAM drivetrain. No issues, good shifts, chain does not feel flexy when shifting even under load.

Reviewed 1/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Time to update
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Having never changed a chain before and not used one with the gold link system. This is a great concept and look forward to being able to really get a good clean chain throughout the season.

Reviewed 8/2/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice chain at a nice price
by Tom
Cycling Enthusiast
Calif
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This chain seeks to work well with shimnao sprockets and cassette, plus has a nice link connector so I don't need any special tools. I can get about 2 yrs out of the chain, which is good for me. So works well, and is fairly durable.....a good deal.

Reviewed 6/15/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best chain I have tried.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
AL

I have to get to work whether it's clear or storming. This one is easy to mount and clean. It ships with a good lube that, unlike Brand S, doesn't rust overnight.

Reviewed 3/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very pleased with this chain
by Warren
Daily Commuter
Alameda, Ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great chain. Shifts well, and is compatible with Shimano components. With the master link, it is very easy to install and remove for cleaning.

Reviewed 3/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is a great chain for the heavy use I give it
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I ride 1,000-1,200 miles per month in the harsh, dry, Sonoran Desert in Arizona.

Reviewed 11/15/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
easy to install using quick link. Restored normal and quick shifting to sluggish bike.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix, AZ
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I ordered and installed this chain to replace a stretched chain on my wife's mountain bike. The chain is easy to install with the quick links. Cog jumping by the old chain was corrected following installation of the new chain.

Reviewed 10/10/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good chain, easy link system
by Hood Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Hood River, OR

Easy link system for quick set-up

Reviewed 7/29/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice chain, holding up well
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm a big guy (220 lbs), and this chain holds up well. It also is nicely compatible with my Shimano XT drivetrain, plus its easy to remove with the powerlink.

Reviewed 7/15/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page